Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Exactly as represented
 from Reno, NV,  Jan 2, 2011

Sometimes you order a product online based on images and descriptions, only to later learn that the color or lighting caused it to look different than you expected. That's not the case here. The Sango 40-piece Nova Black set was exactly as we expected it, and arrived (very) carefully packaged and free of problems or defects. We're so pleased with this dinnerware we plan to look at the accessory items Overstock offers.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dinner plates crack
 from northern CO,  Jan 29, 2013

I loved the look of this stoneware and ordered 5 sets less than 4 months ago. But the dinner plates I received are not microwave safe, and may not be dishwasher safe, either. So far 5 plates have cracked, and another 5 have deep scratches in the glaze surface - no way this was done by a steak knife, I tried and could not duplicate the effect. One plate actually arrived with holes so deep in the glaze that you could stand a needle up in it. I went online and found that buyers from other stores have had similar problems. Stoneware that has to be treated like fine china was not what I really wanted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It might be OK, but there are glazing flaws and gouges from what looks like grievous mishandling
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? size of plates is wrong, they are 11 3/8, very large
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dinnerware set
 from Des Moines, IA,  Sep 4, 2012

The Sango Nova Black dinnerware set is exactly what I was hoping to find. Something this is functional enough for daily use, but could be dressed up nicely for more formal dinners. The Nova Black does just that. The black underside and edge is a classy, yet subtle design feature that segues into an olive green, taupe color. This delicately bleeds about 1/2 inch toward the center of the bowls and plates or down the outside of the cups. The plates are large, but not bulky and I particularly appreciated that the set comes with 2 sets of bowls. They clean up nicely and do not have a noticeable tendency to streak or spot. The plates do get warm in the microwave, but not excessively. All in all, a very nice set of dinnerware.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot-on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Everyday Dinnerware for the Price
 from Grand Rapids, MI,  Jan 8, 2013

Great everyday stoneware. Measure your cabinets. Both bowls stack but do not nest. In our cabinets bowls only stack 4 high; i.e. four stacks of bowls. Have used in microwave and daily use of dishwasher with no problems. One plate is slightly crooked on the edge not noticed by anyone but me. Bottom is flat so no issues there. Cups have inverted color - black on inside which I like. Salad plates are large enough for small meals. Great packaging and no broken dishes upon on-time arrival. Good value.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent everyday stoneware
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT DISHES!!!
 from sf ba area, california,  Apr 5, 2012

i LOVE these dishes. after needing to replace my older, cracked, and mismatched dishes, i never realized how difficult it is to shop for dishes - so many different shapes, sizes, and colors (not to mention the prices!). but for this 40-piece set, it's a great deal! i highly recommend these - they are beautiful and durable! my only qualm is that i wish that the mugs followed suit with the rest of the dishes, meaning black on the outside and the lighter color of the inside, but truly not a deal breaker ;)

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dishes, great service from Overstock!
 from Homer Glen, IL,  Feb 23, 2012

These dishes are very sturdy, I have bumped them into each other on accident and no chips or cracks. The color is a beautiful shiny black that fades into a neutral taupe color. They are a heavier set of dishes, but they are stoneware, so it is to be expected. The bottom ring is slightly rougher than the rest of the dish, so it may scratch a table if you don't use a placemat. And I was expecting the pasta/ cereal bowl to be slightly bigger, but it works just fine. Love the fact that this set comes with ice cream bowls as well, nice to have two size bowls. Overstock continues to impress me with terrific prices, fast delivery, and excellent packaging. These dishes were packed so beautifully. I ordered two sets and not one piece was broken, I read reviews of this exact set from Kohls, and many people complained of broken pieces. I will continue my business with Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly what I thought it would look like
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect description of the product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Disappointed
 from CA,  Mar 29, 2014

I owned the full Sango Nova black dinnerware set before, and loved them. I sold everything when I moved overseas. I'm now back, and when I went looking to buy dishes again -- well, I saw Sango Nova black was still for sale, and I didn't find anything new I liked better, so I ordered these. These were not labeled "rejects", but they should have been. The pattern is just not right, and it makes the dishware boring. It just looks like black outsides and white insides, and that's about it. Some places have the faint green around the edges that should be there, but it's all off-center: one side of a plate will have a lot, while the other side will have just a narrow band. I don't know what happened with these, but they don't look as they should. I kept them because I couldn't be bothered to repack all the dishes and carry the giant, heavy, fragile box back somewhere to ship. If I'd known these would look like rejects, I wouldn't have ordered them.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Goes perfect with dark expresso dining set
 from Central California,  Jun 22, 2013

These look great and feel good. I haven't had long enough to see how they hold up against chipping but with the black bottom and edges showing chips is a concern. These look fantastic with our new dark espresso table. I thought the box was some towels I'd ordered and rolled it around while unpacking and was startled to find out when I opened it - they were the dishes. I was pleasantly surprised I had done no damage as they were exceedingly well protected.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good starter set
 from Cincinnati,  Apr 26, 2013

I like the dishes. I was hoping for better as the exterior color was easily scrapped off when I first stacked them. They are holding up in the dishwasher and have not seen scratches or scraps from the initial unpack day. I'd consider then to be a good starter set because of that

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fair
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent or average for the type
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
had substantial flaws
 from new mexico,  Apr 8, 2013

i shop overstock a lot - they have great customer service. every product can't be a winner, and this was not one. it was packed very well - if i'd unpacked all of it, it probably would've taken an hour or more. but with the first two pieces, i knew i didn't like the quality so back they go.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. i only opened two pieces which both had serious flaws. it was extremely well packed, so i put back the two pieces and returned it. there's a significant charge for returning, so beware of that. that said, it's still less than it would be if i returned it myself.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? just ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Disappointing
 from Silver Spring, MD,  Apr 4, 2013

Initially, I believed that I had been careless when the first two dinner plates of the service for eight developed a long and linear crack from one end of the plate to the other. But seven plates later I know that it was not me. They cracked for no apparent reason. The only thing I can guess about it is as someone else here, with the same experience said, the plates are not microwave safe. I am so disappointed! I really find it difficult to consider buying any other Sango dinnerware. I now have one plate left. All of the others cracked in the same manner. So disappointing.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was not a problem compared favorably
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A really good deal
 from Augusta, GA,  Mar 26, 2013

These days if a product is good quality and exactly as advertised that's all we can expect, and that's what I got. These dishes are large, good looking, and compared to so many other sets I looked at, a real bargain. They're appropriate for casual or dressy. I'm single and haven't used everything yet so I don't know about durability, but I have no complaints at all.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Hard to tell so early, but I'd serve dinner to anyone using these dishes
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Completety
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
high quality, low buget
 from Gouverneur, Ny,  Mar 5, 2013

I wanted my husband and i to have a dining out experience every time we ate dinner. With the sango dinnerware set. We got exactly that. Not to mention, the price was excellent.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the site was right on in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the quality is very good. my two year dropped one of the plates on the floor and it didn't break
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the website's description of the sango set is dead on. they even look better in person.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sango 40 Piece Nova Black
 from Oceanside, CA,  Jan 29, 2013

This is the first time I have ever bought anything from Overstock. I was delighted to find out that the quality of the product is really excellent - each piece is well made. The dishes fit very well in my dishwasher and I was amazed at the excellent packing - not a single dish arrived chipped or broken. I would highly recommend these dishes - and overstock - and will be purchasing more items in the future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality of the product is excellent - as good or better than I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Dinnerware met all my expectations!!!
 from Houston, TX,  Jan 14, 2013

Everything was just perfect. Every piece was wrapped properly and everything arrived in one piece. The color was just how I expected.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value, Good Product
 from Littleton, MA,  Jan 7, 2013

We'd owned several sets of Sango Nova in another color for many years and every few years would buy another set to replace broken dishes and bowls. Finally we said "enough, we need new every day dinnerware, a change". We looked in many retail stores to see what we might prefer - of course we would buy on-line to save money - at a reasonable price and kept coming back to Sango Nova but saw the "Black" in a store which confirmed our choice on-line. The dinnerware is excellent, plates are large and the shape we like, the soup and ice cream bowls are used for many things other than soup and ice cream. And the color - mainly a dark white as shown on-line - is more up-beat and in keeping with our contemporary home and tastes than the previous brown. Very good product and Overstock shipped fast and none of the 2 sets we bought were broken or chipped, excellent packaging by the manufacturer.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great service from Overstock
 from Ontario,  Jan 4, 2013

We expected to see some minor defects given that the price was lower than retail. None of these detract from the product and unless you were on the QC line you would never notice them. The service from Overstock was outstanding. The shipment arrived in a week to our home west of Ottawa, well packed and without damage.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. One or two seconds with minor defects
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deal!
 from RI,  Dec 30, 2012

Sturdy, attractive dishware for every day. Prettier in person than in the picture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Large Dinner Plates
 from Southern New Jersey,  Dec 18, 2012

Great dinnerware set but the dinner plates are large and take up a lot of cabinet and dishwasher space.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does not match old Sango Black
 from New York,  Nov 20, 2012

It is always tough to buy from the internet. But since the name matched the name and color of the dishes we already had, we thought that we knew exactly what we were getting. It turned out that the colors did not match our existing dishes - the design must have changed over the years. The dishes are fine - but if you are trying to match what you already have, keep shopping.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 38 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top