Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly as represented
 from Reno, NV,  Jan 2, 2011

Sometimes you order a product online based on images and descriptions, only to later learn that the color or lighting caused it to look different than you expected. That's not the case here. The Sango 40-piece Nova Black set was exactly as we expected it, and arrived (very) carefully packaged and free of problems or defects. We're so pleased with this dinnerware we plan to look at the accessory items Overstock offers.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dinner plates crack
 from northern CO,  Jan 29, 2013

I loved the look of this stoneware and ordered 5 sets less than 4 months ago. But the dinner plates I received are not microwave safe, and may not be dishwasher safe, either. So far 5 plates have cracked, and another 5 have deep scratches in the glaze surface - no way this was done by a steak knife, I tried and could not duplicate the effect. One plate actually arrived with holes so deep in the glaze that you could stand a needle up in it. I went online and found that buyers from other stores have had similar problems. Stoneware that has to be treated like fine china was not what I really wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It might be OK, but there are glazing flaws and gouges from what looks like grievous mishandling
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? size of plates is wrong, they are 11 3/8, very large
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dinnerware set
 from Des Moines, IA,  Sep 4, 2012

The Sango Nova Black dinnerware set is exactly what I was hoping to find. Something this is functional enough for daily use, but could be dressed up nicely for more formal dinners. The Nova Black does just that. The black underside and edge is a classy, yet subtle design feature that segues into an olive green, taupe color. This delicately bleeds about 1/2 inch toward the center of the bowls and plates or down the outside of the cups. The plates are large, but not bulky and I particularly appreciated that the set comes with 2 sets of bowls. They clean up nicely and do not have a noticeable tendency to streak or spot. The plates do get warm in the microwave, but not excessively. All in all, a very nice set of dinnerware.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot-on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Everyday Dinnerware for the Price
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  Jan 8, 2013

Great everyday stoneware. Measure your cabinets. Both bowls stack but do not nest. In our cabinets bowls only stack 4 high; i.e. four stacks of bowls. Have used in microwave and daily use of dishwasher with no problems. One plate is slightly crooked on the edge not noticed by anyone but me. Bottom is flat so no issues there. Cups have inverted color - black on inside which I like. Salad plates are large enough for small meals. Great packaging and no broken dishes upon on-time arrival. Good value.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent everyday stoneware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT DISHES!!!
 from sf ba area, california,  Apr 5, 2012

i LOVE these dishes. after needing to replace my older, cracked, and mismatched dishes, i never realized how difficult it is to shop for dishes - so many different shapes, sizes, and colors (not to mention the prices!). but for this 40-piece set, it's a great deal! i highly recommend these - they are beautiful and durable! my only qualm is that i wish that the mugs followed suit with the rest of the dishes, meaning black on the outside and the lighter color of the inside, but truly not a deal breaker ;)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dishes, great service from Overstock!
 from Homer Glen, IL,  Feb 23, 2012

These dishes are very sturdy, I have bumped them into each other on accident and no chips or cracks. The color is a beautiful shiny black that fades into a neutral taupe color. They are a heavier set of dishes, but they are stoneware, so it is to be expected. The bottom ring is slightly rougher than the rest of the dish, so it may scratch a table if you don't use a placemat. And I was expecting the pasta/ cereal bowl to be slightly bigger, but it works just fine. Love the fact that this set comes with ice cream bowls as well, nice to have two size bowls. Overstock continues to impress me with terrific prices, fast delivery, and excellent packaging. These dishes were packed so beautifully. I ordered two sets and not one piece was broken, I read reviews of this exact set from Kohls, and many people complained of broken pieces. I will continue my business with Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I thought it would look like
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect description of the product
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
chip easily
 Aug 22, 2015

nice but chip and scratch easily

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

For this set of dishes has everything I was looking for

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

love this set the ombre of beige and green is beautiful very durable

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bj
 Jun 5, 2015

very rich looking and ready for any occasion

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good everyday dishes
 Apr 21, 2015

For a vacation place these serve the purpose for everyday dishes although they are prone to chips.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The set is beautiful, but if you are looking for black & white, don't get this set. It has more shades of brown than it does black and there is a ring of green shadowing. Not exactly the look I was after. But shipping would be too expensive to return.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nancym
 Apr 14, 2015

These are good quality dishes. Excellent buy for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I have been looking for a casual white stoneware with black or rust trim and finally gave up finding the 'perfect' set. I have had Sango before and been very happy with it for everyday dishes. This set I probably wouldn't have purchased in the store, the edging is a greenish color, not tan/brown like my computer screen. The greenish hue is most noticeable on the cups - don't use them much, so will keep the set. Who knows - may find the perfect one some day!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Brucer11
 Mar 1, 2015

Every thing in your listing is as described and I couldn't be happier with the product. The service From Overstock is second to none .

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value
 from Los Angeles CA,  Jul 4, 2014

I purchased this dinnerware set because I was looking for a new set of nice dinnerware without breaking the bank. I was a little leery about the ceramic material because it chipped so with my last bargain dinnerware. These dishes are sturdy and came just as they appeared in the image. Because I need more than 4 place settings, this was a great value for the volume and quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The best of both worlds
 from NY,  Jun 17, 2014

It looks both rustic and modern. They are durable and sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
positive review
 from Green Bay, WI,  May 13, 2014

Exactly like described and arrives in excellent shape. Package was will packed with support.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from CA,  Mar 29, 2014

I owned the full Sango Nova black dinnerware set before, and loved them. I sold everything when I moved overseas. I'm now back, and when I went looking to buy dishes again -- well, I saw Sango Nova black was still for sale, and I didn't find anything new I liked better, so I ordered these. These were not labeled "rejects", but they should have been. The pattern is just not right, and it makes the dishware boring. It just looks like black outsides and white insides, and that's about it. Some places have the faint green around the edges that should be there, but it's all off-center: one side of a plate will have a lot, while the other side will have just a narrow band. I don't know what happened with these, but they don't look as they should. I kept them because I couldn't be bothered to repack all the dishes and carry the giant, heavy, fragile box back somewhere to ship. If I'd known these would look like rejects, I wouldn't have ordered them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goes perfect with dark expresso dining set
 from Central California,  Jun 22, 2013

These look great and feel good. I haven't had long enough to see how they hold up against chipping but with the black bottom and edges showing chips is a concern. These look fantastic with our new dark espresso table. I thought the box was some towels I'd ordered and rolled it around while unpacking and was startled to find out when I opened it - they were the dishes. I was pleasantly surprised I had done no damage as they were exceedingly well protected.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 50 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought