Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Scarred for Life
 from Utah,  Nov 24, 2010

Before you purchase this product, I have a few tips & tricks for you! 1. After confirming your order, immediately purchase a dozen extra bolts as you will inevitably strip all of those included. 2. Go see your local anger management counselor prior to receiving the product at your doorstep. 3. Upon receipt of boxes (which will arrive on separate, random days), recycle all associated instructions. They cannot help you. 4. Make sure and pray to xxxxx before constructing the futon, as he is obviously the mastermind behind this nightmare. 5. Hire your sworn enemy to assemble the frame for a reasonable wage and watch him/her go insane helplessly attempting to bolt together each poorly manufactured piece. 6. Take Monday off. You'll need it for recovery. As you can probably tell, I have a passionate love/hate relationship with this futon. I consider myself an experienced furniture assembler and this was without a doubt an absolute debacle... However, for the price it looks great and is quite comfortable once the mattress is broken in. Good luck.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Happy with the Futon
 from Spring, Tx,  Dec 20, 2010

I was a little apprehensive about ordering a futon without checking it out first; however, I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend this for someone looking for a futon. It came quickly in two separate boxes. My husband was able to put it all together with minimal difficulty. It seems durable and I am pleased with the quality of the frame and mattress. My daughter and her husband slept on it and reported that they were quite comfortable. I am pleased with my purchase.... The box with the futon frame is very heavy. My husband was out of town when it arrived, so I had to bring it inside by myself. It was a struggle. I could 've-- should've opened it on the porch, as it is well packed in smaller boxes inside the large one. I could have brought it in by carrying the smaller and lighter boxes and saved my back. Now I know where the expression "think outside the box" probably came from.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not as bad as some reviews
 from Southport, NC,  Oct 27, 2012

A lot of the reviews were negative about the assembly. They may have changed their hardware and insructions because I had no problem puting it together and all of the hardware was perfect. BIG COMPLAINT, specs said Origin USA when IN FACT it is made in China. I purchased it specifically because it said made in the USA. I thought about sending it back but it would cost a fortune. So I bit my lip and kept it. I will never buy from overstocked.com again. Can not trust their adds. Other than that the product is okay.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The product was marked made in USA in the specifications but was made in CHINA.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? NOT USA MADE
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ready to use in 3 hours!
 from El Paso, TX,  Nov 20, 2012

I expected to have more trouble assembling this than I actually had. Other than the balky connecting hook (which didn't), the pieces were to spec and the holes were properly drilled. I did have to use a hammer and my patience with the T -Leg, but had very few challenges otherwise - and the hinge mechanism makes it VERY easy to open and close the futon. I got a spring mattress which seems quite comfortable but it's heavy - had to remove it in order to adjust from sofa to bed position. I'm looking forward to opening my guest room to friends and family!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Rich grain wood and comfortable mattress
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not recommended
 from NH,  Jan 4, 2012

Product was received damaged. Dealt with Overstock to get a replacement. Overstock was extremely helpful. After receiving the replacement part, it took took hours to assemble, and there were many extra parts left over. Also, after assembly, the futon would not close without much difficulty. After opening and shutting the futon numerous times with difficulty, the metal brackets became bent. Upon review of the instructions, again, it was confirmed that the product was assembled correctly. I would return the item but it would be too much of a hassle.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Received item and one of the wooden arms was crushed. The futon mattress, however, was very nice.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? The description was accurate as far as the product material but the assembly was a nightmare.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Futon
 from Nottingham, PA,  Nov 6, 2011

Love the futon itself, however not too fond of the cover. I got the beige color and it's nice, however, after a summer of use (we use it on our sun porch) it is starting to pill. Disappointed I will have to buy a new cover for it but the mattress itself is very comfortable!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good quality
 from Florida,  Jan 9, 2013

My elderly in-laws like it, and my newly married son and his wife like it. Looks good, sleeps well. I assembled it by myself - went together without any major problems. Instructions could be better on orientation of sides/armrest to the frame during assembly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good comparison
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be built well enough
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Providence Futon
 from North Attleboro, MA,  Apr 1, 2012

Overall... All in all the futon is very nice looking, comfortable, and easy to use. The mohagy wood with the burgandy finish goes very nice together. Quality... The quality fits the price. As the saying goes, you get what you pay for. The mattress is very comfortable, but won't last more than 3 years if it is used everyday. Its perfect for a spare room, which is seldomly used. Assembly.... The instructions are horrible and don't even make sense, but once you have all the parts out, anyone can assemble (easier with 2 people).

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality fit the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As described from the website
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product so far
 from Granville TN,  Feb 29, 2012

After reading other reviews on this Futon I was a bit leary of buying it; but, I had a need for it, the price was right, and I didn't believe it could be as bad as some of the other reviews were saying. Shipping was faster than I expected. I Noticed the chemical smell others have mentioned coming from the mattress - but it had disappeared within a few hours of removing the Mattress from its plastic bag. I didn't have too much trouble with the instruction manual, but pictures of the small parts could have been better. My only real problems were: 1 - that the shipment contained 2 identical backrests instead of a backrest and a seat - but the "O" took great care of my problem and I had a replacement seat in just a few days, and: 2 - the toggle link between the backrest and the seat was not usable due to factory misalignment of the attachment points. Rather than contact the O again I decided to substitute a piece of metal rod which I bent to the proper shape to fit. The assembly process probably took 2-3 hours - with much time spent puzzling over which parts were which and making the rod. I have slept on it a few times and I find it to be more comfortable than my waterbed - though the Waterbed is better on a cold night. I can't say how durable it will be until I see how long it lasts. I also purchased a mattress cover - but I haven't put it on yet because it looks like a 2-3 person job to do it. A standard fitted sheet works about as well and is much easier to put on and take off. All in all I'd say this piece is a very good value for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I haven't owned this but a couple of weeks but, so far I have no complaints on its quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
hard rto put up and down
 from Kerrville, Tx.,  Sep 9, 2011

It is real hard to lay it out for a bed and to put back up. Takes two people to do it. The pad is comfortable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from rome, ny,  May 13, 2014

Bought this for family when they stay over. I put it together by myself and it did take some time. A second person would have helped put the seat and back sections on. The mattress is comfortable and you don't feel the seat section. I am enjoying it and recommend it to others.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly as described
 from Macon, Ga.,  Mar 28, 2014

I was surprised how easy it was to assemble. Some of the other reviews stated it was difficult, but I am 60 years old and found it fairly easy. It is exactly as described and makes into a comfortable bed while serving as a great couch for my husbands office when not in use as a bed. I would highly recommend it for anyone who needs an extra bed on occasion.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
looks nice
 from West Virginia,  Dec 17, 2013

I bought this for my 9 year old son. It is perfect for him; however, I wouldn't use it for an adult as a full time bed, only as a guest bed due to the mattress. The mattress is not as supportive as I had hoped, but again it's perfect for a child. Assembly was time consuming, but I had expected it would take several hours and it did. Two of the metal rails were bent, but easily bent back with a hammer. Overall, for the price, I would buy this item again. It has a nice look to it and it sturdy.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Set
 from md,  Dec 5, 2013

I was very happy with the thickness of the mattress and stability of the futon frame.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Different Frame
 from Virginia Beach, VA,  Oct 3, 2013

I like the futon for the purpose that it was purchased, however there is a problem with the little metal piece in the front, has a habit of bending in or out. Other than that. it will do.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
GREAT FUTON
 from Montana,  Aug 15, 2013

Your won't be disappointed in this futon. Nice thick mattress; good quality wood on the frame, excellent value for the money. Much more comfortable than other futons I have tried.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice looking, comfortable to sit/sleep on.
 from New york,  Aug 7, 2013

You need two people to figure the directions out and to assemble . Took some time to put together but for the price it was worth it. Guess have slept on it and said it was fine. I would only use it for short term sleeping not on a nightly bases.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy!
 from Fitchburg, MA,  Apr 2, 2013

I bought this for my basement as a bed/sofa for my son to use as a temporary sleeping arrangement. So far, it's been around 5 months...he's happy with the futon...no complaints. Great buy for the money...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Pretty close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very happy about this purchase...well constructed
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on the mney
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
FAIR TO MED NOTHING SPECIAL
 from NY,  Feb 13, 2013

Futon has to be assembled not as advertised. Side wood arms are universal and have many cutouts to fit diffretnt applications. Could buy same quality at Walmart. Would not recommend!!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Not what i expected!!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Needs upgrading!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well built and comfortable
 from Floridqa,  Sep 21, 2012

Wanted this product for an office/bedroom. It worked out great. Well built and comfortable. Easy gto assemble and arrives quickly.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. well built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 77 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top