Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Strange odor emitting after 5 years of use
 from Houston, TX,  Jun 17, 2014

We bought these from a store when we first got married. The dishes are hit or miss as far as microwaveable. Some of them heat up dangerously hot but do not heat the food. They are fairly durable - after 5 years of very regular use, only 2 have chips. HOWEVER: these dishes began emitting a very strong and horrible smell after dishwashing or heating in the microwave. It began rather suddenly, when I opened a just finished, still-hot dishwasher and horrible smell came out - a bit like something dead mixed with sewage. On closer investigation, the smell came from some of the plates. I thought it was a freak incident until it happened AGAIN, next go around in the dishwasher. Also: when microwaving, if you happen to get the one that is NOT microwave safe, strange bubbles come from hairline cracks in the glazing, and a strange odor comes out and WILL TAINT THE FOOD. I have concluded these dishes are not even safe to eat off of and am throwing them all away.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, modern, every day use set!
 from Seattle, WA,  Mar 19, 2013

I absolutely enjoy my new set that I've recently purchase from overstock.com. Dishes look very nice and elegant on the table, I love clean, simple lines and soft fading of colors. I love holding my mug with both hands, as I sip my morning cup of freshly brewed coffee - it transfers the heat and warms my hands perfectly, which is a huge plus for me, but maybe be a drawback for someone else. I also like the weight of the dinner plates - not too light, not too heavy, very easy to handle ( a huge compliment from a former Corelle lover). And last but not the least - very impressive packaging and wrapping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Match perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty!
 Jan 24, 2015

The faded pattern was a little greener than I expected, but they are still really beautiful. They are well made and have a great, clean look.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointing
 Jan 20, 2015

They do not look like the picture. The ring around the cups is about an eigth of an inch not the 2 inches it looks like in the picture. The quality does not seem like quality stoneware but more ceramic type dishes. Are cheap feeling

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
dinnerware
 from doha,  Sep 9, 2014

I am overall amazed with timely delivery you made .Pleased with the packing, still i received two items in damaged condition . This order was basically to check the extent with which a fragile goods will be received.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SANGO NOVA BLACK DINNERWARE SET
 from MICHIGAN,  Jan 14, 2013

I LOVE THESE DISHES. THEY ARE IN A GLASS FRONT CABINET AND THEY MAKE THE KITCHEN LOOK SO NICE.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? JUST AS DESCRIBED
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. AS FAR AS I CAN TELL, UNTIL I USE IT MORE, THE QUALITY IS FANTASTIC.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? PERFECT
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

FIRSTLY, THEY SAY MICROWAVE SAFE, BUT THEY ARE NOT. THIS IS WHY PEOPLE HAVE PROBLEMS WITH CHIPPING AND PAINT FADES. WHEN YOU USE THEM IN THE MICRO, THEY BECOME VERY HOT. THIS IS AN INDICATION THAT THEY ARE NOT MICRO SAFE. THAT IS ACTUALLY A PROVEN METHOD IF YOU RESEARCH IT. OTHER THEN THAT THEY ARE FINE. THEY ARE STYLISH AND THICK. THEY FIT FINE IN MY DISHWASHER, AND ITS A RUN OF THE MILL GE. SO , NOT SURE WHAT THE COMPLAINERS HAVE. NOT A BAD PRICE WITH FREE SHIPPING. SANGO IS GOOD QUALITY, BUT NOT GREAT. DONT EXPECT THEM TO LAST FOREVER, AS THEY WILL NOT. ITS BEEN ROUGHLY FOUR YEARS, AND IM BUYING NEW DINNERWARE AS WE SPEAK. THE MAIN REASON IS CHIPPED DINNER PLATES, BUT THIS IS BECAUSE I USED THEM IN TH MICRO UNTIL I FIGURED OUT I SHOULDNT. I CAN'T STRESS THAT ENOUGH FOLKS.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? EXACT
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT MICRO SAFE
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this plates!
 from NC,  Sep 22, 2012

I love this set, the plates are big which makes it perfect for a big dinner, the cups and bowls are a great size and the only two problems a have are some of the plates have a chip after use for a year but I still get great comments on these plates and because the plates are big I have to lay them down in my dishwasher so if you have a small bottom rack in your dishwasher you might have to do the same.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is great besides I have had these for about a year and some of the plates have a chip but doesn't make it not be useable.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sango dinnerware
 from midland, tx,  Sep 1, 2012

price was good and shipping was as noted. Am pleased with the product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was as seen on website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. there was a small ding on 1 bown and a smallding on one saucer
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT LIKE THE REAL THING
 from AKRON, OHIO,  May 2, 2012

I WAS TOTALLY DISAPPOINTED WHEN THE SET ARRIVED. I EXPECTED IT TO MATCH FROM ALL THE OTHER REVIEWS I READ. BOY, WAS I WRONG. I SHOULD HAVE KNOWN WHEN I OPENED THE BOX AND THE SET WAS IN A PLAIN BROWN BOX. THERE WAS NO INDICATION THAT THIS WAS A REAL SANGO NOVA BLACK SET. CLEARLY, IT WAS A KNOCK OFF. THE DISHES WERE THIN AND THE COLORS WERE LIGHT - ALMOST NON-EXISTENT. NOT TO MENTION THE FACT THAT THEY WERE NOT THE SAME SIZE. I RETURNED THEM IMMEDIATELY. THE ONLY POSITIVE EXPERIENCE WAS THAT I RECEIVED A LIGHTNING FAST CREDIT TO MY PAYPAL ACCOUNT.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? COLORS WERE NOT CLOSE. YOU COULD BARELY SEE THE OLIVE GREEN AROUND THE EDGES. THIS SET MAY AS WELL HAVE BEEN ALL WHITE.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. BOTH THE SALAD AND DINNER PLATES WERE A DIFFERENT SIZE FROM MY ORIGINAL SET. THEY WERE SLIGHTLY LARGER THAT WAS VERY NOTICEABLE WHEN YOU STACKED THEM TOGETHER. THE CUPS WERE OK. THE OTHER THING I DIDN'T LIKE WAS THAT THE SET WAS THINNER OVERAL - PLATES, CUPS AND BOWLS.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? DESCRIPTION WAS ACCURATE IF YOU WERE BUYING REAL SANGO DISHES
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice dishes
 from San Mateo, CA,  May 1, 2012

I am pleased with the dishes. They look nice and we are using them for everyday. 2 things you should know. The bowls don't nestle well in the dishwasher and I have a second dishwasher which is a drawer one and the dinner plates are too big and don't fit in it. I have to wash them in the regular dishwasher.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
these dishes are great
 from Burleson, TX,  Feb 24, 2012

Was happy to replace some chipped dishes ey were the exact color of the original set not bought from this site. happy they are microwaveable too

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I love the idea they are microwave safe too
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Spot on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
classy looking dishes
 from Reston, VA,  Jan 11, 2012

Refer to my review on the ice cream dishes. I purchased those dishes along with this set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gift was well-liked
 from Colorado,  Jan 7, 2012

This was a gift for my adult step-son. He said that he really appreciated having some new dinnerware and really likes it. He lives far away and I have not actually seen the product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? unknown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. unknown
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? unknown
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive Review
 from Austin, Texas,  Sep 8, 2011

We purchased a set of these plates for a condo unit we are furnishing. They are really quite nice and exceeded my expectations. They have a bit of an "hombre" coloration fade to them which is the effect that I was going for so we could not be happier. The bowls are large enough to accommodate soup or salad - or a hearty cereal eater! We also purchased the chili set with tureen and bowls.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Boston, MA,  Sep 8, 2011

Purchase for a young man starting out in his own apartment. Color was perfect, as well as weight and size of dinner dish.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality appears to be good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
heavy duty - nice dishes
 from Port Leyden, NY,  Sep 5, 2011

I bought this set of dishes at *****. I have had them for over 2 years now. They have really held up -- heavy duty. I chipped one plate and broke one cup -- both accidents on my part. The dinner plates are really big - great for Thanksgiving dinner, and the bowls are oversized too. They are dishwasher safe and I would definitely recommend these dishes -- especially for those with a hearty appetite.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and durable
 from Marina del Rey, CA,  Aug 27, 2011

Don't break or chip easily. Nice and heavy and look great.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice dinnerware
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Aug 4, 2011

I'm crazy about this dinnerware set for my own home. It looks good, and has a sort of roughed-up ring around the bottom to prevent the dishes from sliding on the table. Probably not good if you like eating directly on a really nice surface, but if you use tablecloths or placemats, that extra bit of friction makes all the difference. It's very presentable but not pretentious, it has style without being distracting, and it feels like quality in your hands.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good, feels substantial and not like you're going to break it
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
plates are larger than description
 from dawson, il,  Jul 7, 2011

the dimensions on the plates did not match those on the web site.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color compared
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 39 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought