Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 274 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 14 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Better Than Expected
 from Champaign, IL,  Jul 22, 2010

I bought this chair becaue we haven't been happy with the recliners available locally for a similar cost. This chair has so far, exceeded our expectations. The seat is high off the floor and the back is very tall which allows for excellent comfort for 6' tall person. The cushion is very supportive and firm on the seat and there's plenty of cushion on the back of the chair to provide lumbar support and the perfect pillow for your upper back and shoulders. The fabric is soft and seems durable. I definitely recommend Scotchguarding it. The chair didn't smell when we rec'd it so we didn't need to air it out. Assembly was easy and the arms weren't wobbly from shipping. The arms are substantially wider than I thought they would be (around 6 inches or more across?). The stain is a deeper red but not quite mahoghany. The chair has a hefty weight to it (close to 90 lbs.) and it doesn't feel like you would flip over when you fully recline. I have been able to lay almost completely flat in this chair and it's wonderful. This chair (in gray and wood stain) is vesatile and modern enough to use in a masculine or feminine interior - just chane the paint. We have a gold living room with color block rug in gray, black, red and gold and it's a perfect fit. You could go modern, arts & crafts, mission style - it would work in all. If you're not sure, try it. You can return the product to Overstock with a return UPS tag. If I had more room I would buy another one. I give this chair a 100% so far, we'll just have to see how it wears.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Riverside Charcoal Recliner
 from LasVegas,  Sep 7, 2011

I have just started using this chair so Iím not sure how it will hold up. The chair is very comfortable; I wish the back was A little higher for reclining but that is not a big deal. Iím 6í 200lbs and when I sit in this chair it is a perfect fit. My feet touch the floor just right and the lumbar support is FANTASTIC. The chair arrived in pristine condition they were very careful with the packing and it took more time to get it unpacked than it did to set it up, thatís a good thing. The color is even nicer in person itís sort of a charcoal green itís a very nice color and the wooden arms match my dťcor perfectly. This not a $750.00 Lane chair but for *** bucks you canít go wrong. This is not one of those overstuffed monsters it does not eat up a whole lot of space and it's very attractive.......... I really like this chair!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? better than the on-line pictures
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. middle grade quallity but sturdy and well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
m934
 from Eau Claire, Wi,  Oct 8, 2010

We love this chair. Very easy to put together and comfortable to sit in. My husband is 5'11" and it is a little short for him but still doesn't stop him from relaxing in it every night.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
riverside charcoal recliner
 from colorado springs, co,  Sep 11, 2010

Excellent product... I have seen this in the lane product line.. which was more expensive... this is definately worth the money, comfortable, stable, and looks elegant easy to assemble.. a few nicks upon arrival but nothing worth sending product back for replacement, furniture marker fixed the problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor packaging
 from Nashville, TN,  Aug 20, 2010

The packaging for this chair is poorly designed and resulted in major damage at the rear of both arms. Overstock sent us another one, but it was packaged the same and damaged in the same way. The damage wasn't as bad as the first one, so we decided to just keep it. Other than that, though, I agree with the other reviewers regarding the comfort and style of the chair. We have it in a guest room along with the Aristo armoire that we also bought from Overstock, and it looks great. The arms of this recliner are not quite as dark as they appear in the picture... They are a little redder, more a dark cherry vs. the espresso of the Aristo furniture, but it looks fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NOT grey -- more of a greyish brown
 from TX,  Dec 30, 2011

Overall, I like the chair. I don't like the look of most recliners, but I wasn't willing to shell out a ton of money for the high-end "recliners in disguise." This is for a visiting family member with a bad back who has a difficult time sleeping in beds. It's comfortable, and I think it'll work just fine. It's not quite as streamlined as it looks online; if you look closely at the side view photo you can almost get an idea of how puffy the back cushion is. It's definitely got that traditional recliner pouf. But I suppose that's what makes it so comfortable, and it doesn't look terribly out of place -- the rest of the chair balances it out. The seat is more firm than the back, so I don't sink into it. I didn't notice there wasn't a handle until it got here; the seat reclines with body pressure. It's not difficult, but it does take a little oomph (5'6" average build woman -- might be a little harder for someone smaller or weaker). Once it reclines, it stays (no constantly fighting it trying to slide back up, so far anyway), and was easy to push back into an upright position with my legs. Unfortunately, when reclined, it exposes two screw holes on the top of each arm. I would have at least appreciated some caps to cover those up, although you'll never see them with someone sitting in the chair (and they are stained inside the hole, so they're not as glaringly obvious as they would be otherwise). One reviewer said the arms were huge, 6" wide -- that's definitely an exaggeration. The arms are 3 1/2" wide, and a nice espresso finish. Like other reviewers, I wound up with a couple small dings on the arms (nothing that wouldn't have ended up happening in my house within the first year anyway), but I don't know how they could have protected them more -- the arms were wrapped in foam sheeting, then cardboard, then styrofoam. The color isn't charcoal grey, though -- there's definitely some brown in that grey. If your interior is strict blacks, it might stand out (then again, so would the espresso finish on the arms), but otherwise I think it's a color that will blend nicely with a variety of decors. It actually works better with mine, since the hint of brown warms it up a tad. There is an odor, so I'm hoping it off-gasses quickly. It smells like furniture stain, though, not nearly as offensive as some of the put-it-together-yourself stuff I've bought in the past. Assembly was easy; the chair ships in two pieces. The seat, base and arms are already put together; that's the heavy part. The back is very lightweight and has two metal channels inside it. Those channels slip over two metal prongs on the seat base; push down, and voila, your seat is assembled. Oh, and there's a velcro strap keeping the footrest in for shipping; if you don't read the assembly instructions, you might be wondering why it doesn't recline. All in all, I think it's a good deal for the price. One star off for the exposed screw holes at top of the armrests.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? More brown than grey
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Looking, Works Well
 from North NJ,  Jan 23, 2011

I was a bit iffy about the color, but the recliner's actual gray color somehow hints of beige and is perfect with our other furniture. Best thing is, it got my husband off the awful 30+year-old monstrosity he had spent his evenings on. The chair looks more like an armchair than a recliner and this is just fine with me!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
High Expectations, low outcome
 from Tacoma, WA,  Oct 22, 2011

I was so excited to get the chair, but it came just a couple of days ago to us not working properly. We've wracked out brain to get it to recline and sit up right properly, but to no avail, it's ot gonna happen. One a good note, o.co has refunded my money and sent me a UPS ticket to send back. I will still purchase from o.co, I have success with other products.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One Year Later
 from Windmills of My Mind,  May 16, 2012

I have never owned a product that fell apart so quickly and in so many ways. I have never made a purchase that I regretted as fully as this one. Within six months of purchase the stuffing was crumbling out onto the floor and has continued to do so. The arms are painted (over stain?) and began to chip or rub off almost immediately. I bought cover sticks in a vain attempt to hide the missing chips. All I can say to the manufacturer is shame on you! And Overstock - this chair, so shoddy - set the tone for our "relationship. Haven't bought from you since. I could have paid very little more and gotten the same chair, much better quality. Lesson learned.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good Match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Extremely Poor Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Reasonably Accurate - it IS a recliner
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Luckily my chair came broken
 from Seattle, WA,  Jun 18, 2012

The chair quality is really poor and you can feel it wont last long. Furthermore, it does not look nice like on the picture. This chair came damaged so I was able to return it

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Recliner for the money
 from Ohio,  Dec 3, 2010

Looks like a Lane, acts like a Lane. Love the color, very neutral. Purchased this for my father-in-law to sleep in when he visits. We have very different frames and we both find it comfortable. Arrived in good condition with just a small scratch on the arm. Looks great in the room. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars: there was a sticker on the upholstery that took a lot of scrubbing to get off. Looks like something that was done in error. Would buy another if I needed it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chair is okay, but packaging needs to IMPROVE
 from LA, California,  Jan 1, 2012

I was really looking forward to this recliner. Always wanted one for the living room, but didn't want my living room to look like something that belonged in a double-wide trailer with those big old 80's style recliners. This char is by no means perfect, but for the price point, I think it's a very fair value. The materials are typical of cheaper furniture, but looks like it'll hold up fine. The reclining mechanism is appropriately stiff, since it has no handle. If it was too loose, it wouldn't stay up when people wanted to stay up straight. So don't listen to all those people complaining that it's too hard to recline. It either has to be slightly resistant, or really easy but too loose. Obviously the desirable choice is slightly resistant. Color is depicted as a strong gray on the website. In person, it has more of a slight brownish hue, almost like a pewter color. Overall, for the money I spent, I can't complain too much about the chair. For reference, I am 5'10" and 208lbs, and in the recline position it's fairly comfortable. One thing I wish you could do, is recline the legs but not the back, for a comfortable TV viewing position. Unfortunately the back always reclines with the legs, so you're either sitting up, or laying down. You can just prop a pillow under your head if you need to be higher. At 5'10", my feet hang off just the end of the bottom. Ideally, the headrest would be slightly taller so my head sat forward more, but like I said, easily remedied with a couch pillow. PACKAGING was HORRIBLE. Or specifically, my chair came damaged like everyone else, but worse. There was a 1.5" CHUNK of wood completely chipped off the bottom leg. Luckily, it wasn't some place obvious like the arm, and I was able to superglue it back. The arm also had a couple of small chips. It wasn't worth my effort to exchange it for another one though. They really need to wrap these better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Not accurate. Picture on website looks more neutral gray tone. In person, it has a slight brown hue.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall quality is acceptable for the price point.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from San Antonio TX,  Dec 29, 2010

I wanted to purchase a recliner that was slick and contemporary without being bulky. I wanted a taupe/brownish color but when I read the reviews regarding the tan colored one....the reviewer said it was too light so I took a chance on the charcoal. The color blended in perfectly with my taupe decor, it's comfortable, it's slick and contemporary, the price is reasonable and it's perfect for me. It arrived quickly without any damage and it was easy for me to put together by myself....no tools needed. I absolutely love it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Riverside Recliner
 from Westchester County, NY,  Dec 15, 2010

We bought this chair for my elderly parents because they needed a space-saving recliner for their bedroom. Although the box was damaged when it arrived, the chair was in good shape. It is very comfortable and was the easiest item we've purchased to put together. We had read the reviews prior to purchasing and felt this chair would be the best solution. Wouldn't hesitate buying this chair for our own home. My parents now take turns sitting in it. It's lightweight and the material is soft. The lumbar pillow is great on the lower back.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really comfortable for tall teenager!
 from Charleston, SC,  Jan 18, 2012

I needed a small scale recliner for my 6'2" 16 year old son. It had to be tall enough for his head and fit his whole body, but not take up a ton of space in his newly updated bedroom. This is PERFECT! The design is modern and doesnt look at all like a recliner. He loves it, it is so comfortable and has the cool factor he wanted. Added bonus -- when I ordered I didn't realize how practical the arms are - they will never be dirty or worn from teenage hands like fabric would be!!! We scotch guarded the chair and expect it to last (and look good) for a long time. Seems very well constructed, the recliner mechanism is really smooth. It arrived super fast but the box looked really bad, we thought it would be crushed. I guess we were lucky, the chair was fine, but there were some scratches on the back part of the arms. They would be horrible anywhere else, but they are hidden by the top part of chair and face the wall. For the money we paid AND it was delivered, we have no complaints! We were looking at chairs triple the price - AND we like this one better.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty much the same as screen. Leans to the brown side of gray though.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is top notch, really sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Merry Christmas
 from Copperas Cove, TX,  Dec 28, 2010

I bought this recliner for my mother as a Christmas gift. It arrived in plenty of time and was easy to assemble. This slim lined recliner replaced a much bulkier style. The color is great (she is a cat lady), easy to recline and the back support is wonderful. She was thrilled with it and so am I!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Recliner
 from Bethany,CT,  Feb 1, 2012

Comfortable and sturdy. Easy to put together. My husband loves it. Only downside is that when in the first recline position, it tilts back farther than expected. Could use a pillow behind your head to get to the best TV watching angle. Overall a great chair.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Santa Barbara,ca,  Jan 27, 2012

I love this chair. It is what I was looking for at a great price. I needed it to fit a small place and the other reviews really helped. The color is great and I love the bent wood look of the arms. The chair is sturdy and it was a breeze to put together. I am truly happy with this purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Riverside recliner.
 from NY,  Jan 16, 2012

Bought this chair for my husbands office. He is 6'6" and 250lb, was concerned after reading the reviews, but we are trilled with this chair. Very comfortable,size was perfect, price even better!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very happy with the quality
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Finally I found the right chair
 from California,  Oct 4, 2011

I have purchased two other recliners and have sold both shortly after purchase. This chair, however, I will keep. It is not only contemporary in design and not some man's muscle chair, it goes with my contemporary design and it is also very comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described and as seen
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality appears good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exactly as describedI have purchased to other recliners and have sold both shortly
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 274 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 14 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Abbyson Living Camden Velvet Pushback Recliner
Sale $347.39
Was $385.99
Compare $1177.58
Save 70%
(6)
Back to top