Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 64 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great but not with cheap cardboard back panel
 from Washington, DC,  Feb 21, 2011

Just to add to the previous comments, this desk is high quality and very sturdy, but: 1) one of the holes on one of the legs was drilled on the wrong side so it's useless and actually shows 2) I had to hammer the top panel in (it wasn't fitting perfectly after assembling everything else) and did split a corner of the panel in the process (be careful!) 3) more importantly I was very disappointed at the back panel, it's made of cheap soft cardboard material and I was expected hard wood like the other panels. That means you can only place the desk against a wall or it will look pretty ugly. That's too bad because the rest is nice.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Handsome, not TOO hard to assemble
 from Fort Wayne, IN,  Mar 1, 2011

First off, the desk arrived VERY quickly. I honestly didn't expect it to get here for a few days. The UPS man was kind enough to bring it into my garage, which was very kind. The one box is 75 pounds, so be ready for that. Second, assembly was not trivial, but wasn't hard. DEFINITELY follow the directions, especially on the drawer sliders. I thought I was following the directions carefully, but still managed to install them upside-down at first. The box included ample extra screws, etc., which is quite nice. When finished, the desk is very sturdy! As for the desk itself, it's better than expected. It's wide and deep enough to be useful, but not so large as to take up the whole room. I selected this one to fit in a specific space. Magnets hold the keyboard drawer tightly closed. This means that the drawer is useful as a regular drawer, and since it's used as a laptop desk (no separate keyboard), that's VERY welcome. For my purposes, this desk is as close to perfect as I could hope for. Thank you, Overstock!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Barboursville, VA,  Mar 26, 2009

We love our Plateau Computer Desk! It looks just like the picture and seems to be very high quality. It does take a little while to assemble. I did it mostly myself while my husband was at work and my two toddlers were napping. One of the most confusing parts to me was the guides for the drawers. I ended up putting some of them one the wrong way and had to reposition some of them. Not too bad though. We received the desk very quickly and were happy to have it. The price seems very reasonable, especially for the quality of the desk. We are very happy with our purchase. Now we just need a chair that looks as nice to go with it.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
thought it would be better
 from Florida,  Feb 23, 2011

The other reviews were enthusiastic, so I ordered this desk, because I like the design. It took two days to put it together, so I knocked off one star for just being complicated to assemble. What really bothered me, though, is that the veneer on one drawer was already scratched when the desk arrived, and an entire sliver of the veneer on one of the legs just peeled off; in other words, the finish is not particularly durable. And one of the drawers sticks a little. On the whole, despite its sturdiness and nice design, it's just an average piece of furniture.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
A 5-Star Desk, but.....
 from Charlottesville, VA,  Dec 5, 2010

We love this desk. It looks great in a small bedroom/home office. We would have given this 5-stars however there were a few minor details that the manufacturer could improve on (hopefully they pay attention to their customers comments/experiences). First the locking cams are low quality and bits of metal break off when tightening. Use a #3 Phillips to tighten as this might lessen the impact on the cams and keep them from breaking. Secondly, there are no pre-drilled holes in the drawer side panels for the screws that attach the glides. You may want to pre-drill small holes to avoid splitting the wood. We found out the hard way. Thirdly, the instructions, although not bad, they were a little off. Some of the pictures showed more wood dowels going into some of the panels than there were were holes. Lastly, after placing the top piece on it takes a contortionist to reach in the drawer cavities to tighten the locking cams. My suggestion is to take a good accounting of all your parts/pieces, lay them out and then assemble. Also, take your time and enjoy yourself. It took my wife and I about two hours to assemble.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plateau Desk
 from Ft. Lauderdale,  Nov 26, 2008

This is a superior product. The package arrived in perfect condition; the interior packaging held all wooden parts securely so nothing was scratch or damaged. Assembly requires two people since parts are very heavy, it is worth the effort since the desk is stunning. I have my laptop in the center drawer with a high def LCD panel on the top surface. I have connected the PC to the LCD thus I have a 26 inch monitor. The height of the desk allows easy viewing while I am relaxing in bed. If you need a desk this is the one for you.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Assembly is a nightmare
 from Pennsylvania,  Jun 1, 2012

Nice desk, but a nightmare to put together as it took over six hours with two adults, one who is in the furniture industry. Some parts, such as the back, are cheap. Two pieces were mismarked and the top of the desk had a deep scratch in it when sent to me.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice, but keyboard drawer doesn't work properly
 from Washington DC,  Mar 23, 2012

The desk is nice and is a substantial piece of furniture. The wood pieces are sturdy and it was relatively easy to put together. I've had for a couple years now and it has stood up to light use. The only complaint I have is that the keyboard drawer, which is supposed to be held closed by magnets doesn't work properly. The magnets aren't strong enough to keep it shut so it is always hanging loose. I haven't figured out a way to fix that. For this reason I gave it 3 stars, but it's a decent desk.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
More Table Than Desk
 from Pittsburgh, PA,  Dec 21, 2011

Overall, it's a nice piece of furniture. Like other reviews mentioned, it is a two-person job to assemble; however, the directions are easy to follow and not frustrating. It just takes time. I would recommend this product. It's a nice complement to our den.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? It appears quite similar as the picture.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. It is well made; however, we had trouble with the middle drawer. The magnets did not hold up the keyboard tray well enough, so we had to rig it with velco. Not a big deal, though.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
NICE DESK
 from DELAWARE,  Nov 10, 2011

DESK ARRIVED WITHIN SEVERAL DAYS...MY WIFE PUTS TOGETHER ALL THE FURNITURE WE GET...I DON'T HAVE THE PATIENCE AND SHE COMPLAINED OFTEN ABOUT HOW POOR THE INSTRUCTIONS WERE. BUT SHE DID PREVAIL AND THE DESK IS A VERY NICE PIECE OF FURNITURE SO IN THE END IT WAS EASILY WORTH THE PRICE OF ADMISSION...GIVEN MY WIFES REACTION TO THE INSTRUCTIONS I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS AS THE FIRST PIECE OF FURNITURE THAT SOMEONE PUTS TOGETHER...IF I DIDN'T HAVE TO LISTEN TO MY WIFE COMPLAIN ALL DAY PUTTING IT TOGHETHER I WOULD GIVE IT 5 STARS...SO IT GETS 4....

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? SAME AS PICTURED
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. SOLID WOOD, NICE WEIGHT, NICE COLOR
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? GOOD
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice product. Be careful with assembly!
 from Saugatuck, MI,  Oct 29, 2011

I'm using this as a vanity/desk in a guest room. It's sturdy and it looks good. Functions well for what I need. Assembling it took a couple of days with martini breaks! Be careful when assembling the middle section, because it DOES matter which of the two pieces serve as the divider on the left and right of the middle drawer. Because the middle (keyboard) drawer is different than the other two, the rails that are attached to the desk sit back further than the rails for the side drawers. Also, when installing those two dividers, be aware that there IS a front and back to each piece- it's not terribly clear in the picture, and easy to miss in the heat of assembly. In the end, it's a nice desk and spacious.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Looks good, solidly built
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Well built
 from Cadott, WI,  Jul 31, 2011

This peice is much heavier than you would think...I had my son help me lift it and we struggled...the upside of that is, there is no wobble, and is quite serviceable.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. this peice had no issues
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks great, but what a pain to assemble!
 from Grass Valley, CA,  Jul 9, 2011

I love the desk... fits perfectly in the nook in the wall in our spare bedroom we use as an office! I echo many of the reviews that it was a pain to put together. The pieces were mislabeled, and the part with the drawer sliders is very tricky. Took several hours, and I highly recommend using a power drill, especially if you screw up and have to take apart anything to re do it! Arrived quickly, 2 heavy boxes, and our shipment guy must have been lazy because he just left it out in front of the garage instead of on the front porch like they usually do...I'd order another one, but make my husband do the assembly... LOL

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? same
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. good, nice color finish
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from San Diego, CA,  Jul 7, 2011

Just a construction note - the part J was not labelled but Q was labelled twice. E and F (the middle drawer side panels) were wrong in the diagram, they had to be switched and reversed from what the diagram showed.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colour is a bit lighter than the picture shows
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Seems good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great desk
 from Lebanon Ohio,  May 11, 2011

I love this desk. It has such simple lines and a unique look compared to your typical selection of home desks. We have it in our master bedroom. Despite all the aggravation putting it together, I would definitely recommend it to others. A good value. The instructions were confusing, and I had to take out some of the Camlock screws to get the drawer sides to go on. Took me at least 5 hours to put it together. The back piece is flimsy and my daughter snapped it in half before I could even get it on. Luckily we have the desk against a wall. I don't think it would look very nice (even if it was not broken) if it was exposed. No pre-drilling on the drawer glides is a real problem and the wood is easy to crack when trying to do it yourself.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? The desk is sturdy and solid
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great for the Price
 from Beautiful Nevada,  Mar 24, 2011

I shopped for several months to find a desk that fit my limited space requirements -- mainly for depth, and this fit the target. I have purchased "rubber wood" from Overstock in the past and knew of its color and quality and this met those expectations. It was not too dificult for my husband to assemble. My only complaint would be the magnetic dots used to hold the drop down drawer closed. They stopped working within 2 weeks. But, they are not truly needed as the drawer stays closed anyway. Also, I've always used a pull out tray, rather than a drop down drawer and I'm finding the hinges tend to get in my way when using the key board and mouse. This is a minor inconvenince, however. I have an "all in one" computer with a large screen; an organizer, miscelaneous stuff and still have room for my papers, etc. I did have my printer on the desk for awhile, and that did limit space somewhat, but still had room to work. It's difficult to find a long desk that isn't too deep, so this working great for me in my space. I gave it a four because of the magnetic dot thing and the drop down hinges, but these are minor and I recommend this desk.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it!
 from Omaha, NE,  Feb 26, 2011

This desk looks just like the photo, nice clean lines and contemporary. As other reviewers stated, the drawer glides were a pain. We had to take the desk partially apart to figure out what was wrong when we tried to insert the drawers, but we were able to quickly reassemble again once we figured out the problem. I was anticipating some trouble after reading the reviews proir to my purchase, so no biggie. It took me a long afternoon to put it together, but I would buy this again. Make sure you measure the opening for the chair. A smaller chair without arms is best so that it can be pushed under when not in use.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful desk
 from Arkansas,  Feb 11, 2011

The desk is beautiful, but it took over 4 hours to put together, and I am pretty good at putting furniture together.. The instructions were not too clear. But for the difficulty in putting the desk together I would give it 5 stars.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Plateau Desk= perfect
 from Fort myers, Florida,  Nov 6, 2010

A Beautiful piece of furniture! This desk Is constucted of heavy solid wood that went together easily. As others have stated the drawer glides were a bit confusing mainly because of the instruction pictures. However, if you just align the holes as shown it is not a problem. I was looking for a desk that was not too deep as it was going in a smaller room. This is perfect and it does not look or feel like an "assemble at home" piece of furniture. It is solid and heavy and just beautiful. It also arrived super fast and was very well packaged.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
IF YOU ARE HANDY...
 from Miami, Florida,  Nov 5, 2010

What a beautiful, solid and functional piece. Problem is... it comes disassembled; and unless you're pretty handy, you'll be "pulling your hair out".

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 64 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
White Exponent Office Desk /Drafting Table
Today $104.99
Compare $159.00
Save 34%
(3)
Classic White Accent Ledge Shelves (Set of 3)
Sale $32.84
Was $36.49
Compare $38.01
Save 14%
(4)
Iron Argento Wall Shelf
Today $102.99
Vilas Writing Desk
Today $319.99
(21)
Acer XF Pro Iron Set
Today $154.19
(1)
Back to top