Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
pleasantly surprised
 from Washington, DC,  Jul 31, 2013

I was a little leery because of some of the reviews and because the photo didn't look quite like the color I needed for my room, and I'd been leanig toward the sold-out brown color. However, I am glad I paid more attention to the better reviews, and those which described the color more accurately. (They really need some better photos, maybe with the rug in a room.) It really is more of a dark grayish brown than a true charcoal, and the way that the colored fibers are mixed lends to the authentic look of the rug. It is a little glossy, which I suppose can look "fake," if you're familiar with the look of real rawhides, but it doesn't bother me. And it is so soft underfoot! (My dog seems to love sleeping on it.) My style is generally modern, and this fits in really well. It's fun, chic, and a little earthy. And much cheaper than I have seen this same rug elsewhere online. I feel like it's the new centerpiece of my living room. BTW, I did not need a rug pad, but my (wood) floors don't have a varnished finish. A slicker floor might. Try the rug first.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
my dog loves it too
 from Washington, DC,  Aug 1, 2013

I am very happy with this purchase. I wanted something that looked like cowhide because I wanted an irregular rug, but I'm vegetarian so I didn't want to buy a real cowhide. It looks just like a cowhide, but clearly it does not have the same texture as cowhide because it is fake fur. Overstock is also much cheaper than the same product on several other sites. It is soft and nice, and my dog loves it too.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good - it is dark brown and white and taupe
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this rug!
 from Morton, il,  Sep 17, 2014

Love this rug!! Such a statement piece! You can tell it's not real upon examination but laying on the floor it is fine!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice product
 from Malvern, AR,  Jul 9, 2013

Very nice rug. Obviously not an authentic cowhide but a very good simulation. Looks very "real" and seems to be good quality. I bought this one and the brown one as well. I would recommend this one over the other as it seems to be more realistic.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EVERYONE LOVES IT
 from Dallas, TX,  Sep 5, 2012

You will not regret it, it's gorgeous. Adds such a stylish flare but isn't too YEEHAW bc of the pattern. Thank you, OVERSTOCK.COM!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfectly- is actually better in person.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. You will not get a better deal for this quality- buy, buy, buy. Don't second guess it, just BUY! Definitely my favorite.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Feels very synthetic
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Nov 6, 2014

Very pretty rug, but definitely feels synthetic. Many reviews said it was close to a real rawhide, but I would have to disagree. Many of the cut edges are torn a bit (as if someone did a bad trim job). The run has a nice pattern but the shape is a bit off. I'm unsure if I will keep it. I think there are better options out there. If the edges were cleanly cut and the shape were different, I would rate it higher. I can get over the synthetic feel.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Rug
 from NY, NY,  Oct 29, 2014

I absolutely love this rug! Like many other reviewers mentioned the primary color is light brown, not charcoal grey. There are grey specks, which look great. The quality is good, some light shedding, but after vacuuming it's less of an issue. The rug is thin, and at close inspection it is obviously a faux hide, but overall it looks and feels much nicer than a lot of the more expansive real cowhides.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product for the price
 from New York, NY,  Oct 29, 2014

Real rawhide rugs can be upwards of $1000. This is a great faux rawhide that is affordable and looks real.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value
 from Alabama,  Oct 15, 2014

Beautiful color. Modern design. Rug is thin, feels great and I have not needed a rug pad under it yet! Looks real without the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
perfect!
 from arkansas,  Oct 12, 2014

This rug is perfect for the price & style i was looking for! I have 2 dogs (one is big) and the rug is holding up well in our living room with lots of traffic. The bold pattern is very stylish & unique, friends cant tell its not real! :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This rug makes great use of my small living space
 from Atlanta, GA,  Sep 11, 2014

I was looking for a rug that would compliment my recently renovated concrete floor and this was just what I was looking for. The only thing I have left to do is find a larger (9x12) rug to go underneath this one. The price of this one was definitely worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Softer than expected
 from new york, ny,  Sep 9, 2014

coloring matched online photo exactly. for an acrylic rug it was softer than expected. looked great with my decor. although there was some undetectable scent on it that caused my dog to use it as a wee wee pad! have to throw out after only having for 3 days.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So stylish & chic!
 from Indianapolis, IN,  Aug 19, 2014

Yay! I was so happy when this lovely rug arrived... the size, the color, the quality - everything was spot-on and as I expected. This was my first purchase from overstock, and I was very pleased with the whole process :)

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very chic look for a very affordable price!
 from New York, New York,  Jul 15, 2014

I've always loved the look of cowhide rugs. The problem was that the good ones were usually very expensive and the cheap ones looked incredibly cheap. Ikea even has a real cowhide rug that manages to looks like it's a fake. I doubt they were going for that look, but the edges were cut so precisely that it looks ridiculous and the colors were bland. I read all the reviews for this rug and they were so positive and this rug was discounted **% off (plus I had a credit that I applied) and I took the chance at purchasing it. It arrived on time and it was surprisingly light, which made it easy to maneuver and experiment where to place it. Yet once on the floor, it hasn't really moved. Though I will get a slip guard to hold it in place, it isn't imperative to have one. I'm not going to lie and say that it looks 100% real. But it looks very close and they took care to lay the fibers down so that they fall as if they are real cowhide and not artificial fibers. This is not a thick, plush rug. Nor should it be. But I am so happy I bought this. Also, I found the exact rug on the Z Gallerie sight for over $*** more. I admire most everything at Z Gallerie so I knew this had to be of a particular quality. Overall, it looks amazing and I am very pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks just as does on line
 from South Florida,  May 18, 2014

I love this rug. Looks and feels great and works perfectly under my dinning room table.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Best Purchase Ever!!
 from Naples, FL,  Mar 20, 2014

I bought this rug to add a little color to my living room. They had the same one at the Z gallery for twice as much. I'm very pleased with the color. thinking of buying another one for the bedroom! Thank you Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The rug is def. more brown than gray. That was fine with me as unread other reviews on here and it was pointed out. Overall I'm happy with the rug, it's cute and its a fun conversation piece. I purchased faux as my sweet dog decided our real cowhide was bathroom worthy (he's well trained as well). It's common for dogs to do that with real hide rugs. This one... He could care less about. It's a win win. Great rug!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Cowhide Alternative
 from Brooklyn, NY,  Oct 25, 2013

I'm pretty thrilled with this purchase. I really wanted a rug for my room that would function as a statement piece and also as something different from the many standard printed rugs out there. Never in my life would I have thought I would want a cowhide rug, but once I got the idea in my head I couldn't let it go. As a long time vegetarian I was searching for a faux version and nearly every option I found was a black and white one that looked so dreadfully fake that it would only be appropriate in a child's bedroom or in a tacky themed restaurant (and even then would still be questionable). This one was the most realistic looking, reasonably priced and had great reviews, so I went for it. Other reviewers are right: it is not a true charcoal / white mix, but more of a dark brown / taupe / grey combination. But I knew that going in so it worked out well for me. If you want a true black and white / charcoal and white rug, this is not for you. It's definitely noticeably different from a real cowhide as far as texture and overall appearance, but not necessarily in a bad way. I love the softer look from the fake fur and I think it looks much nicer and has more volume than a true cowhide. It's very soft underfoot and is the best alternative to a real cowhide rug out there currently. I've gotten tons of compliments on it and it seems very durable. It's a very chic, bohemian piece when used properly. Shipping was a breeze.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Faux Rawhide
 from Oak Hill, VA,  Oct 10, 2013

I ordered this to perk up the space in front of a sofa. My husband said he didn't want a dead animal on our floor. I explained that the rug is a "faux" animal skin. He withheld his judgment until the rug was in place and now loves how it has made that area a focal point. We are very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Absolute Love!
 from Arlington, VA,  Aug 15, 2013

I am so excited that ordered this rug, it is fabulous and goes with my decor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 31 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought