Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 21-40 of 64 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
great desk
 from New York, NY,  Oct 20, 2010

Like other reviewers, I found this desk a little confusing to assemble, mostly the drawer rails. It is a nice looking, good quality desk but it suffered a few marks and scratches during assembly.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
4.5 stars
 from Washington, DC,  Oct 5, 2010

The desk is attractive and solidly made. My only knock is that the directions were not the clearest. If you take your time and examine the pieces and out them together with one eye toward the directions and the other toward common sense, it's fine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
good value
 from Southern California,  Jul 21, 2010

We bought two of these desks for a small home office. They are sturdy, with clean lines and a nice color stain. The depth is a perfect depth for laptops and lcd monitors in contrast to the larger desks found in most places. The quality of the materials is a good value for the money though I did scratch the desk a bit when I pulled my lcd monitor across the top without lifting it. The instructions were a bit off at times but easier than typical diy furniture assembly. Overall, we're very happy with the value we've gotten from these desks.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk!
 Jul 13, 2010

I love the desk. It got here in just a few days and was packaged so well there was no damage at all. It does come in 2 boxes. It took my husband about an hour and a half to put together, but the end result is just what we wanted. Color is true to the picture. Very sturdy.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
desk
 from Missouri,  Jul 9, 2010

Happily, I was able to assemble the desk by myself. It took SEVERAL hours yet I went slowly and carefully to insure success. Everything was labeled and packed well. It's easy to incorrectly install the panels and slides for the drawers so LOOK very closely at the images from the instructions for they are accurate. A regular screwdriver worked better than the 4mm hex wrench to lock the clamps screws in place. I am very pleased with this purchase. It's a solid piece of furniture that looks great in my home office.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
awesome desk
 from New Jersey,  May 18, 2010

this desk really makes a statement in the room. it is a great size- check your measurements- it's big, but so elegant. It's not a deep espresso wood finish, but matches nice with espresso/dark woods. Looks very expensive. solid wood. Great buy

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plan for an afternoon for assembly.
 from Atlanta, GA,  Feb 1, 2010

This piece looks great once assembled, is a very dark espresso - almost black - and is funky, sturdy, and practical. Downsides: for a pretty handy gal, this piece took me an entire afternoon to assemble. The middle drawer is a keyboard drawer, and the magnets on it are pretty weak, so if you want to use it for a normal drawer, it doesn't work too well. Overall, very satisfied with the piece for the price!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful
 from Chicago, IL,  Nov 29, 2009

This desk is a great value! Not only is it good looking, but it is also very sturdy. The only problem I had was with assembly... For the most part, everything went smoothly, but the instructions do leave a lot to be desired, and I spent an extra 30 minutes assembling everything because I put something together backwards. Either way, considering that I am a petite female and I put it together all by myself, I think that assembly is relatively easier, and would be even better if the instructions we a bit clearer.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful but extremely hard to assemble
 from Austin,TX,  Aug 11, 2009

I love the desk, but I would hire someone to assemble it for you. It took 2 college educated people and a handy man to put this desk together. I would hire someone and leave the hardship to them. other than that.. I think the desk is a great bang for your buck!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty Good
 Nov 26, 2008

The instructions were difficult to read - as most instructions are. There are so many pre-drilled holes, is it impossible to tell which holes get screws vs pegs - which can really mess things up. Once assembled, the desk looks great. It is much shorter though than it looks in the picture. If you are tall - I'd double check the measurements to make sure you'll be comfortable.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very Nice Solid piece
 from Portland OR,  Oct 29, 2008

Very solid piece. Rich dark espresso finish. Just what I was looking for. It does take some time to put together but well worth it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Worth purchasing
 from Raleigh, NC,  Oct 23, 2008

I have been using this desk for a week now and am very happy with it. It is a good size for a home office and looks very nice once assembled. The assembly overall was fairly easy but time consuming (when is putting furniture together not?). :) The only negative I would say regarding this desk is the drawers don't go in and out easily as it seems the tracks where a little bent when I received them. I am hoping over time the more I use them the "sticking" will go away. Other than that, my overall review is: great looking, functional and I would certainly recommend this desk to others.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well Worth the Buy!
 from Berwyn, IL,  Dec 2, 2013

We needed a simple space saving solution for a desk and pulled the trigger on the Plateau Computer Desk. A couple weeks later we were at Room & Board and saw a similar desk for near 4 times the price of this one! Now, granted, the quality of this desk is not as high as the one a R&B (this uses European cam fasteners, budget drawer slides, etc.), but the piece itself looks nearly identical! There's more solid wood on this piece than there is manufactured. Well worth the buy!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Classy and functional
 from California,  Sep 10, 2013

When I moved to a smaller home, I needed to downsize my office. This desk was the perfect choice. It was a bit of a challenge to put together, but so worth it. The color and quality of the wood is really beautiful and contemporary. I love the three drawers across the front. Now that I only have a laptop, when buttoned up, it really looks more like furniture than a working office. I love it.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love this desk!
 from Ruther Glen, VA,  Aug 16, 2013

I was a little nervous about getting this desk. It had a lot of good reviews about the looks but mostly heard that it was very hard to assemble and that the middle pull out drawer didn't work well. My handy husband had it put together in under two hours and the middle drawer works just fine. It's a very sturdy and great looking desk. Very good quality for the price.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Compact and mostly well made
 from San Diego, CA,  Aug 16, 2013

This desk was fairly easy to assembly. It's sturdy and well made, except the keyboard drawer doesn't close all the way. Seems like the magnets don't want to connect. But most people wouldn't notice. I have the desk in my living room (to the side) and it looks really nice.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Solid piece of furniture.
 from Boston, MA,  Aug 7, 2013

It does take a while to put together, my husband did it in about 2 1/2 hours. Very solid construction, Had the same problem with the magnetic drawer others have spoke of. It fit perfectly in the space I had for it, and I have gotten many compliments. Good value.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice desk!
 from San Antonio. TX,  Aug 5, 2013

I was rather apprehensive to purchase this desk given the reviews surrounding potential issues with assembly, but took the chance as I'm patient and good at working with the vaguest of details. In short, a close study of the assembly instructions allowed construction with no issues. Keeping with previous reviews, however, opening the middle drawer is awkward at best but is easily addressed with a chain & latch mechanism. This simple fix pales in the wake of the overall quality, durability, attractiveness and multifunction of this piece of furniture. One thing to note... Be mindful of the desk height from the floor to the bottom of the middle drawer which is not much clearance for leg room. Someone taller than 5'8 may find it difficult to sit at this desk. I'm quite content with my choice!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Exceeds Expectations
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great
 from Queens, NY,  Jun 3, 2013

I had my desk installed by a professional furniture assembler. When he finished, he said the middle drawer would not close properly. I tried to push the drawer in, but when I did, it was difficult to pull out again. Also, in trying to open it, some of the veneer scaped off. Luckily they included a touch up pen. The middle tray would be so useful if it opened and closed nicely. The furniture assembler said he did everything he could to fix it, but it still remained the same. I may not use the middle drawer at all now considering how difficult it is to open and close. But overall, it looks very modern and beautiful.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color compared perfectly to actual product.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality, but sensitive.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description.
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful and sturdy
 from Wisconsin,  Jan 2, 2013

Desk is beautiful and very well designed. The 2 side drawers are large enough to hold a legal size inbox tray and desk organizer. The center drawer keyboard tray (I use it with a desktop) is convenient and works fine for me. The particle board back has cord holes predrilled and I actually use velcro to attach power strips and printer cords to the back. It did take quite awhile to assemble and the drawer slides were a bit tricky (installed a couple upside down), but no worse than any I've put together over the years. There were a couple of holes that were not pre-drilled, but wood screws were self drilling which went in easily with a cordless screwdriver. Well worth the price and effort as it looks like a high end piece of modern furniture that could have cost double or triple the price. Could easily be used as a dining room buffet or entry table.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? well
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good - better than expected
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 21-40 of 64 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought