Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 92 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Downright Luxurious Jute Rug
 from Portland, OR,  Mar 14, 2014

I ordered a few different rugs from Overstock and this one was the winner!! A few important details to take note of however: 1.) This is NOT a "Fine Sisal Rug" as advertised; it is a wonderfully thick / nubby / chunky / soft Jute. 2.) The featured image is a 'stock photo' of what could be any jute rug, but def not the one that is shipped out. The actual rug is several shades darker than the light colored one in the picture. Actual color is deeper and more comparable to a rich walnut wood. 3.) The weave is also a tad looser, providing a soft indulgent walking surface! *Tightly woven natural-fiber rugs tend to be less plush. 4.) Additionally, the weave is not quite as uniform as the one pictured. The one you'll receive has a truly authentic hand-woven look with plenty of lovely variations and wonderfully nubby knotting. 5.) Lastly, the pile height is more than 1/4" as listed under Product Details. It varies throughout the rug from over 1/4" up to 3/4" providing a soft nubby foot massage every time you walk on it. *Please note: If you are looking specifically for the rug in the photo, order item # 14175477 - it is an exact match! We were shopping for a large (9x12) super-plush jute for a low foot traffic living room and this one is perfect. It really adds A LOT of warmth in both color and texture. I'm not sure I'd recommend this rug for a high foot traffic area due to it's loose weave. A high heel could easily snag this rug, or worse - someone could trip!! This rug would be much better suited to bare feet or snugly sock feet in a family room, bedroom or low traffic living room. Re: all the reviews commenting on dirt &/or smell, I simply overlooked since I am very familiar with natural fiber rugs and already knew what to expect. Given the natural material, you should expect a bit of dust to fall out of the rug initially, but this will not persist. I recommend simply rolling your rug back a few times within the first month to vacuum underneath. (You will notice the amount of dust lessening with each vacuuming.) As for smell, I didn't notice anything... at least nothing offensive. If there was a smelll initially, it quickly dissipated once out of the packaging. In a nutshell, if you are shopping for a jute rug then you already know the "look" that you are going for, so it's really just a matter of finding the right match since not all jute rugs are made the same. I ordered 3 different jute rugs attempting a good fit, so hopefully my comprehensive reviews will spare you the same leg work. Here are the rugs that I ordered and reviewed: Item # 12349082 / Item # 13672088 / Item # 14175477. Best of Luck!! :)

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this rug!
 from San Clemente CA,  Feb 16, 2012

I couldn't be happier with this purchase. This rug has a lot of loft so if very soft underfoot compared to most sials and jutes. I shopped long and hard for the right rug for our living room and am so glad I went with this rug and not the cotton bordered sisals I was leaning to. It's a beautiful, rich looking rug and is very comfortable for a natural fiber rug. There is a smell after just unwrapping and laying it down but I suspect that will go away. It adds a lot of personality to the space. Very happy!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The actual rug color appears a bit richer than the photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dissapointed
 from Florida,  Jun 1, 2010

I have had this rug for 3 days now and it is already falling apart. Pretty soft for a jute rug but not good quality. If was not so big and heavy I would return.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Texas,  Feb 13, 2011

This rug is fabulous! It would have cost be 3 times as much if i bought it from a competitor. I love it!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Poor Style : Average
Threw our money away
 from Florida,  Mar 10, 2014

Disliked this rug soo much. It looks beautiful and is very thick and nice at first. It did not last a year in my great room. We have 2 kids and 2 black labs. Forget it no matter what anyone else writes. The rug falls apart I had to vaccum daily. I usually vacuum every other day because of the dogs mostly. The house was so dusty even the furniture, it made our cat sneeze all the time. Replaced it with an oriental from overstock which I hated to do because I loved the jute look in our ocean house. But we love it and now I can vacuum every 3 days and dust regularly and the cat hasn't sneezed once since we canned this rug. Would highly recommend Overstoclk to discontinue

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Amazing natural rug!
 from Albany,  Aug 15, 2013

This rug is amazing. Ordered a very large 9'x12" rug for a very large space in my living room. I read all the reviews and despite a few negatives I decided to go for it. 'Ve ordered many items from OS in the past and have never been disappointed. First off, I need to say that My rug arrived and it was owe some. t is much thicker, hardier yet softer then Zi expected. I love it even more then when I ordered it now that I have it here. next, I did not get a "dirty" or smelly rug as several mentioned. yes, it had a slight earthy smell to it upon opening it from the packing but it quickly dissipated.. I will take a slight earthy, albeit temporary aroma of a natural carpet any day over the ever lasting smell and toxic fumes of a synthetic carpet. Also, I did not have the shedding many people mentioned on here. Perhaps I am just accustomed to natural items in my place but regardless, I do not have "fuzz" on my clothing from the rug nor to my cats get covered in rug fuzz. I have to wear solid black to work every day and this carpet is not an issue whatsoever. Also, this rug, although not as soft as traditional wool or synthetic pile rugs, is very comfortable on bare feet. It is nubby but it's as though the jute was seriously beaten to soften the fibers. It's nice. Mine came with rich, subtle Hugh's of browns, beige, gold and just a hint of reds. the reds are not as prominent as shown in the picture yet they are there. My furniture is all neutral as is my decor but there is enough contrast in color and texture in this rug that it adds warmth to the room. I love this rug. The price for the size and quality can't be beat. if you are looking for a refined look, this rug is not for you. f you are looking for a natural, warm, enviting look, this is it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bad puppy but a great rug!
 from Sunny south,  Jul 16, 2012

I labored over finding a rug to replace my old flat sisal, and I am so glad that I settled on this one. I have two large dogs and one of them (a 9 month old Labradoodle) chewed on the rug less than 15 minutes after I put it on the floor. She pulled a big hunk of rope out - if you can picture a sweater snagging and starting to unravel, it was that on a much larger scale. I was able to weave the piece back into the rug about 5 minutes and I can hardly even tell where she did the damage! Don't let the name "fine sisal rug" fool you - this is a very chunky, earthy kind of rug. It seems more like jute than sisal to me, but I'm no expert. It is much softer on my feet than I imagined it would be and it actually feels good to walk barefoot on it. The best part is that, from a style perspective, it will go with a wide variety of decorating styles, and the mottled coloration will hide many stains. If you like the photo, go for it (and don't forget a no-slip rug pad).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Close; maybe a tad darker in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Highly accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Chunky and Soft
 from Midwest USA,  Apr 8, 2014

I have bought many items from Overstock and depend heavily on the reviews, knowing to throw out the over the top and the overly critical and weight the rest carefully. THIS rug was a most tentative purchase because I knew how expensive return shipping would be if I didn't like it. I also consider $ to be a nice chuck of change so I wouldn't keep if if I didn't like it. Well........ I love this rug. It's not harsh on the feet (feels like a foot massage) and the weave is thick with a very chunky texture. Although the weave isn't tight, it's not so loose that I worry about it falling apart or the furniture legs going through it to the floor. Upon unwrapping it, the rug does have a very earthy, dirt smell but I imagine that will dissipate quickly after it's been out for a while. This rug has a rich look to it and is comparable to rugs in PB or RH - I've window-shopped those places for rugs and this one was less than 1/2 of their price. This rug will add a nice dimension to my room.. very happy and satisfied. If my opinion changes after using the product for a bit or it wears poorly, I'll update this review.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sisal Rug
 from Saddle River, NJ,  Dec 6, 2011

This rug is as nice as any high end rug boutique. Very versatile for a traditional or contemporary room. Heavy and keeps its shape. Needs a rug pad to keep it from slipping. Buy two!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly matched mixed tones and texture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great weight and keeps its shape nicely.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Fair Style : Good
Stylish, but fell apart
 from Minnesota,  Nov 5, 2014

The good is that this rug is really stylish. I, unlike other people, like the earthy smell when we put it down. Unfortunately, this rug is going back. It started to come apart after 4 days of use.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Poor Style : Good
Impossible to comfortably walk barefoot.
 from Eagle Point, Oregon,  Aug 1, 2014

We laid the rug out and thought it looked great, and felt great when walking on it, However, later I had my shoes off and walked across it barefoot, as I often am in the summertime, and something in the rug stuck me and felt sharp, like a nail. I looked around and didn't find anything, so shrugged it off till it happened again. Must be something about the natural sisal. Yes, there IS a reason for such a good price. We are very happy that Overstock.com allows free shipping on returns, even though we had to pay a pick-up fee to UPS of **..

Average
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Poor Value : Average Style : Excellent
Quality not good
 from tennessee,  Apr 1, 2014

This rug is beautiful and a good value for the size of rug I bought. The problem is the quality of this rug is horrible. Just walking on it caused it to come unraveled, so you can imagine vacumming it. Will be in the trash in 6 months. If it did not cost so much to send back, I would. I hate to give this review, because it is beautiful and looks like I gave twice the price that I gave.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Average Style : Fair
Rug
 from Boston, Ma,  Dec 10, 2013

I was disappointed in the fabric and size of the weave. I would have returned it biut it was too heavy and awkward to package up and return.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
This is one of my best purchases ever!
 from Jacksonville,fl,  Jul 13, 2013

This was my first purchase on overstock.com...and I LOVE this rug! I shopped at our local Pottery Barn, Ballard Designs, West Elm, etc and didn't like the quality of any of their jute or sisal rugs. I went back and forth if I should buy this without touching or feeling this...but I figured with the great price, I couldn't go wrong! Well, I was SO happy when this rug arrived-It is GORGEOUS. Wonderful quality, HEAVY and feels good on your feet. Not at all rough. We love it!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Higly Disappointed!
 from Long Beach, CA,  Jun 17, 2013

I shopped a long time to find a sisal rug with some verigated color and style. This seemed like the ticket. Instead of being a true sisal, (I have several and know what the material is like), this was instead made out of a "jute", almost a berlap kind of material. Instead of being a nice tight flat weave, it was a thick, bulky, loose open weave. It was full of debris and dirt and left a mess after my husband and I opened it up. Being a large rug, it took some time and materials to re-package for return shipping. I don't mind paying the shipping fee to return it, but I do resent that fact the Overstock deducted the discount amount of $36.00 from my credit. I am penalized for receiving and returning a product, which did not come close to being what it was described as, or what the picture showed. Very disappointing, and unnecessary. Not a good policy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color of the rug was similar to what the photograph showed.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was appallingly low. It looked like a flat, nicely woven Sissal rug. Instead it was bumby, loosely woven, and actually full of debris when we opened it up. It was more of a "jute" material and not what you expect when described as "sisal". It was a big dissapointment
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not accurate at all. Poorly described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Takes time to get used to.
 from New Mexico,  Feb 4, 2013

Read all the reviews on this before we bought it. Was able to figure out due to part number what kind of rug it was. Saved a few hundred dollars compared to other online discount retailers. Rug arrived a week early which was great since it arrived on the same day as the rug pad. I have never owned a natural fiber rug before with the exception of wool. After unrolling it, it was perfectly flat, but it STUNK! I mean smelled like someone poured a truck load of DIRT in the middle of the living room floor. I read that you needed to vacuum it so I did. A LOT!! However just as everyone else said, when you vacuum you will notice that the threads get pulled. So then you have to take the scissors to it. There is a very defined pattern on the top and not on the bottom. I like the look of the bottom better, but it isn't as soft. It is pretty soft, and after a few weeks, I can still smell the "dirt" stench, but everyone else says they can't smell it too bad, It does shed so I vacuum it every other day. But I will notice little dust balls in the corners of the room next to the walls that are from it. It is on top of a heavy duty felt carpet rug pad. The measurements are a little off in one corner it is 2 inches shorter and the hems are not straight. I do not mind since I have furniture on top of it. Due to having real hardwood floors, I would recommend a good rug pad with it. Due to the shedding, do not sit on it in black clothing. You will look like a fuzz ball after. Over all I am happy with it. We have a very traditional home and it goes great in the family room in front of the fireplace with our dark brown leather furniture.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
do not buy
 from Virginia,  Jan 25, 2013

It was horrible. I could never get the dirt out. I have had for a year and the rug smelled horrible and every time the rug was moved, you could see the layers of dirt under it. When we finally broke down and replaced it last night, after moving the rug from under the couch, which could not be accessed with a vacuum, the dirt was an inch thick. Took me an hour to mop and clean the floors before we could lay down the new rug. After a year, the rug never stopped shedding. The dogs are covered in rug fibers daily and forget sitting on it. The vacuum can not low enough to actually clean it up. Too thick to clean!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. horrible, cheap, pulls, smells, dirty
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
poor quality
 from North Carolina,  Jun 18, 2011

This rug is much thicker and nubbier than the picture shows.. I received the rug at the end of October last year and it is already coming apart. The natural twine holding the rug loops together is very fragile and disengrating rapidly. Do not purchase this rug!!! Very disappointed in the rug and in Overstock, as there is no warranty past 30 days.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? poor
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? somewhat
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug
 from Southern California,  Jan 5, 2011

Very heavy, great textured rug. Delivered within a few days and rolled out perfectly. Don't think it will show any dirt in high traffic area, and dog loves to lie on it. Extremely happy so far, and will see how it wears over time. Can't go wrong for price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Excellent Style : Good
Super Sof
 from Mississippi,  Nov 17, 2014

I liked it. BUT It is too big for my room. The only problem I saw was the weave stretches and I could not get it straight. But I LOVE the rug for the value.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 92 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top