Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Taj Mahal black/gold rug
 Sep 2, 2010

We purchased this rug Saturday and it was delivered yesterday (Wednesday), so points for fast delivery! This rug is soft and very thick. Honestly, you really don’t need the padding with the larger rugs because the backing is cotton (won’t scratch hardwoods) and with the weight and thickness it’s not going to slip and slide. However, the padding does add an extra quarter inch of thickness, which makes the rug feel even more plush – especially when barefoot. The photo of the rug is a bit misleading. It is definitely a gold and black rug, but the gold is not as intense (orange looking). It’s more of a mustard/gold and a bit more muted. However, it is definitely gold and not tan (whew!) and the overall effect is very rich looking. There is also quite a bit of dark burgundy and deep olive green, but these colors blend with the black so that you really have to look hard to notice them. There is a slight bit of shedding, but not nearly as much as I’ve seen with other wool rugs. I scrubbed my hand pretty hard against the rug and just got a few loose fibers. Most home improvement stores carry rugs this size for about this price, but they are thin machine made polywhatever material. No, this is not a hand tied Persian carpet, but I haven’t seen anything this nice for this price anywhere else and quite frankly I’ve never understood paying thousands of dollars for something you’re going to throw on the floor and walk on. It’s a great bargain for the average consumer with more sense than money. This will absolutely be the first place I look if I ever need another rug.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
soooohappy
 from Long Beach, CA,  Nov 19, 2010

We had ordered this rug and it came in less than a week! I love it, the colors are mainly gold and black, with few olive's a little rust and burgandy....it looks great on my golden bamboo floor. I am very pleased and will most likley buy another 100% wool rug from overstock again! About the funny smell thing...my rug has no smell that permeates from the rug....if i stick my nose in the rug it smells like wool only.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The area rug to end all area rugs.
 from New York, NY,  Feb 4, 2013

I really enjoy this rug. The unique and intricate rug pattern makes it difficult for ninja's and spies to blend in unnoticed, unlike, say a standard damask. The thick rug pilings keep tortilla chip crumbs on the surface, so they are easily vacuumed away (hopefully by one of those people who find vacuuming therapeutic). I have yet to try and I have myself delivered somewhere Cleopatra style in it, so I cannot confirm how comfortable it is as a mode of transportation, but I will write a follow up review when that occurs. It arrived very quickly, (three days) and being of Turkish origin, I naturally assumed it was one of those enchanted rugs capable of flight. However after researching top speeds of flying carpets, and learning it was shipped from Pennsylvania, I came to the conclusion it is not. Overall VERY pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. HIGH
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
luxury
 from Virginia,  Mar 10, 2010

This rug is sooo nice. It is thick and plush and doesn't shed. The colors are very nuetral no color is overbearing. It has black and gold as main colors with olive green & burgendy mixed in. The details of the patterns are distinct & gorgous.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Taj mahal
 from San Francisco Bay Area,  Dec 30, 2009

I am satisfied with this rug, although had doubts at first because it smelled funky (animal-like) and did not lay flat, nor roll up straight. Since I had already had to pack up and return - at my expense - the first one I tried, because the colors were so far off from the photo, I decided to keep this one. It is growing on me and seems to have flattened out. And the dog is no longer sniffing it curiously in certain areas. It has shed very little, pattern is varied from one flower to the next, looking very hand-made which I like. There are more greens and reds and browns in the center pattern than looks from the photo, but overall it is gold and black as shown.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
AREA RUG
 from MOUNT BETHEL,PA,  Dec 17, 2009

GREAT QUALITY, RICH AND PLUSH, THIS IS OUR THIED ONE WE ORDER IN THIS SERIES AND ARE TOTALY SATIFIED WITH ALL

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT black and gold
 Oct 8, 2015

Nice quality rug except the color is not Black/Gold, it's mainly Dark Blue/Gold

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic!
 May 27, 2015

The colors are as I expected. The pile is thick. It sheds a little. It is a bit "picky" on the feet. The texture is stiff rather than soft, so it is a bit "picky" on the feet.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 Mar 14, 2015

Excellent price, very good quality rug. Not a high-end Persian but not a high-end Persian price either. Purchase for our lower level great room which has a golden stained concrete floor. Looks fabulous!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug
 from Yulee,Fl.,  Sep 22, 2014

The rug really meet my expectations It is beautiful and adds a great tough to the room...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
better than we thought
 from Fort myers,  Nov 7, 2013

great rug, better than what we thought. It was perfect, plush, soft great colors.....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great rug for a great price
 from San Francisco, ca,  Jan 29, 2013

This was my first overstock purchase and first for online rug. I was not too sure of online order for a rug but I am so glad I took a chance. I ordered three more after this one and they all are excellent quality and great looking rugs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought