Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating

We recently put together the Provo Mission-style Frame and Mattress Futon Set. We ordered the medium oak colored arms. We are extremely pleased with our purchase. The instructions are sometimes a little difficult to identify parts so you have to use your logic as well. There are extra parts so don't expect to use all washers, nuts, etc. Everything was accounted for so we had no problem there (parts were all in a plastic bag and extra parts came with the arms which we only used the wood buttons to cover the screw holes). It took us approximately 1 1/2 hours to put the frame and arms together. The frame is nice and solid black metal. The mattress is soft, thick and plush. The arms fit securely onto the frame and are nice solid wood. The futon mattress is so comfortable. We bought this futon to replace an older wood futon we had which had broken. This futon is so much more comfortable. We ordered a full size which just fit against the wall in our den replacing the older queen size. So, this futon set is a large full size. We are very pleased and extremely happy with our purchase. The mattress and frame are shipped in two separate packages but arrived together within a week from ordering and were shipped FedEx. You can't beat the low shipping price as well as. All around, a great deal!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice design/ poor manufacture
 from Pensacola, FL,  Mar 18, 2011

Long story short, they blew it in manufacturing quality. Holes were drilled and tapped for the machine screws, THEN the hard enamel finish was baked on, This filled the female threads, many of which were not properly finished, with so much material the machine bolts could not be safely started. To get the machine bolts in without stripping threads, I to spend about $xxx on two different metric tap and die sets. Nice design, good materials. Poor manufacturing quality control. and process planning. The only reason I'll consider another one is I've already spent the extra $xxx so that I can assemble these now.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Dangerous sleeping
 from Staten Island NY,  Nov 1, 2012

My teens put this together, they are sticklers for directions and it did take them a while. While the matreress does slide off a bit the back is high enough that it is still comfortable. HOWEVER.. sleeping on it. The front end side of the bed extends out much further than the back, look at the photos and they only show the bed open at an angle. My son was dumped on the floor when he moved closer to the edge while sleeping! Poor design. We will need to rig it somehow to make it more stable. This was purchased for our basement as a hang out for the kids and sleepovers. I was going to purchase a second if this one was acceptable. It is not!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? excellent
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The Envy Of The Dorms At WVU
 from Sacramento, CA,  Oct 3, 2013

Excellent futon for the price. Make sure you get a "set" and not just a mattress. The mattress cover is good quality and the navy is beautiful. The frame is sturdy and of good quality. The mattress is also thicker than most inexpensive futons. According to my son, his futon is the envy of his dorm floor. He was able to put it together on his own although he did say he was glad he had some building experience. It looks well made and should last for a few college years. He also go it in record time--two days. Good job Overstock!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Very Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
the best China has to offer...
 from Virginia Beach VA,  Nov 19, 2012

It seems that the wooden arms and the actual frame of this futon were not designed to work together. It's as if there is a factory making universal frames and a factory making universal arms. That said, this stuff works fine together. The funniest part is the hardware included. It seems like there are muppets or something at the factory just grabbing random handfuls of nuts and bolts, tossing them in a bag, then shipping them. I had so many nuts and bolts left over that I could've built another futon. The instructions were written by monkeys for use by dinosaurs. Good luck assembling it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. 7/10
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
No regrets here!
 from Statesboro, GA,  Oct 1, 2013

If you are expecting this to be the most comfortable futon ever, you might be disappointed. But for the price, you cannot beat it. My husband and I were both very satisfied with the quality given how inexpensive the futon was (and free shipping!). If you expect more than what you get, then you are being unrealistic. I don't know how they are making any money on this product as it is. The sides are solid wood and the futon is of sturdy construction. We were missing some of the nuts and bolts from the assembly kit, but an email to the manufacturer solved that. This will be nice for guests to crash on in the future.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not A Bad Little Futon
 from NE,  Mar 20, 2013

Like many reviewers we found the assembly to be a bit tougher but not overwhelming. My husband is average in these skills and put it together in about 2 hours with a couple of breaks for supper and running after kids. He did have to bend a couple places to shape. And there was a piece missing but I can't remember what. Sorry! It was something he was able to improvise on though. When we took the arms out of the box it seems to have a smell of stain or paint. It didn't linger long and wasn't terribly overwhelming but it was surprising. We hadn't expected it. Maybe they're stained to order, I don't know. The futon is what we expected, you're not sleeping on a cloud but it's better than the floor. It's not too bulky for the room. We're still waiting for the cover which I think will improve the look. I'll also be getting a few nice pillows to dress it up. We got a full and slept on it last night to test it out. We expected to be squished but were surprised by how much room there is. I don't know how it's possible but there seemed to be more room in it than in our queen bed. I felt a bar along the middle but we naturally slept on either side of it so it didn't affect us any more than just knowing it was there. As a couch I was worried it would sit too low but it's fine there too. Overall it's not a bad buy.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good, reviews were very helpful
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I will never regret this purchase!
 from Norfolk, VA,  Feb 28, 2013

This futon is made with real wood that is not light in weight, yet still easy to put assemble. The iron parts of it are sturdy and well made. Once the futon was completely put together, it makes a wonderful piece of furniture to view and use. The color that I chose (burgundy) looks awesome in my office. I highly recommend this product to anyone who needs a good, sturdy futon!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very well!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I was very impressed with the quality of this futon. It is very sturdy, but not too complicated to put together. Awesome to view and use once completed!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate!
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
An Excellent Buy
 from Rexford, MT,  Dec 28, 2012

We were a little hesitant about buying a piece of furniture online but this was the best choice for our needs. It took very little time to put together. The whole thing is comfortable to sit on as well as to sleep on and very strong. We love it and are thinking about purchasing another one in the future for another room in a different color.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad,bad,bad
 from TN,  Apr 11, 2011

Ther futon was difficult to assemble, hard to read instructions, and there is still one piece that we can't get on. As for the mattress, I got the 8 in. It won't stay on the futon, continually slips down. I've attached velcro to the back with some improvement. I do NOT recommend this, was $$$ waste.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very satisfied
 from GEORGIA,  Nov 16, 2013

Did not take as long as others suggested to put together.No problems at all.Delivered before the delivery date.Haven't slept on it,but seems comfortable.Love the navy colour.Very good value.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Firm
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fairly Pleased
 from washington,  Jul 10, 2013

We were moving and had sold our couch as it was too heavy to move. The futon was waiting for us at our new house- very fast delivery! Color and style is nice. Took a while to put together - not super-well made but it's light weight and the mattress is good . Would recommend this to an apartment dweller or someone needing a good couch/ bed for not much $$

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was ok
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good futon!
 from Georgia,  Jun 6, 2013

I like the futon a lot. There are youtube videos of a guy putting one together that help A LOT. It's definitely a 2 person job, even with the videos. We could have done it ourselves with the instructions, but seeing the guy do it helped a great deal and the whole thing was done in under an hour.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It was the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It was great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Strapless
 from Alabama,  Apr 10, 2013

If you are not accustomed to putting things together this not the item to order. However my husband was able to put it together in less than two hours when following the instructions. The mattress cover however causes the mattress to slide off when the futon is in upright mode.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The colors matched very well.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The frame was very good. The cushion and its cover were not as good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate except for the mattress description.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon
 from los angeles,  Dec 3, 2012

Pleasantly surprised on the speed of delivery and quality of the futon. Excellent I would recommend not only the product but overstock as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Purchase
 from Flint, MI,  Jul 8, 2014

Would not recommend this product due to the fact that in less than a year that I had it product broke and no product can be truly tested iin 30 days or less to see if it will hold up to justify price

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Somewhat Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
futon
 from pacific NW,  Jan 9, 2014

pretty easy for me an older woman to put together, futon has the strong natural cotton smell but it isn't chemical smell so it was fine with my sensitive friend who stayed on it. frame is a little shaky but this is for my spare room then cabin so it will be great. just don't move it around all the time. Just what was shown and what we expected to receive and are happy with it.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fast delivery, quality mattress and frame
 from Cleveland, OH,  Sep 17, 2013

My futon arrived in 2 business days due to my proximity from the shipping location. It arrived in two packages, and came with both an allen wrench and a hex wrench tool, so if you're tool-light like me, everything is provided. The box with the wooden pieces contained extra parts, and after assembling the product I had a LOT left over, but it went together in about an hour and the only difficult part was where you have to use the hex wrench and allen wrench at the same time. Doable, but easier if you have your own hex wrench. The mattress is fairly firm yet pliable, and my cat has decided she loves it. I love it too, and after assembly it feels more solidly put together than a futon we bought at a local furniture store several years ago, which was pre-assembled. If you're looking for a couch/bed combo or a mattress set for a proper bed is just a little too much, I recommend this product heartily.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
parts are not good.
 from placentia, ca,  Jun 16, 2013

a bolt broke while trying to put it together that is vital to the piece, parts of the frame came in damaged so we were unable to put it together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? it matched
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. it was very poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? poor
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only last 2 years, threw out
 from Charleston, SC,  Apr 2, 2013

Purchased 2 years ago, and just a few weeks ago one of the two screws that fastened the frame to to one of the side wood pieces completely stripped out on its own , which caused the frame to irreparably warp, pop out of the notched running track and crack in half the side wood piece due to the stress. Frame was completely ruined and we had to disassemble and throw to the curb. Now the mattress sits on the floor while we search for a sturdy, virtually indestructible frame. The main problem is that the skinny wood pieces on the sides really are not made to sustain the weight of users over time. We are all fairly short and light people in my family, so excessive weight stress was NOT an issue for the unit breaking. Buyer beware, unless you only want to get a year or two out of it...

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 48 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top