Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Sturdy and Stylish
 from New York, N.Y.,  Oct 22, 2014

I'm very pleased with my purchase . It works very well in my space, and it adds just the right touch of industrial chic.Best of all assembly was easy because all I had to do was stack each shelf and simply screw the legs in.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Looks More Expensive Than It Is
 from Tampa, FL,  Oct 6, 2014

Fantastic shelving unit I use in my office to hold books, file boxes, decorative items and my printer. It was simple to construct, has a minor wobble, but is overall a solid buy. Reminds me of something I would have spent 3X as much on at Restoration Hardware. The casters are teeny tiny, but they do move the unit, albeit slowly. Overall, five stars to this item and the Renate line. I have a few pieces from it.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Great Value!! Overstock has Grand Slam Service!
 from New York, NY,  Mar 15, 2014

Great bookshelf. Arrived slightly damaged due to shipping, Overstock rushed me a complete new one and sent a label to send the old one back. Will recommend!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Good Value : Good Style : Good
Pleased with the product
 from Connecticut,  Feb 21, 2014

Very nice piece and works well in living room. Very tall, so I removed one of the shelves. Also, deeper than I anticipated so it did not fit where I had originally intended, but I found another wall for it. Easy to assemble - put this together very quickly with the help of my 12-year old. I am considering buying additional pieces to match.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Average Value : Good Style : Good
Looks good but has an odor
 from Texas,  Jan 12, 2014

I purchased the book case and two side tables for our guest room, and I also purchased two towers for our master. My husband assembled all of them this past weekend and, while they look good and seem to be sturdy (they are very heavy), they have a very strong odor to it. It smells like wet paint/spray paint. I'm hoping it will eventually go away but the odor can be very bothersome to sensitive noses. We are letting it "air out" in our living room before placing them in the rooms which are small and enclosed and will hold in the odor. The pictures of the products are accurate although I would not describe them as "grey" at all. The shelves have streaks of grey/silver which you cannot tell from the pictures but overall, the products are dark brown. We have dark brown wood floors, so the products match a lot with the floors which is why I was hoping there would be more grey to them. If these products did not have a strong odor, I would have given "quality" a 4/5 star.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
sturdy, heavy duty
 from Davenport,IA,  Nov 24, 2013

I'm using for craft storage but would really be a nice display bookcase too. Needed two people to set up or one strong man.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Excellent Value : Excellent Style : Excellent
Really smart bookcase
 from Oregon,  Oct 31, 2013

Very, very well made. Well packaged, super easy to assemble (maybe 10 minutes), and sturdy. Though it is on wheels that do not lock, it's not going anywhere. Note: heavy box so ask for help!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Fair Style : Excellent
Beautiful but unstable
 from San Francisco Bay Area,  Aug 28, 2013

I love the Renate desk that I ordered to go with this matching bookcase. And I love the look of the bookcase. The problem is how its put together. Each of the metal pipe pieces is separate and screws into the one next to it. In the end, there are too many points of instability and in the end the assembled piece is very wobbly and not straight. I tried to adjust it both during and after assembly, but it was still unstable and tippy looking. It was too much of a pain to try to return it and it wasn't actually going to tip over, so I used it for 6 months. But it bugged me to see the lines not being straight and feel it move when I took things off or on. So in the end I sold it for less than half of what I paid for it on **********.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality : Fair Value : Fair Style : Good

Not worth the money! low quality with defects direct from factory!.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good bookcase
 from san jose, CA,  Jun 25, 2013

Overall this is a great product, I purchase this along with the matching Renate desk, definitely Restored style with much lower price. One thing I want to complain is the reclaimed look seems from a very thin paper-like veneer, it is too thin. Overstock's customer service is wonderful, best I know.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Renate Grey Bookcase Not Recommended
 from Ohio,  Apr 26, 2013

I do not recommend purchase of the Renate Grey Bookcase for three reasons. First, it is very difficult to assemble so that the shelf supports appear even and perpendicular. Second, the metal finish has a pink undertone that is unappealing. Finally, as others have noted, the shelves have a distinct chemical smell that, combined with the fact that manufacturing occurred in China, made me concerned enough about heath risks to unpack and wait more than a week to bring the unit into the house.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great style bookcase!
 from Michigan,  Feb 28, 2013

I have 2 of these with the matching TV stand in between (50 inch TV placed on this). It adds so much style to the room and was much cheaper that having built ins built by a contractor. I love them. They were easy to put together, took a little time but not complicated. I love them, looks great with grey walls.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, lots of style
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Needed to work with it a bit
 from Lincoln, NE,  Feb 15, 2013

I took out one of the shelves because the unit soooo tall, so one less shelf actually made it more doable for the space that I bought it for. I also flipped the shelves to expose the smooth black side of each shelf. I HATED the faux grain and the color combination on the shelves, so flipping them worked just fine. The smell of chemicals was overwhelming, not kidding. Be prepared to open all the windows for a couple of days, or leave it outside. I LOVE the little wheels on the bottom of the unit. I also love the vintage industrial look of it. It is a dead on knockoff of the *** unit on RH. Look at both at compare, it is a real value for the chic, upscale look that you get.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The one I got was darker, pretty close to black
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It's well made, sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurat: heavy, darker than the picture, faux grain shelf was nasty looking
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Hello restoration styling at affordable price!
 from State College, PA,  Feb 15, 2013

I love this bookcase, we have had it for over 8 months now and I still love it! Assembly was easy and relatively quick, but you need someone on hand to help as it is super heavy. I had difficulty with one piece which was slightly crooked, I had to file it a little to make it fit, but I am willing to overlook that as I love love love the look and the price simply cannot be beaten! As always shipping was super fast.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Just the same as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice, solid, but dont look too close
 from san francisco, ca,  Jan 5, 2013

as other reviewers have mentioned, this is solid, sturdy well built and if you dont look too close is gorgeous. the poles between the shelves however are not engineered to be totally straight so if you look close you can see that it is a bit 'wompus'. still, with books on it it does look pretty good. it is heavy and sturdy. note: the wheels do not rotate so when it is assembled you can wheel it side to side but you can not wheel it forward and back. for the money this is a good deal.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from MA,  Dec 22, 2012

Beautiful set of shelves - love the look and they are super strong. Much heavier than expected. The color of the wood is slightly browner than the photos, but otherwise exactly as expected. I'd recommend adding a bracket to the top shelf and connecting it to the wall to keep the shelf from swaying.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? A bit more brown than gray
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great shelving!
 from Boston, MA,  Nov 15, 2012

Great shelving at a wonderful price. Heavy pieces but once laid out, fairly easy to assemble. Bottom shelf is NOT marked so look closely at each shelf BEFORE assembling as bottom shelf has small screw holes in each side piece where leg/wheels fit in. I assembled upside down but requires two people to tip and then lift to upright. Might want to "air out" shelves in a garage or outside for a few hours or a day before putting in house as they do have a chemical smell.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great gift
 from Gulfport, MS,  Oct 15, 2012

Bought this for my daughter for her new apartment in Oregon and she loves it. Was not too hard to put together either.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just like the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? dead on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Bookcase was as expected
 from mississauga, ontario,  Sep 18, 2012

The only thing I can say is that I thought there was more space between shelves but I think that was just me. Quality is not top notch but then again didn't pay top notch prices. All in all will say I have not been disppountrd yet with all the products I order from os. The customer service is first rate.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was as shown
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Colour match
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong sturdy
 from St Petersburg, Fl,  Jul 30, 2012

Shelves deeper than expected but worked out fine. I bought two and needed help putting the first one together but the second was a no brainier so I did it alone. I looked for months for bookshelves and these suit all my neds.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fit the description on site.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 40 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Renate Grey Tower
Today $374.00
(24)
Renate Desk
Today $449.99
(112)
Baxton Studio New Semester Bookshelf
Sale $87.29
Was $96.99
Back to top