Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Love this desk
 Apr 21, 2015

Excellent construction and value. Especially for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Writing Desk
 Mar 31, 2015

The desk is gorgeous! I love that the back is finished so you can have it facing out in the room. It did take a little time to put together but it was worth it for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, Great Value!
 Mar 13, 2015

I have been looking for a desk FOREVER! I have been to local furniture stores and the prices were not reasonable (over $1,000 for a desk). I did not want low grade laminate, but also did not want to pay $1,000. This desk is perfect! It is very heavy and sturdy and looks beautiful. It is made of real wood in all of the places that it counts. Some reviews talked about how long it took to put together. I did it myself and thought it went fine, although there were some heavy pieces that I needed to play with and it did take some time and putting the top (flat writing surface) on the toughest to ensure all of the hardward matched up to the holes properly. My husband just watched in amazement, and in the event I needed an extra hand which was not often. I would recommend it!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent piece of furniture!
 Dec 22, 2014

Husband moved his office home, and wanted him to have a nice desk that would accommodate the type of work he does. This desk met all the criteria. He's been very happy with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Writing Desk
 from Los Angeles,  Dec 15, 2014

This desk is just as it is in the picture online. The wood is of good quality. It is sturdy and the measurements online were accurate too. It was difficult to put together and the directions weren't really clear. I had to hire someone to put it together ultimately But I think it was worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Desk!
 from Houston, TX,  Oct 13, 2014

I admit I was a little apprehensive ordering this desk due to other reviews about the difficulty in putting it together, but I had been looking for a desk for MONTHS and this was the only one I liked. I am so glad I bought this. It looks a lot more expensive than what I paid for it. It is a pain to put together as it comes in two flat boxes, but I managed to put the whole thing together by myself with a screwdriver over the course of a few days (the only help from my husband came in moving the boxes from the front porch into the house). I'm not going to lie, putting this thing together is very labor intensive, but it's very doable. The directions are fairly straightforward and easy to follow. My only suggestion is to lay the top of the desk flat on the floor when attaching it to the rest of the desk. It's easier to fit all of the pieces together. Very, very happy with this purchase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome desk
 from North Pole, Alaska,  Jul 12, 2014

Great desk. Very sturdy. I was able to put the desk together alone and it wasn't very difficult. The hardest part was putting the top on, but I think that part would be difficult even if you had someone to help with it. Overall I love the desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant, quality desk!
 from New Jersey,  May 23, 2014

I placed my order on May 11th and got the package on May 19th. I am very pleased by the quality, elegant, and sophisticated look of my new desk. The assembly wasn't as difficult as described by other buyers. If you are looking for a bigger size desk, I would truly recommend it to you.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking desk, B***h to put together!
 from Rhode Island,  Mar 18, 2014

Arrived quickly with some broken and missing pieces. New pieces came quickly. Great customer service and communication. Directions not great and took some trial and error to get to finished product. Don't tighten metal things too tight, they break to easy! Ended up going to hardware store to improvise with some with l brackets. Overall looks great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too Many Replacement Parts Needed
 from St. Louis Park, MN,  Mar 17, 2014

The package comes in two boxes that are shipped at different times. I received the first box, which was the top. The top had a large crack in it. I contacted the customer service department and they were very helpful, and I got a new part ordered within a couple of days. I received the second box a couple of days after the first box had arrived and one of the two sides was broken. I again contacted the customer service department and they were very helpful but again ordering the new part took another couple of days. We were very frustrated that we had to get two replacement parts and that it had to be handled separately because they shipped separately. Additionally, as another customer mentioned we had to drill new holes for the file drawer because the original holes were in the wrong location, which caused the drawer not to shut properly. Although the quality of the desk is very good and it looks great when put together, the hassle of having to get multiple replacements and drilling new holes for the file cabinet make me not want to recommend this product to anyone. This is my first time ordering from Overstock.com and so I am not sure if this is typical of their products but it makes me very hesitant to buy anything from them again.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad a purchase
 from Clifton Park, NY,  Dec 13, 2013

Very bad a purchase, the installation is difficult, some of the holes can not a pair.This is a failed to buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 from Venice, FL,  Oct 8, 2013

Extremely hard to put together. Way too many parts. Two cam locks broke while my husband was putting it together. My husband is an auto technician and it took him over an hour to put the desk together. Now that it is together, I really like it. Not for armatures.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Desk - Not too difficult
 from Cbus, Ohio. Championship City. Michigan still sux,  Sep 22, 2013

My wife wanted a very similar desk from Crate & Barrel which cost $*,***. Before agreeing, I figured I would take a look around from something comparable. That's when I stumbled across this beauty. The quality is right on par with Crate & Barrel. I was thinking it would be a total PITA to put together based upon the reviews, but its not. The people who complained of the drawers sticking out too far didn't read the directions on what hole position to use on the drawer rails. It's not difficult if you can read as well as the average 7th grader. Definately use a power screwdriver or light duty drill. It took me about 2.5 hours to assemble. The only issue I had was with the cam lock bolts, they are low quality and break easily. I ended up two short due to breakage and had to run to Home Depot to pick up a few extra to finish the last drawer. All in all, quality product, not too difficult to assemble (although I'm not in a hurry to do it again). Absolutely worth $***.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of Work!
 from Chester, MD,  Sep 20, 2013

This desk is very attractive....once you finally get it put together. It wasn't hard to put together, but VERY time consuming. I wish there were more pieces in the collection to add to my home office. The put-together piece is quite good looking. It's solid and looks quite nice in my home. If you're up for the challenge, you won't be disappointed with the finished product. It took my husband about 2 1/2 hours to complete the task. We think it was well worth it due to the low price of the piece and the quick and *** delivery.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 from Dallas,  Aug 23, 2013

I have had this desk for 6 months and have been very pleased. Great value and quality.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!
 from Idaho,  Aug 3, 2013

We received the desk in the as advertised two heavy boxes. Looking at all the parts was very intimidating but my husband took his time and was very slow and methodical about putting it together. He completed the task by himself (not necessarily recommended) and it took about 3 - 4 hours. The desk looks GREAT! The color is Halifax brown which is darker than I thought it would be but is perfect for our home office.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice wood, poor manufacturing quality
 from Texas,  Jul 26, 2013

There are a lot of potential positives to this desk: solid wood, easily matchable dark brown color, nice lines, lots of table top space, variety of drawers. I could see how this would be a great desk if it was easy or even just reliable to put together. Despite being an *** assembly veteran, this desk was a royal pain to put together. Per other reviews, definitely took many hours and an electric screwdriver is very helpful. The quality of manufacturing is just incredibly shoddy: the front panel of the 2 small drawers did not line up flush, the large file drawer sticks out awkwardly, and the top was impossible to align with the bottom. It's definitely much easier to try align with 2 people. We took a cue from a previous reviewer and tried to align the bottom on the top instead of vice versa as listed in the instructions. That way, we could at least have a better view where the alignment problems were. An entire row of camlock screws on a middle panel did not align with the top. Another row of wooden dowels were removed. At that point, the top and bottom would at least somewhat fit together, but still a sub-cm gap all around after tightening. It at least sticks together now and the drawers hide the gap. So it's borderline functional. Definitely not worth the hassle. At this price, it should at least reliably fit together. Have had lots of success ordering finished products from overstock, but will never get anything that requires assembly. It's just not worth the effort and risk given that returns aren't a realistic option (can't even dream of disassembling and trying to repack and ship the 130 lbs of material). Very disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mediocre
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid desk, great value.
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 14, 2013

This desk takes 5hrs to assemble, but I did it over 2 days...drawers first, then the rest, and knowing it was time consuming in advance made the time spent enjoyable. I went slow and methodical to ensure a tight-solid fit. The parts and cuts are extremely precise, so if you follow the directions and take your time, everything fits perfectly together. It is quite elegant since it stands on legs, and even though the piece is large, it is not overbearing because you can see the floor space under the desk. Also a smart choice if you have forced air vents at kick-board height. I only needed help to lay the desk top onto the assembled desk. For the price, I consider this an excellent buy and highly recommend this piece if the dimensions are right for your space and you strive for a clean minimalist appearance. I have a laptop, lamp, and mousepad on the surface top. But there is enough room if you want a small printer too. This desk was the perfect find for my home office. Mark in NY. (arrived timely and packaging was very good; no damage at all.)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid once assembled.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk, but takes work to assemble!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 25, 2013

This desk is beautiful and well constructed. Like other reviewers, assembly took about 5 hours and definitely needed 2 adults to complete it. We ran into problems with the last step when we tried to attach the top to the bottom frame. It wouldn't go into place following the instructions (setting the top on the bottom frame) so we put the top upside on the floor and set the bottom frame (upside down) onto the top piece. We used shims to help float it above the top of the desk before we could get the screws, dowels and holes to align. In spite of all the work assembling it, I love the desk and would highly recommend it. Just be prepared to set aside the time to assemble it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as shown in the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was right on track with actual product
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely wooden desk
 from Florida,  Jan 17, 2013

Very nice heavy wooden desk for the price. It was fairly difficult to put together even with two assemblers, one person reading the instructions and 4-5 hours. Dowels and screws on desk didn't line up with the holes on the top as stated in other reviews. Definitely not a one person job. File drawer doesn't line up, again just as stated in other reviews but my husband is working on it. Overall we are very satisfied with the desk. Just what we hoped.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? nice finish, pretty much the same color as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? okay, really need to read the reviews before purchasing.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 89 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 5 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought