Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 41-60 of 64 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
thought it would be better
 from Florida,  Feb 23, 2011

The other reviews were enthusiastic, so I ordered this desk, because I like the design. It took two days to put it together, so I knocked off one star for just being complicated to assemble. What really bothered me, though, is that the veneer on one drawer was already scratched when the desk arrived, and an entire sliver of the veneer on one of the legs just peeled off; in other words, the finish is not particularly durable. And one of the drawers sticks a little. On the whole, despite its sturdiness and nice design, it's just an average piece of furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great but not with cheap cardboard back panel
 from Washington, DC,  Feb 21, 2011

Just to add to the previous comments, this desk is high quality and very sturdy, but: 1) one of the holes on one of the legs was drilled on the wrong side so it's useless and actually shows 2) I had to hammer the top panel in (it wasn't fitting perfectly after assembling everything else) and did split a corner of the panel in the process (be careful!) 3) more importantly I was very disappointed at the back panel, it's made of cheap soft cardboard material and I was expected hard wood like the other panels. That means you can only place the desk against a wall or it will look pretty ugly. That's too bad because the rest is nice.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 from Arkansas,  Feb 11, 2011

The desk is beautiful, but it took over 4 hours to put together, and I am pretty good at putting furniture together.. The instructions were not too clear. But for the difficulty in putting the desk together I would give it 5 stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Desk...Great Price
 from Los Angeles,  Jan 20, 2011

This is a SOLID desk for the price...Not cheap MDF! We bought one for a small area in the house and it works perfectly. My husband loved it so much we bought another one for the lake house. Beautiful color which works well with a variety of wood tones. Unless you had it set up like a "desk" you would never know it was a desk based on the style and simplicity. My husband did have a few "words" while putting it together but all in all ~ a very excellent buy!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A 5-Star Desk, but.....
 from Charlottesville, VA,  Dec 5, 2010

We love this desk. It looks great in a small bedroom/home office. We would have given this 5-stars however there were a few minor details that the manufacturer could improve on (hopefully they pay attention to their customers comments/experiences). First the locking cams are low quality and bits of metal break off when tightening. Use a #3 Phillips to tighten as this might lessen the impact on the cams and keep them from breaking. Secondly, there are no pre-drilled holes in the drawer side panels for the screws that attach the glides. You may want to pre-drill small holes to avoid splitting the wood. We found out the hard way. Thirdly, the instructions, although not bad, they were a little off. Some of the pictures showed more wood dowels going into some of the panels than there were were holes. Lastly, after placing the top piece on it takes a contortionist to reach in the drawer cavities to tighten the locking cams. My suggestion is to take a good accounting of all your parts/pieces, lay them out and then assemble. Also, take your time and enjoy yourself. It took my wife and I about two hours to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plateau Desk= perfect
 from Fort myers, Florida,  Nov 6, 2010

A Beautiful piece of furniture! This desk Is constucted of heavy solid wood that went together easily. As others have stated the drawer glides were a bit confusing mainly because of the instruction pictures. However, if you just align the holes as shown it is not a problem. I was looking for a desk that was not too deep as it was going in a smaller room. This is perfect and it does not look or feel like an "assemble at home" piece of furniture. It is solid and heavy and just beautiful. It also arrived super fast and was very well packaged.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
IF YOU ARE HANDY...
 from Miami, Florida,  Nov 5, 2010

What a beautiful, solid and functional piece. Problem is... it comes disassembled; and unless you're pretty handy, you'll be "pulling your hair out".

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
great desk
 from New York, NY,  Oct 20, 2010

Like other reviewers, I found this desk a little confusing to assemble, mostly the drawer rails. It is a nice looking, good quality desk but it suffered a few marks and scratches during assembly.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4.5 stars
 from Washington, DC,  Oct 5, 2010

The desk is attractive and solidly made. My only knock is that the directions were not the clearest. If you take your time and examine the pieces and out them together with one eye toward the directions and the other toward common sense, it's fine.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
99onlineshopping
 from Texas,  Sep 9, 2010

It is a solid desk, but cheap looking due to the stain quality.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Neat Desk
 from Newport RI,  Aug 10, 2010

I found this desk attractive and easy to assemble, the only problem is that it is made for people under 5'9", I had to raise it a couple of inches to get my normal size 6'2" legs under it. Looks good and very happy once raised.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Southern California,  Jul 21, 2010

We bought two of these desks for a small home office. They are sturdy, with clean lines and a nice color stain. The depth is a perfect depth for laptops and lcd monitors in contrast to the larger desks found in most places. The quality of the materials is a good value for the money though I did scratch the desk a bit when I pulled my lcd monitor across the top without lifting it. The instructions were a bit off at times but easier than typical diy furniture assembly. Overall, we're very happy with the value we've gotten from these desks.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 Jul 13, 2010

I love the desk. It got here in just a few days and was packaged so well there was no damage at all. It does come in 2 boxes. It took my husband about an hour and a half to put together, but the end result is just what we wanted. Color is true to the picture. Very sturdy.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
desk
 from Missouri,  Jul 9, 2010

Happily, I was able to assemble the desk by myself. It took SEVERAL hours yet I went slowly and carefully to insure success. Everything was labeled and packed well. It's easy to incorrectly install the panels and slides for the drawers so LOOK very closely at the images from the instructions for they are accurate. A regular screwdriver worked better than the 4mm hex wrench to lock the clamps screws in place. I am very pleased with this purchase. It's a solid piece of furniture that looks great in my home office.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome desk
 from New Jersey,  May 18, 2010

this desk really makes a statement in the room. it is a great size- check your measurements- it's big, but so elegant. It's not a deep espresso wood finish, but matches nice with espresso/dark woods. Looks very expensive. solid wood. Great buy

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plan for an afternoon for assembly.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 1, 2010

This piece looks great once assembled, is a very dark espresso - almost black - and is funky, sturdy, and practical. Downsides: for a pretty handy gal, this piece took me an entire afternoon to assemble. The middle drawer is a keyboard drawer, and the magnets on it are pretty weak, so if you want to use it for a normal drawer, it doesn't work too well. Overall, very satisfied with the piece for the price!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
review comments
 from Mount Vernon, Wa,  Jan 6, 2010

My Husband says the directions are the worse he has ever seen! Beware if your not good at assembling or following directions.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Chicago, IL,  Nov 29, 2009

This desk is a great value! Not only is it good looking, but it is also very sturdy. The only problem I had was with assembly... For the most part, everything went smoothly, but the instructions do leave a lot to be desired, and I spent an extra 30 minutes assembling everything because I put something together backwards. Either way, considering that I am a petite female and I put it together all by myself, I think that assembly is relatively easier, and would be even better if the instructions we a bit clearer.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but extremely hard to assemble
 from Austin,TX,  Aug 11, 2009

I love the desk, but I would hire someone to assemble it for you. It took 2 college educated people and a handy man to put this desk together. I would hire someone and leave the hardship to them. other than that.. I think the desk is a great bang for your buck!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Barboursville, VA,  Mar 26, 2009

We love our Plateau Computer Desk! It looks just like the picture and seems to be very high quality. It does take a little while to assemble. I did it mostly myself while my husband was at work and my two toddlers were napping. One of the most confusing parts to me was the guides for the drawers. I ended up putting some of them one the wrong way and had to reposition some of them. Not too bad though. We received the desk very quickly and were happy to have it. The price seems very reasonable, especially for the quality of the desk. We are very happy with our purchase. Now we just need a chair that looks as nice to go with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 41-60 of 64 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Bin Desk
Today $121.99
Stir Office Desk
Today $185.99
Expound Desk
Today $125.90
Joy Round Dining Table
Today $949.99
(1)
Back to top