Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
E.C.O. Mattress
 from West Coast,  Dec 19, 2008

This is the second mattress we purchased from Overstock. The frist with the Queen Size 'Select a Firmness' mattress which was fantastic - came within a week and within minutes of opening the package (they all come tightly rolled) it was in perfect shape and ready for use. We wanted a slightly thinner mattress for another bed and decided to purchase the ECO latex after reading the reviews. Compared to the first mattress we purchased, this was a disappointment. It was more expensive, and the workmanship is poor. It took over two weeks to arrive. It is simply a thin layer of latex over a foam mattress - so the notion that this is better environmentally is not accurate. Secondly - one corner never attained shape and is still 'smashed in'. I opened the cover and could see the poor quality - the latex is literally just glued to the foam. The overall surface quality is fine - it's even and the firmness that we expected, but based on the quality and workmanship - I cannot recommend this mattress. If you want the feel of latex - buy another mattress and purchase a separate latex topper - easily available.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best purchase EVER!!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Aug 19, 2008

I was really nervous about purchasing this bed...there were no reviews, and of course no test-drive in the mattress store...but this mattress is SOOO comfortable. I stand on my feet all day and have a lot of problems with my back, legs, neck, and feet. This bed has changed all of that. It took a couple of days for my body to get used to it and re-align, but it has been about 3 weeks and I am in love. I fall asleep immediately and sleep through the night. I don't feel my husband flop around and get up in the middle of the night. And I wake up feeling rested, refreshed, and energetic (which never happened on my old pillow-top mattress that started to sink in the middle). I am extremely happy with this mattress. It is an incredible value AND it's healthier for me and the environment than almost every other bed out there. If you are on the fence, I say go for it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I'm very pleased with this purchase.
 from OKC, OK,  Jul 12, 2011

I looked long and hard for an affordable mattress that was firm and hopefully durable. Buying a mattress online is scary when all you have are descriptions and reviews from folks you don't know. My last Sealy Posturpedic cratered (literally) after about 7 years as did its predecessor. Iím not a very big guy at 140 lbs, but I tend to sleep in only a couple of positions all night. I like a firm mattress, but reviews indicated this mattress to be too firm for some. So I bought a 2Ē memory foam topper to give it that extra cushiness while, hopefully, avoiding the feeling of sinking into quicksand. It worked out swell, but for another 75 bucks I may try the laxtex topper next time. Anyway, since a spinal cord injury 32 years ago, I must be careful of pressure points, but must be able to turn over easily when dressing in bed. Therefore, the right balance between softness and firmness is extremely important. Also transferring to a wheelchair requires reasonably firm edge support. This mattress and topper fit all my needs and, for about three months now, have given me the best sleep Iíve had in years. Iím hoping it holds up at least as long as the spring mattresses Iíve owned. If so, I suppose you can't ask for much more at this price point. Oh and, I have not notice any toxic fumes and, as usual, Overstock did a great job by delivering it in one week.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close enough.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty darn good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great mattress!
 from Phoenix AZ,  Oct 11, 2008

I recommend this mattress if you're looking for a comfy, durable one to replace your coil mattress. It's quite firm, though, so if you're used to a softer, pillow top, it will take some getting used to. It took me a good 2 weeks to adjust to the firmness. But now I'm sleeping wonderfully and very comfortably. Another plus is that there is ZERO movement, so if your spouse tosses and turns at night, you'll NEVER know it! Latex mattresses are the new thing, even slowly overtaking the foam ones, as they are natural and will last pretty much forever, with never having to turn them. They will never develop body impressions. You won't find another latex mattress at this amazing price, too! I highly recommmend this mattress!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Waste of Money, Like Sleeping on Cement
 from Michigan,  Jun 5, 2012

This bed is horrible. It is as hard as a rock and poorly made. I have had this bed for seven months, which I think is more than enough time for an adjustment period but way too soon to have huge dips where we lie. My husband jokes about having to sleep in a sink whole and climb a mountain to get to the other side. (we are both of average weight, 100lbs and 180lbs.) I thought I had done my homework and felt confident about buying this bed online, despite the "no returns" policy. I was sadly mistaken. Overall, this bed has been a huge disappointment and a complete waste of money. So, unless you enjoy sleeping in a cement ditch, which just might be more comfortable, I would avoid buying this bed.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great mattress
 from Santa Clarita, CA,  Oct 24, 2011

Bought this mattress because of the great reviews. Packaged well for shipping. Speedy delivery. Also mattress is great quality. Definitely on the firm side, but does wonders for those who require better back support. I was actually planning on buying a mattress cover to soften up the mattress but have since grown accustomed to its firmness. Would recommend to anybody who suffers from back stiffness, like me!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
worth the money
 from georgia,  Sep 17, 2011

this mattress is firm but not hard. I ordered a topper and topper cover. all arrived promptly. this mattress would be fine by itself. but the topper made it really luxurious. there was no odor. put on bed immediately and made the bed, slept on it an hour later. placed on my existing bed foundation, no problem. folks weighing over 200 lbs. may prefer the 10 or 12 inch mattress

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Luxurious Feeling
 from Phila, PA,  May 2, 2009

I've had this mattress about a month now on a platform bed, and I'm very impressed. This is my first foam mattress, and I find it more comfortable than conventional innerspring mattresses. Latex is a better topping layer than memory foam--it is more resilient, i.e., recovers much better so you don't feel like you're sunk in one spot. I bought a couple of latex pillows to match, and the comfort is as good as it gets. My arthritic back feels better--less stiff in the morning--as long as I sleep on my back. The latex conforms perfectly to your contour. Soft and yet firm. The feeling is luxurious, and the price is unbeatable for the quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bargain
 from Albany, NY,  Oct 5, 2008

After testing mattresses in local stores I was sure I wanted a latex mattress. This mattress is a little firmer than some of the $2,000 mattresses I tested, but is an awesome bargain. I have mild arthritis in my spine, and after sleeping on this mattress wake up with no back pain. If you like a softer bed you may want to add a thin memory foam topper.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love latex!
 from Boxford, MA,  Apr 4, 2014

We had sudden need of queen sized sleeping accommodations for guests. We only allow latex mattresses in the house because they last so long, are comfortable, allergy free and do not promote dust mites. In the stores they are hard to find and expensive so once again, my beloved Overstock to the rescue. The mattress arrived in a few days and expanded to full thickness quite quickly. Odor was minimal. The mattress is very firm, as others have said and that is just what we like. Though "hard" when you first lie down, it feels great and minimizes motion of the other person. I am thrilled with the ease of having a comfortable mattress delivered by UPS, no scheduling deliver from a store. Price was very fair as well.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
too firm
 from new york,  Mar 17, 2014

Its way too firm. It feels cheap in that way. Like something you had as a child because your parents gave the kids the crummy beds.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bed
 from Dallas,  Feb 6, 2014

Overstock makes shopping easy, quality products free shipping is hard to beat

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great mattress!
 from Feeding Hills, MA,  Jan 21, 2014

We are slowly replacing all of our mattresses in our house. This is the 5th E.C.O. latex matress we have purchased because we like them so much! BEWARE: They are extremely firm so if that's what you are after, then you will be very happy :)

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Feels like laying in quick sand
 from Henderson, NV,  Oct 19, 2012

Biggest waste of $480 I've spent in years. If Overstock allowed the return of this item after being opened, I would have shipped it back the next day after receipt. DO NOT BUY THIS UNLESS YOU ARE 100000% SURE YOU WANT A MATTRESS THAT FEELS LIKE YOU'RE SINKING IN SAND BECAUSE IT IS NOT REFUNDABLE ONCE OPENED!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color appeared as advertised
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not as resilient/firm as I had expected from past experience with a latex mattress.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? no comment
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect firm mattress, for our platform bed.
 from Pennsylvania,  Aug 27, 2012

Seems perfect for our platform bed. We just got it weeks ago and were happy to be able to use it that night, since there was no outgassing. We did let it puff up outdoors on a deck, when the65lb. roll was opened, in case of any chemical odors, but there were none. We wanted some very firm, so one of the negative reiviews said hard as a rock, for me that was a positive. Its much more confortable and firmerr than the innerspring mattress our platform bed had before.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Firm and comfortable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Still Unsure...
 from Durham, NC,  Apr 30, 2012

I like a really firm mattress, and abhor that horrible squishy suffocating "memory" foam (why aren't they honest and just call it "quicksand foam"?) stuff. My wife's mattress needs are more moderate, but she felt from the online reviews that this mattress would meet both of our needs. We've been sleeping on it two weeks now, and it's still hard to tell. This is certainly not the totally positive experience I've had from other latex mattresses, but it's not bad either. It's not that the mattress isn't firm -- the foam is very thick and solid -- but it doesn't have any "spring back" to it. So it's firm, and you don't sink into it like that horrible quicksand memory foam, but then again it doesn't push back much against you either, like other latex mattresses I have owned or tried out. It also "telegraphs" movement notably more than other foam mattresses I have used, so that if one of us turns in bed, the other always feels it. (But maybe I just feel that way because we took too long to get rid of our last mattress, which eventually built up troughs for each of us!) And despite the firm solidity of this mattresss, the sides are a bit prone to compress when you swing in or out of bed. That said, it's still a firm mattress and I've generally been able to sleep on it pretty well. The jury is really still out, since I think it takes a month of sleeping on a mattress, alas, to know whether it was worth buying. But Overstock asked me for the review now, and if I don't do it now I'll forget to...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent - what I expected
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Feb 15, 2012

As many mentioned, it is very firm. It works wonderfully with the platform bed that I purchased. I am thinking about trying out a pad on the top to soften it up a little. Takes some getting used to after a "regular" mattress. Molds to your body. I am still undecided if this is a good or bad thing ;)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best for my back
 from Abington, PA,  Jan 13, 2012

I got this as a present and I was very pleased. This mattress is more on the firm side and I love it. It is perfect for my back pain, which is greatly relieved by sleeping on this mattress. I have had a much more expensive Tempurpedic mattress, which is not half as comfortable as this one. I did not notice any smell with it and it unfolded perfectly, but I also let it sit before using for over a week. I had my friends try this mattress out as well and they all like it. Definitely recommend it.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
firmly comfortable
 from Clearwater FL,  Dec 7, 2011

I was shocked when this arrived rolled up in a box, but it unrolled and shaped right up. Made in the USA and really comfortable.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great when combined with a pad
 from Maryland,  Nov 11, 2011

This is a very firm foam mattress and works great when combined with a memory foam pad (I got a 3") Very good support and comfort. Really liked the small size when delivered - it made getting it up the stairs an easy one-man job.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? n/a
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top