Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Only OK
 from Vermont,  Mar 18, 2010

Beautiful looking black service until you have to wash them. The shiny, center part gets clean as a whistle but, the edges seem to leave behind streaks and/or smudges. Although the dishware does become clean it appears as though you missed a few spots especially on the outside of the cups! Not a big deal if you don't mind explaining to your guests that they are really clean...

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not really black
 from VT,  Jun 13, 2012

Nicely made and nicely priced set, but if you were expecting black you will be disappointed... The color wasn't a problem for me, so I am very pleased with the set. I expect it will hold up like my other Sango stoneware, which is to say that it is durable, but can be broken in normal use and has some minor issues with glaze cracking and crazing. The glaze on the rim of this set is matte, but not chalky....much like raku glaze in color and texture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the actual colors of this set are deep blue and gunmetal gray, not black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nicely made, with a few minor irregularities in the glaze that add character rather than looking like flaws
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good aside from the color difference.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor
 from New York,  Jan 21, 2012

I was not satisfied with this product. The color of the plates, although they said they were black, came in a shade of blue/gray. The dishes marked easily and I was not satisfied with this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It didn't compare
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. didn't like product
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? not correct
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I hate them.....
 from Norfolk, VA,  Mar 25, 2014

Their not even black! Their brown and they scratch easy and the don't even look clean after you wash them, they look very cheap. I wish I could send them back I was so upset when I opened the box.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great!!
 from Fort Bragg, Ca,  Mar 21, 2014

Looks great and very well made!!! By no means cheap feeling....

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THESE PLATES!
 from AZ,  Feb 26, 2014

I love these plates! They are very pretty, have a personal look to them since they almost look hand painted but in a good day. Love the ring around the edge. Goes perfect with my bright red plates. When I first purchased them, I received a plate that was broken which is understandable because they are so fragile. The box was pretty dinged up so I believe it was the shipping company fault. But I called up overstock and they were amazing and prompt and sent out a brand new set immediately and they came in perfect condition. Things happen in shipping that are out of people control but was nice to have a company so prompt in customer service when replacing it. I was very happy! Love my new set of plates and cups (:

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from Estes Park, CO,  Jul 17, 2013

Heavy, big, bulky. Came with a scratch across the surface of dinner plate. Color not as depicted in photo. Quality lacking, not impressed with this set at all.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tears of Joy
 from Florida,  Apr 17, 2013

I purchased this set of dishes for my granddaughter this is her first set of real dishes and she loves Black. I immediately received a call on the delivery day with screams of joy from my beautiful granddaughter telling me how happy she was to have her very own set of dishes. we both have a love for black so she was thrilled that the color would have been her first choice. One thing she was happy about was it was the whole set, dishes, small plates and bowls so she didn't need to buy anything to complete the set.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was perfect. It has a silver shine to it.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellant choice they are really nice dishes.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful and timely
 from oregon,  Mar 15, 2013

this set was even more beautiful in person than the pix on the site > rather than just plain black the color was a very dark blue w brown edging and a black ish chrome looking finished exterior > totally stunning

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the color was a deep blue w brown edging rather than plain black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very happy w quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from Dayton Ohio,  Jul 20, 2012

Very good would definaitly buy again!! Fast shipping great product looks and works wonderful!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Grewt
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value
 from Buffalo, NY,  Jan 24, 2012

it was a gift - great price for quality - she was impressed - and it didn't cost me a fortune!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice quality for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I received this product in the mail very quickly, I think even within a few days of purchasing. It was a housewarming gift for friends of mine and their favorite color is black, so finding this dish set was a bullseye! They are beautiful, even better than the pictures online, and seemed very durable. They info said they are dishwasher/microwave safe so I'll have to check in with my friend in a couple months and see if that's all still true. For the price, these were a fantastic purchase!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 from Las Vegas,  Feb 12, 2010

Great price for this item. Fast shipping, have really enjoyed dealing with Overstock.com. Great customer service responses when needed, always get just what is represented.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
disappointed
 from Chicago IL,  Mar 23, 2010

they always look dirty, not dishwasher safe, and don't clean easily

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I wasn't surprised.
 from Tucson,AZ,  Sep 26, 2012

I wasn't very pleased at first. But, they grew on me. I realized, after having read the reviews by others, what to expect. And I wasn't disappointed. I bought them to use on my patio with bone & antler knives & forks in brown. I've been told by extremely sophisticated New Zealand, farmers; "they're gorgeous ! " Which gave me a different point of view. Sorry, o.co, but I never recommend to my friends that they purchase the same things, which I do. You see its considered "tacky," in my circles. I hope this helps somebody.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not so good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality is fair to poor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Sufficient
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Sango Black/ Metallic 16-piece Dinnerware Set
Sale $56.69
Was $62.99
Compare $69.98
Save 19%
(13)
Tulip Orange 16-piece Dinnerware Set
Sale $40.49
Was $44.99
Compare $65.80
Save 38%
Bamboo Folding Dish Rack
Sale $32.39
Was $35.99
Compare $38.03
Save 15%
(2)
Back to top