Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
WHY?
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Dec 24, 2009

This piece of furniture looks exactly the way I had hoped. It is comfortable to sit and lie on and was reasonably priced. However, it was so difficult to put it together. Having assembled other pieces of furniture in the past, I shouldn't have had so many problems with this. It took 5 hours to assemble this futon. The holes were drilled incorrectly and some metal pieces did not fit together properly. I am a professional carpenter and had a lot of trouble with it. Should you need a drill to put a pre-fab futon together? Should it take 5 hours? Should you have to supplement with additional parts and bolts? You may find yourself asking the same question I did if you buy this piece. WHY?

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overall, Great Futon!
 from Pennsylvania,  Nov 14, 2011

We love this futon, it was our alternative to a sleeper sofa. We were happy to find a queen size frame that came with the mattress. My husband and I assembled it within 2 hours. Some of the predrilled holes were too small so we had to tweak some things. It is simple to open up to a bed but I find it very difficult to return it to the seated position. It is a firmer bed, but that is my preference.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth the money
 from DC,  Aug 7, 2011

Check the local futon store ellen futon, the lowest priced full set with tax came to 450 provided I had my own transport. So chose to go with o.co and am I am happy with the product so far, they prob got the assembly part of their act together because we were able to assemble it in 2 hrs with no hitch. If looks bing and comfortable. The instructions were not difficult to follow. I am not very sure abt the strength of the iron grills, I can bend them with two fingers, but it seems to be holding the mattress and people's weight well. Needs two people to transition from bed to sofa becuase of the heaby mattress. Overall happy with the purchase for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
psheller
 from Prospect KY,  Dec 9, 2009

This futon looks fantastic when completed. It is also amazingly comfortable. However, it takes some serious concentration to assemble. The directions are not very explicit, especially when there are three different boxes and alternate instructions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very good value, extremely pleased with the futon
 from Idaho Falls, ID,  Dec 3, 2013

I purchased this futon for a small guest room in my home and am very pleased with the futon set. The frame is extremely sturdy and was very easy to assemble and adjust from the upright to the flat position. The mattress is very comfortable. The only thing that I was not completely happy with was the color of the cover. I had requested burgundy and the cover has more of a purple hue than I anticipated. This product is an excellent value and I would recommend it to anyone.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sturdy wood,
 from nj,  Oct 16, 2013

had many missing or too many of screws, bolts, etc. not something to put together unless you have muscle to back it up. for price couldn't be better, I wouldn't move it much to pull it out as feel as would ruin the sturdiness, if you move in and out from wall, 2 people so you don't damage screws

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
easy to assemble by one person
 from Nashville,  Oct 3, 2013

For the occasional guest in a room that is still functional. this is a good deal, especially the queen mattress. The springs in the mattress are just enough to overcome the lumpy futon effect. It sits well as a couch too. I was able to assemble this alone.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fine for the price
 from Chicago, IL,  Jun 21, 2013

You absolutely need two people to put this bad boy together and the how-to youtube videos are required viewing. The guy in the videos makes it look so easy but at several steps we had issues with the holes being punched incorrectly or the pieces being just a little bit off. That being said, we got it together in about 2 hours. The futon looks great - the back is a bit tall, but that's standard with a queen size futon. The color we ordered (burgundy) is actually a lot more purple than burgundy. I wish we had picked a different color, but we'll probably just get a cover eventually. One thing worth noting is that while the sides are wood, the frame that holds the mattress is metal. I was hoping for wood slats because I hear they're more comfortable for sleeping. I'm not sure how comfortable it is to sleep on since we are just using it as a possible extra guest bed in our basement. When unfolded it looks like the two sides sink down a little making a hump in the middle. Probably fine for one person to sleep on, but may not be as comfy for two. Only time will tell. It is comfy to sit on and watch tv. My husband didn't want a futon because he was worried it wouldn't be comfortable enough to watch an entire football game on, but so far no complaints! He says it's quite comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? We ordered what was supposed to be burgundy, but the actual color was really more purple- closer to eggplant or aubergine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be sturdy enough, but as others said was challenging to put together due to incomplete sodering of holes or things not matching up as they should.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

The description was accurate but we had to rely more on the reviews when deciding to purchase. It was VERY complicated to put together. The instructions came with barely any true instruction and we had to "do our best" to put it together and definitely needed 2 people to assemble. The plugs (for cosmetic covering of screws) did not fit the holes they were cut for, but we didn't mind and so left them off the furniture. Overall, we're pleased with it as a bed, it's comfortable to sleep on and looks nice. I'm certain given the choice we would purchase this bed again.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice quality product
 from Sarasota, Florida,  Aug 9, 2012

It only took us 1 hour to assemble the bed frame. The mattress did have a manufacturing smell to it. After about a week the smell was gone. We purchased the futon for guests so not sure how comfortable is will be. I may purchase a layer of foam just to add a little cushiness . My husband and I have both laid on the bed and it is comfortable. As the previous reviews stated once the back portion of the futon is down it does take two people to raise it back into the couch position. All in all for the money, convenience and quality of the product I don't think you can go wrong

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very quality product. Came in two parcels two delivery days. Recieved items very quickly within 4 days of ordering
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy for the price!
 from Chicago, IL,  Jan 4, 2012

This is a great futon, especially for the price. I've had several people sleep on it, and they told me it slept great. The only complaint I have is that the mattress is not heavy enough, and it poses a problem when trying to close it back up.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, a bit of work to put together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very good.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not Perfect, but nice
 from Houston, TX,  Jan 4, 2010

The frame looks really nice after a pretty difficult assembly. One of the pieces had a chunk of metal sticking out making it impossible to put the screw in. I had to find someone with the tools to file down the metal and rethread the hole, which luckily was easy for me but probably wouldn't be for everyone. The wood arms look very nice though and were in good condition after shipping. The mattress is very comfortable and nice looking. The only complaints I have about the mattress is that in some places it is sewn down too tightly and there are tiny holes in the covering. Its ok now, but I hope it doesnt make it tear soon. Also, the queen size makes the back of the futon look really tall and a little disproportional when it is in the couch position. Overall, for what we wanted, we are happy with the futon and the value for the price and I would recommend it to people who are okay with something a little less than perfect.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-12 of 12 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top