Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Burns as it should
 from Nashville TN,  May 17, 2012

This gel fuel does just what the ads say: it burns, creating dancing flames, and it cracks and snaps just like a wood fire. It burns clean, with no odor and we have really enjoyed using this in a variety of fireplaces both inside and out. Since we don't have a "real" fireplace, we installed a wall hanging one and several table top fireplaces that all burn this gel fuel. The price at Overstock beats what I've found elsewhere.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works As Expected
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 4, 2013

Small cans, so the flame lasts only a few hours. But that's enough time for me. They are smokeless and crackle. Have purchased larger cans before. But wanted to save money this time. Would recommend.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the larger ones have a prettier flame
 from Chicago,  Jun 14, 2012

I don't know why but the bigger cans have a prettier flame. This stuff is expensive so I plan on trying and buying whichever brand makes the most realistic flame. If you're going to light it, you want it to look right

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? well, the color of the flame is not as good as the larger cans
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fine
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Real Flame Junior Gel Fuel
 from Naples, Florida,  Jan 1, 2014

Received the Gel Fuel we ordered promptly and without any problems... even though the order had been mistakenly duplicated. However, when I received my confirmation notification and realized the error I called Overstocked Customer Service immediately. I am happy to say they were very courteous, helpful and managed to cancel one duplicated order before it left the warehouse. We are extremely satisfied with the product, it works perfectly, and very happy with their service. Very grateful we did receive our Gel Fuel as ordered.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only Smells Slightly
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 13, 2013

These cans only smell slightly. My husband can't smell it, but they give off a "clinical" type odor - Similar to that of a doctors office? Not quite rubbing alcohol, I can't quite put my finger on it. Again, it's a very mild fragrance. These are pretty similar in size to what you might see at a catering event, placed under food trays to keep them warm. This is almost exactly the same thing, except the flames here are much taller and wider. Makes a nice crackle sound but it does leave residue. Imagine tacky balls of ash? It's a little weird - But we had used this the flames 4 - 5 times before I noticed the residue

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fuel
 from LaGrange, GA,  May 2, 2013

I was pleased with the price. Gel fuel I found other places was more expensive. I haven't used other brands so I can't compare the brightness of the flames or anything like that. Be sure you check the sizes of the cans compared with the size of the space they will occupy. My cans were actually too short for my wall mounted fireplace. I adapted however by placing two in the slot so they would be tall enough for the flame to be seen. Great for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Worked great.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gel Fuel - doesn't need a chimney!
 from Iowa,  Feb 27, 2013

This gel fuel is great for having a small fire indoors as it does not need a chimney or any other form of exhausting from the house. It burns very clean and does not create any smoke. The fire is nice and hot and looks awesome when the gel is burning.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same - although it doesn't really matter with this item!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gel Fuel
 from Midwest,  Feb 4, 2013

I purchased this product to use in a small stainless fireplace insert..........should work fine.easy to store.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ......ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ...Same as far as can tell.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They fit my personal fireplace perfect
 from New Jersey,  Jan 24, 2013

Love my personnal fireplace. The gels give off a nice flame and warmth.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love Them
 from Sacramento, CA,  Jan 8, 2013

I love the product, but I would like it if it burned a higher flame so it shows more over the faux log. I also would like it if it burned longer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Los Angeles,  Nov 27, 2012

This is a great product. I needed the junior size because I don't have an actual fireplace, I have a built-in bookcase with a cabinet on the bottom that I converted into a modern fireplace. The flame still looks good and puts out heat. It just won't burn the top of the cabinet like a larger size might. It's perfect. Great for a small space.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? just right
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Product
 from Hudson, WI,  Sep 23, 2012

This is a good price for a hard-to-find product. I had a fire pot that was recalled because people (obviously those with minimal brain power) misused the gel. I was delighted to find this product on O.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? N/A
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fine
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Correct
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gel Fuel Review
 from Gresham, Oregon,  Sep 20, 2012

This gel has a nice flame but it burns fast so you need a good supply of it.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy to use
 from NYC,  Jun 9, 2012

These light and blow out easily, burn warm in our portable fireplace and produce nice flames with crackling sounds. They do smell a litte bit so make sure you have good ventilation.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? NA
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great value and smaller flame!
 from Texas,  Apr 10, 2012

bought the bigger cans before but for a smaller party or event these were perfect to use

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. value for money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? great
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-15 of 15 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought