For a Limited Time, Get Free Expedited Shipping On Select Jewelry and Watches*
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 162 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Glad I bought it.
 from Southwest Florida,  Jun 15, 2011

The only thing keeping me from giving this five stars is that it is a really firm cushion. I didn't have any problems with assembly, and I must have gotten the extra parts one of the other reviewers was missing. LOL I had a LOT of extra hardware I didn't need. We got this to replace a really old couch in a house I inherited, because we wanted a queen-sized sleeper bed without paying an arm and a leg. Got the walnut finish, navy mattress, and spent the extra money to buy two of the microfiber covers (one natural one blue). Glad I did because we have dogs. LOL The extra cover fits easily. The back is taller than I thought it would be, I didn't measure it to see if it's the same as in the description, but that's okay. If you're going to use it to sleep on, you will want to (as we are) invest in a memory foam or other kind of padded topper to make it more comfortable to sleep on. But I do like that the seat is wide enough to stretch out on and cuddle in couch mode. :) No, the instructions aren't the best, but I've assembled a futon before, and I'm used to assembling things with crummy instructions, so that didn't bother me. No regrets here, assembly took maybe an hour or so by myself. (Had to have hubby help me with the mattress, that thing is HEAVY.) You will have to pull it out from the wall to put it in bed mode if you have it smack up against a wall, so make sure to take precautions to protect your floor from scratching if you have non-carpeted floors.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good.
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Caution!
 from Dallas, TX,  Apr 5, 2010

I must have gotten the box with all of the lemon parts on this one. I ordered the futon for an inexpensive spare bed expecting a lot of company for Easter. I started putting it together Friday evening the weekend before Easter weekend. Putting together things like this are usually a joy to me--it's like a 3D puzzle. I like to have all of the parts and have them fit together when I do a puzzle, though. One of the 8 bolts that attached the 2 crossbars to the arms was defective. The seat metal frame and the back metal frame came in 2 parts each, put together with 2 connector bars and 8 short bolts each. I was missing 3 short bolts. One of the holes on the back part of the metal frame didn't line up to the corresponding hole in the connector bar. I ruined 3 bolts trying to force it to fit, even clamping the 2 parts as tightly as possible to make that last hole fit, but they just didn't match. I was afraid to simply leave a bolt off because of the weight bearing function of this part of the futon. After struggling with it for nearly 3 hours, I gave up until Saturday. Things still didn't look bright so I got in touch with Customer Support at Overstock.com, who said that they would leave a note for the parts department, but that parts weren't open until Monday. They said they would try to expedite it. I tried to call the manufacturer--Cottonwood Futons--but they weren't available until Monday either. Thinking I could get the bolts from a hardware store and simply drill new holes in the connector bar and frame for the 8th bolt, I went in search of bolts. Home Depot sent me to a specialty hardware store--they didn't have metric bolts in the right size. THREE hardware stores--one nearly as big as a Home Depot--also did not have the big bolt in the right size that connected the cross bar to the wooden arms. Although they did have the short bolts, I didn't think it was safe to use the thing without the long bolt. In the process of carefully looking the thing over to see if I could do something to simply get the thing together, I checked out the Internet itself on Cottonwood Futons and found out that they have horrible reviews, despite the Overstock.com positive reviews. On Monday, I contacted Overstock.com to find out that I probably wouldn't get the parts I needed--a new back frame and connector bars, 1 long bolt and 6 short bolts--for a week. In discussing the situation, I found out that I could return the product even though I had opened it, so I went for it until my husband pointed out that I would have to get everything back in the boxes. I was sick of the mess, but finally decided to just wait for the parts. Customer Service bent over backwards in working with me--always polite, always understanding, apologizing every time--HOORAY FOR OVERSTOCK.COM CUSTOMER SERVICE! They expedited things and I actually got the parts in time for company on Easter. However, there were 2 springs that came with the product that were not itemized as a part on the instruction or mentioned in the assembly instructions. We figured out where they needed to go (I hope), and it makes it fold better, so I think we got it right. Also, there is a part L "Hooks" that are mentioned in the instructions and it says "For extra strength, attach the two hooks (L) between the seat and back in the pre-punched holes." Unfortunately, the hooks are at least an inch too short to do that. Given that they were optional, I left them off. If I had it to do over again, I would a) Check reviews online in general on the company and the product and b) Not have purchased the product.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Futon
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Jan 19, 2011

I had been looking to replace a smallish couch with a futon but, I was unable to find any locally that were priced fairly. So I hit the net and Overstock.com to the rescue. This futon is great. Large, roomy and with a full 8 inch mattress. Only downside I had with the assembly was two missing parts. But a quick online chat with Overstock had the parts speeding my way. Great customer service! I couldn't be happier! I got the Navy Blue color and it is spot on perfect in color. Be aware that this is a Queen size futon and is therefore large. It came in two large boxes, one with the futon frame and the other with the mattress. Both arrived on the same day, but in two different deliveries. The hinge works smooth and is very easy to convert from futon to bed and back. You will want to get a carpet pad for the base to hold the mattress in place, but this is common with all futons. Bottom line, if you are in the market for a LARGE futon, this one can't be beat!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Futon, but...
 from Newburgh, IN,  Jan 3, 2011

Manufactured quality was poor. Actual assy time was about 2-3 hours. Time going to the store to get alternate / additional fasteners was about 3-4 hours. The tapped holes in the metal components had two defects: 1- They were not tapped properly causing a crossthread and damaging the factory supplied fastener 2- The holes were too big and the factory supplied fastenter stripped the hole out. Make sure you have a tap and die set (metric) and fasteners to replace factory supplied fasteners and fasteners to upsize the factory supplied fasteners in the event of a defect... And odds are there will be defects. The problem is, there is no way to determine which holes or fasteners will be associated with the defects and the odd metric fasteners are not easy to find. Once assembly was completed, the futon is nice. But we will forever refer to this as Satan's Futon due to the problematic assy! BTW, if your color choice is natural, beware, it is not natural - - - It IS WHITE!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent!
 from Texas,  Dec 7, 2010

I love this futon set. I purchased this for an office that we have out of town and sometimes we stay overnight. Well, we have slept on it 3 times now and it is so comfortable!! It is soft and there is no movement when either my husband or I are tossing and turning at night. Best of all, it is a queen, not a full or double like other futons that I almost purchased before this one. I highly recommend, but expect a couple of hours for putting together. That wasn't fast, I did do it by myself but it was challenging with only 1 person.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice bed
 from New London, NH,  Aug 1, 2012

Easy to assemble. Mattress is comfortable! Mattress does tend to slip when in the sofa mode though.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate overaLl
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awful instructions but decent futon
 from Edmond, OK,  Jul 4, 2012

The shipping on this was super fast, however the instructions are TERRIBLE. First of all there are multiple instructions, including ones that tell you to ignore other instructions. I'm pretty handy and actually LIKE assembling furniture, but this was by far the most difficult thing I've done. It took me three hours to get it together, and I finally did it after tossing the instructions and trying to figure it out logically. Once it was assembled, the mattess has a bit of a funny smell (like sawdust or something) that hasn't gone away in three weeks. I've had my in-laws stay on it for 12 days and another friend who's on day 5 and both say its "fine." Not great, but better than a blow up mattress. It is hard to get into the sofa position from a bed position without additional help. And when open as a bed, there's a slight ridge in the middle. Also, the cover is thinner than I expected and is pulling from snagging on some of the metal parts. If it was easy to return I probably would and pay $100 for a bit better quality, but it works for now and looks good in the room and there is no way in hades I'm unassembling that sucker!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? about the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Average--not great but not poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Pretty accurate...I thought the cover would be thicker.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love my futon!
 from San Diego, CA,  Nov 20, 2009

I was daunted when I saw the three enormous boxes waiting for me on my front porch. Stubborn and determined, I set out on Saturday morning to assemble this futon. It took me about four hours but I kept reminding myself of the money that I had saved in the original price, low shipping cost and no sales tax. YIPPEE I did it all by myself!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
You get what you pay for!
 from Enfield, CT,  Jul 30, 2012

We received the futon rather quickly. It came in 2 boxes. The futon itself is very light. The mattress is very heavy. Setup took me about 1.5 hours and the futon would not fold up into a couch properly. After a little force the futon screeched and some rusty washers crumbled onto the floor. Also, the futon is too light to be folded up with the mattress on it. You must take the mattress off of the futon to fold it op each time to avoid bending and manipulating the thin metal pieces. I learned this previously with my other 2 cheap futons that I owned. I called overstock.com and they sent me new hinges. They arrived 3 days after the request and they worked perfectly. Just keep in mind that you are paying 300 for a piece of furniture and expect to get 300 dollar quality. I have accepted that and am very happy with the product. The mattress is comfortable to me and I am using a 3 inch memory foam topper. The arms are very thin and light weight so be careful when moving it around. You should always take the mattress off when moving. You can't beat the price for a queen sized futon. My wife and I are sleeping on it daily as a bed and we are both over 200 lbs. EVEN WEIGHT DISTRIBUTION IS A MUST! LOL

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very lightweight, flimbsy, hinges were rusty, instructions were misleading.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Below average
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Jan 28, 2012

If I had know that this futon was of such low quality, I would have spent the money to get a substantially better one. To start, what I liked about the futon: The arm rests are of genuine wood; the arm rest & futon colors were as advertised; extremely fast shipping; came with all the parts (and a bunch of bolts, washers, and misc. debris I didn't need for this model). What I didn't like: advertised as 8" futon, but measures as less than 6" (you can easily feel the support bars when sitting on it); the springs are much too weak, making it difficult to convert from bed to sofa (I have to fold the futon over into a "taco" to relieve all the weight on the backside before I can successfully wrangle it into sofa mode); the assembly directions are terrible (e.g., confusing "right" for "left"); the makeshift wrench incuded with the kit slips on the nuts; the assembled frame is not very stable, even for a futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. below average
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? below average
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
WOW - this is one GIGANTIC futon!!!
 from Wrightwood, CA,  Dec 1, 2011

