Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 75 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

 from Orange,CA,  Jan 30, 2006

I was hesitant to purchase after reading the reviews. I am a 40 yr old woman and very happy that I went ahead and made the purchase. Boxes were packages very well and quick delivery. All pieces were there and in great shape, no scratches or peeling edges. I found it simple to put together. This may be due to the fact that I have put other dressers, entertainment centers and kitchecn nook together. By far, this was one of the easier ones to put together. I am very happy with how it has turned out. It looks great. My only 3 complaints which are minor are that there were no assembly instructions for the drawers and the screws for the drawer pulls did not fit too good. Had to buy 6 screws which cost was less than $1. The diagram shows the drwaer guides with screws in different places than where I had to put the to make them work. I thought the holes were drill wrong on the left and right sides but just switching holes on the drawer guides worked perfectly. It will help to read the instructions first and lay everything out so you can pick and choose what you need easily. Overall, very happy that I went ahead and purchased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk, Great Price!!!
 from Front Royal, VA,  May 11, 2007

I SEARCHED everywhere for a secretary desk to go with our more contemporary decor, that would fit the small corner of my kitchen...after months of looking I was thrilled when I found this desk! This desk is EXACTLY what I needed. It provides me with the perfect way to hide our house hold clutter (bills, phone books, mail, etc), and is the perfect place for me to store my laptop out of the way. The best part is that I just shut the front and hide it all! At first, I was a bit worried, because the other reviews had not been the best; but I was pleasantly suprised. It arrived quickly. My husband put it together, with no problem, in about 2 hours. We were short a few dowel rods; but we always keep some spares on hand. The desk did have just a FEW MINOR bumps from shipping; but was easily fixed with a black permanent marker. You can NOT tell where I touched it up. I'm very happy with the purchase, and absolutely THRILLED with the price! I highly recommend this product. It's compact design fits even the tightest area; and the look goes great with just about any decor. It has provided me with more than enough storage. I like that it has drawers (which are quite deep and roomy), and the adjustable shelves. Perfect!!! Thanks Overstock!!! :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
missing hardware
 from Destin, FL,  Dec 14, 2007

I bought this desk over a year ago and I really don't like it. First and foremost the directions stink, I am a mechanic on jets and so is my boyfriend and between the two of us we got it together, that is until we ran out of the set screws that we needed to put in the drawer rails. We figured that we could find something to sub for it and no luck, So now a year later, we still have no drawers, we just gave up on the darn thing and now we are looking for something better. The size of the piece is so perfect and the look would have been just right for my small space, I just wish it would have been built better. By the way now the edge of the desk is wearing away so the black paint has rubbed off and you can see the very fashionable cardboard like material it is actually made out of. I am usually very impressed with my overstock buys, but not this time.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from Atlanta, GA,  Sep 10, 2009

Overall, I am happy with the purchase of this desk. I find the quality fair for the price, however I wish the drawers were a bit more sturdy. The desk does look great though, and it has really helped with the organization and hiding of many miscellaneous items. We have it at the end of our entryway, in a corner between the kitchen and family room. I assembled this desk by myself in 8 hours. The directions were easy to follow, it just took long because it was a tedious process that included LOTS of parts. In the end I recommend the product , and am happy that I did not spent two to five times more for a pre-assembled secretary desk from a local furniture store. I am also happy with Overstock - shipping was timely and all of the pieces arrived in proper condition.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Piece of Junk
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Sep 7, 2009

I ordered this desk for my daughter's room last year. My husband spent five hours putting it together. It looks nice, much as in the picture, but the quality is abysmal. It's really a piece of junk. The drawers are so flimsy you can hardly put anything in them or they fall apart. The front of the drawers are always falling partly off. This is truly the worst piece of furniture I have ever bought. You might as well just throw your money in the garbage and skip the long assembly process, because you will be disappointed with the result. Better yet, buy a different desk!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Maple Secretary Desk
 from Austin, TX,  Mar 12, 2009

We've been shopping for a mail desk for years (literally) and finally chose this one. It arrived quickly and I started putting it together shortly thereafter. It went together rather easily, but like any piece of "assembly required" furniture, patience is sometimes the best tool to have at your disposal. I made sure I had everything I needed close by and carefully grouped all the parts together. I took my time and it went together without a problem. I do wish the drawers were a little more stable, but otherwise it's a very attractive and useful piece of furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Cedar City Ut USA,  Jan 30, 2006

The fit,finish and quality of the desk is good. Putting it together went well. The only problem was with the instruction sheets . the drawings were to small to see any details so I had to figure things out as I went along.Also, there was supposed to be a seperate instruction sheet for the drawers and it was missing.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice little piece of furniture
 from michigan,  Dec 28, 2007

very nice piece for the price. assembly required. fits in my kitchen really well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great / quality so so
 from Phoenix, AZ,  Sep 18, 2006

I purchased this desk in black for my 9yo son. It looks great in his bedroom! I think it would be perfect for any student. A little too low quality for an adult probably. The black finish is great. The instructions to put it together were not very good, as others have commented. In fact, certain sections about which screws to use were just wrong. However, you can figure it out if you are patient and have put other furniture together before. It was noted in another review that someone had trouble with having to reinforce a drawer. My son made the mistake of putting some really heavy books in one of the drawers, resulting in the slider being dented, and then the drawer wouldn't open and close properly. However, I was able to bang it back into shape and it works perfectly again. The drawers are rather flimsy so they will not tolerate anything too heavy. Overall, I am satisfied. It looks great and was more reasonably priced than any other secretary desk I investigated. But you do get what you pay for...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sonoma Secretary Desk - Black (Sharp)!
 from Wisconsin,  May 1, 2006

I purchased the Sonoma Secretary Desk because I liked the style and look of it. I was a little apprehensive due to some of the reviews that were on the website because of the level of difficulty to assemble. I decided to order the desk anyway. I received the desk within 1 week and I assembled this desk in under 2.5 hours. It really was not that bad to put together at all! I purchased the black desk; it looks great and I'm very happy that I purchased it!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Tampa, Florida,  Jan 30, 2006

Do not buy this desk! The directions were terrible, the laminate finish is scuffed on the majority of the pieces, and the pieces simply do not fit properly together!! All in all this desk cost way to much for the quality that you get. This is the first item that I have purchased from overstock that I have been unhappy about.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 30, 2006

THe end result is a beautiful desk, but the instructions were poorly written and the hardware is not that good. Two drawers have already come a part and had to be reinforced. The unit looks very nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SECRETARY DESK
 from DELAWARE AR,  Dec 10, 2013

WE HAD ALOT OF TROUBLE PUTTING THIS DESK TOGETHER BECAUSE WE DIDN'T RECEIVE ALL THE PARTS THAT WERE NEEDED AND HAD TO WAIT A WHILE TO GET THEM. IT WAS IN MY LIVING ROOM FOR ABOUT TWO WEEKS WAITING FOR THE CORRECT PARTS AND EVEN WHEN WE GOT IT PUT TOGETHER ONE OF THE DRAWERS IS UNEVEN AND WON'T CLOSE PROPERLY SO WE HAVE TO OPEN TWO DRAWERS TO GET TO ONE. I WOULDN'T ORDER ANYTHING LIKE THIS AGAIN!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
well made, but not easy to put together
 from Northern NJ,  May 21, 2013

Beautiful, sturdy, nice size drawers. However, the directions do not include the labeling of all the pieces so, set aside at least one hour just for this part. I had a friend who is a cabinet maker put this together for me, and it took her 3.5 hours! (not including the labeling of the pieces).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality and the drawers are sturdy and glide open well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
drawers fell apart after 6 mos.
 from west coast, oregon,  Dec 21, 2012

The desk is of medium quality, a press board kind of thing. We had it in our main room and now is in our bedroom. I admit we did put stacks of papers in the drawers, but in no time (less than 6 mos.) they drawers fell apart. I would suggest putting this in a room where you may use it occasionally not as a main office desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Secretary Desk
 from Ohio,  Oct 29, 2012

Am very pleased with this product, in fact I ordered a matching nightstand. Assembly wasn't as difficult as other people said. It took a while but there won't be any problems if you follow the directions. Looks good in the spare bedroom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from MiamiLakes,Fla.,  Sep 13, 2012

My daughter recently returned from college and needed a study desk/area to continue her studies to prepare for the MCAT (medical school exam). This desk-size is perfect for the room it is in and the color matches our woodgrain floor perfectly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality/fair price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? extremely accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the Price
 from Huntsville, AL,  May 28, 2012

This took a long time to assemble but has perfectly functioned in our office as a second desk. Missing a finishing touch: you can see the tan paperboard backing edge. Don't leave the desk open if you have little toddlers: they'll hit their head on the sharp corners or else hang on it, and by the creaking and cracking sounds may lead to it breaking off the hinges. Also note the drawers don't hold more than 15 lbs or so. But I love the adjustable compartment levels and get compliments on it's compact size yet complete usefulness.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. a nice inexpensive desk/cabinet
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good enough
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Looking Desk
 from Florida,  Mar 2, 2012

Desk is quality piece of work. Only drawback was no pieces are numbered and the hardware is all bagged together. This made assembly much more difficult. However the end results are a quality piece of furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High Quality Piece of Furniture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was Adequate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Delivered and Performs as expected
 from Rochester, New York,  Feb 8, 2012

Pros: Everything delivered, color blends in well. Easy to move around. Cons: Takes time to put together. Comes in two boxes. Instructions not as clear, some pieces marked for assistance. Has an 800 number in case something was missing. I didn't have any problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 75 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought