Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Solid desks and a snap to assemble
 from Philadelphia,  Sep 8, 2012

Great product that will last. It appeared that the legs were solid iron, but they are actually powder-coated. None the less, they are very solid and we are looking forward to keeping them around for a long time!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Desk tops are nice and solid, i thought the legs would be solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid & good looking
 from bay area,  Feb 27, 2014

I'm not sure there's a lot that I can say that hasn't been said already, but this desk is definitely good looking and the wood / wood composite is heavy & solid (I don't think it's actually solid wood just based on the feel). The metal frames seem a tad on the light side when compared to the wood. It's reasonably easy to assemble although it will take a decent amount of time. The one thing that I never considered, but that I would've liked to have known beforehand is that the desk top is not very smooth. This makes things like writing and even moving a computer mouse less than ideal on the desk w/out a mat or pad. I use a trackball anyways so it's not a big deal for me, but fyi for those who intend to use it that way.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SOLID DESK! Color a little off & not level :(
 from Long Beach. CA,  Jan 21, 2014

This desk is extremely SOLID! Love the distress wood! Because it was reclaimed wood the color was off a little from the image shown. The image shown is lighter with more antique white (distressed look). The product shipped and was a tad bit darker with more hints of gold through out the wood. The gold is very noticeable and In fact, the desk I rec'd was so noticeable, I would recommend double checking that it fits the room decor if you rec'v one similar in color. Putting together this desk was a breeze and anyone could do it alone, which was nice. Once it was put together it wasnt setting level. It teeters a bit. I tried adjusting but it was still little off, so I had to add an additional rubber pad for one leg. All in all its a good buy but it is a little expensive for its downfalls and what is on the market. honestly, I would say its price range should be around 350.00 ish. My friend came over and she loved it. Then she asked if it was more ****. I sighed........

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Renate Desk
 from Asheville, NC,  Dec 9, 2013

Product was very easy to assemble. The box weighed 87 pounds and the desk required two people to assemble. Although the screws and bolts are in a sealed package, ours was missing one bolt. Somewhat confusing was the fact that neither the directions nor the parts list made any reference to washers, yet there were plenty included with the bolts. The bolts were fastened with an Allen wrench contained with the parts. The screws require a phillips head screw driver not contained with the kit. This product is made in China. It has a chemical smell to it, so I left the window open in my studio to get rid of the smell and allow the desk to "outgas". After a few hours the smell dissipated. The product appears exactly as pictured, close inspection revealed a little rust on the metal frame. I am using the desk as a sewing table and the wood top has a smooth enough finish to handle the job.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid desk
 from california,  Nov 12, 2013

solid desk for a good price. still made out of MDF, but unless you look at the underside of the table, no one will notice.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and Stulish
 from New York,  Sep 24, 2013

A bit of a hassle to assemble, but once it's done you have a very sturdy. large desk that suits my needs for my computer, printer, phone and files.Stylish and sleek lines. Not sure if it's worth the price given comparative computer desks, but it's certainly a good product.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nicer in person!
 from NYC, New York,  Apr 4, 2013

These desks looked great online and was suprised at how much I liked them in person. They were super easy to assemble and had it together is less than an hour. I purchased a few of these for our office and everyone is really happy with the desk!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color looked exactly like the photo, but better when received.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Was pleasantly surprised when I received it and noticed the great quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 3, 2013

We love this desk. We bought it as a 7th wedding anniversary present (traditional gift is "desk set") and have been very happy with it. So far everyone that has come over has complimented it. Very rustic/contemporary look that goes well with pretty much anything. Also, excellent customer service throughout! When our desk was damanged during shipping (fault of UPS, not overstock.com) they sent me another one immediately. I will absolutely buy from overstock.com again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? First shipment it was a little more blue than gray, but when they resent another desk (it was damanged during shipping) the 2nd one was a perfect match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy and well made.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Industrial Look
 from Ohio,  Mar 31, 2013

This desk is a great solution for the industrial office look. It arrived undamaged in one heavy box with plenty of packaging for protection. It was extremely easy to put together and it is sturdy enough assembled for a person to sit on. Overall, I think this product is an exceptional deal when compared to similar items at Restoration Hardware and the discount furniture sites.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Acceptable quality for price. Assembly easy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Sturdy
 from Vermont,  Mar 30, 2013

I loved this desk from the moment we assembled it! While it looks like rustic rough sawn wood, it is made of a composit material that is much tougher than wood. The desk is veyr heavy (which I like) and very sturdy. I think a small child could dance all over this table and it wouldn't move! Love it and expect to have it for a very long time!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color has alot of depth and I woudl say almost a blue hue
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Much better than I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy/reclaimed wood...what more can you ask for
 from Pearland, Texas,  Mar 26, 2013

This desk is rustic but still appeals to my modern taste. It is very heavy which lends itself to the solid wood construction. Very pleased!! I am considering another Renate purchase but I don't want to be too matchy-matchy. I love the fact that I don't have to worry about scratching the desk's surface. If I did, however, it would just add to the character of the desk. Love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid wood, great construction
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Quality
 from Fountain Hills, AZ,  Mar 13, 2013

This is an amazing piece of furniture. Very solid. Easy to assemble with excellent directions. This is a piece that you would buy from Restoration Hardware for a fraction of the price. We just love it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Amazing quality - very solid and well built piece of furniture.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accuse
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We are very pleased with this desk. It is good looking and also functional. It is large enough for our computer and work materials. We are happy with the look and the quality. The shipping was quick and on time. As others have said, it is heavy (>80 lbs). You will need 2 people to carry the box inside.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very comparable.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a good quality, sturdy desk. It does not shake or wobble.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great desk!
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Feb 16, 2013

Great looking desk - solid wood, excellent value... looks like something you would find at Restoration Hardware or Pottery Barn.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? the top of desk has more brown that what shows in the pic
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. overall quality seems very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy, Beautiful
 from Davenport, IA,  Feb 14, 2013

I ordered this and it shipped in about 4 days to Iowa. The packaging was great. Heavy; 87 lbs. I opened the box outside and brought it in in pieces. There was one small scratch on a corner of one of the shelves, but I placed that against the wall. I installed it in about 15 minutes - I was speeding because I had to run to work and wanted it done to surprise my wife when she got home. I love the desk and I think it should last a lifetime if it is taken care of. I have moved a lot because of the Marine Corps and I see this as a piece that could take a few moves and be fine as long as it is wrapped well. I placed a new all-in-one computer on it and I am buying a 3M slideout keyboard platform to place the keyboard below to allow for more surface work space. There is a 5 inch wide lip on the inside that may make installing it a challenge, but it shouldn't be impossible. Overall good purchase. My other desk is a gargantuan Bush Corsa L-shaped desk that is covered in a printer and other "stuff". This Renate desk is going in the living room and I like the skeletal aspect of it to keep it minimal. Thanks, O.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very similar. More brown than gray.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy. Should last a long time.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, but I would have liked more information on the color of the legs. They are like a bronze.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking desk - shoddy construction
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Jan 20, 2013

I like my desk but only thanks to my father being able to fix it, otherwise I would have had to send it back. The holes were drilled inaccurately so it would not fit together, my father had to drill new holes in the metal and use different bolts. After 2 trips to the hardware store we were able to get it to work. Not cool for a nearly *** desk! Also shipping was a nightmare with UPS. They would not deliver this for days and I spent an hour on phone with UPS and Overstock customer service trying to sort this out over the span of 4 days. I have never had such a bizarre shipping situation with the UPS repeatedly saying it was out for delivery and then repeatedly leaving it in the facility and not rescheduling. UPS really dropped the ball on this with their inaccurate information and lack of communication. Overstock tried to help but got the same run around I did from UPS. Lastly, the desk smelled so strongly of chemicals coming out of the box it was overwhelming. It took several days of airing this out with all the windows open 24 hours to stop reeking of carcinogens.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It is much darker, less of the patina than I would have liked. A great deal of the patina came off when I wiped it down upon first use.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Holes were drilled inaccurately so it would not fit together. Luckilty my father was able to drill additional holes into the metal and use bondo to make this work, otherwise it would have been a total loss.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and functional
 from Kansas City,  Jan 12, 2013

It's so close to what I wanted. Structurally, the desk is excellent and it is attractive. The color is just not anything like the picture. If you want something that is brown weathered, you will like it. The other thing is get ready for a very strong varnish smell. Ventilate the room for an afternoon of possible.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? This desk is dark brown with a hint of gray. Nothing like the picture which looks primarily gray weathered wood.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Sturdy - looks to be composite with veneers on the edges.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate, except the color, which is brown.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Chemical odor of the stain is an issue.
 from Wisconsin,  Jan 9, 2013

Nice looking desk. Easy to assemble. Very strong chemical odor from the stain. I live in a smallish apartment and the odor burns my eyes and throat after a while. I'm trying to find a way to lessen the fumes. If I can't get rid of odor or the off gassing doesn't diminish, I'll need to get rid of it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? a bit lighter on site
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid desk
 from NY, NY,  Dec 29, 2012

Large 87 lb box arrived on porch. Needed two people to bring in. It was packed well. Stain on wood has strong chemical odor, so ventalate well. Iron legs are not solid, but plenty strong. Its Pottery Barn look, is simple, clean and rustic. Lots of room on desk and shelves. Our handyman took about an hour to assemble, nothing difficult, just takes time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Darker, bluer than pic, but otherwise, spot on. Looks good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I don't know the type of wood, but it is sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate, (mine was 59" L, not 60") which was actually better for me.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, sturdy desk
 from music city,  Dec 18, 2012

Overstock has done it again! Brought an excellent product at an awesome price! Love this desk...so sturdy and beautiful. It has the reclaimed wood/industrial (restoration hardware) look for a fraction of the price! While assembling, however, the holes were on the wrong side on one leg, but if you're a little handy with a drill, so easily remedied. Once assembled, very sturdy. Now i just wished they had same desk in smaller version for a different location. Thanks OVERSTOCK!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top