Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 68 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
ordeal
 from Delivered near Washington DC,  Dec 10, 2010

It is a good deal, a solid, beautiful, reasonably priced desk. But it gave me a hard time The two delivery packages are so heavy as to cause problems to a simple city dweller like me. One of them was over 80 pounds. I had to help the UPS to unload and put it in my garage. Then, as most other reviewers say, the assembly was difficult and laborious. I am old and without the assistance of a capable relative I would not have succeeded. A final item is that the desk plate arrived with a longitudinal splint, end to end. I have no doubts that Overstock would have taken it back and replaced but the perspective of packaging it and starting over again was too much to contemplate. We found another alternative. I enjoy my beautiful desk now but frankly I am not sure that it should be offered by an organization with the profile of Overstock without special warnings.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Pleased!
 from Reston, VA,  Sep 22, 2010

This is a handsome desk, dark brown wood. If you want to have it in the middle of the room, instead of against a wall, it looks just fine since the back is finished. It has a large top space which is great because I fit my printer, laptop, a catch-all basket and a little more on the top. I put the whole thing together myself, my fiancee helped me to put the top on because it was so heavy but otherwise, as long as you have a hammer and small power drill or screwdriver you'll be all set (though I do recommend the power drill as it helps speed things up). I only had one problem with the left side drawer - they pre-drilled the holes for the gliding bracket too close to the front so the drawer doesn't close flush against the desk. I could probably go back and redrill the holes to move the gliding bracket back but it doesn't cause a problem so it's fine. No damage when it was delivered and it arrived in a timely fashion! I'm very happy! Also, the front pull out drawer is great for pencils and small odds and ends. Would definitely recommend if you need a lot of workspace!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Labor intensive but worth it!
 from Kansas City, MO,  May 31, 2013

I carefully considered the reviews before purchasing this desk. Reviews like... will need power tools, hire a handyman, two adults, takes five hours etc. had me concerned, but nonetheless I wanted this desk so I ventured forth. I single handedly put this beast together myself in about three and a half hours and I am petite woman. I did have to open the boxes in the garage and carry the large pieces in one by one. I meticulously placed camlock screws for the better part of an hour and a half, but that was truly the hardest work of it. I used a rubber lined gardening glove to ease the torture on my hand from the screw driver handle and it also allowed me to grip more effectively. I did have to use a power tool for a few spots that were not predrilled purposely. Though the directions don't say a drill is required, I don't know how you'd do it otherwise unless you possessed a magically powered wood drilling hand of steel. So, overall awesome looking desk, no problem with drawer alignment as other reviewers stated, but quite beastly to assemble. I tamed it, so can you.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Right on
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A Few Issues
 from Dallas, TX,  Dec 12, 2009

I am experienced at assembling furniture. The directions were fair, takes about 5 hours to assemble. We love the look and the materials are quite good. However, some of the holes predrilled for assembly parts were "off" and I had to adjust the location of the holes for proper function (center drawer hit top of desk when closing, etc.) Not all parts fit perfectly and the drawers don't align exactly. We bought for the style and got it, but these need some work.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid and Beautiful.
 from Chicago, IL,  Nov 10, 2010

This is one amazing quality and handsome looking desk. Definitely takes three hours to assemble WITH an electric power drill. Do yourself a favor and buy a power drill if you don't have one. Otherwise be prepared to spend 5 to 6 hours assembling this. There are about 100 screws :) The top panel along is about 70 lbs. Assembly instructions are very good. When you assemble the draw slides, make sure you follow the instruction graphics to put the screws in the appropriate holes, you can easily mess this up and lead to more work later or uneven drawers. For me the toughest part was that when putting the top panel on, two wooden dowels wouldn't fit in nicely so I had to remove them, which is totally fine. The desk is still as sturdy as it needs to be. This desk is easily over twice of its price sold at overstock elsewhere. Very deep and large. Take a tape out and get a sense of how big it is by reading the dimensions on the product details page.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Awesome desk
 from North Pole, Alaska,  Jul 12, 2014

Great desk. Very sturdy. I was able to put the desk together alone and it wasn't very difficult. The hardest part was putting the top on, but I think that part would be difficult even if you had someone to help with it. Overall I love the desk.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really?
 from IL,  Jun 21, 2014

Could have done better online at the bidding website, you know the one, for a lot less money and aggravation. Took a full day to assemble. Needed two people and a professor to assemble and understand the horribly written instructions. No doubt, written in a foreign country. The desk is almost entirely particle board and every single aspect of this desk had to be assembled. Have your toolbox ready to go. I am a novice at assembly and by the end of the day, I wanted to set this desk on fire. I would have returned it, however once out of the original box it came in, there was no way it was going back in. And the return shipping would have been outrageous, as I do not receive the same discounts afforded to big companies. All in all, I wish I had never ordered it and will probably never return to overstock.com.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Elegant, quality desk!
 from New Jersey,  May 23, 2014

I placed my order on May 11th and got the package on May 19th. I am very pleased by the quality, elegant, and sophisticated look of my new desk. The assembly wasn't as difficult as described by other buyers. If you are looking for a bigger size desk, I would truly recommend it to you.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great style, monstrous assembly
 from Houston, TX,  May 6, 2014

Only good thing about this desk are the style and wood material. I would not have purchased if I knew what a nightmare it was to put together. I've assembled A LOT of furniture. Most of my furniture has required assembly. This by far has been the most difficult item I've ever had to assemble. Assembly has take 6 hours and still not complete bc now I have to reach out to Overstock to request more camlocks.The camlocks are made of some type of plastic hybrid material and I had 10 break during assembly. They dont provide extra. So with broken camlocks, there is zero chance of the piece not being wobbly.

Average
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good looking desk, B***h to put together!
 from Rhode Island,  Mar 18, 2014

Arrived quickly with some broken and missing pieces. New pieces came quickly. Great customer service and communication. Directions not great and took some trial and error to get to finished product. Don't tighten metal things too tight, they break to easy! Ended up going to hardware store to improvise with some with l brackets. Overall looks great!

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Too Many Replacement Parts Needed
 from St. Louis Park, MN,  Mar 17, 2014

The package comes in two boxes that are shipped at different times. I received the first box, which was the top. The top had a large crack in it. I contacted the customer service department and they were very helpful, and I got a new part ordered within a couple of days. I received the second box a couple of days after the first box had arrived and one of the two sides was broken. I again contacted the customer service department and they were very helpful but again ordering the new part took another couple of days. We were very frustrated that we had to get two replacement parts and that it had to be handled separately because they shipped separately. Additionally, as another customer mentioned we had to drill new holes for the file drawer because the original holes were in the wrong location, which caused the drawer not to shut properly. Although the quality of the desk is very good and it looks great when put together, the hassle of having to get multiple replacements and drilling new holes for the file cabinet make me not want to recommend this product to anyone. This is my first time ordering from Overstock.com and so I am not sure if this is typical of their products but it makes me very hesitant to buy anything from them again.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad a purchase
 from Clifton Park, NY,  Dec 13, 2013

Very bad a purchase, the installation is difficult, some of the holes can not a pair.This is a failed to buy.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Fair
Poor
Excellent
Average
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Desk
 from Venice, FL,  Oct 8, 2013

Extremely hard to put together. Way too many parts. Two cam locks broke while my husband was putting it together. My husband is an auto technician and it took him over an hour to put the desk together. Now that it is together, I really like it. Not for armatures.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality Desk - Not too difficult
 from Cbus, Ohio. Championship City. Michigan still sux,  Sep 22, 2013

My wife wanted a very similar desk from Crate & Barrel which cost $*,***. Before agreeing, I figured I would take a look around from something comparable. That's when I stumbled across this beauty. The quality is right on par with Crate & Barrel. I was thinking it would be a total PITA to put together based upon the reviews, but its not. The people who complained of the drawers sticking out too far didn't read the directions on what hole position to use on the drawer rails. It's not difficult if you can read as well as the average 7th grader. Definately use a power screwdriver or light duty drill. It took me about 2.5 hours to assemble. The only issue I had was with the cam lock bolts, they are low quality and break easily. I ended up two short due to breakage and had to run to Home Depot to pick up a few extra to finish the last drawer. All in all, quality product, not too difficult to assemble (although I'm not in a hurry to do it again). Absolutely worth $***.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of Work!
 from Chester, MD,  Sep 20, 2013

This desk is very attractive....once you finally get it put together. It wasn't hard to put together, but VERY time consuming. I wish there were more pieces in the collection to add to my home office. The put-together piece is quite good looking. It's solid and looks quite nice in my home. If you're up for the challenge, you won't be disappointed with the finished product. It took my husband about 2 1/2 hours to complete the task. We think it was well worth it due to the low price of the piece and the quick and *** delivery.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 from Dallas,  Aug 23, 2013

I have had this desk for 6 months and have been very pleased. Great value and quality.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!
 from Idaho,  Aug 3, 2013

We received the desk in the as advertised two heavy boxes. Looking at all the parts was very intimidating but my husband took his time and was very slow and methodical about putting it together. He completed the task by himself (not necessarily recommended) and it took about 3 - 4 hours. The desk looks GREAT! The color is Halifax brown which is darker than I thought it would be but is perfect for our home office.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice wood, poor manufacturing quality
 from Texas,  Jul 26, 2013

There are a lot of potential positives to this desk: solid wood, easily matchable dark brown color, nice lines, lots of table top space, variety of drawers. I could see how this would be a great desk if it was easy or even just reliable to put together. Despite being an *** assembly veteran, this desk was a royal pain to put together. Per other reviews, definitely took many hours and an electric screwdriver is very helpful. The quality of manufacturing is just incredibly shoddy: the front panel of the 2 small drawers did not line up flush, the large file drawer sticks out awkwardly, and the top was impossible to align with the bottom. It's definitely much easier to try align with 2 people. We took a cue from a previous reviewer and tried to align the bottom on the top instead of vice versa as listed in the instructions. That way, we could at least have a better view where the alignment problems were. An entire row of camlock screws on a middle panel did not align with the top. Another row of wooden dowels were removed. At that point, the top and bottom would at least somewhat fit together, but still a sub-cm gap all around after tightening. It at least sticks together now and the drawers hide the gap. So it's borderline functional. Definitely not worth the hassle. At this price, it should at least reliably fit together. Have had lots of success ordering finished products from overstock, but will never get anything that requires assembly. It's just not worth the effort and risk given that returns aren't a realistic option (can't even dream of disassembling and trying to repack and ship the 130 lbs of material). Very disappointed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Comparable
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Mediocre
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid desk, great value.
 from Long Island, NY,  Jun 14, 2013

This desk takes 5hrs to assemble, but I did it over 2 days...drawers first, then the rest, and knowing it was time consuming in advance made the time spent enjoyable. I went slow and methodical to ensure a tight-solid fit. The parts and cuts are extremely precise, so if you follow the directions and take your time, everything fits perfectly together. It is quite elegant since it stands on legs, and even though the piece is large, it is not overbearing because you can see the floor space under the desk. Also a smart choice if you have forced air vents at kick-board height. I only needed help to lay the desk top onto the assembled desk. For the price, I consider this an excellent buy and highly recommend this piece if the dimensions are right for your space and you strive for a clean minimalist appearance. I have a laptop, lamp, and mousepad on the surface top. But there is enough room if you want a small printer too. This desk was the perfect find for my home office. Mark in NY. (arrived timely and packaging was very good; no damage at all.)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. very solid once assembled.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate description
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk, but takes work to assemble!
 from Atlanta, GA,  Jan 25, 2013

This desk is beautiful and well constructed. Like other reviewers, assembly took about 5 hours and definitely needed 2 adults to complete it. We ran into problems with the last step when we tried to attach the top to the bottom frame. It wouldn't go into place following the instructions (setting the top on the bottom frame) so we put the top upside on the floor and set the bottom frame (upside down) onto the top piece. We used shims to help float it above the top of the desk before we could get the screws, dowels and holes to align. In spite of all the work assembling it, I love the desk and would highly recommend it. Just be prepared to set aside the time to assemble it!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color was as shown in the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description was right on track with actual product
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 68 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Olsen Black Writing Desk
Today $305.99
Andaman Desk
Sale $332.09
Was $368.99
(69)
Talisman 2-drawer Writing Desk
Sale $305.99
Was $339.99
(122)
Black Wasatch Desk
Today $299.99
(7)
Upton Home Lenoir Modern Writing Desk
Sale $386.09
Was $428.99
(2)
Back to top