Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 169 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality and value
 from Wisconsin,  May 17, 2011

I shopped numerous websites and viewed dozens of dinnerware sets before choosing these, and I'm very happy with my choice. I love the color - not stark white, but a warm ivory. Nice tall cups - they hold up to 12 ounces! Very elegant-looking but practical for everyday use as well. And best of all is the price - you really cannot beat the value. I wanted some nice new dinnerware to serve up to 10 people, and with most other popular brands it would have cost me $500 or more! I ordered three boxes of these and there was not one broken or damaged item in the whole lot.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Red Vanilla Classic White 16...
 from Diamond Bar, CA,  Dec 6, 2011

I order two sets of the 16 piece Red Vanilla Dining Set. It was guaranteed to be here by Thanksgiving. My packages arrived the Saturday, before Thanksgiving. I carried in the first box, and went out for the second box. While carrying in the second box I heard rattling, and said to myself, "That doesn't sound good", and it wasn't. Three of the cups were broken. I called Overstock ASAP, and the assistant asked, "If anything else was broken?" So, she waited while I went through the two boxes, and nothing else was broken. I was told shipping is closed for the weekend, and to call back on Monday...which I did. After receiving an email letting me know my two cups were on order, I had to call back and say it was three cups...not two. This was Monday before Thanksgiving. My shipment was'nt shipped as of yet. Well to my surprise my three cups were delivered on Tuesday before Thanksgiving. Now, if that's not service....I don't know what is. I'm very please with my dinner ware. The plates looked so pretty on the table. They have a simple elegance to them. If fact, when I was offer help with the dishes, I said, "No thanks". Thank you Overstock.com for coming through. I give you a Five Star Rating for your service.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? On target.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It looks like it does in the picture, but prettier. I'm very pleased with my dining set.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Amazing value
 from Beautiful coast of northern California,  Oct 13, 2011

I am a retired chef and do a lot of home entertaning. I am also obsessed with nice table settings and have many. This item more than met my expectations. Food really presents well on these plates which, of course, makes it taste even better. The price is even more attractive.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the simplicity and detail!
 from Ohio,  Jan 19, 2011

Super happy with this purchase. I have been looking for some time now for the "perfect" set of dishes and I have finally found them! Love the simplicity, weight and feel of these. Great soft off white/light ivory color. Truly form and function for a fraction of the price! Highly recommend this set.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Okay, not great
 from Ithaca, NY,  Aug 2, 2012

I thought these looked really pretty online. In reality, they're still pretty but not at all practical. The rims on the plates are huge, so the useable space is quite small. This translates into taking up a lot of space in the cabinet without providing a lot of space at the dinner table. And the soup "bowls" are really just a plate with a slight curve to the bottom. Don't try to hold any liquid in there at all. They barely worked for my salad. I'm kind of disappinted.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality dining set
 from Central California,  Dec 4, 2011

I bought two of the Red Vanilla Classic White dining sets in order to have a matching setting for 8 people for holidays. It is good quality, somewhat light-weight but sturdy. The color is an off-white, which I really like. It goes with everything. I didn't want stark white. I am very pleased with this purchase. And I like the style of coffee cups and shallow bowls. It goes well with my everyday china. I would recommend this set. I received the china very shortly after order, and was able to use it for this past Thanksgiving.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurately
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I FOUND THE VERY BEST DINNERWARE!
 from LIMA, OH,  Dec 2, 2011

THIS IS THE VERY BEST DINNERWARE TO FIT ANY OCCASION, AND FOR EVERY DAY USE. I EVEN SEARCHED THE FINER DEPT STORES, LOOKING FOR IVORY OR WHITE DINNERWARE, AND COULD NOT FIND ANYTHING THAT WOULD COME CLOSE TO THIS QUALITY AND BEAUTY, FOR OUR CHRISTMAS CELEBRATION. THEN I FOUND THESE AT OVERSTOCK; READ THE REVIEWS, AND DECIDED TO PURCHASE PLACE SETTINGS FOR 12. THEY ARRIVED IN 2 DAYS; WONDERFULLY PACKAGED, AND THEY ARE SO BEAUTIFUL AND THE QUALITY IS SUPERB! I CAN HARDLY WAIT TO SET MY HOLIDAY TABLES!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? BEAUTIFUL VANILLA COLOR
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. QUALITY IS SUPERB
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? DESCRIBED VERY WELL
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
White China
 from Washington State,  Feb 15, 2011

