For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
RFay77
 from Galion, Ohio,  Dec 23, 2007

I would give it a Ten!! This is a wonderful dark walnut satin finished Futon! My son-n-law and I put it together (we used a clutch power drill) in less than two hours and half of that time was organizing and unpacking. Shipping was fabulous. We received it in less than a week! No damage at all! The quality is fabulous! The frame is powder coated and the wood frame is solid wood no MDF wood products. Another wonderful point is we have encountered no slippage of the mattress. The cover on it is not removable so you will want to order another cover for it. I only had one problem and that was no wood color was listed on overstock site and when I asked on direct chat, he told me "Yes it looks brown" I took the chance though and was not disappointed. It looks like a dark walnut with a nice satin finish. The magazine racks on the sides are wonderful and the hidden arm storage is nice for remotes. The mattress is firm (which I like very much) and it allows us with our small home to have friends and family spend the night! I whole heartedly recommend this futon set. I wish they offered drawers underneath for bedding storage but hey you can't have everything! A wonderful product!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Junk
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Sep 27, 2011

The wooden portions of the product are attractive, sturdy and solidly made; however, the mesh deck that supports the mattress is complete junk and has totally fallen apart. In addition, the customer service information for contacting customer service at Serta Futon is invalid. Purchase this item at your own risk!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color closely resembles the actual product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The wooden portions of the product are sturdy and well made; however, the mesh deck that holds the mattress is complete junk. In addition, the customer service information to reach Serta Futon is invalid. Purchase this item at your own risk!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description does not indicate how poorly constructed the mesh deck is.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great frame! Horrible mattress...
 from 805, California,  Mar 1, 2008

The delivery was great, the futon was received just as expected....right on time! Assembling the futon was a breeze, my husband and I put it together in less than two hours, using a power drill. After it was assembled, we both thought it looked very nice. The finish on the wood, the magazine racks, the storage compartments were all great. Although, we were dissapointed to find the size of the futon/mattress was a lot smaller than we were expecting....It is a full. Not only that, but the mattress is pretty thin, therefore, we will have to purchase a more suitable mattress in the near future.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This mission style futon is a real multi-tasker if you are looking to safe space while having comfortable seating. The arms of the futon on either side have built-in magazine racks at the floor level and hidden hinges at the arm level revealing space to store remote controls. The arms are wide enough to use a coaster and drink if your space does not have room for end tables, and the mattress itself is a firm but comfortable full bed. We are using this in a two bedroom vacation home where space is at a premium. Add a couple of colorful throw pillows and you have very attractive contemporary seating. This futon is far superior to anything I found within the price range. I'm a female with moderate DIY skill, and it took me roughly 3 hours to organize and assemble this piece. In addition to very good written directions there is also a You Tube video created by the manufacturer which provides step by step instructions with pause points. All in all, an excellent purchase delivered within a business work of ordering.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average Futon
 from Falls Church, VA,  Jul 27, 2011

I was looking for a futon to put in a second bedroom that was a little nicer than your average walmart futon and metal frame. I purchased this futon primarily for the wooden arms that gave the futon a nicer look than you average dorm futon. The futon arrived very quickly. Overall I would say the futon is average. I am very pleased with the wooden arms that are exactly what I expected and was looking for. The mattress does have a smell, as other reviewers have mentioned, but it has gone away overtime. The mattress is better than a cheap walmart futon mattress, but not as nice as a coil mattress. The metal fram that holds the mattress is a little weak. We have had the futon for about a month and the front crossbar is already sagging and we don't use the futon very often. If the crossbar didn't sag I would give the futon 5 stars.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Thrilled
 Jan 17, 2011

I received the futon last week and was able to put it together myself, even with a very bad back. I needed the futon for my son to use upstairs in the rec room. He loves it. It's a quailty piece of furniture and well worth every penny.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent for the price
 from Philadelphia,  Mar 27, 2012

Decent quality futon, very comfortable for sleeping. Black metal frame is kinda cheesy and ugly. Wooden side-rails are nice, and the hinged pockets are handy. Easy to assemble, but one of the frame's ratcheting hinges didn't work very well - fixed it with a screwdriver & some oiling. This is fine for occasional guests.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very reasonable for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 85%
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Like the product - sturdy and attractive
 from Tekamah, NE,  Feb 8, 2012

First off, delivery was 2 days! What a surprise! We put the futon together quickly. We worked on it in two different time periods, but it was a steady job. We are using it in our guest room. I "tested"it by working on my laptop for 6 hours. Very comfortable - I could spread out my research and felt that my laptop was safe resting on the arm. So far, the dog has used it the most; it is his new "favorite" for a winter's nap. We will have our first "guest" sleep on it next week, and we have the option of adding an air mattress for additional cushion if we need it. But so far, we are happy with the "cush" factor!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good match!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. So far, very good!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Extra bedding
 from Memphis TN,  Nov 16, 2011

Loved the quick delivery and how easily it was to put together with no assistance. The wood looks great with the hidden storage in the arms for remotes, eye glasses etc. The mattress is perfect for guests but not for everyday use. The center metal support could be more sturdier. The mattress opened up well .

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I was more impressed with the product after receiving it for the wood tones and heaviness.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great product for extra bedding for guests. The center support underneath on the frame a little weak for fulltime use.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The product description was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great starter furniture
 from houston texas,  Aug 16, 2011

great for young people starting out or extra sleeping area for guest .nice and sturdy no wobling or strange give. easy to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color fairly represented by image
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Poor Quality and Durability
 from MD,  Aug 19, 2014

The wooden parts are okay, the futon mattress is quite firm and heavy, the metal frame is TERRIBLE (below poor quality). Requires at least two people to put together. The two metal hooks that keep the metal frames together snap off every time I interchange from bed position to seating position. Due to the metal hooks snapping out of place, the frame has bent due to lack of support and now it is very uneven and causes back pain. After only three uses in the past year, the frame will not stay on seating position, I now have to set it against the wall in order to hold the sitting position. Do yourself a favor and do not waste your money.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor materials and construction
 from Duluth, GA,  Oct 5, 2013

The product arrived within 3 days which was excellent. It arrived in 3 boxes which was how it was described. The problems began when we attempted to put it together. We inventoried the parts and all were there. We read the instructions twice, and viewed a video Serta has on YouTube. It looked so easy. The metal parts are very poor quality and poorly constructed. Very few of the pre-drilled holes are clean enough to accept the screws without problems. The bedframe is metal and the metal parts that must be inserted into one another are not sized properly so they don't fit. We have been attempting to assemble this product since about 10 this morning. We are frustrated, upset, and angry. We chose this particular futon because of the brand name Serta, but clearly the name does not carry any weight with regard to quality of this product. We have tried to call the company but of course they are closed on Saturday!!! We left a voicemail message requesting call back. Let's see what happens.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product...see for video instructions
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Sep 4, 2013

Great value for the price! Its a really nice looking wood frame. Shipping was on time and no damage. Be careful of putting on the hinges backwards. Its easy to do! I just found a Serta video on how to put together the futon frame. Great for future buyers. Wish I had it when I was putting mine together. The seat and back frame is metal tubing. Mine was not exactly circular so I had to force pieces together. It made it a little tough, but I got it together. I was able to put it together by myself in about 3 1/2 hrs. The welding on the two t-brackets is really bad. I pulled my futon away from the wall and one of them came apart. Here is a link to Serta's video instructions. Good luck! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z0f_0Uv1biQ

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't buy this
 from Pittsgrove, NJ,  Jul 31, 2013

After only a few days the frame bent. Going in the trash! Wasted money on junk. Don't buy it. They sent a new frame out, but the same thing happened again.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
resting comfortably
 from Jackson, MO,  Jun 15, 2013

The futon took a bit of time to assemble, but is very sturdy and attractive. The mattress is quite firm, which suits us well for sleeping. Would recommend this product for quality, sleeping comfort, and ease of operation.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good representation
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very sturdy, nice finish
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? would have liked to have dimensions of compartments under armrests
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent buy
 from Maryland,  Jun 4, 2013

The futon is of high quality and the mattress is very comfortable. It took two people to put it together but the instructions were good and once together, looks just like the on-line picture. We are using this in a spare bedroom and it serves well as both a sofa and a bed. I would recommend this product to anyone in search of a sofa/bed for a limited space room. Very good value for the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was just as it appeared on-line.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the frame, as well as the mattress, is very good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Product description was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to assemble
 from Conway, AR,  Dec 5, 2012

Other than the metal frame bending I loved the futon. I'm hoping I can find someone to repair it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was exactly as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I'm very pleased with the wood and the futon matress, The metal is not as sturdy as I had hoped. The frame has bent and it's not had heavy people on.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Should have been a good buy ...
 from Lancaster, PA,  Oct 29, 2012

This is a nice looking futon with a comfortable mattress at an excellent price. However, it was murder to put together. It should have been a piece of cake -- all the pieces are there, the instructions are fine, only a couple of tools needed (and what you need is included, but you'd do well to use better tools). The problem is that the parts are so poorly machined that nothing fits together as it should. Straight pieces aren't straight, round pieces aren't round, and screw holes don't match up. I have a PhD in experimental Physics and I've been putting together "assembly required" furniture with no trouble for over 20 years. But this time I'm admitting defeat. I'm broken and bloody and the futon is put together minus one screw. I just hope it doesn't fall apart when I sit on it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Review
 from Montgomery AL,  Oct 6, 2012

The futon is a good value for the price. It arrived very quickly. The arms were beautiful and real wood. The mattress is a little thin and I plan to order a better one eventually but this one is fine for now as I am using the futon for sitting on and watching tv and reading. I am not sure about the frame it seemed to be a bit flimsy but time will tell. Overall I feel like I got a good deal and it suits my needs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was the same as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Quality Futoon
 from MI,  Oct 2, 2012

One issue we had was one of the parts was thrown in with the frame. My husband had to make a wood substitute and then later when he opened the framework it was there. All parts should be in the same parts bag. Other than that the quality was decent. We have only had it for a few weeks, time will tell. So far we like it very much.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? wood work was about that color the comforter was a bit darker but looked very nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. so far looks to be decent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top