Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great quality!
 from Avondale, PA,  Nov 10, 2012

We looked in many furniture stores before deciding to purchase this bedroom set. We wanted something that was solid wood instead of veneer and not overly priced. We're very pleased with the overall quality of the bedroom set. It seems to be great value for the money--solid wood, well made, and attractive. The dressers aren't large, but that suits our bedroom well. The drawers are fairly roomy, unlike some dressers we looked at. It was easy to assemble--the night stand and dressers just needed the knobs and feet attached and the bed frame wasn't too complicated. We paid a little extra for white glove delivery, so all of the pieces were taken from their boxes and delivered to our room. Attaching the mirror was the most complicated part of setting it up. When the furniture was delivered, one box that held the side rails for the bed was damaged and one piece was scratched. Overstock dealt promptly with the problem, offering us a partial refund or replacement of the piece. The set only comes with one night stand. We found one elsewhere, but I much prefer dealing with Overstock. We had a very bad experience with the other company.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good--dark black enamel-type matte finish, no wood grain visible
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The furniture is well made. The drawers slide easily all of it seems solidly built.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great furniture set!
 from Berkshire, MA,  Mar 4, 2014

Easy to assmble, great condition. Aired out the drawers for a few days since they had that "new/varnish/etc" smell, which has since gone away. Apart from a few small nicks on the bed frame and dresser, the condition was excellent. I filled these in with permanent marker.

Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Overstock Shipping of oversized items
 from Pittsburgh Pa,  Nov 23, 2013

The condition of the furniture when I received it was terrible. All the boxes were damaged. The dresser and headboard both sustained damage and needed to be replaced. The furniture itself is very nice for the price but the shipping method/ shipper Overstock uses needs to be replace. Very disappointing to spend that kind of money and it comes in the condition it did.

Fair
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Quality for the price
 from Maine,  Sep 21, 2013

We purchased this bedroom set after moving into a new house. After shopping around this set had the most attractive design and best price for a solid wood set. The boxes weigh quite a bit and two guys were needed to carry most of the pieces to the second floor of our house. There were only a few knobs and legs to screw in on nearly all of the pieces. The bed frame required assembly and took us about a half hour. There are some minor imperfections with the finish if you look closely but nothing that I feel detracted from the value. We chose not to use the mirror and instead have a 32" LCD TV on the bureau which is at the perfect height while laying in bed. We've had the set for 7 months now with no major complaints. My only qualms are that the bed frame creaks somewhat and one drawer of the chest slides out too easily (we opted not to mount the chest to the wall so this may be contributing). Overall, I'm very pleased with the set and highly recommend it for the value.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just okay...
 from Pinellas Park, FL,  Apr 8, 2013

I bought a bedroom set that came with a bed, side table, a chest and a dresser. I find all items okay except for the bed. The bed is not properly designed. There is no easy way to put a mattress on top of the bed. The side-piece, that holds the wooden bars to place mattress on top of it, broke while i was sleeping and i am living in a different bedroom since then. My bed is unusable at the moment and i can't think of an easy way to fix it.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color matched with the website.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. As for the quality, the products are of mediocre quality. The side-piece that holds the bars to keep mattress on top broke while i was sleeping and i fell to the ground. Luckily i have a bed in the guestroom for me to sleep on.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? It was quite accurate. However, I would have liked to see more pictures that showed what is underneath the mattress showing the bed-frame.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great value!
 from Nashville, TN,  Apr 7, 2013

Love the furniture. It looks great and will serve as a child's bedroom furniture but nice enough to use for guests - win-win! Would definitely purchase it again. Paid a small fee for the white glove delivery as it had to go up two flights of stairs. My only complaint is that rather than take the four weeks as expected, I received it in a week or less.....it was super fast!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As represented
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Better than expected quality, especially for the money
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Ethan home piston 5- piece
 from Pa,  Apr 3, 2013

Got my furniture the head board had a split it the back so the wood was showing on that (luckily it was in the back). The dresser had a huge gouge taken out of it.(wood exposed and looked like it got wet before packaging because it was swollen) the mirror has a huge scratch in it. My nightstand and chest looked perfect except for when i opened the bottom drawer on the night stand. The track was not even on the nightstand and all the screws were down in the drawer. Well after having my dad spray paint all the bad stuff on this furniture black so they would not show wood he fixed my drawer as well... Then my 115lb body went to sleep on my bed the first not apparently was to heavy for it because the side rail snapped!!! Of course dad to the rescue again he had to rebuild the frame to what it actually should have been. If your buying this bed please note u will have alot of hassle to deal with!! It defiantly was not worth the money!!! Its cheap and its like whoever constructed it and shipped it (1guy showed up for delivery mind u for all that furniture) didnt care about the customer!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Somewhat similar
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very impressed
 from san jose CA,  Feb 28, 2013

I was kind of skeptical before placing the order. Not sure if the look and finish would be same as in pictures. However it turned out to be similar to the picture. Only regret is not to request for a white glove delivery. I live in a 4 floor apt and had to help the delivery personal with moving the package to my apt. Other than that worth the money.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact same color as in Picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very Close
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Mixed Feelings..
 from West Hills, CA,  May 15, 2013

I chose this set for two reasons. One, I was looking for a black bedroom set and they are hard to find. Two, the reputation of Ethan Allen. Unfortunately I was quite disaapointed in the quality. I expected the pieces to be finished much better then they are. I will say all are solid wood. The dresser mirror in particular came slightly damaged and so I asked for a replacement. Unfortunately the replacement came shattered. I ended up keeping the original mirror and Overstock gave me a credit for the damage and inconvenience. This is by no means a reflection on Overstock as they did all they could to rectify the problem. It is merely to say that Ethan Allen's quality has most certainly gone downhill. All in all if you are looking for a black bedroom set in solid wood this fits the bill but be prepared for imperfections.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Dark Black as listed.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was not up to par and should be much better.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Description is very accurate.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Weak bed supports
 from San Francisco area, CA,  Feb 21, 2013

After less than a month of physically owning the bed, the supports on one of the top corners of the bed gave out. It literally ripped the screws from the wood. I'm giving the product a second chance to see if the replacement rail will be better constructed because I don't want to have to return the rest of the set but I imagine I will go through with returning it all if this happens again.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Acurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I have no complaints about the dresser, chest, or nightstand. The quality of the bed's rails is poor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Acurate enough
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-10 of 10 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Spelding Black 5-piece Bedroom Set
Sale $1385.99
Was $1539.99
(1)
Napa Black Bedroom 5-piece Set
Sale $1862.99
Was $2069.99
Piston Black Modern Cottage 5-drawer Chest
Sale $481.49
Was $534.99
Compare $553.52
Save 13%
(1)
Back to top