Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 71 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Plymouth Writing Desk (can be used for computer)
 from St George, UT,  Jul 4, 2008

Great value! The desk is 55-1/2" wide - we bought two to fit against one wall in our study. The small top measures 8-1/2" deep (drawers are 7" deep measuring from interior of the drawer) - depth of main open area of desktop is 19-1/2" deep (measured to the beginning of the upper box), so lots of room for a workspace (overall desk depth is 28" - including the smaller box on the main desk). Main desktop drawer depth is 15", so room for some files or paperwork (drawer is about 2" interior height). My monitor, speakers, rolodex, joystick all fit on top of upper box with lots of room left. Note these measurements as they are not shown in the online specs. I think you could easily modify the main desk drawer to open as a keyboard drawer (by adding hinges), but is comes as a regular drawer. The middle top and main desk drawers are much wider than the side drawers. Really finishes off our office nicely. Now we have a place to put our papers and supplies (six drawers in all). Almost black in color (it is an espresso brown). Took a few hours to put it all together but not too hard and well worth it. Just take your time - there are areas not premarked for the screws, so be sure to measure placement (mainly placement of the top box and screwing it to the main desktop). Compared to other items (storage and looks) and prices locally, this was quite the deal and very, very nice. Everything in our study now looks clean and organized!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice solid attractive piece
 from SW Colorado,  Jul 26, 2008

Other than the drawers (particle board bottoms), the piece is very solid... much heavier than I expected. It is a good size desk. It is as, maybe more, attractive than the picture. I thought assembly was straight forward. I find it helpful to lay out all of the parts and to identify what they are and more or less how they fit together. All of the different screws, fasteners, etc. are bagged separately and numbered corresponding to the directions. I spent under two hours assembling it by myself. I used a power drill to install most of the screws, being careful not to over tighten. Rather than attach the top section of the desk, I had some small stick on rubber bumpers that I put one the bottom of it. They keep it from slipping very nicely without having to screw through the surface of the desk to secure it. This way the desk could be used without the top piece.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice quality desk
 from Scottsdale, AZ,  Aug 30, 2010

I was nervous about ordering something sight unseen, but the other reviewers were right on target. It's a beautiful, good quality desk - solid, well-made, and attractive. I expected to spend 4 hours putting it together, but once I got all the pieces and hardware organized it only took about 2 hours plus about 15 minutes the next day to put the drawer pulls on. I'm not exactly the strongest woman but didn't have any problems putting it together myself. I just used an electric screwdriver and a drill. Other reviewers were correct that some of the pre-drilled holes were not even close to being in the right place which is why I needed the drill. I'm very happy with the desk so far.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful Solid Desk/Good Value
 from Chicago, IL,  Mar 14, 2010

You can't beat this price for a solid wood desk. I am giving 4 stars because the other reviews are right - it is darker than you would think (I would call it black). And the instructions could have been a little more clear in one area (see below)... But, aside from that I love my desk! First of all, the desk is solid wood - so it is heavy... This does make assembly a little awkward. But, hey! It's solid wood! I assembled the desk by myself in just under 2 hours, it would have gone a little faster with someone to help with the top. I would say the 4 hour estimates must have been from people not using a power screwdriver. That is a requirement here (many screws, long screws, and cams). While assembly was mostly straight forward, it was more complex than your run-of-the-mill department, store particle board special. Extra hardware was provided (e.g., cam locks, screws dowels), which is a good thing. And for the most part the instructions were complete... Instructions were a little vague around the front rail (careful inspection of the inventory pictures-and some common sense worked here), and 2 dowel holes for the top didn't line up well enough to "cajole" into place. Considering how many screws and fasteners they attach the top with, I removed the dowels and never missed them.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous
 from Michigan,  Feb 8, 2010

This desk far exceeded my expectations. I was put off by some of the reviews that said 4-6 hours to construct. If you have any experience putting furniture together this should only take around 90 minutes to construct. You will need somebody to help you position the desk top before securing it. Line up the dowels and then put your whole body weight on the top - no problem. Looks amazing. Instead of screwing the top drawers to the desk top I put a small rubber pad (the kind that go under a glass table top to hold it in place) in each corner. That way I can use the desk without the top drawers at a later date, but in the meantime the drawers don't slide around and scratch the table top.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Difficult to assemble
 from Georgia,  Dec 10, 2010

This desk is very good looking and the materials are quality but the trouble starts when putting the darn thing together. Let me preface this by saying that in the past I have put together an office armoire, desk with hutch, bookshelf, and office cabinets so I am not new to assembling case pieces. The difficulty I have run into is the cams won't close all the way (I think I have only gotten one to work correctly) and getting the pieces to fit together with dowels is almost impossible. I have had to hammer the heck out of it to get the pieces to fit snugly together and still the cams won't work properly. The desk is almost together (I took a break becuase it was so frustrating) but it is now a distressed piece because of all of the hammering I had to do. I still have to get the top to fit snugly in place and get the drawers together. I am keeping the piece because 1) I don't want to take it apart and 2) there is no guarantee that the next one won't be the same way. I did find a way to steam the dents out. HA!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
very nice
 from hoboken, nj,  Sep 17, 2009

Excellent quality-solid, beautiful quality , really attractive desk. the only problem is the assembly. i looked at teh instructions and realized i needed professional help. it took a hired person over 4 hours to assemble the desk and even he was frustrated. great desk but be warned this is not an easy assembly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
EXCELLENT product and value
 from New York, NY,  Sep 3, 2009

Best combination of value, quality and nice design we could find. The drawers provide great storage (didn't like the computer tray that flip down on most center drawers). The price is outstanding for the quality - solid wood construction is terrific. However, it does take some effort to assemble - but the extra effort resulted in a VERY sturdy desk. No wobbling or loose fitting legs/parts. The hutch on top is very nice and provides extra storage. I opted not to attach it to the desktop, allowing me to shift it offcenter to make space for my home phone - put my computer screen on top and the height is OK - not too tall. Some of the comments mentioned that the desk is too high given the height of the drawers and desktop. I am 5'11" and found it to be perfect. My wife is 5' 2" and can use it quite comfortably as well.Overall EXCELLENT buy; we couldnt be more pleased - very high quality product at very good price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
solid wood desk
 from Seattle,  Oct 28, 2011

This is the third time this sixty plus woman has put together furniture. It did take some time and because the desk is heavy, solid wood I did have to wait until my husband could help me put the desk top on. The directions are simple with good illustrations, however I did get one piece on upside down and have to retrace a step to turn it around. I didn't mind because the finished piece was worth the time and effort.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? identical
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very nice writing desk
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Right on
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Gorgeous desk BUT read this first...
 from Southern CA.,  Sep 2, 2011

This is a beautiful desk. The drawers slide open smoothly. Lines are clean and modern and this desk will work with any decor, both traditional, transitional or modern. I bought it to use as a Vanity in my bedroom and hung a square mirror directly above it. The copious drawers are fabulous for organizing make-up, skin care products, and all the things you need within an arm's reach. Wonderful. Gorgeous. BIG WARNING: You had better NOT order this is you are not WAY above average in your carpentry skills! The average skilled Harry Homeowner will have a fit trying to put this thing together. It arrived in two boxes. All flat pieces. The drawers (all six of them) are completely disassembled. You have to attach all the sides, bottoms, backs and drawer slides together and it's very time-consuming and frustrating. Be prepared to be spend a lot of hours putting this desk together. If you are very skilled and patient, the finished desk is worth it. Looks like it came off the showroom floor of a decent furniture store when you are finished.It was packaged well and arrived with no flaws or dings. One corner never did fit tightly but since I will not be moving it around, I am okay with that and it doesn't show. Not happy with the hassle of putting it together. Very happy with the desk itself.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Decent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Excellent description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking but takes a long time to assemble
 from Long Beach, NY,  May 30, 2011

This desk is perfect for my office. It's very large and spacious and the color is a rich expresso. The only downside is that it took hours to assemble. Not sure I would want to buy another because of this.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk, Hard to put together
 from Raleigh, NC,  Nov 30, 2010

I would definitely recommend this desk. It is solid, well made. On the downside, it is a real pain to assemble. I borrowed my neighbors drill and it took me close to 3 hours. I would definitely advise having someone handy around to assemble it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk
 from Houston, TX,  Mar 4, 2009

It took me a while to get around to putting my desk together but I am very happy with it. I love the solid wood. The only thing that I will change is to purchase the fittings that will allow me to make the center desk into a keyboard holder and the drawer pulls. The pulls that came with it are OK but I want something a little different for my decor.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 Jan 21, 2009

This is a great desk....sturdy and better than the picture. It took about 2hours to put together myself, but it wasn't as bad as i anticipated. Everything was carefully labeled. So, if you follow the insutrcution, it should go smoothly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 May 15, 2016

Easy to put together and good quality. have owned fore few years now and still looks like new!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Better than expected
 Jan 25, 2016

Item arrived with some shipping damage but when I contacted Overstock about it they sent out a replacement which arrived quickly with no problems. The desk is everything they described and more. Very pleased.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
PERFECT
 Oct 30, 2015

Nice wood color - perfect for my space by my bed. Deep and wide surface

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Desk, Great For Tall People
 from Chicago, IL,  Apr 16, 2014

I have had this desk for two years now and I am very happy with it. The desk is very sturdy, and the size and height is perfect for me. The desk was straight forward to assemble, it took about 6 hours doing everything myself. The drawers slide very nicely, though the top drawers aren't attached in any way so they can fall out. The desk itself feels very high, which is good for me as I am 6' 2". I don't feel like I have to hunch over at all like I might for a normal desk. Overall a great buy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Seriously fantastic product
 from Washington DC,  Dec 18, 2013

This desk is amazing overall. Pros: - Extremely stylish - More amount of drawers/storage space than I would expect for a writing desk - The top level is the best part. I was able to my large monitor up there, hide the wires, and then could place my laptop on the bottom. Ever see someone's monitor placed atop a stand or worse, stacks of paper? Perfect viewing. Also fit my lamp up and computer speakers up there perfectly, leaving the bottom for papers, laptop, and whatever else I had down there. Cons: - You need a PhD in construction or something to put this together. But when it's set up, it's beautiful. - It doesn't disassemble. The legs don't come off once put together. I had to move and I really wanted to take it with me but there was no way to make it fit in the storage container without removing the legs. I ended up leaving it on the lawn for some lucky neighbor to enjoy :(

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
what a great desk!
 from California,  Oct 21, 2013

Great desk. That is all. I will love it forever!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 71 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought