Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

I'd been looking at this island for a long time. We had another one that we liked a lot, but after we moved into this house, I found that it didn't fit as well in my breakfast nook. I knew I could use that little room more often if I had a narrower island in there, but I still wanted the open shelf storage. I kept this one in my Overstock cart for quite a while and finally bought it even though it didn't have any reviews. It went on sale and I had a coupon, though of course today I see that the price has been lowered again. Sigh. Anyway, I thought I'd write a review and maybe help one of my fellow shoppers. The island arrived the other day, and my husband put it together with a minimum of fuss yesterday. I was nervous because the box looked like something had taken a bite out of it, but the island was packaged in an interior box and arrived undamaged. It is a very attractive, solid piece. Looks great in my breakfast nook. I am pretty pleased with it, and it seems to be a quality item. However, there are some inaccuracies in the description. First, the measurements are wrong. The actual measurements are (rounded to nearest quarter inch) 44 1/2" wide, 20 3/4" deep, and 35 1/2" high. The main one that is off is the width, so I wanted to point that out in case a few inches matters. The description also states that the center shelf is adjustable. It is not adjustable: it is fixed. That was kind of a big deal to me: I kept my cookbooks on that shelf of my old island, but I couldn't stand most of them up on this shelf (I laid some on their sides, which works okay, I guess). The shelf height of both of the shelves is only 9" (and a hair), so if you have anything taller than nine inches to put on these shelves, it isn't going to fit. I used to keep a couple of my stockpots and a rice steamer on my old island, but I couldn't put them on this one (I have some wall shelves in the kitchen, so I just rearranged things). Not a big deal, but my old island was the same width and height (but much deeper, so I didn't expect that everything would fit on this smaller one), but I did think that the shelf space (height wise) would be about the same, and since the description said that the center shelf was adjustable, I wasn't too worried about it. I am using the shelves for mixing bowl sets, cookbooks, and a few pieces of shorter cookware (chili pot, two small soup pots, etc). The drawers are roomy, though not really necessary for me; I wish they were shallower to allow for more shelf space, but if you need extra drawer space, they will be useful. The interior measurements of the drawers are 16 1/2" wide x 3 1/2" tall. Although I am disappointed that the shelf space isn't more useful--and I probably wouldn't have ordered if I'd known about the constricting shelf space--I'm not going to return it because it is still a solid, useful piece that looks great and will be plenty functional for my kitchen. I have every reason to believe that it will hold up well and continue to be practical, attractive, and useful. I am docking a star because of the description. I don't know if that came from the manufacturer or from Overstock, but there's no excuse for inaccuracies there, and I have little tolerance for mistakes in product descriptions--online customers have to rely on that information, and it ought to be correct.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly white
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. solid; seems well-made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? inaccurate information and measurements
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolutely perfect!
 from Muncie, Indiana,  Sep 28, 2013

I thought and thought about ordering this kitchen island and am so glad I bought it! I was worried about the width because I have a small kitchen area but it's more like around 45 -46 inches in length. And that just fit into the space perfectly! I had just redone my kitchen with white kitchen cabinets, black countertops and oiled bronzed handles. This had the oil bronzed hardware to match and the stainless top ties in with the appliances, sink, faucet! It has 2 nice big drawers that I needed for silverware and utensils! And the 2 shelves are wonderful for storage too! They look great with baskets! Everyone loves this island as much as my black granite countertop! And that says a lot!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Kitchen Island
 from Wayland, MA,  Sep 26, 2013

This is the most attractive, functional kitchen island I have seen. It was easy to put together and I love that it is moveable.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great service and great purchase
 from Milwaukee, WI,  Oct 29, 2012

I originally found this cart on tartet.com- purchased it and saw the exact same cart on overstock.com a few days later. I not only saved over $150 on the purchase price, but received the shipment within 1 week versus target's three week turn-around-time on this item. Love the cart, great addition to our kitchen space.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful, solid piece
 from Burlington, VT,  Feb 6, 2014

This island is such a gem. After looking for months for a functional but classy butcher block island in my price range (>$300)...i decided to go with the stainless steel top instead of cheap look-alike butcher tops. I am so pleased, it ties in so well with other stainless products in my kitchen and works well with the wainscoating I have. the top will be a breeze to clean (as opposed to wood tops). As for assembly, it was a moderate challenge for 1 person (who had a 1 year old following my every move). Was able to finish in about 2 hours...but all pieces were in good shape and the directions were more than clear. I give this island an A!

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An absolutely lovely kitchen cart!
 from St. John's, NL Canada,  May 4, 2014

This cart is even nicer than we expected it to be......beautiful and high end ......gorgeous detail and we get lots of compliments. Also, there's great instructions for assembly. It is indeed 47 1/4 " wide. (Another reviewer complained that it was only 44 1/2" wide). However, if you measure from the towels bars at each end, the manufacturers/overstock's measurement is correct. Carolyn T

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from New Jersey,  Jan 7, 2014

This is a very heavy, sturdy cart. We love the quality and the look. It was a little difficult to put together, but worth every penny. The wheels don't lock very well.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product
 from San Francisco, CA,  Jan 6, 2014

Pro: Nice looking, sturdy built Con: Hard to assemble

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
As described
 from Long Beach, CA,  Aug 19, 2013

Needed more counter space and storage for some bulkier item, this provided both. Casters do not lock in which was a surprise and a bit of a pain when standing the unit up as the front two fell out. Instructions are clear and well labelled. Putting the drawers together was a little cumbersome but the unit was assembled in a short amount of time and looks good.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really happy with this piece!
 from Memphis, TN,  May 29, 2013

I'm extremely happy with this purchase- it is exactly what I needed to break up my awkward, open kitchen and add more useable counter space. Pleased with the quality, espectially for the price. The assembly was not completely fool-proof but with time and patience it came together fine (it kind of skips minor steps and the parts are somewhat hard to differentiate in the diagrams). Overall, love the fresh look and its usefulness. Would definitely recommend! One of my favorite things I've bought from O.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I read before purchasing it that the dimensions were slightly off so I got exactly what I expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Island
 from Columbus, OH,  May 23, 2013

We needed some extra counter space in our kitchen so we bought this island. I love the high end look for the low price. Went together really easy. Directions are very easy to follow and it took me by myself only an hour to put together. Looks fantastic in my vintage kitchen!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Directions need to be more clearer.
 from Pacifica, Ca.,  Sep 14, 2012

The hex tool included made the assembly longer. needed the straight not the s-shape.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. sturdy, good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
The Orleans Kitchen Island with Marble Top
Today $400.47
Compare $759.99
Save 47%
(6)
The Orleans Kitchen Cart
Today $299.99
Cabin Creek Kitchen Cart
Today $332.71
Compare $596.02
Save 44%
(5)
Meryland White Modern Kitchen Island Cart
Today $222.15
Compare $495.00
Save 55%
(89)
Americana Antiqued White Kitchen Island
Today $446.20
Compare $684.94
Save 35%
(36)
Back to top