Renate Grey Bookcase
 
Submit
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

OverstockTM Store Credit Card

6 or 12 Month Special
Financing Available
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Renate Grey Bookcase

Overall Rating Rating 4.3  |  45 reviews  |  Write a review
Sale $386.99
Save $103.00 (21%)
Was: $489.99
Item #: 13506138
    This grey bookshelf is perfect for storing your favorite volumes and more. Use this bookshelf for decorating your room or adding storage to your kitchen....more

People Who Viewed This Viewed

Sponsored Links What's This?
    This grey bookshelf is perfect for storing your favorite volumes and more. Use this bookshelf for decorating your room or adding storage to your kitchen. This handsome piece of furniture has five shelves and measures 72 inches high, making it a spacious and sleek option to go against any wall in your home. The visually appealing blend of textures makes this bookshelf a stylish choice for cutting down on clutter by making organization a breeze.

    This neutral-colored wood-and-metal bookcase allows you to utilize the unused vertical space in any room of your home for storage. The open-shelf design permits you to access your items from all sides, and the wheels save time when rearranging your home. Use these shelves to store books, linens or other supplies.

    • Materials: Wood, metal, hardware
    • Finish: Grey wood
    • 5 fixed shelves
    • Sturdy metal frame
    • 72 inches high x 40 inches wide x 18 inches deep
Dimensions:
40 in. W x 18 in. D x 72 in. H
Materials:
Wood,Metal, hardware

Features

  • Color
    Grey
  • Style
    Rustic, Transitional
  • Material
    Metal, Wood
  • Finish
    Grey Finish
  • Shelf Type
    Display, Storage
  • Assembly
    Assembled, Assembly Required
  • Number of Shelf
    5
Was this product information helpful?
Thank you for your feedback.
 
 
 
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

Showing 5 most helpful reviews on this product.

  • 5 Stars 26
  • 4 Stars 11
  • 3 Stars 3
  • 2 Stars 4
  • 1 Stars 1
  • decent functional bookcase for the price

    I bought this in the hopes that it would mimic a bookcase sold in a popular home catalog for 3-4x the price. It is the perfect depth, height and size for the space, and its dimensions are almost exactly what the other, more highly priced bookcase is. The quality however is not. These shelves are like a hard plastic with a stamped wood pattern into them, whereas the real bookcase shelves are like reclaimed wood. The metal on this is very dark, almost a charcoal steel, whereas the expensive version has lighter pewter colored metal. This one was very simple to put together, although the box it arrived in weighed a ton, so i had to take it upstairs piece by piece. Its fine for the price and I'm keeping it, however its in my front living room and can be seen by all entering the home, so I wish it looked more high end. Its a marginal foreign copy of a nice, more expensive piece. If its in a non-important location, its fine for the price. I would have preferred, with 20/20 hindsight, spending the extra money for the real version.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? mostly true
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. marginal, but priced accordingly
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? reasonably accurate
  • 100% satisfied

    After reading the other reviews, I was a bit hesitant in ordering this bookcase but, having had great success with previous oders from O.com, decided to chance it. Am so glad that I did! I had been comparing this one to similar items on two other high-end sites and the difference in the item price and shipping cost could not be passed up. When the bookcase arrived, assembly was a breeze (the hardest part was getting the bookcase into it's upright position, because it is heavy). Now I have it in my kitchen for additional shelf and storage space and it adds an expensive and trendy industrial look, which is what I was going for. Had I purchased this bookcase from store X or Y, I would have paid 2-3 times the amount plus $95+ for shipping.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty accurate
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very heavy bookcase and built to last forever.
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate.
  • I would give these four and a half stars

    I had been admiring shelves on another well-know furnishings site, but they were way over my budget. So I was thrilled to find these on O for less than a third of the price. They were easy to assemble, although very heavy - definitely need two people. They look just as pictured - although the measurement of width was off by over 8". Overall the pieces look very much as pictured. However I ordered two shelves, and one unit has much lighter colored shelves. The shelves are rougher and it seems like they were just not finished with a topcoat. The other unit has one shelf that is also much lighter, but I figured that when they have pieces on them it will not be an issue. All in all for the price I consider them a great find.

    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, but measurement of width is wrong by 8 inches. These pieces are 40" wide, not 48"

    eliana26 from Just moved from CA to ID, Jul 12, 2011

    Flag As Inappropriate
  • Great shelving!

    Great shelving at a wonderful price. Heavy pieces but once laid out, fairly easy to assemble. Bottom shelf is NOT marked so look closely at each shelf BEFORE assembling as bottom shelf has small screw holes in each side piece where leg/wheels fit in. I assembled upside down but requires two people to tip and then lift to upright. Might want to "air out" shelves in a garage or outside for a few hours or a day before putting in house as they do have a chemical smell.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • not as happy as I would like

    I love the look of the shelves, and the size, but I wish we had not bought them because of the smell. Judging from the smell, they may need 6 months of off gas before we can use them. The design was a nice idea, but could have been implemented a little better.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was okay. One of the four shelves we ordered came with a piece welded on backwards, thus making the shelves crooked. The shelves were also coated with a very chemical smelling substance. Since my daughter has chemical sensitivities we have had to air out the shelves since we got them. The smell is STILL not gone and we received them over a month ago. Not sure what we are going to do. The wheels don't work really, so I am afraid they will scratch my floors.
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
View All Most Helpful Reviews
  • you get what you pay for

    For the money, this is fine. Delivery was super fast. Other reviews I read were pretty spot on. I bought this unit about 6 months ago. It did have a strong chemical smell for the first couple weeks - I would NOT recommend this where there is no ventilation. I kept the window open round the clock for a week or so and it still took weeks for the smell to dissipate. No smell at all now though. It is very sturdy/solid once assembled, and the shelf spacing is roomy enough for file boxes or tall books. Again, as another reviewer commented, the shelves are synthetic something, I like the brown/blue/grey tones, but it really does not look like wood. Other than this, it is pretty much as advertised.

  • Great piece

    This bookcase is a beautiful piece that combines distressed wood and pipe. It is incredibly sturdy and love the casters!

    Flag

    Laura C. Apr 21, 2015

  • Nice looking in person

    This unit looks as good in person as I had hoped. Industrial look which suited my kitchen with slate tile flooring. I had to mix and match the pieces a little to make it look straight, as each piece between the shelves screws into to shelves above and below. The finished product was great for the price and I intend to get another Renate piece or two to compliment it.

    Flag

    when33 Apr 21, 2015

  • love!

    This piece is awesome easy assembly, looks great! !

    Flag

    Karen C. Apr 9, 2015

  • Awesome Bookcase

    If you are looking for a unique industrial look, look no further. This bookcase is a heavy solid piece. The distressed metal and reclaimed wood really make this piece. I put this together myself but I should have waited for help from my husband. It is not difficult to put together but it is very heavy.

    Flag

    Cindy Mitchell from California, Nov 25, 2014

View All Most Recent Reviews

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Is there an opportunity for a volume discount if 6 units are purchased? KT on Apr 16, 2015
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello KT, we do apologize, we are not able to offer a volume discount. However, our programs OClub and OMail are great ways to save with us. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 17, 2015
 
 

Why did you choose this product? Overstock on Mar 16, 2015
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

It's beautiful Carrie T. on Mar 16, 2015
 
 

What is the spacing between each shelf? akeemc on Sep 23, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello akeemc, this item is awesome! There is 7.5 inches from the floor to the lst shelf and the shelves are 12 inches apart. Thanks for shopping with us! -Amanda P overstockcustomercare2 on Sep 26, 2014
 
 

Hello! What is the spacing between shelves? mgranola on Sep 10, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello mgranola, the spacing is approximately 12" apart. Thanks for shopping with us. J.E overstockcustomercare2 on Sep 12, 2014
 
 

Height measurement between shelves fvaccarelli on Mar 17, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello fvaccarelli, there is 7.5 inches from the floor to the lst shelf and the shelves are 12 inches apart. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Mar 27, 2014
 
 

Is this metal steel? or what type of metal? Thank you. livepeace on Mar 13, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello livepeace, unfortunately, we do not know what metal this is except we do not that it is not steel. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 2, 2014
 
 

How much does this weigh? robynsamuels on Jan 21, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for contacting us robynsamuels. The weight is 127 pounds. Please let us know if you have any further questions. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 29, 2014
 
 

I want to know how much weight this bookcase will hold. katwomans on Aug 7, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello katwomans, We appreciate your inquiry. Unfortunately, this item has not been weight tested. We hope you have found this information helpful. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 12, 2013
 
 

what are the dimensions of this piece? houses03 on Mar 30, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for your question. This item is 72 inches high x 40 inches wide x 18 inches deep. Have a great day. overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 2, 2013
 
 

I'm curious as to whether or not we woiuld be able to use this in the kitchen to display our pots pans, food processors, etc? vicotria on Jan 25, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

This piece can be used for anything and anywhere. The design is universal and the materials rustic, contemporary and very utilitary. You have a great idea and it would look amazing. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 28, 2013
 
 

I asked the question below "is there a lock function on the wheels?" and the answer was that s does not. I saw another set of Q&A's for the same product line and the answer was that the wheels are just for show and that they were not working wheels. Can someone confirm if these wheels roll or not? jstarnight on Jan 14, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The roll but according to the reviewers on this site, not well. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 16, 2013
 
 

I can't tell if the iron is black and the shelves are grey or if by gray you meant the iron is also a gray? jimmylo on Jan 9, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Finish: Grey wood overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 9, 2013
 
 

is there a lock function on the wheels? jstarnight on Dec 4, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

No unfortunately this unit does not have locking wheels. overstockcustomercare1 on Dec 5, 2012
 
 

HI , what is the exact measurement between the shelves? I want to store records that are 12.25 in tall . Will these fit? livepeace on Sep 5, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The first shelf is 7.75 inches high, the second shelf is 20.5 inches high, the third shelf is 33.5 inches high, the fourth shelf is 46.5 inches high, the fifth shelf is 59 inches high, and the sixth shelf is 72 inches high. overstockcustomercare1 on Sep 5, 2012
 
 

Can you leave off one shelf (3rd up from the bottom), but still add shelves above it in order to create a larger space between two of the shelves? abg82 on Aug 25, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

No, you cannot. overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 27, 2012
 
 

Can this shelf be assembled using only the bottom three shelves so it isn't as tall? I have two spaces that I need coordinating shelves for...one can handle the full height but ones needs to be shorter. Thanks.  on Jul 23, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

You may assemble as many shelves as needed. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 24, 2012
 
 

Hi there, someone asked back in April what kind of wood this is made from? Can you please let everyone know as one reviewer stated it was a hard plastic and not wood. I'm wondering if it is mdf with a veneer or if it is solid, real wood? thank you acba2003 on Jun 5, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

I am looking into this and will post an nswer soon. According to the information we have, they are made of real wood but I am trying to find out what kind overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 7, 2012
 
This item is made from medium-density fiberboard (MDF) with birch veneers. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 13, 2012
 
 

can this piece be assembled without the wheels if I dont want it to be rolling?  on May 13, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The casters are usually screwed on last; therefore, you should be able to just leave them off. overstockcustomercare1 on May 15, 2012
 
 

where is this bookshelf made?  on Apr 30, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

This item is made in China. overstockcustomercare1 on May 1, 2012
 
 

What kind of wood is it? sogladimhere on Apr 25, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Its not really wood, it's a faux plasticky sort of composite that has been etched to look like wood. If you want wood you can get the ones put out by restoration, and you'll also pay 4-5 times more. cejohnston on Jan 9, 2013
 
 

Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Shipping:

Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

NOTE:

This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii.
More details

Shipping Information:

Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
Standard shipping details
Expedited shipping details

* For your protection, all orders are screened for security purposes. If your order is selected for review, our Loss Prevention Team may contact you by phone or email. There may be a two business day delay to process your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More