Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great vacuum for the price, some quirks
 from Huntington VT,  Jun 18, 2014

I did a bunch of research on canister vacuums because I was tired of the major components (power head especially) falling apart after 3-5 years. Usually the replacement cost of the power head is as much as the vacuum. I chose this vacuum over refurbished models of door to door sales only models because the quality was high at a reasonable price. I can't get a Dyson for this much, I can't even get a decent Kenmore for this much. Suction is terrific, and this thing will literally fill a bag to the point of almost bursting before you need to insert another. Try that with a bagless! People need to understand that this is made by a european company and is of similar quality to vacuums costing three times as much. Europeans don't have as many pile rugs as americans and thus the power head is a US only feature. The manual is obviously written by someone for whom english is a second language and the manual covers things that only apply to the euro model of the machine. Thus it can be a little confusing at first. The power switch on the handle only turns power on and off to the power head. It DOES NOT turn the power head on and off. That is done with a foot switch on the power head itself. Once you get the hang of this, it works quite well. Just leave the handle switch on all the time. The attachments are hidden quite cleverly in a small door on the top of the machine, which again takes a little while to find. The floor head has two modes, set by a flipper switch on the head; one has brushes and is intended for wood floors I'm guessing, the other drops the metal head directly on the floor, which is a mode you'd use on floors that won't scratch: tile, stone, concrete etc. As I mentioned above, in Europe you only get the floor head, not the power head, and the metal plate is what you'd use on your short pile area rugs as well. Another reviewer complained that the attachments wouldn't stay connected. You're not pushing them on far enough. There are no little spring loaded plastic buttons to break here. Other than the power head the attachments are friction fit. If I get more than 5 years out of this machine, I will call this money well spent

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good value for a good machine
 from Bismarck, ND,  Nov 23, 2013

This vacuum replaced an upright I'd been using for a few years. The power head has a low profile so it fits under furniture better than the bulky upright did. The edge suction is good, and the floor and rug brush does an amazing job - I can vacuum my area rugs without sucking the rug up, and it actually picks up lint from the surface. It's amazingly quiet and easily maneuverable. It seems to be sturdily built with few plastic parts. The only cons I've noticed so far are the poor owner's manual and trouble locating the onboard attachments. If the cord were about three feet longer, that would be great! All in all, this is a good vacuum for the price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Glad I gave ProLux a chance!
 from Columbia, SC,  Oct 1, 2014

I stumbled upon the ProLux brand when looking for a replacement for my 2nd Hoover Canister Vac. I was not familiar with the ProLux brand and was a little skeptical at first. After a ton of reading and inspection, I decided to give it a shot. The reasonable cost, warranty and return policy made this decision easy. After getting everything setup, I was pleasantly surprised at how familiar and solid this model was. While it's a bit loud as some point out, let's not forget, it's a vacuum cleaner. I associate this with suction power, and it doesn't disappoint. We have had this model for a few months and feel like it was a great decision!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
The worst vacuum ever
 from Indiana,  Sep 9, 2014

This made-in-China vacuum is way too heavy for us to manipulate and we are 30-year old!!! The tube from the canister is also shorter than usual which means that you need to drag the canister around you want it or not. On top of everything the canister does not have any handle that makes the dragging any easier. Anyhow, the reason why we purchased this vacuum was to be able to vacuum without making much noise. This bit was also disappointing. The vacuum has 4 or 5 different noise levels with their corresponding differences in suction power... By default whenever you turn the vacuum on the noisiest of the options gets activated (bad!!). The less noisy options have very poor suction power so you end up having to use the noisiest. Overall, a lemon. I would never ever recommend, especially at that price!

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Vacuum +++
 from Greenwood, IN,  Jun 19, 2014

I was looking for canister vacuum with power and acceptable price for long time. Personally, I think it is so ridiculous to pay $500 and up for the vacuum, any vacuum. Because the name of the vacuum was unfamiliar I overlooked it. And one day I decided to read the reviews. I bought it. It was the right decision. Very powerful. I have dog and a cat and this little machine do the big job. Very quiet for vacuum with this kind of power. The bags are better. They are not cheap paper bags. Nice design. Beater-bar is steel and that is a plus. It is lighter than it looks. I love the indicator that tells you when the bag is full. Love this vacuum and wouldn't trade for any other especially at that price.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great machine!
 from St. Louis, MO,  Apr 3, 2014

This machine works wonderfully, on every kind of floor. My only peeve is that it has the on/off switch on top and is somewhat difficult to use.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Disappointed
 from Missouri,  Mar 1, 2014

Purchased it after Xmas when on sale use it 1-2 a week. Was working fine then the beater brush stopped working and is getting no power. Back to using the cheap upright and this will be the last time spend so much on a vacuum they are all of such poor built quality better off getting one you are okay with throwing in the trash.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lemon
 from NH, NH,  Feb 20, 2014

I unfortunately only got a month's use out of this vacuum before the carpet attachment stopped working. Overstock sent me two replacement parts that were not the problem and when I called to try and get the third was told the item was out of stock and to contact the warranty department for the vacuum and has proceeded to give me wrong contact numbers and emails. At first I was happy with the customer service and now I am very unhappy. I am currently in the possession of a non working vacuum and out $XXX. When it was working the vacuum did a decent job but not worth the price tag. The canister is very heavy and doesn't move well on carpets. The suction is very good. The non carpet attachment falls off because there is no secure way to attach it while you are vacuuming.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worked good for the first few months then...
 from Gilbert AZ,  Feb 13, 2014

The power switch on the handle never worked for turning on the power head, but it did turn on with the switch on the canister, so I continued to use it that way for next few months. Then after a few months the power head stopped working all together. I contacted Overstock and they would not address it because it was over the 90 days. So, I got in touch with the company that sells the product and they sent me out another power head for the vacuum. When that arrived I immediately attached to the vacuum and to my surprise it did not work!! So I contacted the company again and they said I needed to ship back the entire vacuum and pay shipping costs, in order for them to move forward. I shipped the original vacuum back to the company and they found it to be defective and shipped me a brand new Prolux Stealth vacuum (they paid for the shipping it to me) It has been a month since I received the new replacement vacuum and today to my dismay when I turned on the power to start the power head it DID NOT WORK!!! Tried to unhook it, hook it up again, checked connections....same problem as before! Cannot use the vacuum on my carpets without the power head!!! :-( I'm contacting the company again today in hopes of a refund because I do not believe this vacuum is a quality vacuum, even though its got good looks. My recommendation is to go with a "name brand" vacuum.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ProLux Stealth Vacuum
 from Fort Wayne, Indiana,  Feb 3, 2014

This is my second ProLux that I am purchasing. I bought one last year and it is truly wonderful, quiet it allows you to even talk on the phone if you need too! I am buying one now for my daughter! She loved using it am my house and now she can have her own. It even has a reuseable bag if you care to be "green", or you can use disposable bags! It is a great price without shorting on quality and suction. You won't be disappointed.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Over all a good vacuum.
 from Mass.,  Jan 10, 2014

Over all this is a good vacuum cleaner. I was looking to replace a 10 year old Kenmore. Previously I had tried a newer Kenmore, a Dyson and Electrolux and returned them all. The Pro Lux does a great job cleaning and is very powerful, love that! My complaint is the controls, they are very inconvenient to use. All the controls on this vacuum require bending over to use them, this would be the perfect vacuum if the controls were on the handle rather than the vacuum itself. Even trying to remove the power head requires bending, my old Kenmore was much easier because you could remove it using a lever you pushed with your foot.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fair
 from VA,  Jan 3, 2014

Vacuum does have good suction, but cheaply made. Cord retract broke after only one use. Have returned it to overstock and now awaiting a refund. Will not be repurchasing if vacuum restocks.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
So Far So Good...
 from Thibodaux, LA,  Dec 10, 2013

I purchased this vacuum in hopes that the quality would be as good as was stated in several reviews from other websites. It is a very nice quality vacuum. My only "gripe", if you will, is that the canister is rather wide/bulky and somewhat heavy to pull around, especially on carpet. The hose is a bit stiff and can be hard to get in the proper position when vacuuming, but I'm assuming that is because it's so new. Suction is really great! I had an old Electrolux canister vacuum prior to buying this one, and it seemed easier/lighter to lug around for some reason (could just be my imagination or that I was so used to that design). Suction on my Electrolux was good, but this vacuum seems to have better suction...of course it's new, so that may be why. One other concern of mine is the plastic piece that holds the bag in place seems somewhat flimsy and I worry that it may someday break, leaving me with a vacuum that may be rendered useless if the bag cannot be secured. Overall, though, this vacuum is of great quality so far. I've only used it about 3 or 4 times since buying it, but it has been good so far. For the price, I think the value and quality are great. I couldn't give 5 stars due to the fact that it is somewhat wide/bulky and because of the bag holder seeming somewhat flimsy.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top