Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

The dishes are light, and durable. They were very pretty when I first bought them, but after a year of use, they are not looking so good. They stain easily, and the stains are not easily removed with Bleach. They actually look kind of blotchy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I was pleasantly suprised!
 from Colorado,  May 23, 2009

I was pleasantly suprised when we received our Red Vanilla White Bone China Set. From the photos, the bowls looked flat and not practical. However, they are perfect! We use this for everyday dinnerware and it looks great. It is very versatile and can be used for everyday use or for a nice dinner party. We have not had it very long, but have hit the plates against our granite countertops and our ceramic sink and nothing has broken or chipped. For the price, this is a great bargin!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Dishes
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Dec 15, 2010

Firstly, I love overstock. - fabulous merchandise and prices - service is unrivaled. Now to the dished. They are very nice especially for an inexpensive set - lightweight (which I specifically wanted as most are just to heavy for my aging hands!). The dishes are smaller than the giant sizes common today. This was also a selling point for me. They are tough as nails with the classic bone china strength. I mix and match them with colored pieces for different and great looks. In short, another great product form OS.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Reasonably Priced for a Reason
 from Seattle, WA,  Apr 9, 2010

The creamy white color & style look good, but I got what I paid for. Something happened during shipping which put a stress fracture in at least one of the plates. The first time I ate off one of them, it suddenly cracked clean down the middle. I bought this dinnerware because I heard bone china was strong but lightweight - instead I'm constantly afraid I'll break something. And this is superficial, but the stamp on the bottom bothers me - it includes the Red Vanilla website address and the embarrassing typo "Microwave $ Dishwasher Safe."

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
what a bargain
 from Austin TX,  Jul 29, 2009

I had to write this as soon as possible. I received the two sets of china yesterday. Well packed not a bit of damage. Finally a price I can afford for pure white dishes at a reasonable no make that a great price. These came out of the dishwasher sparkling and we used them last night. They were also tested in the micro wave and all is well. I love these because they compliment my best china and can use them to mix and match if needed. I was worried that the fineness of the dishes would not be good for everyday use but I no longer have these doubts as they were clattered by family members on the granite counter and all is well. I have no hesitation in recommending these dishes.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice!
 from Orange County, CA,  May 20, 2009

Although these arrived in the manufacturer's original box without any additional packaging, only 1 mug handle broke out of the 10 sets I ordered. There's also a small cereal/soup bowl that's not pictured. The china is strong and beautifully made, with no flaws noticed on the pieces. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
not durable
 from NY,  Jul 31, 2013

These plates are exactly what I wanted in terms of style and the fact of being bone china (lightweight, durable) but the quality is just not there. I have service for 16. After about a year of regular use as my everyday dishes the finish started to come off and they were looking tired. I was careful to rotate them and use all 16 not just whatever ended up on the top of the pile or the front of the cabinet. So now almost every single dish has become stained by something or other because of the glaze being missing, but even on the few that are still white you can clearly see mottling where the glaze is failing, and silvery marks (I don't know the mechanics of that, whether it's a mark added from my flatware, or something scraped away to reveal silver beneath). At any rate, they are so ragged they have to be replaced. I suspect the glaze is ending up in the food and that makes me very nervous.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not so good now
 from Cleveland,oh,  Feb 18, 2013

I had been looking for over a year for the perfect dish set and thought I found it. After using them for six months they are stained and I don't use them when company comes over because they look so dirty. Don't waste your money or your time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Plates are beautiful when purchased. Stained after a six months.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? First impression it was accurate. After owning for a while sub par quality.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks Great BUT . . .
 from Alexandria, VA,  Nov 17, 2012

Bought two 16 piece sets of this china in August, 2009, and was thrilled when it arrived. Seemed like good quality and set a beautiful table. After three years of use, I only have three of the original dinner plates left. The problem was not breakage, but over time the plates became developed stains that were impossible to remove; I tried everything. Finally, I filled with similar plates from Crate and Barrel. The rest of the set is fine and I continue to use it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Loved the color, a frest vanilla white.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

We have been using these for a year now and they still look great. I have broken a couple of the small plates so I was glad to see them available again. My husband is annoyed with the "lack of levelness" on the dinner plates....so I try and make sure that he doesn't get a "rocker" at his spot at the table (baby). For the money, these are a GREAT deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Set of Bone China
 from Atlanta, GA,  Oct 4, 2010

I have purchased two sets and am VERY pleased with their quality and size. The cups are a perfect size (definitely not a mug, if that's what you're looking for). Plain white bone china is best -- beautiful, classic, and durable. Any food looks amazing against a slightly glossy white plate! The price was also VERY reasonable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous China!
 from Plainfield, N.J.,  Jul 5, 2010

Alas! I finally found the perfect bone china-ware! Simple, elegant china that is lightweight, yet durable. The price is unbeatable from Overstock. I can use any tablecloth and napkin color to suit the occasion, since the china is white. Good for everyday use OR elegant evening dinner setting. I LOVE this china! Shipping was lightening fast and all pieces came in perfect shape...not a single piece broken, chipped or cracked. My hunt for china-ware is finally over! Thank you Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from San Francisco,  Jan 13, 2010

Great dishes. I ordered two sets, liked them so much I ordered a third or place setting now for 12. I use a dishwasher and 1-2 pieces show some slight color change or marking but I only noticed it because I was looking closely at each piece. I like the smaller cups. Hot liquids get cold fast in larger cups.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from Pa.,  Jul 3, 2009

All I had hoped for and looked for,for years. Very very pleased with them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect
 from New Orleans,  Jun 27, 2009

I just got these this week, and they are PERFECT!! They're exactly what a plate should look like - simple and clean, and no imperfections whatsoever. Thin profile so they're light weight. I wasn't sure based on the picture, but these are just lovely. I am going to order another set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Dishes at a Great Price
 from West Central Florida,  Jan 8, 2014

Wanted lighter weight bone china over heavier stoneware/porcelain dishes. These clean, smooth-lined dishes fit the bill! Durable and attractive with many types and patterns of dishware. Great for everyday and entertaining.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Had them for three years -- still in great shape
 from Connecticut,  Nov 10, 2013

I've had these dishes for three years and two moves, and they're extremely durable and versatile. Not one has cracked or chipped, and they've kept their bright white color. My only problem (and this is trivial) is that the stamp on the bottom really looks like the logo of a discount manufacturer -- which it is.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plates were small
 from Pennsylvania,  Sep 27, 2013

The plates were small...the small plate was barely able to hold a piece of bread. They were also thin...for the price I expected more substantial plates. Highly disappointed in this product and I returned them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FAVORITE DISHES EVER
 from Rockwall Texas,  Aug 20, 2013

I love everything about these dishes. I initially ordered two sets and later added another set !! They have proven durable for their delicate appearance - bone china. I highly recommend these.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality dinnerware.
 from Louisville, Ky,  Jul 29, 2013

Very satisfied with quality and price of product. Will come back to this site for future purchases of other products..

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good match.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 70 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought