Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 57 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very disappointed
 from California,  Mar 13, 2011

I purchased the E.C.O. mattress from Overstock based of the overwhelmingly positive customer comments I saw on Overstock's website. What a mistake! The mattress was delivered late. It had a made proudly in America sticker on the box even though it was clearly listed as being made in China! The mattress came in a pasted over box with no backup paperwork, instructions or receipt. It looked like the box had been opened several times previously. The mattress I received is a piece of crap, it has no bounce like real latex. It feels like sleeping on concrete. I bought a 3" topper with the mattess, because the reviews said it was firm. Even with the 3" topper, my wife and I wake up every morning with intense back pain from the mattress. We get absolutely no orthopedic support or pressure relief from this mattress. Our old worn out extra firm mattress with the topper feels infinitely better than the E.C.O. mattress. Because of Overstock's no return policy, I am now stuck with a worthless 70 pound mattress and am out my $$$$ dollars. I wonder if Overstock only shows overwhelmingly positive reviews in order to entice people to buy the products it's selling.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
Response from Overstock.com
     By Review Response Team
Thank you for writing this review for the E.C.O. Luxury Latex Firm 10-inch Queen-size Mattress. After researching your complaint, we have confirmed that the product information listed on our site is accurate. We apologize for the condition in which your item was delivered. We have checked our warehouse to make sure this will not happen again.
 
 
Rating
Am I from a different planet?
 from New York,  Sep 2, 2012

My old queen size mattress was giving me back pain and since I'm thinking of upgrading to a King set, I was looking for a good, cheap temporary solution. After some research, I decided to go with this product. Mind you, shopping for a mattress on line, w/o the ability to feel and touch, one has to relay only on reviews, and so I did. I know I need a stiff and hard mattress. I sleep on my stomach and soft surface make my midsection sink and I wake up with lower back pain. Many of the reviewers describe this product as "hard as a board", "intolerably hard", "Can't use it w/o 3" memory foam topper", etc. Getting it I was expecting/hoping to find all of the above, boy I was wrong. The mattress is soft. my body sink in it. sleeping on my back is ok since the mattress does take your body shape. But this morning, I woke up with back pain since I slept on my stomach. What a useless purchased. such a disappointment. For the record, I'm 6'3", 210lb very athletic. I cannot recommend this if you sleep on you stomach. I should have gone to Ikea and feel/text the cheap mattresses they have instead of being lured with the promise of "latex". The amount of Latex in this mattress is insignificant to present a factor. Bottom line; you can't expect much from a mid $$$ mattress with free shipping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not sure yet
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Inaccurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great mattress
 from Raleigh, NC,  Jul 5, 2011

I was a little leery ordering a mattress on-line without being able to test it, but boy am I glad i did. This mattress replaced my name brand memory foam mattress, which was starting to lose its' firmness and at times made me feel like I was sleeping in a pit. The latex gives in much the same way the memoryfoam did, but is not heat sensitive, so bounces right back. I like a firm mattress, and do not use any toppers like some other folks. I felt better immediately, and actually had an improvement in my bad knee which I did not expect. it turns out some of my knee problems must have been from the heat sensitivity of the memory foam causing the knee to sink bit. You won't go wrong with this mattress, and at this price if it doesn't last 20 years, who cares?

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT
 from TN,  Sep 8, 2009

I had a microdiscectomy on my lower back and have had back pain ever since. I was sleeping on a $2500 Stearns and Foster mattress, it was a great mattress but soft. I consider this an upgrade, not only is it more comfortable but also germ free. Do some research and find out how disgusting a mattress is after just one month of use and multiply that by a couple of years. Foam mattresses are virtually allergen/dust mite free. Most importantly, this mattress has dramatically reduced my back pain, DRAMATICALLY. My back was a little stiff for the first few days while it adjusted to the new firmness but now it is so much better. The Latex and foam conform to your body with just the right pressure, almost cradling your body. I cannot say enough good things about this product, like the other review stated, I feel like I won the lottery with this purchase. This mattress is worth it's weight in gold, I'll never buy anything else.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best purchase ever made
 from Austin, TX,  Jan 12, 2009

I would highly recommend this mattress to anyone. If you are like me and get back aches from fluffy pillow top mattresses then this one is for you. I am on a budget and was fearful that I might have to spend top dollar for a latex mattress and after I read the reviews for the 8 inch mattress I bought this one (10 inch). I have it on a platform bed frame and it looks attractive. The firmness is what my back craves. I really feel as if I won the lottery with this purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from CA,  Nov 16, 2012

We have a cal king and love it. We bought this same one in queen and it is NOT the same. It is not even close to being as firm as our other one we oreded a couple years ago. We roll into a hole in the middle. I try to sleep as close to the edge as possible so that I can get on a flat spot but ultimately end up in the crater in the center. Really wish we could return it but can't. We will give it to our young daughter.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty good
 from RI,  Apr 29, 2012

This is a good product and it is better than any other mattresses. Product delivered on time. The cover of the mattress had pretty poor quality, but firmness of the mattress and it has been 3 years, but firmness still good.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was clear
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
"Firm" is the key word here
 from Upstate NY,  Mar 12, 2012

We bought this mattress roughly a year ago. We have been trying to like it (considering the money we spent) but alas, have given up. Like others we wanted a latex type mattress after having tried some major brands in local stores but didn't want to pay the high price. This mattress is VERY firm. It does not have much give at pressure points. My wife and I both get backaches by morning on a mattress that isn't just right for us. We are in our 50's so maybe our backs are getting a little sensitive. We have tried a 2" latex topper, and a 2" high density memory foam topper, but no combination worked well. If you look at consumer reviews, they recommend you buy a mattress after trying it for at least 15 minutes. They generally do not rate actual mattresses, just companies. It is very subjective, as some will be better off with firm, some with soft. Anyway, we just bought a new mattress for considerably more money locally, with a trial policy, and are hoping for a better result. Our latex mattress has been moved to the guest room. Again, the key word here is FIRM. Good luck!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? OK
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality seems OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK, but how do you really describe a how a mattress will feel
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The bed is meh
 from Fort Lauderdale Florida,  May 20, 2011

I purchased this item with high hopes of receiving a comfortable and eco friendly bed for my pregnant girlfriend and I to sleep on, what I got was an uncomfortable rock. I heard that this bed was stiff, but it is beyond that. It seems more like the bottom part of a bed before they add the soft top part that touches human parts. After months of trying to make this thing comfortable with additional blankets I have ordered a topper; hopefully that will make this a finished product. I would not recommend this bed to anyone, even those that like firm beds. I like firm beds but there is no way to be comfortable on this thing.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? fair
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This Bed Saved My Body
 from New Mexico,  Jan 26, 2011

I could only consider Latex for a mattress. I had one of the high-end 100% latex mattresses that now sell for $2100+. Greatest bed in the history of sleep. But after 14 years, it just wore out. It had no sponge factor and had been thru a lot with moves and storage at times. For months my shoulders were jammed. Horrible but finances prevented me from getting a new mattress. And getting a 100% Talalay is not an option for me financially for rest of this decade. What to do? Research and reading reviews for two months online.... I decided on this 10 inch ECO mattress. I was not thrilled that it had only 2 inches of latex (after having 100% latex). There was a sale + a coupon that saved me $95 so I went for it. Bed delivered in a reasonable period of time; in good condition; People say it's heavy. Try moving a talalay mattress. People say the ECO is FIRM. I can't even call it that. It isn't a firm mattress; it's like a board. I was going to sleep on it at least one night without a THREE INCH FOAM TOPPER just to see how the bed is by itself. No way would I consider sleeping on this bed without the topper. But with the topper??? HEAVEN. It is absolutely perfect. I am very happy. I had the foam topper on the sagging old latex mattress and the topper sagged in the middle of the bed and was just tooooo soft (but it kept me out of traction till I could afford a new mattress). The topper on the ECO is heaven....it's the perfect combination. I love firm... but I need softness and cush as well. I am very happy. (and I thank everyone who reviewed this bed -- positive and negative ratings. It really helped me.)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No good
 from Jersey City,  Oct 13, 2010

I have chronic lower back pain and I purchased this mattress after much research that stated that latex was the way to go. With this mattress, I was unable to get a whole night's sleep and I would wake up in the morning with unbelievable pain. After just five months, I got rid of this mattress and purchased a pillow-top from Sealy's. And it made a huge difference! Delivery and response from Overstock was great, I just wouldn't recommend this particular mattress.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I am looking for
 from Seattle WA,  Sep 30, 2011

To start off I have a pinch nerve so I have tried the beauty rest and eurotop mattresses, all too soft for me. I had to go see a chiroprator 3 times last year because it was so painful. Then I found this mattress, it was a perfect fit for me. I knew off the bat from what other reviewers said that its a very hard mattress. It did take me few weeks to get adjusted and for it to have a little bounce to it, but I will take that since i believe this is what I needed for my back. Its been 9 month since my purchase I have not had to go see a chiroprator yet. This is a VERY FIRM mattress to start out with there will be adjusting time. Sleep well everyone, Mark

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Potentially a great mattress....but
 from Las Vegas,  Apr 22, 2011

All of the reviewers mentioned how firm the mattress was and they weren't lying. I don't think I understood the meaning of firm until I slept on it. We won't be able to sleep on it without a topper of some kind. We have a 2" memory foam topper for our RV that we used on the second night and it was good then. I consider this mattress as is to be a very good base system, but then plan on putting a topper on too. So I would rate this mattress fair to average without a topper and maybe good to excellent IF you get a good topper.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? N/A
  • How is the quality of the product? Ok
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous mattress
 from Vail, Colorado,  Apr 2, 2011

I did my homework before buying a new mattress and researched many. I wanted something eco friendly with firm support that would not be too expensive. This mattress is fabulous, it is eco friendly, affordable and high in quality. Since I got it about two weeks ago I have been sleeping very restfull. My husband is also very happy with this purchase, since he has backaches a lot and was surprised about the support and decline in his lower back. I considered a mattress topper in the beginning but the longer I have been sleeping on it the more I am just happy with the mattress and love it. It defenitely is firm. It had no odor and was really not all that heavy as people have commented in previous reviews. (Sure handles would not be a bad thing in general, to give it a better gripp but it just fine without).

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
On the Firm Side
 from Clarksville, TN,  Dec 25, 2009

Mattress is just a bit too firm, but overall I really like it. There was no noticiable odor and unpacking it was easy (it is heavy). I slept on it a few nights and found it to be very firm and my back hurt the next day. After reading other reviews, I purchased a 2-inch memory foam topper and it is perfect for me now. No more back pain!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great eco-friendly mattress
 from Idaho,  Nov 24, 2009

Nice comfortable mattress - we definitely have fewer back pains waking up in the morning compared to our old mattress. This one won't sag in the middle and is firm but not so firm that it activates pressure points. We added a 2" eco-latex topper since we heard from another review that it adds comfort, and we aren't disappointed at all. The price was well worth it, the quality is higher than name brand mattresses I've had in the past, and I feel great that we aren't impacting the environment as much as we would have with a Sealy or Simmons.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this mattress!
 from Medford, NJ,  May 13, 2009

We were leery about purchasing a mattress via the internet. However, this mattress is one of our best purchases! The mattress is perfect for us....very firm and easy on our backs! When it arrived in a box much smaller than a mattress, I was skeptical. I opened the box and pulled the mattress out (with the help of my daughter as it was very heavy) and found the mattress rolled up in plastic. Once I started to cut away at the plastic, the mattress sprang open and I was amazed at the quality and firmness of this mattress. We bought a pillow top mattress cover from Overstock and now feel we have a hotel quality bed!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy!
 from Daphne, AL,  Jul 31, 2014

I read all kinds of data before deciding on a latex/memory foam mattress. I wanted somewhat firm to ease back pain and absolutely did not want something that would get hot. The information, reviews, and price on this seemed perfect for me. I am overall very pleased with my purchase. After 2-weeks of sleeping on it, I decided it might be just a bit too far on the side of firm and got a 3" gel-cool memory foam eggcrate topper (also from Overstock). It is not like sleeping on a brick like some have suggested, but it is rather firm if you are used to the softer pillow-top type mattresses. For me, it's now perfect with the topper.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Knoxville, TN,  Nov 16, 2012

I had tried a Tempurpedic and found the memory foam too soft and did not help my hip and back problems. This mattress solves the problem by having the majority of it a dense, firm foam, and only a few inches of memory foam on top. Also a nice cover comes with it. Just the right amount of firmness for a guy with back problems - yet still comfortable. Just recommended one to my 86 year old mom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent. Well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Comfortable sleep
 from Washington State,  Oct 1, 2012

Really happy with this mattress after 1 1/2 years. It is firm which is our preference. No soft spots or sinking, holding up well. Love it after 26 years of using futons on wood. Older bones need a a little bit of give.... Also like receiving it and our other 2 new mattresses from Overstock at the front door - no delivery hassle or cost.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It's white...
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 57 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top