Your coupon has been activated.
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Stylish & Sturdy
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 8, 2011

As a 250 plus guy, I was a little concerned when I read other reviews about the possibility of not supporting larger people. I was even more concerned when I saw the relatively small box that arrived 5 days after I placed my order. Much to my pleasant surprise, the chairs were very easy to assemble and are much sturdier than I would have imagined. They adjust easily and are actually quite comfortable. Best of all is their sleek design. I have a very small contemporary apartment and wanted a clear acrylic stool to give the room a more spacious feel. Mission Accomplished. These slide easily under the counter and almost dissapear to the eye.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Arylic is clear as pictured.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems to be sturdier than I expected when I first saw the box.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but edges are sharp!
 from Oldbridge, NJ,  Nov 16, 2011

I ordered 2 of these ghost stools for the end of our kitchen island in my modern home renovation. They are really pretty in person and I love the way they look. Unfortunately, they are really uncomfortable for me to sit on. I usually have shorts on in the house and the edges cut into my skin uncomfortably leaving a painful welt. I have to be careful when I slide off because it feels like it's scraping off my skin. My Husband concurs, he says he can feel the edge through his pants so he dosen't like to sit at the counter long. We are not large people.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great! Product is really beautiful.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Technical quality is OK, unfortunately the seat on one of the 2 stools I ordered drops 3 inches as soon as you sit on it.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very, but no one talked about how rough the edges feel on the seat.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good with a few notes
 from NY,  Jul 25, 2012

Pros: -Great design -Great price -Clear seats disappear into your room when not in use (reducing visual footprint) -Fairly easy to assemble Cons: -The acrylic will scratch fairly easily. After a few days, there are some scuffs already (there are acrylic scratch removers out there, buy one) -The attention to detail on the craftsmanship is good, not great (e.g. the rounding of the acrylic is a bit imperfect) -No sufficient padding under base. Will scratch floors if left as is. Tips: -As others have noted, make sure to remove the black cap from the center pole (it is tough, you'll need channel locks or pliers). -The plastic disk that the seat sits on needs to go a certain way (fatter part of the wedge at the bottom I believe), note the arrow and the directions. -You'll want to figure out some felt padding or feet to apply under the base or it will surely scratch your wood floors. -These chairs are not Roomba-friendly. My Roomba "humps" the chair base for a few minutes before moving on - resulting in scratches and scuffs on the base.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? matches description and pictures
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very solid for the price. Not super premium, but certainly not "cheap"
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE THESE BARSTOOLS!!
 from Charlotte, NC,  Dec 22, 2011

I am totally in love with my new barstools! I live in a 600 sq. ft. studio apartment, and these are exactly what I needed. They are small in scale and dont take up valuable space, but after sitting on them for a few hours a day for about 2 weeks now, I can confirm that they are sturdy and pretty comfortable (as much as a backless barstool can be). The acrylic seats allow the barstool to almost disappear, so they make a statement without adding too much visual weight. I've scoured the internet and, for the price, these are by far the best option out there for anyone looking for modern, unique barstools. Assembly was relatively easy. Think I spent about 30 min on the pair. The only hiccup I had was getting the end cap off the center rod. Ladies, I'd recommend a strong man to help you get it off :)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Perfect Size and Functionality
 from las vegas,  Oct 31, 2011

I purchased two of these stools - primarily because they were acrylic and very reasonable in price. I was initially concerned my order had been separated, disbelieving that both chairs could be shipped in the one small box that I received - until I lifted the box and realized its weight. These stools are heavier than I expected and the acrylic doesn't look like "cheap plastic" as I had worried might be the case. I'm glad I took the chance to purchase these - the inexpensive price had caused my hesitation -but in this case you get MORE that what you would pay for elsewhere.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Consistent to what was depicted and much heavier than expected
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good Quality, not "plastic" feeling
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? As depicted
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compact
 from Idaho,  Oct 11, 2011

I had a very small area to work with, so I looked extensively for a small width stool that would not over-power my small space. These are perfect for a small space. These are very sturdy, comfortable and also attractive.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good quality-great value
 from Los Angeles,  Oct 17, 2010

These stools are reasonably sturdy, reasonably well-built, and have a great modernist look. they are light, easy to move, don't scratch the floor. VERY good price. we are not very large people (not tiny, but not big or tall) and it's not clear that the pneumatic mechanisms would stand up to a lot of weight. however, for "average" sized adults they are terrific!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Portola barstools
 Jul 17, 2010

These stools look just as they do in the picture. My primary goal, in addition to aesthetics was to find a comfortable seat that was resistant to scratching and tearing as experienced by the stools we replaced. I'm paying close attention to how well these stools will hold up. The stools are extremely lightweight - in fact much lighter than I would have expected. If you're seeking back support these are not the stools for you. Also, they're not inviting to the heavier guests although they can hold them. It's a little disconcerting at first that the upper portion of the stool rocks slightly left and right. Once you get used to it it's fine. The kids don't weigh enough to lower themselves on the stool although they can raise themselves higher. All in all if you're looking for a contemporary stool that looks good give them a try.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and durable
 from Upstate New York,  Jan 17, 2015

After about 2 years of using the barstools, the are very durable. My only issue which isn't huge is the rubber at the bottom of the stools is now starting to come off. The stools work fine but the manufacturer needs to find super glue or something to keep the rubber underneath the stools from coming off. Otherwise they are in excellent condition and I have had no problems with them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Stools were great at first but they don't last. By the first year the rubber ring on the bottom was brittle and breaking off in pieces. The hydrolic was broken on both of them soon after. Disappointing, need to throw out and buy different ones now.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Acrylic barstools
 from Ventura, CA,  Sep 30, 2014

I love these stools. They are cool looking and very subtle. I needed a stool that didn't overpower the kitchen bar and these are perfect. A great buy. I bought two and then ordered two more. Easy to put together too.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love them!
 from NY, NY,  Aug 15, 2014

Modern space saving chair for a great deal! Easy to assemble and looks great by my breakfast bar!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful stools!
 from Mountain View, CA,  Aug 1, 2014

Love the look of these stools! Great product and will improve the look of our kitchen. Was easy to put together. Had to call the company to replace one of the clear seat pads as it had a chip and one of the chrome bottoms had discoloration. Customer service was excellent and the items were sent out immediately!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Not so much
 from phx,  Nov 2, 2013

Hard as a rock to sit on. What was I thinking. It looks great but very uncomfortable to sit on for even short periods.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ghost stools
 from Somerville, MA,  Oct 18, 2013

So the 2 stools come in one box. The handle for raising/lowering the pneumatics was sticking out of the cardboard of the box I received but it was not damaged. They were easy to put together, I had absolutely no issue removing the black plastic plug before putting it together - maybe this issue was addressed by the manufacturer. The seats do in fact go down several inches when you sit on the stool (I am less than 140lbs). I have to raise the stool all the way to the top, then sit on it and it will lower to the height I need for my counter. I am glad my counter is not at the extreme high limit or they would be too short. I find it easiest to get off the stool by lowering the stool height first because the seat height bouncing up as I'm getting off of the stool is awkward. They are not too uncomfortable to sit on, they do make you sit up straighter because of the seat shape. The only issue I have -besides the lowering while sitting - is there is a chip on the edge of one of the acrylic seats, it is on the bottom so I did not notice it until after completely assembled. The chipped off piece wasn't in the box anywhere and it was all wrapped up in packaging so it must have been chipped before wrapping. I am a little worried about the crack propagating and becoming more obvious. There are also some cosmetic dings in the metal seat stem. So don't expect perfection from this product but you still have a cool looking stool for much less than I have seen in store.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice and Modern
 from Laguna Beach, CA,  Jul 21, 2013

Nice ghost barstools. Not the most expensive we could buy or have seen, but they do the job nicely and are a very good value. They're not meant to sit on for hours on end but do make a statement in a modern or contemporary home. They aren't super lightweight and have some heft about them. They were not difficult to assemble and were packed well.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Barstool
 from Michigan,  Jun 17, 2013

I was very pleased with the ordered barstools. It took a little time to assemble, but the finished product was well worth it! The instructions were somewhat confusing because the undermount disk has a thicker & thinner area & can only fit one way with the screws provided.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Modern Style
 from Kennebunkport, Maine,  Jun 11, 2013

These bar stools are modern and sleek. They are perfect for a house I've just completely rebuilt and will be on the market shortly. I bought two stools to check out the quality and just ordered two more after receiving the first set. As other reviews point out - - taking the black rubber cap off the metal supports was impossible for me. Even my super strong husband had to try more than once.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great looking!
 from charlotte, nc,  Jun 5, 2013

great looking. used for a model home, tight space, and really improve the design of the room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice visually light barstools
 from San Francisco, CA,  May 1, 2013

Good value. It swivels and adjusts up and down. I was shocked at how small the box was. Installation was quick and easy. Only complaint is that when you get up from sitting the stool shoots up an inch and so. I'm not overweight (BMI<20) so I'm guessing this a problem with the piston bc it happens with both stools.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 42 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought