Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
only for dry climates
 from Colorado,  Jul 20, 2008

I think the reason why this product has received some bad reviews is that the people who are using them are in climates that are humid already. I'm in Colorado, which is dry to begin with and hardly no humidity. It's an evaporative cooler, so the water is used to dampen a sponge in which the fan blows the air thru the sponge, adding humidity in the air. Here I cannot feel it because it's so dry to begin with. It's a great option for someone who lives in a dry climate, if you live in a humid climate or where your down to sea level, I recommend you get an air conditionair..

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NIBE
 from LOS ANGELES, CA,  Jul 1, 2009

HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS AIR COOLER AS A COST EFFECTIVE & ECONOMICAL ALTERNATIVE TO AN PORTABLE AIR CONDITIONER WHICH REQUIRES VENTING EXHAUST THRU WINDOW OUTLET ETC. THE ADDITION OF ICE TO THE COOLER WORKS WONDERS, ALLOWS SOMEONE TO SLEEP THRU THE NITE W/OUT SINUS CONGESTION DUE TO IONIZER, & IT'S RELATIELY QUIET & VERY LIGHT WEIGHT & EASY TO CLEAN / MAINTAIN. LIVING IN LOS ANGELES, RELATIVE HUMIDITY IS USUALLY LOW & SOMEWHAT DRY, SO WHEN IT'S HOT THIS STABILIZES TEMPERATURE W/IN THE ROOM 10 -15 DEGREES COOLER THAN THE OUTSIDE TEMPERATURE. IF MONEY WERE NOT AN ISSUE, I WOULD CONSIDER AN AIR CONDITIONER FR THIS MANUFACTURER, THEY SEEM TO KNOW WHAT THEY ARE MAKING.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Blessing during heat wave!
 from Seattle, WA,  Aug 7, 2009

This product is fabulous! Fast shipping, great price. Don't really need a/c except during rare heatwaves in Seattle area. This kept bedroom cool and electric bills weren't insane. Easy to clean and maneuver to dogs room to keep them cool when we were out. Add ice to the top of the product when you need it to be cooler, but the ionizer and the cool air function with water works just fine for our needs.We thought the sleep function was weird - it is not a timer - but we use it all the time. Lots of extras for a little price. Highly recommend!Remember though - is isn't an a/c unit and won't perform as such. If you need super cold or fast cooling, recommend you spend the dough on an actual a/c unit.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NY winter skin saver
 from New York, NY,  Jan 4, 2012

I purchased the Sunpentown 609 specifically as a humidifier. If I ever use it as a cooler during the summer months then that would be a bonus but I do not intend to use it for that as I live on the Upper West Side of Manhattan where humidity often runs on the high side during the Summer season. As a humidifier this is perhaps the most efficient machine on the market today. First consider that the water curtain last 20 times or more longer than a conventional wick style humidifier which cost a fortune to run as each wick replacement is in the $10 to $20 dollar region. There are other systems out there such as cool mist or humidifiers that boil the water, or the expensive rotating drum type like the Venta. I have used all of the various humidifier types, but my experience is that they are either expensive or difficult to maintain or they fail quite quickly. I have only begun to use the 609 but it appears to leave all the other humidifiers in the dust. When you take a look at the volume of water that the Sunpentown 609 places into the air (.6 to .7 liters per hour) and compare it to other machines I think you will see that as a humidifier there is huge value to the 609 in that it equals the best in H2O output and far surpasses most. So this winter I am saying goodbye to painful cracks in my fingers and lips due to the extreme dry conditions that take place in NYC winters while basking in moister levels that are comparable to the Caribbean. The 609 offers several other bonuses amongst its features. First consider the air propulsion system. It employs a squirrel cage fan as opposed to a propeller driven system. This is infinitely more powerful then a propeller driven fan as it offers a tightly directed focus, and it also employs an optional swing feature if you wish to meter out the air throughout the room. Another feature is the size 15" X 11" X 24". This is a relatively small footprint so it does not take up that much valuable floor space, and it is mounted on casters so you can transport it to different locations to redirect the air flow with ease. Some people might like the timed setting features but I doubt I will have any use for them as on and off will do for me along with three fan speeds. There is also an ionizer to clean the air but this is a feature that I will seldom use as I have ionizing air purifiers within my apartment. For the most part I will be using the 609 solely during the winter while it pumps moisture into my apartment. Speaking of pump. I have not looked at the water pump that operates within the 609 but from what I have gleaned speaking to the technical department at Sunepentown is that it is similar to the impeller driven pumps that operate within my aquarium. I have read several reviews complaining about the noise from the water pump bathing the water curtain within the device. This must be a joke as you can barely detect any water pump sound even under the closest of scrutiny as the fans white noise blankets out the water pump. If you buy the 609 remember to keep the water levels filled when you are using it for humidifying or cooling as a dry impeller will fail (just like an aquarium pump) if the pumps suck air as opposed to water. Fortunately the designers of the 609 kept this in mind by installing an alarm to let you know that it is time to add water. Although I did not intend it for this purpose the temperature dropped about 1 to 2 degrees directly in front of the air flow of the 609 while using it as a humidifier with cool water. I will reiterate what others have stated in that the 609 is only effective for cooling in desert dry conditions during the summer months. However that being the case, I will likely employ the 609 during the summer months strictly as a focused fan to redirect the air flow emanating from my air conditioner. In closing I will state that if you are looking for an extremely effective humidifier then I think you will be very satisfied with the 609. If you are looking for a cooler in a dry region then I am guessing that you will be happy as well although I can not attest to that as this does not apply to the NYC. So remember in the words of Bobby McFerrin; Don't worry (about dryness) be (moist &) happy. One final addendum, as time goes by I'll give you an update about the 609 if this site allows them. Be well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The build quality appears to be good.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? I would say that it is understated for my intended purpose.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Works Great!
 from Socorro, NM,  Sep 12, 2011

I read all of the reviews carefully before deciding to purchase this product. Since I live in a very hot, dry desert climate, I was concerned about the ability of this cooler to work, but it did great. When I had it on high in an 12 x 12 bedroom, it actually got too cool for me overnight! I then used it for a guest who likes to sleep in extremely cool rooms, and it was fine for her as well. It is a tad on the noisy side, but less than a window air conditioner unit would be, plus the price is right. It is a bit of a pain to empty the water out, but not a big problem. In all I am extremely pleased with this item and it performed better than I expected.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
works well
 from Las Vegas, NV,  Aug 29, 2012

product seems to perform well in 110 deg heat..it works like a swamp cooler so in dry weather it performs better

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. lots of air
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good Product
 from Boston, MA,  Oct 20, 2011

Order this product and was very pleased with it. The room stayed cool and I enjoyed knowing that it could go from room to room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Learning to love this little guy!
 from Colorado,  Aug 30, 2011

Learning to love this little cooler. really feels good and we have had the hottest August on record in Colorado. Wasn't sure at first because it was a new concept to me but works like the description said. Satisfied.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? fine
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. no complaints, very good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Good humidifier and Fan
 from Arizona,  Aug 27, 2011

I bought this unit to add humidity to our large bedroom. Living in the desert southwest and using air conditioning make for very dry air. So far I am pleased with the performance. Fan and oscillation, portability and remote control are all great. My only beef (besides the color) is a small leak around the drain plug which began after draining & cleaning the unit after the first week of use. Teflon tape may fix the problem but for now I simply lay plastic under the wheels of the unit with a washcloth so absorb the moisture (works!). Some reviewers mention an odor. I have found this to be coming from the mesh fabric inside but washed weekly takes care of it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark grey-beige; not white/light grey as shown in photo.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? fairly accurate; ionic air purifier is a simple plastic screen.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
LOVE IT!
 from Santa Clara, California,  Aug 26, 2011

This unit turned out to be WONDERFUL for my needs. In my area it is not terribly humid, but does get over 90+ This system is enough to cool down the room and I even have to turn it off when it gets too cold. Uses virtually zero energy and utilizes only water and ice as a coolant. I already have recommended it to several friends and neighbors.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Perfect
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Absolutely
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent air flow
 from Bronx, Ny,  Aug 17, 2011

I was very please and satisfy with this purchase;It did everything it said it would do and then some. Althought it is not an air conditioner it most definitely served the purpose I was looking to get. Thank you O/S I love you guys. You never disappoint :0

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was exceptional
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? perfect
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just what I wanted
 from Santa Fe,  Aug 12, 2011

Excellent machine which does exactly what it's supposed to. I have recommended it to several friends.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exactly
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Perfectly accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This thing works!
 from EAST TENNESSEE,  Jul 5, 2011

I live in a trailer where it always seems to be a fight to keeping cool and not dieing when I get the electric bill! But this air cooler helps! And with the ionizer it seems to make the air easier to breathe. My electric bill came in (after a month of already 90+ degrees most of the month) and it was a third of what I usually pay! I am very pleased.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color as described.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Runs quietly, moves the air sufficently!
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great for greenhouse humidity
 from Oakley, KS,  May 15, 2011

I got this for a home attached greenhouse that needed some cooling down and humidity during the day during the spring and summer. As others have noted, it does not greatly lower the temp (especially since I am using in a greenhouse), but the cooling air and the humidity is perfect for me. I have additional fans to move air and I use the swing option on the cooler to also move more air. I find this unit perfect for my use - the amount of water it holds will cool for more than 8 hours on high speed so you can use for the day without worry of refilling.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Humidifier
 from Mesa, AZ.,  Apr 5, 2011

Works as advertised and is very quiet when operating, I bought two of these and they both are excellent.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great!!
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Jul 13, 2010

Quiet. Easy to maintain. Works great with low humidity!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
cooler
 from orange county CA,  Jun 30, 2010

I ordered a second unit for upstairs as I was impressed and wanted to beat the heat.,...The shipping time and charge was amazing as it seemed to come overnight!!! In all fairness, I have not had an opportunity test in any really hot weather as we have been having unusually cool weather in California so far. It has been wonderful so no need except for testing and so cold had to shut it off!!!...I am sure that will not always be the case... In the upstairs bedroom there are cathedral ceilings so very hot...has gotten to 95 degreeson occasion and I have a $1000.00 ductless AC that cannot handle it so am adding this hoping it will do a good enough job during the day. Also, have ceiling fans.....We usually have low humidity and cools down at night ......It seems like an excellent price checking locally and getting reviews ....so hope I will not be disappointed when the heat comes...L...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Evaporative Cooloer
 from Tucson AZ,  May 20, 2010

The cooler is very quiet and efficient. It can operate either as a fan or as an evaporative coooler, with fan speeds of low, medium and high. The water well is large, and the cooler uses water thriftily in evaporative mode. The "swing" button causes fan blades to move back and forth to cover nearly a 90-degree area. It's extremely quiet in operation and does a good job of cooling the nearby spaces. I have never tried to use it to cool an entire room, but have always used it on "low" speed. I'm more than satisfied with it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Product...Great Value
 from Los Angeles, CA,  May 20, 2013

I live in the LA area, and the heat is unbearable. I was thinking to buy a portable AC but installation in the window is big no no. So I came across water air coolers. After reading the review, I decided to purchase this product, and its met my expectation. It keeps my bedroom cool as I wanted. Keep in mind it is not an AC so do not expect same effect, but it is well worth of money $101 and free fast shipping cannot beat it. Amazon selling same item for $134 includes tax and shipping. It is my first purchase with Overstock and I am impressed with fast service but I have a suggestion for them please describe the correct product detail and model number so customers can research the product. Other than that you guys rocks....A++++++++++++++++++++++++ FYI Keep ICE tray full in cooler and try to fill up with the ice water. It works great.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exactly as shown in the website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? 70% Missing the Product number, name and other important info.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this unit
 from Kansas,  Jan 24, 2011

I bought this unit to use in my apartment, which didn't have air conditioning. (I live in Kansas, where summer temps range from the 80s to the 100s.) It was super! I could point the unit in the best direction or even roll it into another room. The remote control was also very helpful. I had no issues with the unit and would recommend it to anyone!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 53 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought