Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 76 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great tuton with wonderful mattress!
 from Alabama,  Feb 16, 2012

We are very pleased with this futon, which we ordered to use as a couch and occasional bed in our guest room/sitting room. My husband is a good handyman and he had no trouble putting it together, said yes there were holes that needed drilling (which only took a minute) and yes there were a handful of screws and bolts left over. He thought the construction quality was "excellent" and he said he'd give it a 9 out of 10 overall. It doesn't get a "10" since it's a little stiff to open into the bed position, but two people can manage it without straining. The mattress is the most comfortable futon mattress we've ever seen, compared to various manufacturers' futons used by teenaged nieces and nephews at home and college over the past decade. A spring-coil mattress is SO MUCH more comfortable than a cotton/fiber-filling mattress. We'd definitely recommend this futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfect
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good product; good price
 from VA,  Nov 1, 2011

This is a very good product for the price. The instructions were clear and sufficient; it can be put together by one person without too much difficulty. This is a very good deal.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Positive review
 from Chicago,  Oct 13, 2011

Futon is very comfortable but the instructions to put it together could have been better. The arms were labeled R and L but never explained whether R is for the right arm meaning right sitting on futon or facing the futon.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color is fine.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality is good but the first arm received was damaged so I had to get a replacement arm.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Horrible instructions
 from Harrison, MI,  Sep 22, 2011

I love the futon, it looks great, is comfortable and sturdy. The instructions for putting it together SUCK! I had to go to Utube to watch video's of people putting theirs together to figure it out. Would it be that hard to produce visually clear instructions??

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice once you get it together.
 from North Dakota,  Aug 17, 2011

Received item quickly. Quality control poor. Right wood side to anchor frame was stripped and missing several bolts and instructions. Great customer support in getting out parts needed but used online video on utube to assemble. I would not recommend for the price.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was as expected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Disappointed.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fair
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This futon is very comfortable
 from Vermont,  Aug 16, 2011

I have put together several futons and while they are all somewhat awkward to assemble this was by far the easiest.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color was exactly the same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? the on site description was right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
functionable, looks good
 from Cherokee Village Ar.,  Aug 10, 2011

had to scratch my head a couple of times,while putting it together, (working by myself ) .Not all that hard, I had extra parts, because the steel frame and the wood frame, use different nuts and bolts, but you get parts for both. pay attention.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. stable,holds up to 750 lbs,easy to operate
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good purchase
 from Upstate New York,  Aug 2, 2011

Good price and good product. Arrived quickly. Slept on the mattress on the floor before assembling the frame and it was very comfortable. I have a large MBR and bought this as an extra sitting area/bed and it fit right in and looks great. Product is well constructed and assembly fairly simple. I had in my tool box the same size hex driver and cut off the short "L" part so I could insert it in my portable electric drill like a regular drill bit (I have done this with other products). After starting the bolt, I used the drill to drive the bolts snug and then used the supplied hex driver to finish tightening. Saved much time. There were many extra parts not necessary for this particular frame but for a wooden frame so when I was finished, I just tossed the extra parts. Overall, this was a good purchase at a great price even before credit for club dollars.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon Bed
 from WV,  Jul 28, 2011

Instructions could be a little clearer but it only took slightly over an hour to assemble.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very sturdy
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected
 from CA,  Jul 26, 2011

It came together better than I expected from the reviews - the only frustration was when putting on the seat it didn't line up with holes on the hinges but I discovered the hinges are flexible and so was able to put it together in about 2 hrs. If you organize your bolts, nuts, etc ahead of time the instructions are not as confusing as a lot of people said - at one point it is difficult to see the lable for the parts but it is the same as some of the previous instructions. Yes the parts are labled not so great - but it wasn't too difficult to figure which was the "long bolts" vs the "short bolts" etc. The overall product looks nicer than I expected. It folds from sofa to bed easily before the mattress is on but might take two people with the mattress since it is pretty heavy. The mattress IS comfy as many people said and the wood arms look really nice. Overall I am pleased and hope it holds up for a while with my two active children.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Mahogany / Navy - mattress color a little lighter but still a nice blue
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. looks nice / seems pretty sturdy - a little creaking
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? description was pretty accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mattress (good) / Frame (fair)
 from Minneapolis,  Jul 7, 2011

So the mattress is a little more purple, but it's also comfier. So that more than evens out. It's a great mattress! Springy, too. Lost of people complained about the parts of the frame not lining up right, and sadly, I'm having that experience. The frame back has misaligned parts. It works, but I'm guessing life span will be shortened. It's easy to request a new piece by email, and it's shipped extremely quickly. But there doesn't seem to be control over quality. The second back piece has the same problem. :-( BTW - one reviewer suggested opening up the packages before dragging it all upstairs. (I was by myself when the shipment arrived, too - it's quite heavy.) Anyway, I did that! Thanks for the idea! Saved much sweat.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The mattress burgundy mattess is a little more purple than I expected, as someone else experienced. And I think the plugs for the arm rest holes are for a lighter wood than I selected.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Overall, I'd say it's above average - especially for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fine
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Only time O failed me
 from St. Louis, MO,  Jun 23, 2011

I have ordered multiple times from Overstock and have always been pleased. Actually I still am but the warehouse that shipped the Mission Style frame failed to inspect the material prior to shipping. One arm had part of the end broken/split and the other side had deep gouges in the wood. Because I was in a time restraint, I did not return the arms/sides for replacement, I instead purchased construction grade glue and repaired the broken/split arm and the other arm I purchased matching stain to cover the gouges and scratches. There needs to be better inspection of the items prior to shipping. The reason I know this originated at the warehouse is because the packaging was not damaged. The instructions could be a bit clearer, it took me about two hours to put together and I'm 65 and female. If I can do it anyone can. All in all it was a great buy with the exception of the repairs I had to do. If it had arrived in perfect condition this would have been well worth the money I spent. If you order it and it's in great shape you will not be disappointed in your purchase. I will continue to order from Overstock; but I hope their execs take the hint and improve inspections prior to shipment. That would make for happier customers!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? The color was as depicted in the ad
  • How is the quality of the product? The frame and the mattress much higher quality then I had anticipated. Pleasant surprise
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? The futon is everything and more then how it was described.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 from Aurora, NY,  Jun 15, 2011

First of all, this shipped SO FAST! I ordered it on a Thursday, went away for the weekend, and it was on the porch when I got home on Sunday. Plus, shipping was free. As for the futon, I was nervous because of all of the reviews about how hard it was to put together, but being an avid ikea customer, I'm good at assembling furniture. It took me about an hour by myself, and there were two places in which I struggled-the holes didn't line up so it was hard to get the seat screwed onto the frame, and there's a piece which goes in the middle to hold together the seat and the back which I struggled with. Otherwise, no problem! The bag holding the screws did rip, so open the box VERY carefully. The futon is super super comfortable as a bed, both the dog and I LOVE it, however, because it's so heavy I can't get it to convert to a sofa without help, so I can't comment on how it is as a sofa, but I bought it primarily as a bed, so no big deal. Bottom line, don't be scared by the assembly woes, go for it! You wont' regret it!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Great!
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very comfy
 from Alabama,  Jun 14, 2011

Not as hard to put together as I thought. Just be sure to organize all your parts before you start and expect lots of leftovers. Parts are not in a bag and had to check and recheck the boxes for little washers and screws. The color for medium oak was much lighter than expected. Would not have been happy if it were to be a focal point in the room but will make do.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? good quality
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? I felt the color is much lighter.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Frustration
 from Chi, IL,  Jun 1, 2011

One of the most frustrating assembly jobs I've ever undertaken! The bolt holes on the connectors for the seat & back are smaller than should be & poorly aligned. Consequently, starting many of the bolts is a pain. Add to that the hex socket rounding out & all you can do is find some pliers & hope to keep your patience. This took about 6 hrs all told - should have taken 2, tops, if the parts had fit. Once together, it's fine - the mattress is comfortable, though heavy. I still would not recommend the aggravation.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Fine - once assembled
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice futon, nightmare to put together
 from East Jordan, Michigan,  May 15, 2011

Unless you have an engineering degree, and a set of welders tools, this takes forever to put together. The instructions weren't very clear, and one fourth of the holes were too small to accept the screws provided. We put it together without them (AFTER SEVERAL HOURS OF TRYING EVERYTHING) and hope it holds, but I have never seen such poor design in all my life. I wouldnt recommend this one. Im giving it an average rating because the quality of the mattress and frame is nice, IF you ever get it put together

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? nice for the price
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful!
 from Marion, IL,  May 12, 2011

I was skeptical in purchasing this product, but it is truly wonderful. The wood (mahogany) matched my office furniture, the mattress color (navy) matched my curtains. We were concerned about putting the futon together, but it wasn't bad. My husband tried it out as soon as he was finished and took an hour nap. He said it was very comfortable and I agree! Don't be afraid to purchase this product! BTW, it got here in record time...ordered on a Saturday and was here on Wednesday...AMAZING!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Super Futon!
 from Coatesville, PA,  Apr 25, 2011

This futon arrived in two different packages on two different days. The packages are about 55 pounds and 75 pounds respectively. Please have a way to bring in the boxes. It took me about 3 hours to put this futon together (alone), so it was not a really long time. The frame is pretty stiff when changing from a sofa to a bed. It takes a lot to make this transition. The only other issue I have is with the mattress. It has an odor that has lingered for a couple of weeks. I Febreeze it every other day, but I can still smell it when I use the futon. All in all, I am very pleased with this futon. It serves its purpose of being a sofa in a small room that I am turning into a den and will enable me to have someplace to sleep for any visitors that I may have. It is very comfortable to sit on and is sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great bed
 from Manville, NJ,  Apr 15, 2011

My 6'3" son loves it...the mattress is so nice, its like being in a real bed....took 1 hour to put together..and looks wonderful in his room.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? very good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Futon
 from Spokane,WA,  Apr 13, 2011

The mattress and the frame are good quality and provide a nice comfortable and stable bed/couch for a person to use. I would have given the product 5 stars but it came with two parts that needed to be ordered because the holes were too small for the screws that were provided. Overstock customer support was very helpful and shipped out my parts asap but I think two bad parts in a set is not something you can grant excellence.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 76 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top