Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 117 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Horrible
 from Dallas, Texas,  Dec 4, 2013

***Please READ*** This product is horrible. The synthetic material is very artificial looking, and fuzzy/dry at touch. Not at all what I was expecting. It does not look at all like a rawhide. I normally don't write reviews, but this was so bad. Don't waste your money!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
MEH
 from San Francisco, CA,  Nov 19, 2013

I was super excited for this rug...especially based on all the great reviews. I do love the size, it fits perfectly under my coffee table/living area. However it looks so fakeeee. In other reviews people said their friends were surprised that it was fake? I think those friends we're living under a rock, the quality is very sub par. I will keep it! because I don't mind the fake look, but lets not kid ourselves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The description is misleading
 from San Diego, Cal,  Nov 21, 2013

The description for this product say that it is an acrylic blend, when in fact the label on the carpet says 100% acrylic. It looks and feels cheap, and I feel I was deceived. I would never recommend this product.....

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Cheap looking
 from Carrollton, GA,  Dec 26, 2013

Wrost online purchase I've ever made! I can't return it because it will cost me an a and leg to pay to mail it back! It is terrible looking in person! If you want a cheap looking fur rug buy this! I'm so very disappointed and won't buy another rug for a while online! So upset my husband hates this rug so much. Super sad.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks better in the picture
 from Columbus , OH,  Oct 22, 2013

It is cheaply made, the "fur" is rough and every little thing sticks to it. I got it in sale and still think $*** was too much now that I see it in person. I didn't return it but don't use in an area where there is any traffic. It will look bad within a couple weeks. : (

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Inexpensive Faux Rug
 from New York, NY,  Dec 4, 2014

After I saw the picture and noticed that it was on **** i immediately purchased it without reading the description... I was tremendously disappointed to find out that this is a Faux hide and not real. While waiting for the package I read the reviews and though nervous I crossed my fingers and wished for the best. So, here's my description- hope this will give tips to anyone on the fence. 1. First thing I noticed is that the base is very cheaply made... It is microfiber suede but very thin. If they even doubled in thickness I think the entire rug would feel more lux. Anyways, it goes on the underside, and I know I can get a pad so I am not too concerned. Overall I feel it is too thin 2. The pile- it comes in very flat as it has been rolled for god knows how long. But if you are looking for a hide you are not looking for something fluffy anyways. As some other reviewers described, yes it is a bit shiny. However, real haircalf IS SHINY. It's HAIR. It has shine. So I feel it mimics the real thing pretty well. Also, it is only shiny when flat, so fluff it and it will become more matte. 3. Softness- Many people described the fur to be soft... but I don't think it is that soft. Kind of feels like a teddy bear if you bought it at the dollar store 4. Design- The design is EXCELLENT. This is probably the only reason why I am keeping it. It "looks" real, especially from a distance, but feels fake. I live in the city, and Im sure when I have my friends over they will ask me if it is real or not. The colors are pretty much like the image. I like that the white portions are more ivory/beige. It if was too white it would actually look fake. 5. Size- Another reason why I am not returning it. The size is PERFECT for my living room. I thought about returning it and just investing in a real hide, but real hides don't come in such large sizes. So A+ on this. So overall, yes it's fake, and I normally dislike fakes. However, this ones OK. Actually since i laid it out yesterday I am starting to like it a lot. My husband who is super picky said he liked it too, so it's a keeper. Oh, one more thing, it's not laying flat... I have some bubbling issues. But according to other reviewers it will flatten out. So i will wait till this happens.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
SO FAKE!
 from Michigan,  Dec 26, 2013

This is the worst fake I have ever seen! Do not waste your money. I ordered it because of the reviews and when I received it ,it went back in the package as quick as it came out. Very thin, cheap material. Maybe for a child's room, but not as an accent rug for your home.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rawhide rug
 Mar 9, 2011

I am very pleased with my rug. It's excactly the same as the picture online.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Faux Hide Rug
 Mar 20, 2015

Having actually "processed" cattle with my family on our farm and while in a college agricultural program, I can say this is not an exact replica of cattle hide. The fibers are a bit long, and it is too regularly shaped. Both of these are visible in the photos which are quite accurate. Those complaining about coarseness obviously have never been around cattle or owned hide goods. This rug isn't super soft, but hide isn't either. Both the color and the texture are accurate in the photos. If you want actual hide, spend the extra money for it and don't complain when you get a piece with scars and repaired holes. Very, very few are perfect. But if you want an inexpensive, fun rug to withstand light foot traffic and pets, this is the ticket. I was even able to trim it down slightly with sewing sheers to make the shape look a bit more realistic and better fit my living room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I expected
 from Panacea,Florida,  Jan 8, 2014

This rug is very shiny and looks like fake fur. The color and shape resemble cow hide, but the rug itself looks like something that belongs on a stuffed toy. I agree with those who said it would be okay for a kids room, but not for a main living area.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
fake cowhide rug
 from Houston,  Dec 30, 2013

Too shiny! Looks very "fake" although I knew it was when I bought it. The rug just looked cheesy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great price
 from Memphis, TN,  Nov 30, 2011

I love this rug, especially for the price! The colors aren't quite as rich as they are in the picture, but it is still very pretty. After I took it out of the packaging it took a couple of days for it to lay completely flat.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The brown is a little less brindle colored in person
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Rawhide Rug
 from Hornbeak, TN,  Apr 28, 2011

This is a beautiful rug! I was very pleased with the product when I opened the package. People can't believe it's not real cowhide when they see it.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yet
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great in our bedroom
 from Cleveland, OH,  Jan 5, 2015

My husband and I were hesitant to buy this after reading reviews that it looked "fake" but I disagree. Our bedroom is kind of a rustic/cabin feel and therefore the lighting isn't super bright and this rug fits perfectly in our room. Even with the day light shining on it through the windows I didn't think it looked all that fake. I also, am not a super picky person. I like the way it feels, very soft, but not padded (which is fine for us but I know some people care about that). I did notice a little bit of fuzz come off it when unrolling it, but not a lot, and haven't vacuumed it yet. Overall, the price for this item was fantastic and my husband and I could not be happier about this unique and fun piece that's also animal-cruelty free!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fake & Tacky
 from Baltimore, MD,  Jul 15, 2014

The picture makes this product look amazing, so amazing I was overcome with excitement when I made my purchase and then anxiously began to wait for its (quick) delivery. I have a large loft and thought this would be the perfect piece for my living area. When I received, opened and spread the rug on the floor I was horrified. The "fur" is tacky and fake in both appearance and touch. The cut is odd and the whole thing is just unsightly and miserable. The only positive is the size, which was just about perfect. I would have returned it to Overstock, except the shipping would have been half the amount I paid for the product. I left it out in my living area hoping it would grow on me. I didn't. I searched for an area in my place that it might work. No luck. I bought a new, wonderful wool rug for the living area. Guess I'll roll this up and put it in the attic for the next yard sale/goodwill drop. SMH

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Definitely fake, but why want real?? Yuck
 from New York,  Apr 17, 2014

Was dying to get a cowhide-esque rug after seeing dozens of them around. When I saw the real ones in stores, I almost vomited. Waay too gross. Dandruff, branding marks, yuck yuck yuck. This rug itched my desire to get that LOOK without the guilt/grossness factor. It totally looks fake. But why would you WANT it to look real? I have it under my dining room table/chairs, so it's obscured enough that I guess it could pass for genuine. No regrets. :) *May not be worth the price since real cowhides are comparable. However I haven't found a better price anywhere else. So, yay overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this rug!
 from Marin, CA,  Dec 12, 2013

Though not as "real" looking or to feel it, but it's almost better (less creepy) that way. It' very stylish and looks almost exactly like the picture. A little bigger than I expected but matches the measurements given. It looks amazing in front of my fireplace and tries the room together! Highly recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I love this rug!
 from Austin, Texas,  Dec 5, 2013

Great rug. I love the texture and how large it is. The rug is very realistic. Living in Seattle my whole life then moving to Austin I know I needed a cow hide rug. The Seattle hippy came out and told me I better get a fake one so I don't get sad every time I see it. Good advice hippy. I don't have my rug pad under it yet and we have concrete floors but is really does not seem to slip around. It is in a high traffic area. Another plus, it does not shed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Easy Style
 from Boca Raton, Fl,  Nov 26, 2013

I hate to admit, this is the fourth cowhide rug in the family. We love nature and this just adds so much. Vacuums with ease and wash with hair shampoo. Easy and beautiful.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great oversized faux rug!
 from Brenham, TX,  Apr 10, 2013

Looove this rug! It is definitely a great "fake" and I love the generously-sized proportions. I used a 5x8 thin rug pad underneath and it was an almost perfect fit with only two small cutouts to cover the entire rug.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very comparable to the photo online
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality and nice weight
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate and color true to the listing
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 117 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought