Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
No Box Spring Needed
 from Houston, Texas,  Sep 26, 2012

Let me start off by statting that this bed is even more beautiful in person than it is on the website. Assembling the the bed was a bit of a challenge because of the weight of the pieces. Everything is real wood and it is very sturdy, but oh so heavy, so if you are thinking about purchasing this bed, be prepared to receive 3 heavy boxes. The instructions given are simple and very easy to follow but I would recomment having at LEAST one other person help in the process. The biggest challenge was screwing in the headboard to the frame because it has to be at a certain elevation to screw the headboard into the frame, but I just ended up using some hardcover books to support the headboard as opposed to lifting the whole headboard. Out of the three boxes that contained the parts, the box that held the headboard was the heaviest. The support slats seem very sturdy since they are made out of wood as well. Included are all the screws and washers needed in addition to two hex tools that will be needed for the process. The only additionaly hardware that you will need is a philips head screw driver. The description of the bed states that a box spring is needed but this is not true. After the bed is fully assembled, you will not need a box spring unless you want your mattress to be very high off of the ground. I am currently using a 14 inch memory foam mattress with this bed and it covers a good portion of the headboard, so if you actually want to be able to see your headboard or if you want your mattress to be low off the ground, you might want to use a thinner mattress with this bed (without the boxspring). Maybe about 10 inches or less but that is up to you. The only complaint that I have is not about the actual product itself, but rather about the customer service person who answered the question that I posted on the website, because the information that they gave me in regards to the bed slats and the box spring was not accurate and I ended up purchasing additional support slats that I did not need.. Otherwise, I would say that this bed is beautiful (once it is fully assembled), very sturdy and it is worth every red cent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was better than what I was expecting
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? A bit misleading, because the description states that a box spring is needed.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good overall
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jun 27, 2013

Received bed within a week or ordering. Product is beautiful and I love it overall but parts of the bed (not really visible) were a bit damaged during shipping. Some chips here and there...nothing serious but obviously not in perfect condition. Not difficult to put together (under an hour) with right equiptment (power drill) and strong boyfriend :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice sturdy hard wood
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautifully low
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 11, 2012

1) the bed is LOW. The top of the border is 8.5'' from the floor and with a 8'' mattress is 15'' from the floor. The space between the border and the floor is 3.5'' 2) the assembly is not easy, you would need someone to help you, especially when assembling the headboard. You would need an electronic screwdriver (with good power) and a hammer. It took me around 2 hours to assembly it and we were 2 persons with the right tools. 3) In my case, one of the sides didn't fit perfectly and there is a tiny border that is noticeable after the assembly. Is not something to worry about, but the assembly doesn't fit perfectly. For a bed that is over 500usd, I would expect a perfect fit. 4) The wood is heavy and very sturdy. The packages are huge and will require two persons to move them without wheels. If you leave in an apartment, its very likely that the concierge will call to receive them, is not something easy to handle. But hey, that is because it is good materials and you can notice that once you open the packages and assemble the bed. My scoring is not excellent because the assembly fit is not perfect.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. wood is nice, but the assembly doesnt fit perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Bed
 from New York,  Jan 18, 2013

I cannot tell you how much we love this bed BUT beware! It is a pill to put together. You will need patience, an additional pair of strong arms and a bottle of wine to make it through! It IS worth it in the end but what an ordeal :)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking bed, but...
 from New York,  Aug 5, 2013

I recommend but be careful walking around the bed. The bed sits very low on the floor. Because of that, the hard wood, the platform and the sharp angles, I got hurt several times already walking close by. They are not very serious wounds, but quite painful scratches when my foot brush against the low platform. I wish it came with some soft material that I can attach at the sharp angles... ... Other than that, I have to say that it is a good look bed and very sturdy. The instruction that came with the wood though is not exactly correct in a couple places and it took us a while to figure out the right way.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Simon Queen Bed
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Dec 5, 2012

Solid solid bed, would buy again, only thing is the slats it comes with are pre-drilled, but the frame itself is not so a drill is required. sort of a hassle if your moving and do not own a drill. Other wise this is for sure a good buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? straight black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
picture doesnt do it justice
 from los angeles, ca,  Oct 7, 2013

amazing quality, better than the picture! very heavy...make sure you have a power drill to assemble or it can take awhile

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent and superior bed
 from Los Anglees, CA,  Aug 23, 2013

This is an excellent piece of furniture. It is all hardwood, including the slats. The espresso color is essentially black. Very nice. Very contemporary and modern platform bed. Very pleased. High quality. Only downside: A pain to put together. Assembly is quite challenging, but rewarding once finished.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bed queen
 from cincinnati, oh,  Mar 18, 2014

Great bed. Second bed I've bought on Overstock! Solid and durable.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice
 from Mi,  Mar 17, 2014

This bed looks really good. Color is nice really dark brown almost black. Very durable am sure it will last a long time. Came in three heavy boxes, had some missing hardware, no biggy easy to replace. I'm very happy with this bed.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Simon 2-drawer Nightstand
Sale $170.99
Was $189.99
(7)
Platform Bed Queen
Today $759.00
American Lifestyle Element 1 Platform Bed
Sale $926.99
Was $1029.99
Fenton Modern Dark Brown Queen Platform Bed
Today $823.67
Compare $1058.95
Save 22%
(59)
Back to top