Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Spectacular! Hats Off to Red Vanilla!
 from Chicago Illinois,  Dec 7, 2011

I thought I would wait and give a review that wasn’t an “out of the box” review, hope this helps. I was afraid to purchase the dishes because had said they were cracking after a week. Though the other reviews out-weighed her remarks, it was still in the back of my mind. I ordered my dishes on Monday. They came that Friday by 5 pm. They were packed very well, but still a small/salad plate was broken and a bowl was flawed. I got on the website and easily found my way to an instant chat with a nice person from Utah. He said they’d ship replacement dishes out right away, which I received 3 days later. A big Thank You to Overstock for fabulous customer service and standing behind the products they sell! The dishes are beautiful and well made. They are not the cumbersome Pfaltzgraff stoneware that is so heavy. They are an elegant medium weight that’s perfectly balanced. I have worked with ceramics my entire life and both plates are stilted when they are fired in the kiln. This means that there is glaze on the bottom rim of the plates. (They can’t do that with the bowls or cups) Most dishes are bare on the bottom rim; it rests on the kiln shelf when being fired. If it were glazed, it would fuse with the kiln shelf. The glaze also helps the dishes slide without scratching.The bottom rim of these plates won’t get that filthy look after years of use, a very nice feature.The color is that of Waterford’s Kings Gate damask table cloth. It is very elegant and not the starched white that most dishes are. It looked fabulous for Thanksgiving. The salad bowls are huge. They remind me of the fettuccini alfredo dishes they use at Italian restaurants. They’re great for pasta and salad, not cereal or ice cream. I took the advice of allysoncross and bought the cereal bowls, which is stellar advice. They round out the set nicely. Everyday ware they are doing very well. I had a cup with coffee on the end table and my teenage son knocked it off. It fell 26” to the oak floor and bounced. My heart skipped two beats but, the cup landed unscathed! How awesome is that? Not carpeting, a solid oak floor… I am buying two more sets. Wonderfully made dishes! You can purchase with no worries. My wish is that Red Vanilla makes more serving pieces!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Look Starch white and they are a wonderful creamy color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent Quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and useful
 from Champaign, IL,  Mar 4, 2011

Just a few words about the color: if you're looking for dinnerware in an icey white color, this isn't for you. These dishes are in the nicest creamy white color, more white than yellow. These are my "everyday" dishes, yet, the pattern is nice enough that I've used them several times for "company" dinners. Also, for those who feel a cereal bowl is needed rather than using the soup plate: use one of the mugs in the set. They're huge! That's what I use and I find that a mug holds the right amount of flakes and milk.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looking good after 6 months use, LOVE THEM
 from Birmingham AL suburbs,  May 10, 2012

I was tired of my oversized dishes and was looking for something that met the following criteria: 1) better nesting cupboard for cereal/fruit bowls, 2) had a soup bowl with a rim and 3) would present and fit better in my glass front cabinets. I knew I wanted a creamy neutral color and durability is a key requirement, along with being oven safe and microwave safe. I have spent quite a bit of money on other dishes that failed in the durability and ease of storage storage categories. My 2 previous sets (Pfalzgraf and some other kind of stoneware) chipped very easy with minor incidental contact.. such as simple dishwasher loading/unloading. Also my last set had very poorly stacking over-sized cereal bowls. The old plates and coffee mugs were also huge. I wanted a set that fit well in my normal sized cabinets and also stacked well in my dishwasher, especially the big dinner plates (without interfering with the upper rack operation). So this new set has met ALL my expectations, while being sized generously/normally. A really nice surprise is the coffee cups. They are slightly taller than average and have a nicely sculpted elegant handle that fits our tall person hands well. Not "1-finger" handles, rather several fingers can fit in the handle. I LOVE the 2 different sizes of bowls offered to match the set. 1 type comes with the set in the box and I ordered the matching option too. So now I have wonderful wide-rimmed soup/pasta bowls and perfect cereal/fruit bowls. The cereal bowls do SLIGHTLY stick/hang on every once in a while when I stack them, but no damage has resulted. I think this is likely due to the slight fluting on the outside, and will hopefully work itself out as they are used more. When I say slightly, I mean it has happened 2 - 3 times only in the past month and was only a momentary issue. Remember... I LOVE THEM. I also bought the hostess serving set. The serving platter and serving bowl are quite nice. I wish I could purchase more serving bowls separately. I AM VERY PLEASED WITH THE DISHES. Update, after normal family use, no chips, scratches or broken dishes. I have accidentally knocked the dishes against my granite counters many times when loading the dishwasher and I am amazed that I have not damaged them!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Best quality I have EVER purchased
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love these dishes!
 from Tate, GA,  Jun 29, 2011

These dishes are beautiful! They are light weight in a perfect biscuit color; we use them as every day dishes but could certainly be considered for a formal dinner. I purchased 3 sets and all arrived unscathed and intact. I am very pleased with this Overstock.com purchase.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
My dishes arrived today
 from I live in the desert outside Yucca Valley, CA,  Oct 7, 2011

I love my new dishes. Bought two sets and two sets of the cereal bowls. I appreciate the reviews because other reviews said that the salad bowls were too shallow for cereal or soup and they were correct. The cereal bowls I ordered are a perfect size. Every dish arrived in perfect condition. We will use these dishes for every day use but they are pretty enough for company. I definitely recommend these beautiful dishes. Thank you Overstock.com.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly what I expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exelent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description of these dishes was spot on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good daily service
 from GA,  Aug 9, 2011

I bought this set for daily use, and so far we have only managed to chip one mug which may be more of a reflection of my heavy handed teenage sons than the quality of the piece! You do need to buy the additional bowls if you are going to eat cereal etc out of them as the bowls with the set are very shallow. Overall good daily set.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? is quite 'creamy' in colour.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great detail-great price
 from Georgia,  Mar 15, 2011

I love these dishes. they aren't a bright white, but more of an antique white, but the detailing is wonderful. i had looked in department stores, etc. for everyday dishes and just didn't want boring everyday dishes. these dishes met my expectations, and the price couldn't be beat.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pretty, but would not order again
 from Green Bay, WI,  Nov 29, 2011

These are pretty dishes, but I feel they are much lighter weight than I thought they would be. The cup design is too small at the base so it does not have the feel of a solid coffee cup. We find we are concerned about tipping over when we use them. I bought for daily use and we find we dig out our old coffee cups to use. The soup bowls are very large in diameter, but very shallow. They will not fit in top rack of dishwasher and take up a lot of room due to the design. We wish we had spent a little more and purchased the Mikasa Countryside pattern.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? not as white, a much nicer creamy color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice design, but much lighter weight than I thought it would be
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good to fair
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tuscan Villa Dinnerware
 from Egg Harbor, WI,  Oct 5, 2011

Wonderful value, service and product. Everything was as advertised and once again you have a very satisfied customer!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it's very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? spot-on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice dishes
 from VA,  Jun 6, 2011

Very pleased with this set I ordered 2 sets. I was happy to know from another review this was more "creamy" color than bright white. Very nice and well finished. Arrived perfect nothing had to be returned.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? no more a creamy color than white
  • How is the quality of the product? high quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful
 from Red Lion, PA,  May 17, 2011

I have been looking for something to replace my everyday dinnerware and when I saw these I hoped I had found it. I did. The dinnerware is beautiful and funtional. I like the fact that it is not heavy, as the appearance might suggest. The design is classic and very simple. I am going to purchase another set so I will have service for 12. It is well worth the cost and I am very satified with the purchase.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color of the dinnerware is a warm creamy white. Very nice
  • How is the quality of the product? The quality of the dinnerware is good enough for company or everyday...very satisfied
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? The discription was good..and picture was accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dinnerware
 from Bozeman, MT,  Apr 21, 2011

I bought three sets of these dishes and they are lovely. They look and feel elegant. I haven't had them long, so I don't know how well they will stand up to "cut marks" on the plates. But thus far I am very pleased.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Dishes
 from New Jersey,  Mar 3, 2011

I ordered three sets of these dishes - They are just beautiful. I was going to use them for everyday but they are so beautiful I will also use them for special occasions. I could not believe how fast my order was delivered also. There was not one thing broken. Thanks Overstock.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful dishes
 from Northern NJ,  Jan 21, 2011

I bought several sets, the dishes are beautiful and look great in my recently rennovated kitchen. Very pleased with quality and price. One plate did arrive broken and Overstock set a replacement immediately with no issues.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Cape Coral, FL,  Nov 24, 2010

I needed something neutral, light and breezy for my FL condo. This set of dinnerware was a great purchase. Simple white plates, nice design, raised relief and scalloped edges. They can go from casual to formal dining, easily. Each piece is larger than expected, which for me was good. The dinner plates are very ample. The salad plates can handle a "light" supper. The bowls are a decent size, fairly large in diameter, but no so deep that your entire batch of soup would fit in one bowl. And the coffee cups....that made it really great for me. Very nice cups, but not the little, dinky, 5-6 oz. cups as with most sets. They actually hold a "mug" portion of coffee. Those are most appreciated.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this flatware
 from South Carolina,  Aug 16, 2010

was really impressed with the quality of this dinnerware set and have received many compliments!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Already cracked
 from KS,  May 15, 2010

This is a very beautiful set. The color is more ivory than white as shown in the picture. However, after just one use and wash. One of my dinner plates has about half an inch crack at the bottom already even though it's been handle with care and never been dropped. This makes me sad because the set is beautiful, but now i'm short of one plate in less than a week.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dinnerware
 from West Palm Beach, FL,  Apr 21, 2010

This set is really beautiful. I love the color and design of the dishes. Wish the soup bowls were a little deeper, but it hasn't been much of a problem.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Value
 from Tate,GA,  Feb 18, 2010

These dishes are perfect for me. They are dishwasher safe and seem to be very durable while still being lightweight. The dishes are very attractive for both formal use and casual dinning. I hope to enjoy these for years to come . They go with everything!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Buy!
 from Delaware,  Dec 26, 2009

Love this set! It goes with everything. The bowls are large and designed more for soup or salad, rather than being used for cereal. Will have to buy cereal bowls, but because of the design of this set any bowl will go with it.The coffee mugs are a good size as are the plates. Another plus is that I ordered 3 sets and not one piece was broken! Very durable and great for everyday or formal use! I am quite happy with this purchase...thanks overstock!!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top