Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Doesn't take much weight as a couch
 from Massachusetts,  Mar 31, 2008

This frame works well as a bed, and is quite attractive. It has some failings as a couch. A minor problem is that the metal guards intended to keep the mattress from slipping off the frame are rather small, so I have to slide the mattress back up occasionally. A bigger problem is that the frame is unstable if you sit on the edge of the couch somewhere not in the center. It really should have legs near the corners in addition to the one in the center. The biggest problem, though, is that the frame is large enough to accommodate several people sitting on the couch, but is not strong enough to hold several people leaning back. On mine, the back of the frame just pushed right over, and the single toothed part that holds the back upright is now damaged. The instructions do say to avoid heavy loads on the upright back, but three people simply leaning back should not constitute a heavy load.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We purchased this futon set to have at my parents' house for when we visit. The purpose is short-term furniture so that we have a more comfortable option than an air mattress, but also nothing permanent or too expensive that my parents can do with as they wished (fold up, use for other guests, transform room, etc.). For what it was worth, the product suited our needs just fine. The mattress was comfortable enough that a short vacation did no harm to either or our backs. We wouldn't recommend it for long-term use. The size is perfect for my small room and the color was what we wanted. Our only complaint was that the instructions were terrible. Parts were mislabeled so that we thought we didn't have everything when we put it together. It turned out we did have all of the parts. It took us a while to figure out which parts went where, however, because they were mislabeled in the guide. We left a very unhappy message with the company. In summary, we were happy with the product, but the company's instruction manual was crappy. What should've only taken us less than an hour to put together took us 2.5 hours to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the site was similar to the actual product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The price reflects the quality of the product. Nothing over the top, but not super cheap, either.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The on-site description of the product was fine.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mah
 from North Carolina,  Sep 4, 2012

I bought 2 of these futons. I wish I did not. These things are insanely difficult to put together. It is clear that the folks who manufactured this product were poorly trained and poorly paid. Many of the metal pieces had sharp uneven edges. Many of the pieces required super human strength to fit together. Now that it is together, its ok. Not the best futon that I've owned. My last one was $40 on craigslist and is much sturdier. I think that I will opt for craigslist next time. I am quite sure also, that nothing about this thing is actually a Serta product. It had another name on it. I don't know what that's about. Anyway, if you are looking at this product, I would suggest that you skip this one and maybe save a little more money for a better futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Somewhat different
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So so
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not so good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very happy with this purchase
 from South Carolina,  Nov 26, 2011

was exactly what I expected. would do it again liked the color the wood was perfect for the room I chose it for and it slept good for my company

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? giood
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Serta Futon
 from Connecticut,  Jan 5, 2011

Assembly was easy. Futon mattress seems small for this frame--large gaps between futon and arms. I made pillows to place there. Difficult to find size of futon in the listing in order to purchase a cover. You must buy a cover. Overall--it's OK.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buyer
 Apr 23, 2015

Rusted, bad packaging, painting was not done properly, lots of work for assembly, packaging was in 5 boxes and the last box never received. Return was headache and Overstock charged me $126. Don't buy anything from overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT FUTON
 from CA,  Jul 27, 2012

This is the best futon I have EVER had. This futon has a thick pad which makes it very comfortable to sleep in. It's my new favorite place for a nap. I had a guest sleep on it and was very easy to make into a full bed. Very easy to operate.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I wasn't too concerned about the color of the fabric, more with the style of the futon. But both work with the color of the room and match the description
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking, comfortable sitting or sleeping
 from Port Orange. FL and Bethlehem New Hampshire,  Apr 4, 2012

I bought three of these futons. We have a large basement in our summer home and have them in the basement for guests. I have had nothing but good comments on the comfortability of the futon for sleeping

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Nice, but I purchased a navy blue cover
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap metal frame
 from Texas,  Aug 9, 2011

Received the futon in 2 days. However, one of the metal frame pieces was broken. We received a replacement, but a tube on the replacement was bent serverly. We were able to take parts from both pieces and make a frame that worked. Reclining mechanism worked well and converted into a bed easily. Mattress was fairly thick and comfortable to sleep on.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. A weld on the metal frame was broke. We received a replacement, but it was bent.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks & Works Fine
 Sep 21, 2010

The arms are a nice wood, and it serves its purpose (a couch for my studio office that can be used as a guest bed) ok, but besides that, it's none too great. My husband was grumbling about poor workmanship all the while he was setting it up, and the 'mattress' looks nothing like the photo: It's much flatter, and has little dimples all over it tied with white string that look pretty awful. If you want it to look presentable, you have to put a cover on it, contrary to the photo. But, to its credit, the mattress has not slid at all (yet) and it does catch on the handles pretty well. We'll see how it continues to hold up...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great futon for the price!
 from MN,  Aug 29, 2010

Arrived on time and took less than 1 hour for my nephew and me to set up. It's comfy and works perfect for a guest room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bed in a closet
 from Dover, NH,  May 2, 2008

I needed a bed for a very small room. I saw this futon and decided to give it a try. It looks great, and very, very comfortable. It was not bad to assemble for just one person. Highly recommended.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Serta Florence Futon Package
 from connecticut,  Sep 29, 2014

The final product quality is simply average, you get what you pay for, but getting to the final product was a disaster. The futon arrived in three packages on 3 different dates. The first package I opened contained the wooden arms. Both were broken. I called customer service and a new package of arms was delivered within 2 days. Assembly started after receipt of the new arms. First step was to attach the hingles for the back and seat to the arms. The hingles were bend and appeared to have been assemble backwards and would not fit. Customer service was email with pictures of the hinges actually received and the pictures from the instructions. Customer service replied that an entire new futon would be sent out with instructions to remove the parts that were needed and return instructions for the remainer of the futon. Assembly was restarted once again, several holes did not line up and needed to be redrilled. The arms had very shape ends and needed to to sanded down and restained. Upon trying to follow the instructions to returm the unused second futon via UPS using the onlne system UPS said they would not pick up at my address and I had to bring the three large packages to the nearest UPS location. Emailing back to customer service that I was not about to lug these three boxes to UPS they finally arranged for pick up at my house. They came at a ramdon time, not on the day scheuled, and our daughter just happened to be at the house at that time. Over all the worst online furniture purchase I have ever experienced! And that experience includes complete online purchasing for an entire first floor replacement after Hurricane Sandy, that was a piece of cake compaired to this messy one. .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I hoped for
 from Montana,  Jul 9, 2014

I was really excited to get this futon. When we did the holes wouldn't line up right in the frame, it was missing some bolts and the over all construction of the frame was just not great quality. The mattress is good. But the frame quality is not. My husband had to drill out some places to get it together. We had to do it company was on the way. If we wouldn't of had that I would of sent it back.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Returned
 from Bronx NY,  Jun 6, 2014

It was bougth for my daughter and her space room and she didn't like the way it sat once it was assembled.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice futon
 from Cleveland OH,  Apr 12, 2014

Nice futon and mattress for the price. Need two people to put together but directions are easy to follow. Wood had small scratches, etc. but easy enough to touch up after it is put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Serta Florence futon
 from California,  Apr 1, 2014

Good construction, looks great and comfortable to sleep on.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from Crestline CA,  Feb 18, 2014

The picture still show it coming with pillows which don't come with it When I received the product the boxes where very banged up The wood had several dents The reps where very good and helpfull with a problem with the discount coupon I will not buy from this company again This was my first purchase

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
DO NOT BUY!!!
 from San Diego, CA,  Jan 30, 2014

DO NOT BUY THIS PRODUCT!!! I received it today and tried to put it together. The instructions were simple and easy to readÂ…but half of the holes were drilled wrong and the metal was so misshapen that nothing fit together right. Trust me when I say I have never written a review before but this was soooo disappointing!!! Also I called the Overstock customer service and they can't get anyone to pick up this piece of garbage to return it for 5 days!!! And it'll take 10 days to get my money back so I'm out over $*** for 1/2 a month and no couch!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor quality very disapointed all the way around,
 from California City California,  Jan 17, 2014

over all very poor quality piece of furniture, directions were poor and parts were not labeled properly. I've assembled a lot of furniture from a box and this was a nightmare. once we finally got it together frame is very flimsy and very hard transition to a bed and doesn't lay flat. Arm came damaged but Overstock did correct this and send us a new arm. Will never buy anything made by Serta ever again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 62 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought