Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Butcher block
 from Rocklin, CA,  Nov 10, 2010

Excellent quality and value. Prompt shipment. Good enough purchase that I ordered another immediately after seeing the cutting board.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
warped right away
 from lakewood, co,  Jan 28, 2010

Received it promptly and it is a very nice heavy board. I used it a couple times and left it on the counter. The counter got wet at some point, when my young daughter must have spilled, the next morning it was warped and cracked. I know they should not get wet but i have had cutting boards just as nice take far more punishment than this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gift
 from OR,  Jan 8, 2010

I got the cutting board for my husband for Christmas and it came 2 or 3 days sooner than promised (which was Christmas eve). My husband liked the gift and uses it everyday. So I am really pleased with the cutting board and it is an execelent purchase and great price. I liked the fact that all juices go into a the tray around the board and not on my counters.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cutting Board
 from spokane,wa,  Nov 29, 2009

Heavy board. Will need to get oil, as it doesn't have a smooth finish like some that are more expensive. Over all felt it was worth what I paid for it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lousy product
 from las vegas,  Sep 20, 2013

it arrived rough, very very rough surface and areas where it was uneven. after 2 weeks of use, it cracked apart now i have to go through the hassle of returning it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value for end grain (not maple)
 from Princeton, NJ,  Jan 15, 2012

This board is my everyday cutting board. Reversible board (birch) does have a rougher surface then the super slab, however, thus far it does not seem to impede the quality. I never expected the quality of the two boards I purchased. Site does not specify manufacturer, "Catskill Craftsmen, Inc", so I had no way of knowing both boards came from same place until I opened the boxes. I also purchased the 25 lb super slab end grain 20"x20". I use shun knives and must use quality end grain wood when cutting or chopping. Hard to believe after being aggressive chopping garlic and slicing foods there was not a mark on either board! Purchased mineral oil (as per co.'s instructions) and prepared boards. Not a big deal at all preping/seasoning boards upon arrival. Easy cleaning with cloth and oiling as part of maintenance. Order board and go buy mineral oil while you await your board's arrival. Order arrived without any tracking/shipping notice. (SURPRISE, WE ARE HERE!!)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect, picure shows how board looks after oiling.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Value for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Happily suprised with the quality!
 from New York, NY,  Jan 14, 2012

I highly recommend this cutting board. I was concerned that it might warp or crack as others have in the past. One night it sat in a pool of water on the counter, I woke up and it was....warped badly, and had cracked. I considered it a loss, but my fault! Well I kept it anyway. I took it out a couple of days later, and it was completely back to normal! Zero warp and no visible crack!! If you take proper care of this board, you will be very happy with it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Broke as soon as it got wet. Waste of $.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Keep it dry
 Aug 17, 2015

Unit delaminated in many spots with use of water..seems unaviodable. Switched to bamboo, and the problem went away.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
mr
 Jul 27, 2015

Had this for 2 days and it started spliting and warping. Not worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
underwhelmed.
 May 20, 2015

Put in Boos Mineral and Wax within a week of getting it. Never soaked it and always hung it up after wiping dry. It has already warped and several cubes of wood are delaminating from each other.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cracked on Second Use
 from Murrieta, CA,  Sep 21, 2014

This was a Mother's Day gift and was nice looking so wasn't used right away, rather displayed for a few months. Upon the second use it cracked.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cutting board
 from Arverne, ny,  Apr 9, 2014

The cutting board already started splitting so we are not using it

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
this cutting board is nice and sturdy looking.
 from pasadena tx,  Sep 20, 2013

This cutting board arrived with a slightly warped shape. I had read about this problem from other's reviews. However, the price is right and the wood design is very attractive. It serves my purposes and I think it is just fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cutting Board
 from Washington, DC,  Jul 17, 2013

Very good quality for the price I paid. The texture is a little rough but I was able to sand it and smooth it out. Make sure you dry it as soon as you wash it to prevent cracks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
OK
 from new york,  Apr 25, 2013

This is a thick cutting board, but it slides when in use, so it is pretty dangerous. I bought it for the look and I regret that, look around and purchase something less, unless you are using it for serving and not chopping.BTW not really refersable as one side slides even more that the other

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. OK
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Affordable quality.
 from AL,  Aug 6, 2012

This is a very good quality birch board at a very good price. For those who want a NICE board without spending a bunch, this board is the best I have seen. It's solid, attractive and the birch wood loses nothing to maple. I am a wood nut and don't find birch a step down from maple! Hardness is about the same and the grain is just as good. Seems like all the board prices jump up a bunch when maple is used. I can't see the justification in that?? It has a substantial thickness of 1 1/4" with just enough heft and stability not to warp or move around. I put some craft shop 1" skid proof rubber pads on each corner of the smooth side that stabilizes it nicely for tough cutting meats and gives it some space under the board to avoid water on the wood from underneath. If you are not a chef or full time cook, this board will do the job for you --- in style. The groove channel for meats is cut nicely and the smooth reverse is ideal for veggies and such. Cutting with my Shun knives doesn't mark it up as long as one seasons it with oil/beeswax on occasion. Great deal!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent birch wood ends with pretty contrast on both sides.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a great purchase
 from Arizona,  Feb 23, 2012

This product can only be rated 3 stars at best. While it seems to be a quality product, it is almost impossible to clean. There is something very strange about the surface of the cutting board which makes it extremely difficult to clean.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Average
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
gift
 Aug 7, 2009

This product was given as a gift. I was told it was an excellent choice!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-19 of 19 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought