Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Not Oaky Looking
 from NC,  Feb 23, 2012

The color is "off", a shade not likely to match anything else. The drawers are loose and have no tracks so hang down and could drop out when pulled out.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Looks nicer than it is
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's only average with some problems
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? So so
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great storage options
 from Idaho,  Jan 15, 2012

I bought this desk to serve as a vanity. It is perfect for that an has great storage options. However, the drawers tip downward to an unsatisfactory degree when pulled out. I am going to have my husband apply his woodworking skills to fix this as it really is annoying as is. That is why I would not recommend it to a friend at this time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Fine, though stain did not reach some corners.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is what I expected, given that poor quality control on items made in China seems to be the norm anymore.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent little desk.
 from Kansas,  Aug 4, 2013

This is a great little writing desk. My 13" laptop fits perfectly in the space between the top drawers and I have plenty of space to store all of my writing accessories and knick-knacks on the top shelf. Unfortunately, the top shelf is not wide enough to store binders or books. The entire top is one piece and each side of the desk has two legs attached to the side and you simply attach each side to the top. Three pieces total. It should take no time at all to put together. The drawers hold much more than I thought they would and they slide easily and smoothly without any struggle. They are not on a track, so I was surprised at how well they glide open and closed. Most of my issue, and I saw on other reviews that others have had the same problem, was that while the desk pieces were packed with plenty of styrofoam, their isn't enough of it for the desk to remain secure and in place in the box while in shipping. When I opened my box, the styrofoam had been torn up and was flying everywhere and sticking to EVERYTHING. Two of the drawers had come loose of the desk and were tumbling around in there. I was lucky enough to not end up with scratches all over my desk or crushed drawers. The knobs on the drawers were all a bit too loose, but that was easily solved with a few turns of a screwdriver.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It has a bit more of an ashen quality to it than the picture shows, but it's a very lovely color nonetheless.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The desk is fantastic, the packaging left a bit to be desired.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
writing desk
 from north carolina,  Jun 13, 2013

the desk was exactly what I wanted--extremely easy to assemble

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. the color is great, but one drawer does not fit well
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the description was accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and sturdy
 from Oakland, CA,  Nov 10, 2012

This is a beautiful desk and now that we finally have a sound one we are very happy with it. The first desk we got arrived right on time, but one of the leg pieces was broken. After over a week of emailing back and forth with Overstock customer care, we finally got word that they will send us a replacement part, and told us to dispose of the broken part as we see fit. So we were quite surprised to get a whole new desk instead of the replacement part. The color is beautiful, putting it together was easy, it feels sturdy and looks well made. The drawers slide well, but there are no stoppers so if a child pulls on them they may slide all the way out and spill the contents on the floor. Other than that is is a great piece. (I gave the first desk to my dad and he made a new leg for it and is very happy with it.)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color of the first desk we got was a little darker and greyer, which i actually preferred... the color of the second desk was accurate to the image on the website.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The first one we received had a broken leg, the replacement one is in great condition and we are very happy with it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oak Writing Desk
 from Virginia (desk was sent to California),  Oct 19, 2012

I bought this desk as a gift for my daughter so I did not actually get to see it. She said it looked great and fit perfectly in the space alloted for it. She was very pleased to get it and thought it was well constructed. The desk arrived at her home in record time so I thank you for that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Oak Writing Desk
 from California,  Sep 25, 2012

I love the wood color of the desk. It is beautiful and fits perfectly in my living room as a writing desk. The table of the desk is higher than the previous desk I had in its place. The assembly was 10 minutes! It arrived so quickly to my home. Since it said assembly required, I didn't even open the box for almost 2 months thinking that it would take me 4 hours to assemble, so I was waiting for my son to visit so he could deal with all the small pieces. The joke was on me, because when I opened the box there were only 2 pieces that needed to be added to completely assemble the desk. It is now a beautiful new addition to my living room. I just wish the drawers worked better and that they were wider. I can only put the 8 x 11 1/2 papers in the middle drawer. My previous desk had wider drawers. I miss that.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color on the website was exactly what was delivered.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The drawers stick. You have to force them shut.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It is smaller than I thought it would be.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
INot reccomended
 from Mission Texas,  Dec 16, 2011

I was stunned when I opened the shipping box because what I saw was an ashen object and I wondered iF this is really the desk I ordered. After completely unpacked the Sshape and strength of the desk is as expected but the finish was more like fireplace ash color than the oak as I expected. In addition one drawer had two holes that had been drilled in error then filled with a plastic wood type filler Had I ordered a distressed appearing desk it would have been perfect. What I have will take considerable effort to bring it to an appearance I thought I was buying in the first place. Would I recommend this product to a friend. XXX NO!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? wasn't even close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. strength is fine, appearance is very poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? except for appearance the description was okay or even better than okay
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice writing desk
 from NE,  Dec 6, 2011

This desk is a great product, I bought this for my wife and she is very pleased. However, unless you own tools and have the ability to ream out the holes for the screws you will need someone to help. Two out of four holes did not align with the nut inset. Other than that issue it is a good product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Broken. Because it's particle board.
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Jun 20, 2014

I should have read the description better - "Oak Finish." Yep that's definitely particle board which is why the back had a giant crack in it as if someone had hit it with a hatchet.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Vintage style desk
 from New York, NY,  May 13, 2014

I got this on sale which is one reason I am SO satisfied! It is a perfect size in width and height. All the drawers are super long so space is plenty. The middle drawer fits notebooks and papers in the standard sizes. My 15in laptop fits in the center great. The ONLY THING is this desk is a lot darker in person. It is dark brown whereas in the photo it seems sandy or darkish beige, which works for me anyway. Would recommend this desk and brand to anyone looking for vintage styled pieces. The quality is fantastic!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent
 from Roseau, Mn.,  Apr 15, 2014

I love it. Now I need a chair to match. Any suggsections??

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great look and well build.
 from Orlando, FL,  Jul 20, 2012

Love my new write desk! It is the perfect size for what I was looking for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk finish was sticky and uneven.
 from Ne,  Dec 2, 2011

Finish was sticky and uneven. Tried stripping it ourselves and had to take to a professional, which made it no bargain. Should have sent it back.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? uneven color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Size good, construction shoddy, finish bad.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice desk
 from Canyon Lake, TX,  Dec 2, 2011

I love the desk, it came in with minor damage, but that was due to the delivery people, the damage was so minor, that I decided to keep it and use a little wood glue. I did not want to have to wait for a replacement or end up having to dispose of it. I have purchased other items that have had to be replaced because of the "delivery people" they are too hard on handling merchandise. I have had many compliments on this desk and the size is perfect for what I was looking for.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color is a little darker
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. pretty good for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy desk
 from North Carolina,  May 5, 2011

The desk came quickly and was very securely packaged. Taking it out of the Styrofoam took longer than assembly! You just have to screw the legs on securely and you are all set. The desk is made of nice solid wood and looks good in my daughter's traditional bedroom.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy
 Jan 18, 2011

The Triverton Oak Writing Desk is just the right size to go in our den. My husband wanted something to put his lap top on and a place to keep stamps, tape and to sort mail. We would buy it again. I feel we got a great deal on this desk.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-17 of 17 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Safavieh Landon Avacado Green Writing Desk
Today $211.99
Compare $245.99
Save 14%
(1)
Safavieh Wyatt White Writing Desk
Today $239.99
Compare $461.95
Save 48%
(2)
Creek Classics Cape Caryln Accent Desk
Today $350.99
Compare $460.00
Save 24%
Back to top