I ordered two sets of these dishes. I find the weight, finish, design and soft white color to be very functional and makes for an attractive table setting. The price was resonable as well. A couple of pieces arrived broken but were quickly replaced upon notification to Overstock. I am pleased with this purchase and impressed with the courteous and prompt service I always receive from Overstock.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful dishes
 from Ontario, Canada,  May 8, 2014

After a long search for a simple, off white pattern at a reasonable price, I settled on this set when OS offered them at a great sale price. Bought two 16pc sets and two sets of bowls, and I'm thrilled with them ! Will order another set soon. They are generously sized, and as indicated by others, are actually ironstone so they should be very durable. I've been using mine for a month and have had no chips or cracks. The packing was very well done and all pieces arrived intact in only a few days. Thanks Overstock, great service !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's NOT White!
 from Linden, Calif.,  Feb 8, 2014

I like to mix and match tableware, but most of my patterned salad plates have ivory or off white borders. I do not like pristine white dishes. It has been a long search for an elegant, simple set of antique white china/stoneware. I am delighted with this set. It is not too fussy in design, but not plain either. The mugs are beautiful, and the soup bowl can be used for soup or salad. It was a perfect partner for my other patterened plates, etc.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality dinnerware with classy eye appeal
 from Missouri,  Jan 21, 2014

After decades of functional, non-breakable dinnerware (big family, many extras at mealtime) we were ready for an upgrade. I'd been looking for several months, wanting something simple yet classy, in off-white, with soup "bowls" that could double for pasta main courses, or oriental broth-type dishes. Each piece is just what I wanted (love those cups!) - and the quality (good weight, good finish) is something my Ceramic Engineer husband is pleased to have on our table.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lovely dishes
 from Utah,  Nov 14, 2013

I recently purchased four sets of the Red Vanilla Classic White 16-piece dishes. In the four sets there was only a small chip in a cup, and a mark on one of the salad plates. Overstock shipped me replacements in a timely manner. The dishes are beautiful. I love the design. I dressed them up for a dinner party, and the table looked amazing. They are also great for everyday use. The one thing that concerned me about these is that very few have commented on the quality over time. I only gave them a good because I am not sure yet about their longevity. I want them to last. So far I've washed them several times in the dishwasher and they are great. My gut feel is that these will last, but I would be happy to update my review later if this is a product that Overstock continues to carry. Overall I am extremely happy. They are lovely, appear to be great quality, and the price could not be beat!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One of Best purchases I ever made
 from Phila vicinity,  Nov 3, 2013

I purchased the first set of this at another store for 3 times the price here on overstock. It is hands down the best dishware I ever had. It never breaks or chips, doesn't get hot in microwave and looks beautiful whether everyday or for holiday events. I used to put out my china but lately have just been using this set and always get lots of compliments. It is so low maintenance! and it will never go out of style. It goes in dishwasher, oven , and microwave, refrigerator and used in freezer ( although not sure that is recommended) . One of best purchases I ever made. Thank you !

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very, very happy with this set
 from Massachusetts,  Nov 30, 2011

Used for Thanksgiving this year many good comments made. Plate size is perfect. Mug size is outstanding, yet light weight . Set is very classic, good for formal yet can be used for everyday.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very close, set was a creamy color what I wanted
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quality is exactly what I expected
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description of product right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These dishes were exactly what I was looking for
 from Thornwood, NY,  Nov 22, 2011

These dishes are so pretty and so far, they seem very durable. Classic style with just enough detail to make them interesting to look at. My daughter loved them and I've gotten lots of other compliments on them, too.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classic White
 Jan 20, 2015

I love this dinnerware. It is light weight and well designed, much prettier than the photo. The food always looks great. I love the bowls because they are so versatile. I also purchased the cereal bowls separately. We use the dishes for everyday, but they would be great for formal occasions as well. I purchased two set on sale and the price was very reasonable. Great quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Red Vanilla Classic White 16-piece Dining Set
 from COLORADO,  Sep 24, 2014

The set is perfect. The dinner plates are large but with the lip the food fits nicely on the plate. The salad bowls are large and hold a good sized portion of salad. Could also be used for soup and dessert. I am very happy with the set. They are very "clean" and nice looking on the table. I would recommend this set for a wonderful presentation of food.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Beautiful!
 from Minnesota,  Jan 1, 2015

I fell in love with this set several months ago, and when I was finally ready to purchase dishes, for some reason I forgot about this set, got distracted by another set, which turned out to be a red herring, and then by Mikasa's Antique White, which was backordered. I came back to this set when my Mikasa set was delayed by several more months. First off, the color. I LOVE it. It is distinctly a creamy off-white. If you are looking for a bright white set, this isn't for you. The size is large, which is nice. The rims are fairly wide, and the depth of the sunken part of the plate is sufficient to aid you in getting food onto your fork, without being weird. The coffee mugs are large, elegantly shaped, and the handles, while kind of "girly" actually fit a man's or woman's hand quite nicely, and the curve gives you a comfortable way to hold the cup steadily. The flare at the top isn't enough to make your coffee slosh too much. In fact, it actually gives it a little room to move about without sloshing out. I've only used the cup one time, so it remains to be seen if this will cut back on my spillage rate. I purchased this set, in service for 12, with the additional 12 cereal bowls, and I am glad I did. The soup bowls seem quite shallow, but are large enough to offer a nice-sized serving of soup. As my husband pointed out, the soup bowls are nice for soup because if you use a deep bowl, all the chunky parts of the soup sink to the bottom, and you can't see them. But these bowls present the soup well. The cereal bowls are impressionably huge. They are about the same size as my former serving bowls, but I love them. Unlike another reviewer who claimed that larger dinnerware is responsible for the fattening of America, I find that rather than just filling the bowl up with an amount of food I'd never want to eat, it just gives my regular amount of food room to move around without falling out of the bowl. Details about storage: This set fits on my standard cabinets just fine. They also fit in my dishwasher just fine. The only piece that doesn't fit just fine is the 14" platter from the completer set. I am storing this set, in service for 12 in a standard, over-counter depth 2-door kitchen cabinet. I have the dinner plates on the right, the salad plates on the left, and the soup bowls in the middle all on one shelf. I have all 12 coffee cups stored, double-stacked, above the dinner plates. They don't nest neatly, but they do nest securely enough. I don't feel worried I am going to die in a coffee mug avalanche. I also purchased the additional cereal bowls, and I'd say I had the most difficulty storing those. I have them in a 12" side cabinet, and they fit, but they take up a LOT of vertical room. Stacked all up together, they are about 9 1/2" tall. I moved a shelf and gave them 11.5" of room so I can remove the top one. I love the style of this set. It's fancy without being frilly. It's plain enough to work with, it's fun, probably more important than anything, it WORKS. It remains to be seen how it holds up. I am hopeful. I originally chose the Mikasa because it has a good reputation for durability. So I hope I didn't make an error here, but for now, I love these!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy
 from New York, NY,  Dec 25, 2014

I love my plates. They are sturdy and a nice off-white color. They look much more expensive than they are. I have had these plates for about six months and I am very happy with my purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great pattern
 from Allen, TX,  Nov 22, 2014

Great patten and can be used for every day or special occasions. The plates, cups and salad bowls are large.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 169 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought