Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
Get Ready For Memorial Day
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Labor intensive but worth it!
 from Kansas City, MO,  May 31, 2013

I carefully considered the reviews before purchasing this desk. Reviews like... will need power tools, hire a handyman, two adults, takes five hours etc. had me concerned, but nonetheless I wanted this desk so I ventured forth. I single handedly put this beast together myself in about three and a half hours and I am petite woman. I did have to open the boxes in the garage and carry the large pieces in one by one. I meticulously placed camlock screws for the better part of an hour and a half, but that was truly the hardest work of it. I used a rubber lined gardening glove to ease the torture on my hand from the screw driver handle and it also allowed me to grip more effectively. I did have to use a power tool for a few spots that were not predrilled purposely. Though the directions don't say a drill is required, I don't know how you'd do it otherwise unless you possessed a magically powered wood drilling hand of steel. So, overall awesome looking desk, no problem with drawer alignment as other reviewers stated, but quite beastly to assemble. I tamed it, so can you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
ordeal
 from Delivered near Washington DC,  Dec 10, 2010

It is a good deal, a solid, beautiful, reasonably priced desk. But it gave me a hard time The two delivery packages are so heavy as to cause problems to a simple city dweller like me. One of them was over 80 pounds. I had to help the UPS to unload and put it in my garage. Then, as most other reviewers say, the assembly was difficult and laborious. I am old and without the assistance of a capable relative I would not have succeeded. A final item is that the desk plate arrived with a longitudinal splint, end to end. I have no doubts that Overstock would have taken it back and replaced but the perspective of packaging it and starting over again was too much to contemplate. We found another alternative. I enjoy my beautiful desk now but frankly I am not sure that it should be offered by an organization with the profile of Overstock without special warnings.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased!
 from Reston, VA,  Sep 22, 2010

This is a handsome desk, dark brown wood. If you want to have it in the middle of the room, instead of against a wall, it looks just fine since the back is finished. It has a large top space which is great because I fit my printer, laptop, a catch-all basket and a little more on the top. I put the whole thing together myself, my fiancee helped me to put the top on because it was so heavy but otherwise, as long as you have a hammer and small power drill or screwdriver you'll be all set (though I do recommend the power drill as it helps speed things up). I only had one problem with the left side drawer - they pre-drilled the holes for the gliding bracket too close to the front so the drawer doesn't close flush against the desk. I could probably go back and redrill the holes to move the gliding bracket back but it doesn't cause a problem so it's fine. No damage when it was delivered and it arrived in a timely fashion! I'm very happy! Also, the front pull out drawer is great for pencils and small odds and ends. Would definitely recommend if you need a lot of workspace!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Few Issues
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 12, 2009

I am experienced at assembling furniture. The directions were fair, takes about 5 hours to assemble. We love the look and the materials are quite good. However, some of the holes predrilled for assembly parts were "off" and I had to adjust the location of the holes for proper function (center drawer hit top of desk when closing, etc.) Not all parts fit perfectly and the drawers don't align exactly. We bought for the style and got it, but these need some work.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid and Beautiful.
 from Chicago, IL,  Nov 10, 2010

This is one amazing quality and handsome looking desk. Definitely takes three hours to assemble WITH an electric power drill. Do yourself a favor and buy a power drill if you don't have one. Otherwise be prepared to spend 5 to 6 hours assembling this. There are about 100 screws :) The top panel along is about 70 lbs. Assembly instructions are very good. When you assemble the draw slides, make sure you follow the instruction graphics to put the screws in the appropriate holes, you can easily mess this up and lead to more work later or uneven drawers. For me the toughest part was that when putting the top panel on, two wooden dowels wouldn't fit in nicely so I had to remove them, which is totally fine. The desk is still as sturdy as it needs to be. This desk is easily over twice of its price sold at overstock elsewhere. Very deep and large. Take a tape out and get a sense of how big it is by reading the dimensions on the product details page.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
waste of time
 Jul 14, 2015

Ordered twice and the order got cancelled both the time due to "low inventory". Really? It still shows 'available'.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Take your time
 Jul 8, 2015

Beautiful desk for a very good price but be prepared to take your time. It does take at least 6 hours to put this together carefully. The top came with a large crack which they replaced no problem. Really a terrific deal for the money.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice big and attractive... and manly
 Jul 2, 2015

This desk shares space inour living room. It sits behind our sofa and blends in well with our dark wood furniture. It's clean lines are stately. It's also a comfortable work surface with plenty of storage. There is a big filing drawer on the left that can hold either legal or letter hanging folders depending on which rod you use. There is a wide shallow middle drawer. And there are two deeper narrow drawers on the right. I like that the legs are furniture style. It keeps the VERY large desk from feeling too big for the space.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Office Desk
 May 18, 2015

I approached the purchase of this desk with the obvious skepticism - buying it online etc. I had eyed a similar looking desk at Crate and Barrel that was double the price of this desk for a while hoping that they would drop the price. Months went by and I decided to look online - I spent hours on Overstock reading all reviews. I finally bit the bullet and bought this desk. Honestly, the quality of the desk is comparable to that at the Crate and Barrel store at half the price. It took my wife and me 4 leisurely hours to put this together. I'm so glad I made this purchase!!! I would absolutely recommend this desk. All my friends and family have had great things to say about the desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really?
 from IL,  Jun 21, 2014

Could have done better online at the bidding website, you know the one, for a lot less money and aggravation. Took a full day to assemble. Needed two people and a professor to assemble and understand the horribly written instructions. No doubt, written in a foreign country. The desk is almost entirely particle board and every single aspect of this desk had to be assembled. Have your toolbox ready to go. I am a novice at assembly and by the end of the day, I wanted to set this desk on fire. I would have returned it, however once out of the original box it came in, there was no way it was going back in. And the return shipping would have been outrageous, as I do not receive the same discounts afforded to big companies. All in all, I wish I had never ordered it and will probably never return to overstock.com.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great style, monstrous assembly
 from Houston, TX,  May 6, 2014

Only good thing about this desk are the style and wood material. I would not have purchased if I knew what a nightmare it was to put together. I've assembled A LOT of furniture. Most of my furniture has required assembly. This by far has been the most difficult item I've ever had to assemble. Assembly has take 6 hours and still not complete bc now I have to reach out to Overstock to request more camlocks.The camlocks are made of some type of plastic hybrid material and I had 10 break during assembly. They dont provide extra. So with broken camlocks, there is zero chance of the piece not being wobbly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!
 Mar 8, 2016

Love the desk. It was definitely difficult to put together but once it was done, it looked beautiful. It was larger than expected but fits the room very well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Warped
 Jan 1, 2016

The desk top warped after a few months so the middle drawer hit every rim you open it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 Nov 12, 2015

Extremely happy with this desk. It took a few hours to put together and the instructions were not great, but the finished product is very sturdy, sleek and of high quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value, beautiful desk.
 Nov 10, 2015

I was concerned after reading all the reviews. Most said the desk took a hours and hours to put together and the instructions were poor. The hardest part was getting the boxes into my basement office! Desk went together easily, it took about an hour. Use a screw gun on a low torque setting so you don't strip the wood. Get a second set of hands to install the top, I didn't and it gave me a bit of a challenge lining everything up. Drawers lined up nicely, however they aren't as smooth rolling as I would have expected but certainly not bad at all. The desk is all wood with the exception of the drawer boxes. The face of all the drawers are solid wood as are the desk sides, desk front and top. Terrific value for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
President Desk
 Oct 29, 2015

This is a Beautiful Desk, just what we were looking for and ample space for Two Computer Screens. There were a couple of problems with directions and the holes for the drawer runners thought. My Husband has become an Expert in Assembly of Furniture and he always lays all the pieces out and reads the Instructions twice, so when he mounted the drawer runners and found a problem he solved it very quickly. The holes were not in the correct position and just needed to be re-drilled. It is a Hardwood Product and has a wonderful finish and it's wonderful to find that now days. Thanks Overstock!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Oct 21, 2015

Very clean lines and very good quality! I love this desk. Large working space is very nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 Aug 31, 2015

So sophisticated. worth the hours it took to put together.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid desk, but not without issues
 Aug 10, 2015

two packages, shipped same day, arrived on different days... wasted a weekend waiting for the second box. packaged well and survived the rigors of UPS. Instructions/part labels did not match-up. Hmmmm an hour of trial and error. Short three screws and predrilled holes on one drawer were off 1/.2 an inch. Assembly time more than I cared for and I usually enjoy this type of effort. Not all of the boards are wood, some are, drawers are some sort of particle board. All-n-all, fairly solid desk, but not without issue.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk
 Apr 21, 2015

Excellent construction and value. Especially for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 88 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought