Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 75 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Foam mattress
 from Seattle, WA,  Sep 17, 2009

I had been sleeping on an extra firm beauty rest which has pocket coils that are much firmer than normal beauty rest mattresses. It was hurting my back and after the first night on this bed it felt better. NO this is not a MEMORY FOAM bed and YES it has FIRM SUPPORT but adding a topper of your choice will make this bed more comfortable. I had been pondering over this mattress for 5 months and reading the other reviews from the other sizes helped me with my decision. Since I've never really had a good spring mattress I think I prefer foam over innerspring. I have gone through a lot of mattresses in the last year and now I am finally happy and plan on adding a latex topper to make this my perfect bed! Thanks and good luck!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Though it's foam there was no odor
 from Texas,  Jul 17, 2012

We have had this mattress for 2 years now. It is fine for me but my husband states it is like a rock to him. Due to surgery I needed a very firm and for the price I was shocked. So just be aware it a very firm mattress. I am pleased but my husband not so much.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I need a very firm mattriess due to surgery and it is. So it is not for those who prefer some give to the mattress.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value, great sleep!
 from Sunny San Diego,  Jan 2, 2014

After trying out the several thousand dollar beds at my local nation-wide big name mattress store, and listening to the salesman's spiel....I learned a lot about mattresses! But I was not going to spend 2 grand on a mattress, not even if they were willing to give me two years interest free financing. So I set out to create the same level of comfort for a fraction of the price, and believe I have succeeded. I purchased this mattress as my base layer, because it is somewhat firm and flip-able. Then I topped it with a couple layers of memory foam toppers, wrapped it all up in a mattress cover, and its like sleeping on a cloud - or one of those big dollar beds - for a quarter of the price. (After I total up all I spent on bed, pads, and cover) Have had it for about a month now, and I am completely satisfied. My husband and I sleep so soundly that we wake up in the same position we fell asleep in. We are both average size, and there is little to no motion transfer when one of us gets in or out, which is important since we work different shifts. You can even sit or sleep on the edge and it doesn't collapse. That all being said, if you intend to buy this and use it just as it is, be aware that it is quite firm, and is basically just a slab of foam with a thin covering on top. Nothing fancy, which to me is great since that fancy stuff is not seen and buttons or quilting provide an uneven sleep surface especially over time. I fully intend to buy several more for our kids and our vacation cabin. Highly recommend!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy
 from Upstate NY,  Feb 2, 2013

I was looking for something affordable and I live in an area where shopping is terrible. I read all the reviews for different mattresses on Overstock and settled on this one. Took the advice of other reviewers and ordered 2 inch gel memory foam topper to go with it. They are awesome together--really comfortable and a million times cheaper than other alternatives. I think the mattress would be fine without a topper but the combination is really nice in terms of softness and then support. Two of us both tall and over 200# sleep comfortably without dipping toward each other in the middle and we wake up much less stiff than before. I don't know mattress longevity but so far a great week!.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems well constructed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Time-tested Value
 from Miami, FL,  Aug 4, 2012

I have been sleeping on this mattress for 1 and a half years and it has held up quite well. It is as firm as the day I bought it. Since it is very firm, some may want to add a 1 or 2 inch memory foam topper. Memory foam toppers work best on top of foam mattress as opposed to coil mattresses, which tend to dip in the middle. Great buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accuate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Quite accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great, extra firm mattress
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 6, 2012

This is a great mattress if you like a firm mattress. It would probably be considered very firm for some people. It's comfortable, well made, and you can't beat the price. It did have some latex smell to it, so I had to air it out in a room with the windows open for several days before use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great bang for the buck
 from Providence, RI,  Sep 1, 2011

I've had this mattress for about 5 months now. I read all the reviews and it was just what I was looking for. It starts out very firm, and now is firm but a bit softer. That might be because summer was so hot, and the foam may have softened, I'll have to wait through the coming winter to see if it gets harder again. It was very hard initially, but I like that. It's helped my back and I can flip it easily. I'm a woman in my mid 50's so that makes life much easier for me. It also fits all my older sheets that are not really deep perfectly. When you sit on this mattress it gives, and when you spread out to sleep it's nice and firm. I thought I might need a softer topper, but it turned out to be just right after the first two or three nights which seemed hard, but worked for me anyway.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT!
 from Portland, OR,  Feb 5, 2010

This mattress exceeded my expectations and more. It is a little firm, just the way I like it, yet very plush feeling. Shipping was fast. There was no odor and it was fully expanded within an hour out of the box. The first night on this foam mattress was one of the best sleep I've had in a long while. I highly recommend this product. The price is low yet the quality is superb. Depending on your preference, any mattress topper will accommodate your needs. I currently have the mattress set up on a platform bed without a foundation and it is just perfect. Never will I go back to spring mattress.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect for my needs.
 from Kansas,  Jan 28, 2010

I did a lot of research on beds and bed cost before settling on this one. I am very happy with my decision. We got this to be a base for a quality latex foam topper to simulate a $2000 bed I'd seen at a showroom. It worked. For under $500 I was able to have wonderful back support and excellent comfort. Because of Overstock.com's super fast shipping, we received this mattress before the topper. So we tried it out by itself. My husband has some serious lower back issues we were hoping we could alleviate with a more supportive bed. He loved it with and without the topper. Just to note, I'm not a very heavy person, so by itself I found this mattress to be almost TOO firm. It wasn't 'hard' - I sank into the foam as one would expect, but I felt like I was floating on a surface much like a padded floor - except that I was cradled more and my hips were fine. I imagine I could have gotten used to it, but my topper arrived within a few more days and that made all the difference. I now have a 'luxury' bed to be proud of. If you're planning on getting this by itself, just keep in mind that the lighter you are, the more firm the foam will feel. I imagine that for a heavier person, this would be an ideal medium-firm bed. However, If you are constructing a layered mattress with a memory or latex top a foam mattress base is recommended over a spring base - and for this purpose, this mattress is perfect.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I don't know if this is still for sale or not. I bought in 2009 and have had to buy another memory foam topper and a feather bed topper to make this bed comfortable. Fortunately it is our guest room so we don't have to sleep on it.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

This mattress was priced competitively and good value. It is heavy though due to queen size and comes rolled in a compact box. I thought it would be like a mattress company who would bring it in and dispose of the old. This was not my experience so it was hard for one person to set up. It is comfortable and the right thickness. If you are prepared to deal with delivery this is a reasonable purchase.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High quality, great value mattress
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 6, 2014

We topped this value-priced mattress with a 3" memory-foam pad and have been sleeping very comfortably for a few years now. The only downside: our children love the comfort of our bed so much, we usually wake to find them snuggled in-between us. So, we are moving this bed into the children's room, and we've purchased a Select Luxury Cal-King size mattress (with a 4" memory-foam topper) for ourselves.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great
 from Illinois,  Dec 6, 2013

i find this extremely comfortable. i like very firm mattresses and did not find this one surprisingly hard (as other reviews suggested). you can always add a topper for softness, but you can't fix a mattress that lacks support. this one is the closest to sleeping on a cloud that i've had. i've had it for >6mo now and it is holding up well. it has a tiny bit of a memory foam feel, but you don't really sink in. this is what i was looking for: foam support rather than memory foam. took a few days to fully expand. nice, plain cover and it can be flipped. i don't remember whether there was an odor at first, if so it didn't last more than a few days. tremendous deal for the price.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent - recommend a foam topper also
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 31, 2013

This has been a great purchase. We've had the mattress for 2 years - as our own for a few weeks (waiting for the moving van) and now as the guest bed. All of our guests have commented on how comfortable the bed is with a foam topper. The bed is firm - as advertised - and does not dip or sag. Also, two people will not disturb each other because there is less bouncing than on a spring mattress. I highly recommend adding a foam topper to this - we have a 1.5" Threshold-brand, medium density topper. Without it, this mattress can be too firm in spots (shoulders, for example).

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
foam mattress
 from Okeechobee Florida,  Jul 29, 2013

firm foam that reached its full height after unwrapping in just a few minutes. It was very comfortable after adding a 1 1/2" memory foam topper. Just needs a little added softness.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good, cover looks nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best mattress ever!
 from Florida,  Jun 23, 2013

I've had this mattress for 4 years now and I love this thing. If I ever pull a muscle in my back laying down on this baby is a delight. Its firmness does my body real well. I have moved this mattress between 3 apartments and 4 storage units and its light weight makes it easy to move around. It also holds its shape very well in storage for extended periods (military life). I hope they keep selling this mattress forever because if the one I have ever wears out I want the exact same thing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description does well
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Reversible mattress
 from Weston, Boston,  Apr 24, 2013

I was excited and bought the mattress after reading the positive reviews online. I wanted to buy this for the guest room. Had I known it arrived in a box (mattress was folded in half) that was rectangled shaped, I wouldn't have bougth it. I could have bought another mattress or board to use on the bottom of this, but decided against it and return the mattress. The product did arrive very quickly, earlier than stated.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. not that firm
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Piece of Heaven
 from Jersey City, NJ,  Feb 25, 2012

This mattress is actually a highly recommended gift. I know people who think they have to pay over a $1000.00 for quality mattress. Believe me when I say this mattress gives top comfort. I purchase one for mother, then one for myself & one for my niece. All of us agree when you lay down on this mattress it's nothing but sweet dreams!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This mattress is top of the line quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was larger than I expected
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Cleveland, OH,  Jan 31, 2012

Put a memory foam mattress cover over it and have only slept on it for a week, but LOVE IT. It is really comfortable. We do like our mattresses firm and so far it is very firm but a really great mattress to sleep on.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A very good conventional foam mattress.
 from Atlanta, Ga,  Jan 17, 2012

So far, I am very pleased with the quality, comfort, and support of this foam mattress, which to me is much more comfortable than a traditional innerspring mattress. It is fairly heavy at about 43 pounds queen size, so it appears to be made of a good quality, high-density foam. I decided to buy this conventional foam mattress instead of a memory foam mattress because this one is reversible, so it can be periodically flipped over and/or rotated to allow the bed to wear more evenly. This is a pretty firm mattress, so depending on your own preferences, you may or may not want to add a mattress topper. I chose to add a 1" thick memory foam topper for a little more softness, and this extra layer has worked great for me.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 75 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top