Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and hip
 from Brandon, FL,  Apr 28, 2012

Needed a smaller desk for my new home , this offered functionality, and love the open shelves. I am using a mix of antique dynamite wooden crates alternately with woven grass storage baskets as file keepers. The look is great. Also, easy to assemble. Beware, this is no sissy piece of furniture. I'm sure it would win in a head on with a Smartcar.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very strong desk
 from Devonshire, Bermuda,  Aug 30, 2012

My uncle put the desk togetere for me and after he finished I was stunned how beautiful this desk was. Very rustic looking, perfect as a desk or work bench I love it!! I may purchase the book shelf to match the desk. Again I ordered thsi product for my home in Bermuda. It wa shipped to my overseas shipper in New Jersy for the voyage to Bermuda. Again, the furniture box was intact, no rips or tears. Very well packaged and protected. Thank you overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly as pictured - farmhouse antique look
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great desk
 from CA,  Aug 16, 2012

This desk is a terrific bargain. It's solidly built and looks similar to others that cost more in stores. It seemed to be easy to assemble. Or at least that's what my boyfriend said.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid desk. it appears that it will wear well.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strong and Stylish Desk
 from Oregon,  Jul 18, 2012

I'm a jewelry designer and recently remodeled my studio. I needed a strong work bench/desk but insisted on finding something stylish. This desk is perfect. The finish is gorgeous - urban contemporary with the grey wash wood and steel legs. Assembly went quick - I always use a drill to speed things along. Very heavy and sturdy - I move anvils around the surface and hammer frequently. It meets my needs and is flat out gorgeous!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Impressive Desk
 from Minneapolis, MN,  Jul 12, 2012

I'm so glad I like this desk! It would have been a bear to send back! It is a well made (high quality) desk and extremely heavy. You would easily pay a lot more money for this desk at another store ( Pottery Barn, Restoration Hardware, Crate and Barrel). I like how functional it is for both work and play. It gives ample room for my lap top computer and my hobbies (photography and scrapbooking). It has a retro, and yet vintage look, which fits in the decor of my office. My friend, who has assembled many things throughout his life, stated on easy the directions were to follow and simple to put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color compared to the description.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate. Appreciated the first and only review on it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very pleased
 from Tx,  Jul 10, 2012

I purchased this along with the media console. Both fantastic pieces. I'm a huge fan of Restoration Hardware style furniture. I hope this is helpful for anyone trying to decide whether to buy this or not. I say go for it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? I actually like the color in person even more than what shows online. There is a slight bluish tint to the gray wood.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality. Both the wood panels and iron pieces had some weight to them and seam to be very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 from Long Island, NY,  Jul 5, 2012

I absolutely love the desk - it looked exactly as it did in the pics. It did take a little bit of time to put together - not difficult, just took some time. But well worth it since there's only a $2.95 shipping charge (compared to other stores that charge over-the-top 10% of purchase price for shipping). The one thing I'd recommend is to make sure when taking the pieces out of the box to assemble, make sure you put them down on blankets or towels or a rug so as not to scratch them up. I placed one of the shelves on top of the other and scratched it slightly - not a big deal but I just should have been more careful. Looks great in our office. Definitely recommend.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as it appeared in the pictures - kind of a grayish brown shade to the wood
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Two Stars means Fair
 from Utah,  Jul 12, 2013

If it was half the price, then this would get 3 1/2 stars from us. Just a bit too wobbly for the price. Not very wobbly, just a bit wobbly, but for nearly five hundred shekels (or more than that at the time of this writing) it should be built dead solid, but it's not. Made with wood, but to my eye does not appear to be solid wood, but a combo of particle board, but mostly (it appears to me) plywood with veneer. When closely inspecting can see joints of the veneer and a small chip in the edge that makes it clear it is a veneer, a veneer that seems somewhat plasticky. Not ugly to me, but not the fully real wood feel and look we were expecting from the description and price. The smell others are mentioning seems to be spray paint. There is a faux dusty white accent color on it that may be part of the spray paint smell (this dusty white color rubs off quickly in areas that get high use), but the whole underside appears spray painted as well. Not a problem to us, just an explanation of what the smell might be.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome computer desk
 from Fresno, CA,  Apr 5, 2013

Great desk! Spacious and stylish. Personally, I hate desks that have drawers that open up for keyboard and mouse so I chose this one for that reason. But let me tell you, this desk is the bees nees out of 9. Assembling it was a walk in the park and the final product is so clean looking. I have gotten a lot of compliments so far and I highly recommend it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Strudy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 100% on the nose
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Style saavy and practical desk!
 from Middleton, Wisconsin,  Sep 5, 2012

Love the reclaimed look of this desk! Had to create a home office space for my hubby in our former craft room and wanted a practical piece that doubles as a work table for the kids when the day is done. Appreciate that decent size baskets can be stored on the shelves and the business samples have an adequate home too. Surface requires a writing pad, but the rustic side of it is very forgiving for everyday use. Great addition to an ever evolving space!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? no surprises, and that is good!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. easily assembled and sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fantastic desk
 from southcentral, Pa,  Aug 20, 2012

we love this desk, so glad we decided to get it. it is large and sturdy,and has a very pricey look about it, but price from overstock was great!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. this desk is super solid. fantastic industrial type style, very sturdy and looks wonderful
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dream Desk
 from Elgin, IL,  Jul 18, 2012

This desk is a beautiful addition to my newly remodeled office. It is sturdy, large enough for my MAC and two screens and still plenty of room for other activities. I hope that this line stays in stock, as some day I want to purchase the matching pieces.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? exellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Vintage Sturdy Desk
 from Boston, MA,  Jun 30, 2012

Love, love this desk! Mesh of vintage and modern. Open shelves make great for storage. This product was out of stock and I waited months to see if it would be restocked because I couldn't find another I liked as much. This desk is well worth the wait. The wood is smooth but brings the vintage feel/look with it. It was also fairly simple to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Picture is true to actual product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Some small nicks but overall very sturdy and very functional.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice size, happy with purchase, okay quality
 from San Francisco,  Feb 14, 2014

I debated between two very different looking pieces, this one and http://gingkofurniture.com/shop/metro_desk/. Design: The area space/depth of this overstock desk is great. I can easily fit my imac, printer, hard drives, accessories, mouse pad and still have it look minimal and clean. Build: The quality is good in that it feels substantial/solid. It's quality is only so/so in that within the first hour I had the table it chipped. It was such a pain to carry and assemble that I'm going to live with this chip and just turn it to the wall. There are some other areas where the finish is starting to scratch off already (1/2 day of use). Luckily the look is a little shabby so it all blends, and I bought the warranty. But I don't think the quality is as fantastic as everyone else raves. But yes, it is indeed solid. Delivery/assembly: The delivery man left this in my apartment building lobby and I (female, 30s) had to carry it up four flights of stairs. I had to open the box in the lobby and take it upstairs in pieces. The main top section is particularly heavy -- I was barely able to maneuver it myself. The assembly took about an hour. It's straightforward and just requires attention but it's not overly complex. I still am not sure where the included screws go, but other than that, the directions are clear. Overall, it's good and i'm keeping it. But I am not as over the moon about it as some other reviewers.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy Desk
 from Sonoma, CA,  Apr 24, 2013

This desk was exactly as described. The surface area is nice and large to accommodate a computer, keyboard, lamp and papers without any problem. I'm really enjoying it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very durable and sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from MN,  Apr 22, 2013

The desk was easy to assemble and very solid. The completed look is much more expensive than the actual price paid. Looks great with some wire baskets from Pier One on the shelves.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Solid, well made for price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!
 from Western Pennsylvania,  Nov 12, 2012

Redoing my home office around these Renate pieces, also picked up the sofa table to use as a work table, with ability to put printers on the bottom shelf. Note on the desk - I removed the upper shelf on one side, as I have a large tower PC. Then I added a set of brackets to the shelf - viola! a matching wall shelf. These peices were simple to assemble and have completely changed the look of my office. As always, O.CO delivers quickly and packages well. I'm a believer!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made - sturdy piece
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, sturdy desk
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Oct 6, 2012

I purchased this desk for my smallish home office and it fits in the room just great. Box arrived slightly damaged but no damage to the desk. The wood has a very nice weathered finish and it is also substantial in weight. The metal has a slightly rough texture to it, making it look worn ( but in a good way). Hubby unpacked and put it together in about 40 mins, very easy to follow instructions. Love the shelves for storage. Overall I am very pleased with this purchase and would definitely recommend it to others

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Wood color was slightly darker than expected, but still nice
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
love it
 from Beaufort, SC,  Oct 4, 2012

My husband assembled this desk as it is very heavy. He ended up using a drill to help speed up the process and make sure all of the screws were secure. It probably took about and hour to finish assembly. Despite a small scuff on one of the shelves, the final product EXCEEDED expectations. This desk is very sturdy and very attractive. The color is a cool brown with brushed bluish gray undertones. Very rustic and modern looking. The desk area is very spacious and the wood is well finished and smooth. Leg room under the desk is more than generous. If you like the picture, you will like the desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact- color is great!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. outstanding
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great deck
 from Orlando, FL,  Sep 30, 2012

Great desk. Assembly was easy. Box is very heavy this arrives in. Materials seem to be very high quality.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Wildwood Metal Frame Rustic Desk
Sale $297.89
Was $330.99
(2)
Glass Top Cable Desk
Today $239.99
(39)
Renate Grey Bookcase
Today $386.99
(38)
Renate Media Console
Today $379.99
(32)
Back to top