Your coupon has been activated.
Coupon Activated
 
 

Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 191 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Excellent quality
 from NC,  Feb 4, 2011

I am a tough customer to please. I am constantly accused of being OCD. Simply put, this piece is top-quality. It looks like an $800 book shelf. It has very deep shelves, and is about 7+ feet tall. I'm 6' 1", and used to being able to see the tops of furniture. It's very nice to have such a quality piece. Every part of it is wood, down to the backdrop (the backdrop is about a centimeter thick or so, but is solid wood). VERY heavy, and just quality. Thank you overstock! By the way...I bought the plymouth desk to accompany this bookshelf. They look excellent together! Top-notch.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Sturdy and Stylish
 from Chatham, NY,  Nov 2, 2010

Once it's put together, this is a sturdy and very stylish piece of furniture. The assembly process isn't difficult, just a bit tedious. It took me about an hour to put the bookcase together. Just be careful to make sure to pound the pieces together snugly before you twist the lock nuts. If you don't, small gaps will remain between pieces that could affect the stability. It would also be a good idea to have a second person to help, since these big boys weigh about 140 pounds when built. Overall, this is an excellent product and a good value. As always, the Overstock delivery service is quick and the packaging leaves you with enough foam and cardboard to build a weekend retreat.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice solid furniture
 Dec 14, 2010

I ordered two bookcases, which arrived very quickly and intact as has been my usual experience with Overstock orders. These are large, heavy bookcases. They are solid, and the finish is beautiful. It is the darkest brown, and it blends with the black-finish furniture also in my study. They really look black unless the sunlight is on them, when you can see the brown come through. Not difficult to put together, and they really don't look like furniture that we assembled at home! I've come to expect strong chemical smells from imported home-assembled furniture, but these bookcases had none so we were pleasantly surprised. Nice, tall, solid bookcases that look like they came from a fine furniture store, and the style will blend with anything from modern to traditional. I'm thinking of ordering one or two more!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Terrific!
 Sep 8, 2010

This bookshelf is a sturdy, attractive piece with huge space (my tallest books can stand up) between shelves. They are also quite deep. It took me and one friend about an hour to put together. It is heavy and takes two people to move the boxes and to stand up.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid bookcase
 from South Carolina,  Nov 19, 2012

Great tall bookcase. Quality wise this thing is great. Color looks black but is a dark espresso. Only way you'd know is direct sunlight. It matches black trimmed seating very well. The only cons are very minor and come with putting it together. 1. The little inserts that the shelfs rest on, some of them had the heads just a little big for the holes. It's just a little piece of metal that is either from where they cut the pieces or hammered them in manufacturing. Easily fixed with a file or with a pair of wire cutters. Note I only had this problem on 3 of them. The rest went in (with some twisting). 2. The back piece is folded in half (for shipping) and taped on the backside. Problem with this is that the foam that it's packed in stuck to the tape inbetween the two pieces. Took a couple minutes to get it all off. Overall it's a great book case and a great value. The two very minor problems shouldn't keep you from getting this if you like the style.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality, only quibble is the seam in the back panel and some of the shelf holders were flattened out
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice
 from IL,  Jul 3, 2008

Arrived quick, no damages, pretty easy to put together but did take about an hour. It looks great, is very solid, and it's huge - which is exactly what I wanted.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Class Act
 from Tacoma, WA,  Oct 4, 2012

This bookcase has really beautiful, heavy wood on the sides and shelves that make a "fine furniture" statement in our living room. The only thing that gives away it's "assembled at home" status is the bifold chipboard that forms the back. Once assembled, it's not really that noticeable (especially if you load it up with books), but if you use a shelf or two to draw attention to collectibles or a favorite art piece, the crack down the back of the veneered back will be noticeable. I'm being really picky here. Overall (and for the price) we are delighted with our new acquisition!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect representation
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Awesome; Heavy wood side panels say "substantial"
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Fabulous bookcase
 from South Portland, ME,  Dec 20, 2011

This bookcase is very solid and heavy, so, as recommended, 2 people (at times) made it easier to put together. The instuctions were clear, extra hardware was included, everything was easypeasy to assemble. The result is a large, attractive bookcase that, for me, was a catalyst to reconfigure a useless room into an inviting one. Thank you, Overstock!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid, quality bookcases
 from Dublin, Ohio,  Dec 11, 2011

As others have noted, these are large and can serve multiple purposes. I plan to use them a long time.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. nice and solid
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? excellent accuracy
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Lots of compliments received
 from North Carolina,  Aug 25, 2010

These dark rubberwood bookshelves are sturdy, tall, and handsome. The only reason I give it 4 stars instead of 5 is that it's a bear to put together. We bought 5 of these then 4 more so assembling the first one was tough, but then it was easier after that. If you can't afford built-in bookshelves but like the look of substantial furniture, I'd recommend purchasing these. We live in a state famous for furniture making, but the industry has taken a licking during the economic slump and has just recently started rebounding. It's a chore to find solid wood furniture that's affordable so I'd recommend you buy these while you can.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plymouth Bookcase
 from Colorado Springs, CO,  Jul 17, 2009

Beautiful bookcase for the price. The bookcase came in 2 boxes, well packed. I assembled my self in a few hours, but I would recommend help. Highly recommended!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful!
 from San Francisco CA,  Jul 18, 2008

This is really really sturdy, solid wood and a beautiful stain. The design is sleek too with the top panel and the nice end pieces. It was a bit hard to put together but no more difficult than any other furniture I've bought online. This could be built with one person alone. It really looks gorgeous in my modern room.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid Bookcase
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Jul 17, 2008

Very solid, sturdy, easy to put together. Great looking. The rubberwood with Espresso finish is stylish. This will last a lot longer than cheaper compressed board/veneer type shelves.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great looking bookcase
 Mar 9, 2015

I really like the height and depth of this bookcase. It looks more expensive than it is and it is solid wood. It was not too difficult to put together and arrived on the day it was expected. Great quality and would recommend this bookcase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
beautiful
 Feb 22, 2015

This is probably one of the best pieces of furniture I own. It is well made, sturdy, looks great and durable. I would store all of my medical books on the shelves and they did not bow or break. Have recommended the product to many people and would definitely purchase this again if I needed!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and Great Quality!
 Feb 2, 2015

This bookcase arrived in 2 boxes and was packed well and in excellent condition. The quality is excellent and it looks high end. Not one scratch on anything. The backing board is hefty--not flimsy. Forget Ashley and other low quality veneer furniture sellers. You'll need to sit and read the through the assembly instructions and take your time putting it together. You'll need 2 people to set it upright and put it in place. It's heavy. All pieces fit together well. The instructions say you need to use some special allen wrentch/hex key but you can just use a flat head screw driver. Our only issue, which was small, was some of the shelf pegs were flared at the end and we couldn't slide them in, so we just ground down the flared part. No biggie. (We could have gone to the store and bought new ones I suppose.) The bookcase is in our formal living room with a grand piano. Looks great. It is not made in China. I think it said Indonesia. I highly recommend this bookcase.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality, beauty and perfect
 from AZ,  Oct 9, 2014

The absolute best bookcase in the world for our transitional style living room. Loved the first one so much I bought a second. Now we have a matched set that surrounds our 48" flat screen. Color is rich dark espresso. You can see the grain well and they are solid wood. Just gorgeous. And my daughters entire book collection finally can be displayed!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and substantial bookcase
 from GA,  Aug 10, 2014

I bought two of these and had a little bit of trouble in a couple of places where the shelves didn't fit quite right. Nothing major or attention getting. These are very large and imposing pieces. Bought a smaller glass fronted and shelved piece in dark brown to go between them to keep them from looking too massive for the room. They look great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great buy! Very pleased
 from Houston, TX,  Jul 22, 2014

Love, love, love this bookcase. It's very dark, almost black-but in the light looks like dark chocolate. I love that it's sturdy, sleek and stylish!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
wonderful bookcase
 from Atlanta, GA,  Dec 12, 2011

I was very please with my purchase of this bookcase. It is very spacious, well made and solid. It is very affordable compared to other bookcases that are comparable in quality. I am hoping to purchase an additional one in the near future.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 191 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 10 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought