Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 71 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Nice wood, poor manufacturing quality
 from Texas,  Jul 26, 2013

There are a lot of potential positives to this desk: solid wood, easily matchable dark brown color, nice lines, lots of table top space, variety of drawers. I could see how this would be a great desk if it was easy or even just reliable to put together. Despite being an *** assembly veteran, this desk was a royal pain to put together. Per other reviews, definitely took many hours and an electric screwdriver is very helpful. The quality of manufacturing is just incredibly shoddy: the front panel of the 2 small drawers did not line up flush, the large file drawer sticks out awkwardly, and the top was impossible to align with the bottom. It's definitely much easier to try align with 2 people. We took a cue from a previous reviewer and tried to align the bottom on the top instead of vice versa as listed in the instructions. That way, we could at least have a better view where the alignment problems were. An entire row of camlock screws on a middle panel did not align with the top. Another row of wooden dowels were removed. At that point, the top and bottom would at least somewhat fit together, but still a sub-cm gap all around after tightening. It at least sticks together now and the drawers hide the gap. So it's borderline functional. Definitely not worth the hassle. At this price, it should at least reliably fit together. Have had lots of success ordering finished products from overstock, but will never get anything that requires assembly. It's just not worth the effort and risk given that returns aren't a realistic option (can't even dream of disassembling and trying to repack and ship the 130 lbs of material). Very disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mediocre
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid desk, great value.
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 14, 2013

This desk takes 5hrs to assemble, but I did it over 2 days...drawers first, then the rest, and knowing it was time consuming in advance made the time spent enjoyable. I went slow and methodical to ensure a tight-solid fit. The parts and cuts are extremely precise, so if you follow the directions and take your time, everything fits perfectly together. It is quite elegant since it stands on legs, and even though the piece is large, it is not overbearing because you can see the floor space under the desk. Also a smart choice if you have forced air vents at kick-board height. I only needed help to lay the desk top onto the assembled desk. For the price, I consider this an excellent buy and highly recommend this piece if the dimensions are right for your space and you strive for a clean minimalist appearance. I have a laptop, lamp, and mousepad on the surface top. But there is enough room if you want a small printer too. This desk was the perfect find for my home office. Mark in NY. (arrived timely and packaging was very good; no damage at all.)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid once assembled.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk, but takes work to assemble!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 25, 2013

This desk is beautiful and well constructed. Like other reviewers, assembly took about 5 hours and definitely needed 2 adults to complete it. We ran into problems with the last step when we tried to attach the top to the bottom frame. It wouldn't go into place following the instructions (setting the top on the bottom frame) so we put the top upside on the floor and set the bottom frame (upside down) onto the top piece. We used shims to help float it above the top of the desk before we could get the screws, dowels and holes to align. In spite of all the work assembling it, I love the desk and would highly recommend it. Just be prepared to set aside the time to assemble it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as shown in the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was right on track with actual product
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
lovely wooden desk
 from Florida,  Jan 17, 2013

Very nice heavy wooden desk for the price. It was fairly difficult to put together even with two assemblers, one person reading the instructions and 4-5 hours. Dowels and screws on desk didn't line up with the holes on the top as stated in other reviews. Definitely not a one person job. File drawer doesn't line up, again just as stated in other reviews but my husband is working on it. Overall we are very satisfied with the desk. Just what we hoped.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? nice finish, pretty much the same color as pictured
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? okay, really need to read the reviews before purchasing.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk but horrible drawers!
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 31, 2012

The item comes in two packages; one is long and weights around 80 pounds and the other is smaller and around 50 pounds. The pieces are easy to assemble. It took me about 2 hours by myself and you need a hammer and screwdriver (electric would be handy). Everything was fantastic except for the 2 small drawers that are on the right side of the table. The assembly was simple enough but the rollers are not pre screwed on the drawer causing cracks at the screw in locations. The bottom piece is not held in tightly and moves around. The drawers are not fitting properly and takes more than the desired force to open. Wish this was done a bit better and I would have bumped it to 4 stars.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Wood is great but the drawers leave a lot to be desired.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk, lengthly put-together
 from Chicago, IL,  Dec 12, 2012

This desk is shipped in two large, heavy boxes. All materials arrived undamaged and well-packed. True to the other reviews, this desk took myself and a friend 2 hours and 45 minutes to put together (I timed it!). I would highly recommend having somebody help you put this together. The directions were very well written and diagrams clear; just pay close attention when reading. The trickiest part of putting the desk together was getting the large top piece flush with the rest of the desk, and then some body maneuvering to reach some fasteners. Also a bit tricky were the many, many coil-like fasteners used to hold the desk together. They are not my favorite type of screw, as it is sometimes hard to turn them tightly enough (have a hex screwdriver ready!). Overall, however, this desk was easier to put together than many similar items, and it is a beautiful, large desk. The drawers slide very smoothly and the whole thing is well-constructed. A total of four drawers: one file drawer on the left, one long shallow drawer in the middle, and two medium-sized drawers on the right. I find the drawers ample space for my needs. The file drawer hangs files so that they face in to the desk, i.e. if you are sitting in a chair and pull open the drawer, the file names will be facing you, which makes it easy to find files. I am very happy with this purchase and with this item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Matched perfectly
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly What I'd Been Looking For
 from Springfield, MA,  Nov 29, 2012

I was a little hesitant to buy this desk after reading the reviews online that talked about troubles assembling the desk, but the description was exactly what I'd been looking for, so I took a chance and ordered the desk. I am so glad that I did. It is of excellent quality and if you take your time, you will be able to assemble it correctly. Close reading of the directions is recommended. This is a large surfaced desk with beautiful lines and lots of style. It looks great with the rubberwood bookcase also for sale on this site. The finishes are very close and the pieces are similar in style.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 from saratoga, ny,  Nov 9, 2012

Spent a lot time looking for a home office desk. Love this one. It's very large and made of wood!! Ample storage and very smart looking. Did have a bit of trouble putting it together. Definitely needed extra set of hands and power tools. There is a problem with the large, file drawer. After following directions and using the predrilled holes, the drawer does not quite slide in all of the way. Still trying to figure out if it is worth trying to fix. Love that this desk is finished on all sides and looks great facing into room.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? as expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really "presidential" looking piece!
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 31, 2012

No doubt it's a nice piece when put together. Yes, assembly is tedious and took us 4-5hours even with power tools. If you don't have power tools, be prepared to spend an entire day working on this 'cos there are many many screws to be put in. We didn't have any problems aligning the drawers and filing cabinet....you'll have to follow the instructions carefully. We did spend some time going through all the instructions before the start of the assembly. It's definitely not a 1-person job especially when attaching the top part to the lower frame/legs. We had quite some difficulties attaching the top 'cos it was really really hard to get all the screws and dowels to line up exactly. It'd be good at this point to rope in more help (I think more than 2 persons would be great!). We did finally manage to get all the stars to align and boy it sure took us a lot of time and effort and we almost gave up in the process. It turned out looking great though. If you are looking for an easy put together piece (or if you don't have power tools)...skip this. But if you are looking for style/design and quality....this is a great piece.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great home office desk
 from San Diego,  Oct 7, 2012

I was looking for a larger home office desk for my laptop, monitor and general office & home stuff. This desk was the perfect choice. The size is excellent without being overly large; but with good capacity. Assembly is a 6 out of 10 for your typical handyman. Parts are high quality, so it assembles correctly - but it will take time and possibly more than 2 hands at time. Be patient the final result should be a solid item.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Spot on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. high
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a perfect desk for a home office.
 from Bend Oregon,  Sep 25, 2012

This is a beautiful desk, it has all the drawers you need and a large top for my computer, file holders and plenty of room left over to spread out my paper work. A perfect home office desk.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from Bay Area, SF,  Sep 11, 2012

I spent few days researching home office desks in stores and on-line. I like mid-centure design, modern, simple and very functional. I saw similar desks in **** for close to $$$$. I also wanted to find a larger size desk with few drawers. I absolutely love this desk. I like the way the file drawer opens. Middle drawer is not made for keyboard which I like. It is very sturdy desk with lots of storage.. looks great. It took my husband (a carpenter) 4-5 hours to put it together. The only thing I would recommend is to get a table cover, at least a computer pad. I had couple of things drop to the table and left dents easily. So I decided to order a glass cover to make sure this desk will last for a long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very close to picture
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
THIS IS THE BEST DESK EVER
 from San Francisco, CA,  Sep 11, 2012

I love this desk! Putting it together took a long time but once assembled, it is just beautiful. Definitely worth the money and few hours it took to assemble it. My husband has since stolen the desk from me, which is fine, because I stole his couch. Even after a year, we still comment on it sometimes ("Wow, we really got a great deal on this desk!"). There is just one problem, and that is that the file drawer doesn't quite go in all the way. However, I am willing to bet that the problem resulted from assembly error.* It is barely perceptible though, and looks almost intentional, except that the drawers on the other side do go in all the way. Also, the box was SUPER HEAVY, and even though I'm a whiz at putting together furniture (seriously, I love it), the boxes were too much for me to get up the stairs by myself. *Partners, some advice: if your partner wants to help assemble the item and has experience assembling furniture, go ahead and let him or her help, even if she's a lady. In-laws, some advice: no matter how much you love your new daughter-in-law, if she wants to assemble her own desk, please let her do it. Otherwise, she might have to disassemble and reassemble it once you leave, which will be way more trouble. And you don't want to look like a big silly jerk, do you? :-)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very similar
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
President Writing Desk
 from Colorado,  Jul 23, 2012

I love this desk. It is quite large which is what I wanted. It looks quite nice. As other reviews indicated, it takes a good deal of time to assemble but worth it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Exactly what we were looking for!
 from Ohio,  Jun 16, 2012

We had looked for a perfect desk for about 1.5 years and finally found this desk. It is perfect! The only issue I had in assembly was that the file drawer was a challenge, as the predrilled holes did not work out. I was able to fix that. Overall, very pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome
 from San Francisco, CA,  Mar 24, 2012

Took a while to assemble, but such a solid desk in the end. Would have spent much more for equal or lesser quality. Looks amazing and is perfect for our needs.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very high quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handsome Desk Takes Two!
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Feb 29, 2012

This is a very handsome desk. I am not very experienced with assembling these things and I was able to do about 90% of it myself. The hardest part was lining up to very heavy desk top with the 30 or screws. Also, the file cabinet drawer assembly instructions are very unclear and I would argue just plain incorrect! I needed to get some expert help to finish off the top and the file drawer. But other than that glitch, all went pretty well. Two people can focus and assemble this desk in about an hour. Also, I did the assembly with simple hand tools. I think a power drill with a Phillip's bit would have really decreased assembly time. Get a buddy to help you with the desk top if you can. I about killed myself doing this alone!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was true to picture on Overstock
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
just beautiful
 from Portland, OR,  Feb 4, 2012

My husband and I are very pleased with our new desk. The lines are beautiful. The product is quality. One of the drawers requires a little extra push to close it, but I find that a minimal issue. It is heavy and it does take an evening to put it together. But totally worth the work!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? true to color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk!
 from Portland, OR,  Jan 27, 2012

This is a really nice desk. It is the exact size that I wanted and provides some nice storage without feeling bulky. I have had the desk for over a month now and I am so glad that I ordered this online and did not purchase the one I was looking at in my local furniture store. Patience is definitely a virtue! :-)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same color in person as on the site
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. This is a quality desk with nice weight and Just feels sturdy.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description of the product.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
grown up desk
 from frankfort, in,  Jan 22, 2012

my boyfriend needed a desk with a lot of space to write his music, and this works perfectly! i had some trouble with the first desk i received...the top was completely broken... cracked right down the middle into two pieces! this is the risk you take with any large piece of furniture though. overstock was very helpful and had a replacement shipped out within a few days. UPS on the other hand were not very helpful, but that's another story. i have a lot of experience assembling furniture and this took me almost 5 hours to put together with a cordless drill. you absolutely need one, your hands will thank you!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? slightly lighter than pictured, but still deep in color.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very true
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 71 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought