Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
5-drawer Pine Dresser
 from West Yellowstone, MT,  Aug 2, 2011

The finished dresser looks good, but it is very dependent on the accuracy of assembling the drawers. The instructions are quite minimal, but understandable and adequate. The main chest assembles quite easily, but the drawers must be aligned very carefully because the drawer supports are just slots in the drawer side panels, so if the drawer sides are not aligned perfectly, the drawer fronts will have varying gaps between drawers. This can be difficult since the parts are not pinned. I recommend drilling so as to not split the 7/16 inch thick drawer backs, and to aid with alignment. Also, some of the drawers did not fit well into the dresser, and the wood runners had to be sanded down to fit. All the drawer runners needed some sanding so the drawers would slide smoothly. The dresser is solid wood. The corner posts are solid, but finger jointed, so if you look very closely, you can see the joints. The sides between the corners posts are 1/8 inch plywood. The front is composed mostly of 5/8 inch thick drawer fronts with a few solid supports across for strength. The top is 5/8 inch solid pine with a beveled edge. We bought this for use in a summer cabin, and it looks good, and functions fine for this application, but may not hold up long with everyday, year-long use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice
 from Arkansas,  Jul 4, 2012

Very nice value. Classic lines and good materials. Assembly is always a bit of a pain with these flat packs but that is part of the deal. The directions could be better. But overall this piece of furniture is just what we wanted. Good price, good quality and good service. I looked around a bit for something similar and nothing compared

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay value, but a bit dissapointed
 from Birmingham,  Apr 10, 2012

A satisfactory value at $***. However, several of the inside drawer pieces are not "solid wood" as advertised. These pieces are some kind of lightweight compressed wood. The outside pieces are solid wood. Although I managed to put it together okay, the instructions need to have written descriptions, not just a few diagrams.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not as good as I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not completely accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
better than the reviews!
 from Wichita, KS,  Jul 29, 2012

I bought this product despite the reviews because it was way cheaper than any other option I found for solid wood furniture. I think it's fantastic! I'm not sure if negative reviewers either got a poor quality product than me or if they just put it together wrong or if they had unrealistic expectations. I put this together with a helper for about 2 hours, taking my time to line the pieces up well because of all the reviews of drawers not lining up or sliding right. My final product is nearly perfect! The drawers slide well, they line up perfectly, and the overall product feels really solid (NOT cheap at all) and looks awesome. I was looking for something that "would do" and it's now my new favorite piece of furniture! The one warning I will give is that, like others said, there are a few places that probably need pre-drilling (although I didn't and it worked out fine) to avoid splitting the wood, and one side piece did have a crack in it, but it didn't affect the final product. If you take the time to put it together right I think you'll agree. Overall I think I got more than my money's worth.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? similar
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Fit!
 from New York, NY,  Jul 29, 2012

The dresser is a bit more rustic than I'd anticipated, but it suits my purposes as I wanted a sturdy dresser that would fit inside my double-wide closet. I wanted to keep the bedroom area more open and airy so this is ideal. Some of the previous reviewers had warned that the assembly was tricky so I was prepared for a challenge. I started it at about 11PM and was surprised at how easily it went together! I did it all on my own --- but waited until morning to use the hammer, for which I'm sure, if they knew, my neighbors would be grateful. While the assembly was cumbersome, it was not hard for me to understand what they meant for me to do. If you have two people putting it together, though, it would certainly be easier. There was a very "woodsy" scent in the beginning but I let it air and wiped it with some lavender oil and now I'm delighted. Side note: the drawers run wood on wood so their functioning is not super smooth - but for the price, I can live with that!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color is a bit "warmer" than it appears on screen - but everyone's computer is a little different, right? That said, it' pine and so it's the color I wanted.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is very good. It is sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive yes
 from los angeles,  Aug 25, 2011

I love the chest. But we are still putting it together. The drawers are especially troublesome, because we do not have any experience.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good except I didnot realize how much work.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pine dresser
 from Kalamazoo, MI,  Jul 9, 2011

The dresser looks good, however two of the drawers did not fit well and I had to sand down and cut the spacers in order for them to fit properly. This added a couple of hours to assembly. Some of the pine split easily as well when the screws were inserted. Overall pretty disappointed with this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is acura
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful all wood dresser
 from Montara, CA,  Jun 13, 2012

This is a beautiful dresser with nice deep drawers. Assembling the drawers and sanding the runners took some effort and two people. Recommned having an electric drill and sander on hand. I had to sand the runners quite a bit for the drawers to sllide easy. Took about 3 hours total to assemble. Directions are confusing regarding front and back of unit but after some study of the diagram you see the visual in step one doesn't match the other "back/front" diagrams. Once you figure out the groove slots are the back the rest of the directions are clear. Drawers are a bit tricky to align the first corner for drilling but once done other corners are easier. Worth the effort, looks beautiful with ample storage for clothing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy all wood dresser
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Dresser. Some issues putting it together...
 from Yosemite CA,  Dec 6, 2011

The quality was good. The picture is accurate. It is solid pine at a good price! The instructions were poor. And there was an error in the bottom drawer slat. We had to sand it to make it fit! It took several hours to put together! If there hadn't been the error we would have a better review. If we hadnt had the means to fix the error we would have sent it back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was ok. The instructions were poor. And there was an error in the bottom drawer slat. We had to sand it to make it fit! It took several hours to put together!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not bad for the money.
 from Newcastle, ME,  Nov 20, 2011

Not bad for the money. It's a little thin on the sides and back, but the cost is decent and it's not made of composite stuff.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? OK. It says solid wood, but while the wood is real wood, it's a little thin.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

This is a decent, solid, nothing fancy dresser. It was easy to assemble, the pieces were all in the box, all drilled in the right places - things one can assume only at their peril. The stain is consistent, and there is no chemical smell to it. The drawers all fit well. It has no metal sliders for the drawers. This is both good and bad: the drawers don't glide in and out like they are on wheels, but they do do the trick. They also don't just slide open and stay open. Plus, I always seem to get those drawers off the tracks anyway, so this works out better for me. Because of the price, I was leery that it would be poor quality. But this wasn't the case. It really is a fine dresser, especially for this price, well built, solid. But one must keep in mind: this isn't teak, it is pine. Bottom line: it's an attractive, simple, very affordable dresser. It's worth what you pay for it, it stores clothes, it opens and closes, it has space for my wallet and keys on top.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. a little above average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Just like it said
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid...nice quality for the money
 from Northern New Jersey,  Aug 15, 2012

easy to assemble and looks very nice. I like it!! And you might, too!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty well -- 4/5
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. REAL wood...
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very poor quality dresser
 from Florida,  Jun 22, 2012

Poor quality materials. holes not drilled through and wood splintered and chipped. Very thin wood. Drawers stick and will not slide.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not a good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very poor quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very poor construction and materials
 from Mew Jersey,  May 31, 2012

I would not recommend this product. Mis-leading at, poor fit and finish, not sturdy, drawers dont close properly. Screws break when assembling. Not worth the sale price either.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too much work
 from Sterling, VA,  Sep 6, 2011

We were looking for a non expensive dresser that wasn't composed of particle board or MDF, we ran across this and thought it was going to be a sturdy choice. It took 2-3hrs over two separate nights to get it fully put together. The directions aren't very detailed and if your not an expert at "some assembly required" you may mess the whole thing up. The dresser appearance wise looked great but once it was together the thing kept tipping over. We purchased safety brackets from hardware store to fix that. Now the drawers were the major problem! They wouldn't slide open or close. We spent numerous hours sanding and sanding again to get the drawers to slide in and out of the groves easily. This is why I can't rate it any higher! It took waaaay too much time to get this thing in operable condition on top of the time it took to put together!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Although it is "solid pine" it is very light weight and flimsy. Requiring us to bracket it to the wall to avoid it tipping over and falling on us.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fast delivery. Slow assembly. Low quality.
 from upstate NY,  Aug 12, 2011

Both the O-stock site and the manufacturer web site give instructions...sort of. It's a pictoral schematic, not written step by step instructions. Parts were misnumbered or were missing from my order. It call came together but took 4.5 hours. Due to lesser grade wood, you cannot pull out a drawer more than six inches or it collapses from the weight of drawer contents. This is not a particle board unit and that's a plus! But I wish I had paid a bit more for a fully assembled, heavier weight wood dresser closer to home. At least then I could see that the wood was going to stand the test of weight, movement, and time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Although it is wodden, it is made with light-weight plyboard.The product is fairly costly given the low-grade wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The picture matches the assembled dresser from five foot away. Closer inspection and assembly of product reveal the quality and grade of the dresser.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great item and great price
 from Ankeny, Iowa,  Aug 11, 2013

Bought this dresser to match a bed we purchased on Overstock. It matches perfectly. Drawers are very deep. Can hold quite a lot of clothes.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
rough dresser, but good for the money
 from Central Illinois,  Feb 1, 2013

The dresser was not too hard to assemble, nicely milled with ok instrucitons. The overall appearance is on the more rustic side - not an elegant piece of furniture. I think it would be most suitable for a kids room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. decent for the money spend
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? true
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fair
 from PHL,  Feb 1, 2013

The product is not at all sturdy. Its cheap material.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? poor
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a really good deal.
 from Killeen, TX,  Jan 26, 2013

All wood just like it described. It was fairly easy to put together. All in all it is a good deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact color that it looked like on line.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality wood.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
DaVinci Parker 4-drawer Dresser
Add to cart to see special price
(18)
Montego Maple 6-drawer Dresser
Today $270.81
Compare $330.73
Save 18%
(26)
Lang Furniture 5-drawer Chest
Today $168.99
Compare $252.95
Save 33%
(12)
Five-drawer Chest
Today $103.98
(120)
Back to top