Renate Grey Bookcase
 
Save for Later
Want to know when you'll get it? Go

What is “Estimated Delivery Date?”

This is an approximate delivery date and is not a guarantee. Delivery estimates are available only for select items to be delivered in the contiguous United States, excluding APO/FPO addresses and PO boxes. Your final shipping cost will be available at checkout.

Overstock.com MasterCard®

$20 bonus after first use & 0% Intro APR*
No Payments & No Interest on orders over
$150 if you pay in full within 6 months.
Learn More ›

Renate Grey Bookcase

Overall Rating Rating 4.2  |  38 reviews  |  Write a review
Today $386.99
Item #: 13506138
    This grey bookshelf is perfect for storing your favorite volumes and more. Use this bookshelf for decorating your room or adding storage to your kitchen....more
Sponsored Links What's This?
    This grey bookshelf is perfect for storing your favorite volumes and more. Use this bookshelf for decorating your room or adding storage to your kitchen.

    • Materials: Wood, metal, hardware
    • Finish: Grey wood
    • 5 fixed shelves
    • Sturdy metal frame
    • 72 inches high x 40 inches wide x 18 inches deep
Dimensions:
40 in. W x 18 in. D x 72 in. H
Materials:
Wood,Metal, hardware

Features

  • Color
    Black, Blue, Brown, Gold, Green, Grey, Purple, Silver, White
  • Style
    Rustic, Transitional
  • Material
    Metal, Wood
  • Finish
    Cherry, Espresso, Metal, Walnut, Wood
  • Shelf Type
    Display, Storage
  • Assembly
    Assembled, Assembly Required
  • Number of Shelf
    5
Was this product information helpful?
Yes No
Thank you for your feedback.
 
 
 
Thank you. Your feedback will help us create the best experience for our customers.

Showing 5 most helpful reviews on this product.

  • 5 Stars 21
  • 4 Stars 10
  • 3 Stars 2
  • 2 Stars 4
  • 1 Stars 1
  • decent functional bookcase for the price

    I bought this in the hopes that it would mimic a bookcase sold in a popular home catalog for 3-4x the price. It is the perfect depth, height and size for the space, and its dimensions are almost exactly what the other, more highly priced bookcase is. The quality however is not. These shelves are like a hard plastic with a stamped wood pattern into them, whereas the real bookcase shelves are like reclaimed wood. The metal on this is very dark, almost a charcoal steel, whereas the expensive version has lighter pewter colored metal. This one was very simple to put together, although the box it arrived in weighed a ton, so i had to take it upstairs piece by piece. Its fine for the price and I'm keeping it, however its in my front living room and can be seen by all entering the home, so I wish it looked more high end. Its a marginal foreign copy of a nice, more expensive piece. If its in a non-important location, its fine for the price. I would have preferred, with 20/20 hindsight, spending the extra money for the real version.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? mostly true
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. marginal, but priced accordingly
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? reasonably accurate
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
  • 100% satisfied

    After reading the other reviews, I was a bit hesitant in ordering this bookcase but, having had great success with previous oders from O.com, decided to chance it. Am so glad that I did! I had been comparing this one to similar items on two other high-end sites and the difference in the item price and shipping cost could not be passed up. When the bookcase arrived, assembly was a breeze (the hardest part was getting the bookcase into it's upright position, because it is heavy). Now I have it in my kitchen for additional shelf and storage space and it adds an expensive and trendy industrial look, which is what I was going for. Had I purchased this bookcase from store X or Y, I would have paid 2-3 times the amount plus $95+ for shipping.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? pretty accurate
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a very heavy bookcase and built to last forever.
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate.
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
  • not as happy as I would like

    I love the look of the shelves, and the size, but I wish we had not bought them because of the smell. Judging from the smell, they may need 6 months of off gas before we can use them. The design was a nice idea, but could have been implemented a little better.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The quality was okay. One of the four shelves we ordered came with a piece welded on backwards, thus making the shelves crooked. The shelves were also coated with a very chemical smelling substance. Since my daughter has chemical sensitivities we have had to air out the shelves since we got them. The smell is STILL not gone and we received them over a month ago. Not sure what we are going to do. The wheels don't work really, so I am afraid they will scratch my floors.
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
  • I would give these four and a half stars

    I had been admiring shelves on another well-know furnishings site, but they were way over my budget. So I was thrilled to find these on O for less than a third of the price. They were easy to assemble, although very heavy - definitely need two people. They look just as pictured - although the measurement of width was off by over 8". Overall the pieces look very much as pictured. However I ordered two shelves, and one unit has much lighter colored shelves. The shelves are rougher and it seems like they were just not finished with a topcoat. The other unit has one shelf that is also much lighter, but I figured that when they have pieces on them it will not be an issue. All in all for the price I consider them a great find.

    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, but measurement of width is wrong by 8 inches. These pieces are 40" wide, not 48"
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes

    eliana26 from Just moved from CA to ID, Jul 12, 2011

    Flag As Inappropriate
  • Great shelving!

    Great shelving at a wonderful price. Heavy pieces but once laid out, fairly easy to assemble. Bottom shelf is NOT marked so look closely at each shelf BEFORE assembling as bottom shelf has small screw holes in each side piece where leg/wheels fit in. I assembled upside down but requires two people to tip and then lift to upright. Might want to "air out" shelves in a garage or outside for a few hours or a day before putting in house as they do have a chemical smell.

    • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
    • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
    • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
View All Most Helpful Reviews
  • Great Value!! Overstock has Grand Slam Service!

    Great bookshelf. Arrived slightly damaged due to shipping, Overstock rushed me a complete new one and sent a label to send the old one back. Will recommend!

    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    johnnyo13 from New York, NY, Mar 15, 2014

  • Pleased with the product

    Very nice piece and works well in living room. Very tall, so I removed one of the shelves. Also, deeper than I anticipated so it did not fit where I had originally intended, but I found another wall for it. Easy to assemble - put this together very quickly with the help of my 12-year old. I am considering buying additional pieces to match.

    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    jhm915 from Connecticut, Feb 21, 2014

  • Looks good but has an odor

    I purchased the book case and two side tables for our guest room, and I also purchased two towers for our master. My husband assembled all of them this past weekend and, while they look good and seem to be sturdy (they are very heavy), they have a very strong odor to it. It smells like wet paint/spray paint. I'm hoping it will eventually go away but the odor can be very bothersome to sensitive noses. We are letting it "air out" in our living room before placing them in the rooms which are small and enclosed and will hold in the odor. The pictures of the products are accurate although I would not describe them as "grey" at all. The shelves have streaks of grey/silver which you cannot tell from the pictures but overall, the products are dark brown. We have dark brown wood floors, so the products match a lot with the floors which is why I was hoping there would be more grey to them. If these products did not have a strong odor, I would have given "quality" a 4/5 star.

    Average
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    Good
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    mocitygal from Texas, Jan 12, 2014

  • sturdy, heavy duty

    I'm using for craft storage but would really be a nice display bookcase too. Needed two people to set up or one strong man.

    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    gaylern from Davenport,IA, Nov 24, 2013

  • Really smart bookcase

    Very, very well made. Well packaged, super easy to assemble (maybe 10 minutes), and sturdy. Though it is on wheels that do not lock, it's not going anywhere. Note: heavy box so ask for help!

    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    Excellent
    Poor
    Excellent
    • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
    Flag

    mwils from Oregon, Oct 31, 2013

View All Most Recent Reviews

Product Q&A

Ask a Question

Height measurement between shelves fvaccarelli on Mar 17, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello fvaccarelli, there is 7.5 inches from the floor to the lst shelf and the shelves are 12 inches apart. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Mar 27, 2014
 
 

Is this metal steel? or what type of metal? Thank you. livepeace on Mar 13, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello livepeace, unfortunately, we do not know what metal this is except we do not that it is not steel. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 2, 2014
 
 

How much does this weigh? robynsamuels on Jan 21, 2014
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for contacting us robynsamuels. The weight is 127 pounds. Please let us know if you have any further questions. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 29, 2014
 
 

I want to know how much weight this bookcase will hold. katwomans on Aug 7, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Hello katwomans, We appreciate your inquiry. Unfortunately, this item has not been weight tested. We hope you have found this information helpful. Thank you for shopping with us. overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 12, 2013
 
 

what are the dimensions of this piece? houses03 on Mar 30, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Thank you for your question. This item is 72 inches high x 40 inches wide x 18 inches deep. Have a great day. overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 2, 2013
 
 

I'm curious as to whether or not we woiuld be able to use this in the kitchen to display our pots pans, food processors, etc? vicotria on Jan 25, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

This piece can be used for anything and anywhere. The design is universal and the materials rustic, contemporary and very utilitary. You have a great idea and it would look amazing. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 28, 2013
 
 

I asked the question below "is there a lock function on the wheels?" and the answer was that s does not. I saw another set of Q&A's for the same product line and the answer was that the wheels are just for show and that they were not working wheels. Can someone confirm if these wheels roll or not? jstarnight on Jan 14, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The roll but according to the reviewers on this site, not well. overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 16, 2013
 
 

I can't tell if the iron is black and the shelves are grey or if by gray you meant the iron is also a gray? jimmylo on Jan 9, 2013
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Finish: Grey wood overstockcustomercare1 on Jan 9, 2013
 
 

is there a lock function on the wheels? jstarnight on Dec 4, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

No unfortunately this unit does not have locking wheels. overstockcustomercare1 on Dec 5, 2012
 
 

HI , what is the exact measurement between the shelves? I want to store records that are 12.25 in tall . Will these fit? livepeace on Sep 5, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The first shelf is 7.75 inches high, the second shelf is 20.5 inches high, the third shelf is 33.5 inches high, the fourth shelf is 46.5 inches high, the fifth shelf is 59 inches high, and the sixth shelf is 72 inches high. overstockcustomercare1 on Sep 5, 2012
 
 

Can you leave off one shelf (3rd up from the bottom), but still add shelves above it in order to create a larger space between two of the shelves? abg82 on Aug 25, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

No, you cannot. overstockcustomercare1 on Aug 27, 2012
 
 

Can this shelf be assembled using only the bottom three shelves so it isn't as tall? I have two spaces that I need coordinating shelves for...one can handle the full height but ones needs to be shorter. Thanks.  on Jul 23, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

You may assemble as many shelves as needed. overstockcustomercare1 on Jul 24, 2012
 
 

Hi there, someone asked back in April what kind of wood this is made from? Can you please let everyone know as one reviewer stated it was a hard plastic and not wood. I'm wondering if it is mdf with a veneer or if it is solid, real wood? thank you acba2003 on Jun 5, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

I am looking into this and will post an nswer soon. According to the information we have, they are made of real wood but I am trying to find out what kind overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 7, 2012
 
This item is made from medium-density fiberboard (MDF) with birch veneers. overstockcustomercare1 on Jun 13, 2012
 
 

can this piece be assembled without the wheels if I dont want it to be rolling?  on May 13, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

The casters are usually screwed on last; therefore, you should be able to just leave them off. overstockcustomercare1 on May 15, 2012
 
 

where is this bookshelf made?  on Apr 30, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

This item is made in China. overstockcustomercare1 on May 1, 2012
 
 

What kind of wood is it? sogladimhere on Apr 25, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Its not really wood, it's a faux plasticky sort of composite that has been etched to look like wood. If you want wood you can get the ones put out by restoration, and you'll also pay 4-5 times more. cejohnston on Jan 9, 2013
 
 

Are the shelves made from real wood or are they some kind of composite material? sunny3636 on Apr 6, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

They are made out of real wood. overstockcustomercare1 on Apr 10, 2012
 
 

If there were approximately 14" between each shelf that would come to 70" alone and the unit is 72" high so the 14" cannot be possible. Any way of finding out the exact measurement between each shelf? This is critical information that I need prior to purchase... I am looking at other units and need to make my choice in a very few days as the other units are currently on sale...and less expensive. jpstarz on Mar 24, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

Both Tower and Bookcase have the exact same shelf heights The only difference between the two is that the Bookcase is wider so the overall dimensions are 72”H x 40”W x 18” D while the Tower is 72”H x 24”W x 18”D. The dimensions are taken from the top of each shelf to the floor and each shelf is .75” tall so the space between shelf 1: 7.75” and shelf 2: 20.6” is 12” between each shelf. NOTE: I no longer round to the nearest half inch as this would lead you to think they are staggered – they are not. 1st shelf height: 7.75 inches Space between shelves is 12” (20.5- 7.75 - .75 shelf thickness) 2nd shelf height: 20.6 inches Space between shelves is 12” (33.4- 20.6 - .75 shelf thickness) 3rd shelf height: 33.4 inches Space between shelves is 12” (46.3 -33.4 - .75 shelf thickness) 4th shelf height: 46.3 inches Space between shelves is 12” (59.1 – 46.3 - .75 shelf thickness) 5th shelf height: 59.1 inches Space between shelves is 12” (72.0 – 59.1 - .75 shelf thickness) 6th shelf height: 72.0 inches The main change I see is that on the tower (item 13506141) the 1st shelf should be changed to 7.75” from floor to top of shelf not the bottom of the shelf. overstockcustomercare1 on Mar 27, 2012
 
 

How many inches are there between shelves? jpstarz on Mar 11, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

There is approximately 14" between each shelf. overstockcustomercare1 on Mar 14, 2012
 
 

Can these be assembled as two 3-shelf units instead of one 6-shelf unit?  on Feb 22, 2012
Subscribe to Answers
Answer This Question

No theses can not be assembled as 2 3 shelf units as there is only 1 bottom piece sent with this item. overstockcustomercare1 on Feb 24, 2012
 
 

Be the first to ask a question about this product.
Shipping:

Usually leaves our warehouse in 1-2 business days. *

Standard Return Policy:

Items must be returned in new or unused condition and contain all original materials included with the shipment. More details

FINAL SALE EXCLUSION: Items marked as FINAL SALE are not returnable unless the problem you experience is the result of our error.

NOTE:

This item cannot be shipped to Alaska or Hawaii.
More details

Shipping Information:

Our standard shipping method is ground shipping. We also offer expedited shipping for most items. Your final shipping cost and estimated delivery timeframe will be available at checkout.
Standard shipping details
Expedited shipping details

* For your safety, some orders go through our loss prevention department. If we select your order for this process, we will immediately notify you that there may be up to a 3-day delay on your order.

** Most Oversize orders are delivered within 1-4 weeks. Some orders may take 6 weeks to be delivered.

Buy Now with Bitcoin Learn More