Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 84 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Scarred for Life
 from Utah,  Nov 24, 2010

Before you purchase this product, I have a few tips & tricks for you! 1. After confirming your order, immediately purchase a dozen extra bolts as you will inevitably strip all of those included. 2. Go see your local anger management counselor prior to receiving the product at your doorstep. 3. Upon receipt of boxes (which will arrive on separate, random days), recycle all associated instructions. They cannot help you. 4. Make sure and pray to xxxxx before constructing the futon, as he is obviously the mastermind behind this nightmare. 5. Hire your sworn enemy to assemble the frame for a reasonable wage and watch him/her go insane helplessly attempting to bolt together each poorly manufactured piece. 6. Take Monday off. You'll need it for recovery. As you can probably tell, I have a passionate love/hate relationship with this futon. I consider myself an experienced furniture assembler and this was without a doubt an absolute debacle... However, for the price it looks great and is quite comfortable once the mattress is broken in. Good luck.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy with the Futon
 from Spring, Tx,  Dec 20, 2010

I was a little apprehensive about ordering a futon without checking it out first; however, I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this for someone looking for a futon. It came quickly in two separate boxes. My husband was able to put it all together with minimal difficulty. It seems durable and I am pleased with the quality of the frame and mattress. My daughter and her husband slept on it and reported that they were quite comfortable. I am pleased with my purchase.... The box with the futon frame is very heavy. My husband was out of town when it arrived, so I had to bring it inside by myself. It was a struggle. I could 've-- should've opened it on the porch, as it is well packed in smaller boxes inside the large one. I could have brought it in by carrying the smaller and lighter boxes and saved my back. Now I know where the expression "think outside the box" probably came from.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as bad as some reviews
 from Southport, NC,  Oct 27, 2012

A lot of the reviews were negative about the assembly. They may have changed their hardware and insructions because I had no problem puting it together and all of the hardware was perfect. BIG COMPLAINT, specs said Origin USA when IN FACT it is made in China. I purchased it specifically because it said made in the USA. I thought about sending it back but it would cost a fortune. So I bit my lip and kept it. I will never buy from overstocked.com again. Can not trust their adds. Other than that the product is okay.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was marked made in USA in the specifications but was made in CHINA.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT USA MADE
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not recommended
 from NH,  Jan 4, 2012

Product was received damaged. Dealt with Overstock to get a replacement. Overstock was extremely helpful. After receiving the replacement part, it took took hours to assemble, and there were many extra parts left over. Also, after assembly, the futon would not close without much difficulty. After opening and shutting the futon numerous times with difficulty, the metal brackets became bent. Upon review of the instructions, again, it was confirmed that the product was assembled correctly. I would return the item but it would be too much of a hassle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Received item and one of the wooden arms was crushed. The futon mattress, however, was very nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate as far as the product material but the assembly was a nightmare.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ready to use in 3 hours!
 from El Paso, TX,  Nov 20, 2012

I expected to have more trouble assembling this than I actually had. Other than the balky connecting hook (which didn't), the pieces were to spec and the holes were properly drilled. I did have to use a hammer and my patience with the T -Leg, but had very few challenges otherwise - and the hinge mechanism makes it VERY easy to open and close the futon. I got a spring mattress which seems quite comfortable but it's heavy - had to remove it in order to adjust from sofa to bed position. I'm looking forward to opening my guest room to friends and family!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Rich grain wood and comfortable mattress
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Futon
 from Nottingham, PA,  Nov 6, 2011

Love the futon itself, however not too fond of the cover. I got the beige color and it's nice, however, after a summer of use (we use it on our sun porch) it is starting to pill. Disappointed I will have to buy a new cover for it but the mattress itself is very comfortable!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from Florida,  Jan 9, 2013

My elderly in-laws like it, and my newly married son and his wife like it. Looks good, sleeps well. I assembled it by myself - went together without any major problems. Instructions could be better on orientation of sides/armrest to the frame during assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good comparison
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be built well enough
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Providence Futon
 from North Attleboro, MA,  Apr 1, 2012

Overall... All in all the futon is very nice looking, comfortable, and easy to use. The mohagy wood with the burgandy finish goes very nice together. Quality... The quality fits the price. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. The mattress is very comfortable, but won't last more than 3 years if it is used everyday. Its perfect for a spare room, which is seldomly used. Assembly.... The instructions are horrible and don't even make sense, but once you have all the parts out, anyone can assemble (easier with 2 people).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality fit the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described from the website
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product so far
 from Granville TN,  Feb 29, 2012