As I am using the futon as my living room couch, I needed a few accent pillows as this is a GIGANTIC futon. I am 5'7" and my feet didn't touch without overstuffed pillows behind my back. My friends love it as you can fit Paul Bunyon and 3 of his brothers on it side by side! Comfortable to lie on. One friend is 6'3 and he laid down and still had 4" to spare - said this was bigger than his queen bed. As a futon, it does slide down occasionally and what I hadn't planned on when placing it in the middle of the room is the back of the futon is a wire frame - DUH! For now, I am using a blanket to cover the back. I haven't used the original cover yet as I purchased a microfiber navy blue cover that I like really well. It took my handyman about 3 hours to put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Love the wood - the bed is firm as suggested
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Long Time Coming
 from Northeast,  Aug 9, 2011

Although it works well when finally complete, the futon was a disaster. First shipped without the frame. O.com got that fixed, but, in assembly, I discovered that two different metal pieces had holes drilled incorrectly. I needed two bolts and the two parts. The "technical support" guy was friendly, took the info, and said the parts would be sent out the next day, and I'd "probably get them Saturday." Not only was Saturday off, but they never came. I called the same guy, who referred me to customer service (hah!). They never responded to emails or calls. Finally I disputed the matter with my credit card and Overstock.com, and finally the parts were sent. It only took a month, and I'd had to assemble the futon with substitute parts I got from the hardware store (guests coming). So I had to disassemble it, put in the replacement parts, and reassemble. Read the other reviews regarding putting this thing together. Instructions are laughable, and the whole job is not so much difficult but tedious. Should you buy this, do yourself a favor and start every bolt into every hole before you ever slip any parts together, particularly the nuts with the nylon inserts.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor manufacture
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from New Mexico,  Aug 2, 2011

The mattress came looking slightly used. There was a stain on the front bottom. As others have stated the screws and other small parts are scattered inside the box. The directions seem complete and since we have had experience putting furniture together it went reasonably fast. The mechanism for putting the futon up and down has worked well, so far. We are using the futon in a guest bedroom. We have used the futon about a month and have had no complaints.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Nice match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality of the product is great. Very sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was acurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific Futon
 from Erie,PA,  Jun 16, 2011

I order from Overstock all the time and I am never disappointed. THis came in record time, 2 days Fed/Ex. I brought it in piece by piece as the boxes were a bit heavy. I had a friend come to help me but she had it together with little help in about an hour. I took a piece of cardboard from the shipping and separated the bag of nuts and bolts and mask taped them to the cardboard identifying each piece with the correspoinding letter.. that really helped and tools are included.. had many pieces left over as they also include hardware for a metal frame....this futon is in a spare room and looks great. It also folds down easily..I just ordered a cover to keep it looking good as the mattress is thick and is a dry clean only.. You won't be diappointed. I shopped around and compared this is the BEST!...I am a CLub O member so free shipping and 5% back is a great deal!!!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? great quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? exactly as described..
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not what I expected
 from Clinton, Connecticut,  Apr 15, 2014

needs to be adjusted every day. The mattresses drooping over no adjustability when sitting to watch TV. Biggest mistake I did buy it. This futon. Great for college kids should abort a regular sofa. I wish I could send it back. I would

Good
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and comfortable
 from Byron Center, MI,  Feb 5, 2014

This product has solid wood sides (head/foot boards or armrests) and a heavy metal frame. The 11" mattress is more that enough to provide comfort to guests, and the couch set up works great for snuggling and reading with my child before bedtime. I would certainly buy this product again.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mattress Needs Work
 from Clovis, CA,  Feb 3, 2014

I bought this a few months ago to go in the office of a home that my wife and I were building. The builder finished adn we moved in a couple weeks ago and I couldn't wait to setup my office. I got the frame together by following the YouTube video directions, they were great! The last step was to put on the mattress, and that's where this product falls miserably short. The mattress which was advertised as being 8 inches thick is 5 to 6 inches thick at best, and extremely uncomfortable. Just sitting on it you can feel the wire grid of the frame through the mattress. I can't let anyone sleep on this if we ever have guests because they won't ever come back! Bottom line, the frame feels solid, but the mattress is pretty useless. I guess I'll have to shop around for a better mattress.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Provo Queen Mission-style Frame/ Mattress Futon Se
 from Wisconsin,  Jan 28, 2014

Bought for our son's apartment. When we visit we sleep on it, and it is comfy. Very solid and very nice looking with his other furniture.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the futon, mattress just ok.
 from Parkersburg, WV,  Dec 30, 2013

The futon frame is sturdy and looks great. However, mattress wears down quickly and doesn't want to stay in the proper place on the frame once it's smashed. Price is great for futon, even if you have to purchase a better mattress later.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
sofa not acceptable
 from Massachusettes,  Dec 24, 2013

Mattress will not stay upright when used as a sofa, poorly put together. holes for screws were not aligned backof sofa scrapta agaimnst the wall, it is hard to close from sleeper to sofa

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 162 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 9 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top