Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Value
 from Illinois,  Dec 8, 2010

For the price, you can't beat it. ASSEMBLY: People complained that the futon was difficult to put together, and yeah, it wasn't especially easy, but it was no harder than any other futon I've put together before. The biggest pain was that the unthreaded screw holes are significantly larger than the threaded screw holes, which means you need to be careful to get everything to line up right. With a little finagling, a rubber mallet, and some vice grips, I was able to put it together by myself in about 2 hours. The springs that people complained were difficult to put on the hinge came already assembled on mine. IN USE: I couldn't ask for a better metal futon frame. My brother used to have a metal futon frame, which had large bars that were far apart, and you could always feel them individually through the frame. This one has many small metal bars, which mean that the weight gets distributed evenly. It can be a little tough to raise/lower the back, but I've never seen a futon that didn't have that issue, and as they go, this one is on the easier side of difficult. CONSTRUCTION: Some of the joints created by the small pieces are not especially sturdy. In particular, the joints on the crossbeams (two bars connected end to end) have a bit too much give in them. Other than that, though, the hinge and spring are very sturdy and seem to be well-made. I don't have to worry about it folding up/down accidentally. The endpieces look nice and seem to be sturdy as well.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid futon frame
 from Texas,  Jul 22, 2011

I read all the reviews before I ordered it, and read it again before assembly. So, I was expecting that it would take quite a while to assemble it. It took 2 1/2 hours for me (female) with one screw driver that I had, and it was not as bad as expected. A power screw driver may help, but it can be done without it. I didn't use the tool which came with it. This is what I did. 1. Sorted all the screws, washers, etc. I only used Hx20, Fx4, Sx6, Rx8, Tx4, Gx8, Nx8, Ix8 for bolts, washers, lock washers, and nuts by following the instructions. There will be a lot of leftovers. 2. Read all the instructions before assembly. Since the images don't help much, you need a bit of common sense. Once you get the overall picture of how it works, it shouldn't be a problem. I spent 20 min. to understand what needed to be done, and how it works especially the hinges. 3. Went through each step carefully. I was confused with the Left and Right labels on the arms. Left means when you stand in front of the futon, so when you sit, it will be on your right. I positioned the arms backwards first, but I figured it out since it didn't look right. So, before putting any bolts into the holes, make sure that it looks right. As other reviewers mentioned, some of the holes didn't line up properly. However, if you move around the parts before tightening those bolts, I didn't have much problem. No extra tool was necessary for this, either. Overall, this is a good product. Shipping was fast, and nothing was broken or missing. The bag for nuts and bolts had holes, and they were all over the box when I opened it, but all the pieces seemed to be there. The frame is very solid, and I am happy with this product overall. The assembly can be done by a single person.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Watch the video
 from Manalapan, NJ,  Jan 22, 2011

Actually my daughter (thank you Diane) did most of the work putting this frame together. She first watched a video of a guy doing this step by step with a few steps missing (you never see him installing the arm spring) and the written directions are terrible so the video really helps. It also doesn't show the guy dropping the nuts and bolts like my daughter did several times. After completing this I was slightly worried as there were quite a few nuts and bolts left over but she assured me that it was done correctly. The extra parts were if I had puchased a complete wooden frame instead of the metal one. It is actually very solid and strong. No trouble with opening or closing the bed. Another great product and purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 

I have only had the futon for about 3 weeks, but am satisfied with it. (The true test will be after 6 months and others have had a chance to sleep on it.) It is comfortable and looks nice. (Yes, it is only a futon --but all furniture should look nice.) I am glad I bought the 8" cushion--it is fine for me. Anything smaller than 8" would not be comfortable for long and would lose its shape. However, if I had a number of people on it I would probably buy a 10" thinking that it will last better/keep its shape longer. I also bought a cover. From prior experience, a cover is an excellent way of keeping you futon clean--especially if you have animals. Putting the futon together: Just pop in a movie/turn on the radio and put it together in a couple of (2-4) hours if working by yourself. The only BIG problem is the diagram on the paper for the metal hinge is not clear at all. The instructions are okay. The diagram is a bad copy. One cannot tell which direction to put the hinge; specifically, it is unclear which side of the hinge runs along the frame.--One must think through that process carefully before continuing. The only other part that took a little while was fitting the two pieces of the metal frame together. (I ended up banging them on the floor to make the tight fit work.) Overall, I am pleased with the futon.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Decent Purchase
 from California,  Sep 10, 2010

The frame took a long time to put together, especially since the instructions were not clear. One of the pieces was not labeled like it was supposed to be, which made it more difficult than it could have been. Besides the assembly difficulties, the frame looks very nice and is easy to lay down and put back up. I'm glad I made the purchase.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Average all around, and difficult to set up.
 from New York, NY,  Jul 31, 2013

After reading the reviews, I expected to spend about 2 hours putting it together- it ended up taking about 3.5 hours. One of the parts was bent, which took about 30 minutes to straighten it without damaging things. One screw was way too big to fit in the hole it was supposed to, so I had to leave that out. The wrench tit comes with doesn't hold the nuts well, so I'd recommend having your own tool set. I set it up using a combo of looking at the directions and watching the instructional videos on youtube. I've never set up a futon frame before, so I'm not sure how difficult set up is expected to be. All in all, once it gets set up it's fine, nothing amazing.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Futon
 from Long Branch, NJ,  Jul 4, 2013

I really did not expect the futon to be such well made for the Price. I purchase the 10" Mattress with it . A perfect match. In the Past 5 years of Purchasing items from overstock never had a problem . Great Site

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color match perfectly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exytremly well made
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from Texas,  Jun 9, 2013

Price was right, shipping slightly slow and not trackable with fedex, thank goodness for 15 y/o old son or I would have had some trouble putting it together. Make sure you have a power screwdriver and you won't use alot of the parts. Overall, a good deal for far less than I could find locally and with free shipping.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great product for the price!
 from Oro Valley, AZ,  Feb 28, 2014

This was a great purchase and is exactly what we needed in spare room. Great as a couch and perfect for overnight guests! Would definitly recommend this futon and mattress.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from Rego Park, NY,  Feb 6, 2014

I love this frame, it is perfect for what I was looking for. The wood looks great. The only reason it didn't get 5 starts is because the metal part on the ends is not really designed well to sit against a wall. I didn't realize this until I pulled my futon away from the wall and saw that it left holes all over my new paint. I now have to figure out something that will look nice enough to 'bandage' it up and prevent it from further damaging my wall. In the meantime i have just been trying to keep a safe distance, but they really needed to do a better job with the wiring to prevent something like this. I also had an issue with one of the parts as the screws were not fitting into the hole at all, it just seemed like it wasn't made right for it, but overstock was great in helping me get the new part for this. Once I got the new part the installation wasn't as bad as everyone said, I managed to do it myself (30 year old female). I would advise following these videos for additional instructions, this was SUPER helpful (note there is a series of these based on each step of the instructions): ***

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Tricky Assembly
 from Orange County CA,  Jan 25, 2014

The futon bed frame looks great -- once you succeed at assembling it. My son, a contractor, had difficulty assembling the futon frame due to identical metal bed parts that had to be reversed and the tight angles for screwing on the nuts and bolts.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ProvoMission-style Frame
 from Austin TX,  Jan 1, 2014

I love the style and manufacture of the Provo Futon Frame. As described and as reviewed. It's mostly metal so sturdy and utilitarian. And you can order different covers to create different looks. But don't order the queen-size mattress. It's way way too big for the frame and hangs over the front and is a little too high in the back. Order a full-size mattress and I think you'll be much happier w/this futon.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not a futon frame I would ever buy again
 from Clearwater, Florida.,  Mar 21, 2013

If you need to buy a futon frame, it may pay off to spend a little more and get a better quality.

  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. chip made and difficult to put together.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wood arm broken and missing screws
 from wyoming,  Mar 20, 2013

Overstock is great. I called and they straighted all the problems out, however one of the chair arms was split and needed to be glued back together, the metal bars were slightly bent and needed to be hammered out to fit into one another, also a screw was missing and needed to be obtained from the hardware store, which is a bit frustrating. Out of my many Overstock purchases, this is the first that the product has been of this quality. If the package contents would not have been in need of repair, I think this would have been a good purchase for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good color match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. broken upon arrival
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Provo Full Mission-Style Futon Frame
 from Friendswood, TX,  Feb 19, 2013

Free shipping was great. Price was pretty good. The directions were hard to interpret because I think they were written for a wood frame. The end arms were different stains. The inside arms had groves made for another frame so the groves show from the back. I kept it only because of the hassle of returning. Would not recommend this product.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? One side arm was a different stain.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fair
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
pain in the a$$ to assemble
 from San Francisco, CA,  Feb 6, 2013

Pros: - looks nice. - sturdy, good build quality. - easily folds up and down. Cons: - pieces labeled incorrectly, had to find a Youtube video to assist with assembly. - when flat and laying in the middle, sides raise off of the floor. Began happening after 2 weeks of daily use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from KY,  Feb 1, 2013

If you put all your weight on one side it flips over. Not a good thing when you are sleeping, Very unhappy when my guest told me about their nighly suprise when they turn over

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? True
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon
 from NYC, NY,  Jan 15, 2013

This futon cannot bear the weight of an adult. After use for guests on two occoassions, the metal legs splayed and are useless. Very difficult to put back to sofa position. I can no longer open it and it is propped up in the center (where the useless metal legs were) with books. Also, the metal backing pokes out and made numerous holes in the wall which had to be spackled and painted. I am a fan of overstock and have made many purchases. This is the worst by far, do not waste you money.Big headache

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. weak
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Built Assembly Instructions not so much
 from Amesbury, Ma,  Jan 12, 2013

Nice frame...durable and sturdy...the directions to assemble are horrible. I have so many extra parts and have no idea where they should go. Cotter Pins missing although I have no clue where they would go as the directions are not clear.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is perfectly matched I purchased the medium oak
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Well made durable
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good frame but hard to put together
 from NJ,  Jan 2, 2013

quality is good. but not easy to put them together. it will be better if u have a handy man in ur house

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 112 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 6 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Boston Armless Full Futon Frame
Sale $158.39
Was $175.99
(25)
Full-size 10-inch Futon Mattress
Sale $189.89
Was $210.99
(180)
Full 8-inch Quality Futon Mattress
Sale $170.99
Was $189.99
(158)
Back to top