After reading other reviews on this Futon I was a bit leary of buying it; but, I had a need for it, the price was right, and I didn't believe it could be as bad as some of the other reviews were saying. Shipping was faster than I expected. I Noticed the chemical smell others have mentioned coming from the mattress - but it had disappeared within a few hours of removing the Mattress from its plastic bag. I didn't have too much trouble with the instruction manual, but pictures of the small parts could have been better. My only real problems were: 1 - that the shipment contained 2 identical backrests instead of a backrest and a seat - but the "O" took great care of my problem and I had a replacement seat in just a few days, and: 2 - the toggle link between the backrest and the seat was not usable due to factory misalignment of the attachment points. Rather than contact the O again I decided to substitute a piece of metal rod which I bent to the proper shape to fit. The assembly process probably took 2-3 hours - with much time spent puzzling over which parts were which and making the rod. I have slept on it a few times and I find it to be more comfortable than my waterbed - though the Waterbed is better on a cold night. I can't say how durable it will be until I see how long it lasts. I also purchased a mattress cover - but I haven't put it on yet because it looks like a 2-3 person job to do it. A standard fitted sheet works about as well and is much easier to put on and take off. All in all I'd say this piece is a very good value for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I haven't owned this but a couple of weeks but, so far I have no complaints on its quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hard rto put up and down
 from Kerrville, Tx.,  Sep 9, 2011

It is real hard to lay it out for a bed and to put back up. Takes two people to do it. The pad is comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Does not bend
 Jan 27, 2015

Futon was delivered promptly, has a great look And pretty good comfort. However, futon does bend from couch to bed easily. It's annoying and I'm rather disappointed.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon
 Jan 10, 2015

Little frustrating putting together. Afterward, looks good.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice futon!
 from Chapel Hill, NC,  Dec 10, 2014

Looked at quite a few futons before purchasing this one. It has good build quality and the inner spring mattress is quite comfortable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Outstanding
 from The Big Ten,  Dec 8, 2014

I've had this futon for about 3 months now. I live in a frat house and bought it for my room. Came very quickly, and my roommate and I put it together in less than 2 hours. It looks great and is incredibly comfortable (black mattress and medium oak finish)! The futon has been used pretty heavily, but I had no problems opening my room up for partying and have received dozens of compliments about its look and comfort. It is pretty large so definitely read the dimensions before buying. But all in all, this is pretty much the frattest futon you can buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great futon
 from San Diego, CA,  Nov 29, 2014

This futon is great. After reading others reviews I was apprehensive to buy this product, but I am glad I went with it. It looks great in our guest room and is quite comfortable. Unlike other reviewers, it wasn't hard to put together. My husband and I put it together in about 2 hours. The product was delivered in 2 boxes on the same day. We opened the mattress and let it air out for a day. When we were ready to put the frame together I laid out all of the parts and DIDN'T open any of the bags with screws. The product comes with a lot of extra screws and you want to be sure you don't mix them up. Read through the directions before you start. The bags with the screws are labeled with letters and some of the letters repeat so be sure you read what screws go together to know which bag to open. Again, you will be left with extra screws. I definitely recommend this futon. It looks nice, is comfortable, and was easy to purchase and was delivered quickly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pleasantly surprised by quality and ease
 from Hartford, CT,  Oct 9, 2014

It took my husband and I 1.5 hours to assemble Futon is surprisingly supportive but has some spring Instructions are written pretty terribly, but after you diagram a sentence or two, you can figure it out. No, seriously, it took us a few times reading some steps, but this solid is definitely sturdy. My one complaint about materials is that the wrench used to hold the bolts at the end gets stripped by the end, so we ended up having to use our own pliers. Otherwise, we had all the tools we needed in the [large] shipment.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product so far
 from Warren,MI,  Jul 18, 2014

We received this futon very quickly and were satisfied when it was put together. I needed a new bed for my granddaughters to sleep in, ages 10 & 6, and I also wanted a sofa in our spare room so this solved the problem. I do put a foam pad on it when they sleep on it because I think it will save on the wear and tear on the futon cover. It is a very nice looking piece of furniture and would recommend it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from rome, ny,  May 13, 2014

Bought this for family when they stay over. I put it together by myself and it did take some time. A second person would have helped put the seat and back sections on. The mattress is comfortable and you don't feel the seat section. I am enjoying it and recommend it to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly as described
 from Macon, Ga.,  Mar 28, 2014

I was surprised how easy it was to assemble. Some of the other reviews stated it was difficult, but I am 60 years old and found it fairly easy. It is exactly as described and makes into a comfortable bed while serving as a great couch for my husbands office when not in use as a bed. I would highly recommend it for anyone who needs an extra bed on occasion.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice
 from West Virginia,  Dec 17, 2013

I bought this for my 9 year old son. It is perfect for him; however, I wouldn't use it for an adult as a full time bed, only as a guest bed due to the mattress. The mattress is not as supportive as I had hoped, but again it's perfect for a child. Assembly was time consuming, but I had expected it would take several hours and it did. Two of the metal rails were bent, but easily bent back with a hammer. Overall, for the price, I would buy this item again. It has a nice look to it and it sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 84 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought