Product Reviews

This product can only be shipped to certain zip codes. View full details page for more information.

View Full Details
Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
So cool and convenient!
 from Long Island, NY,  Sep 20, 2011

I have always wanted an island kitchen, but my kitchen is way too small and making the appropriate renovation to the house in order to achieve this feat would be quite costly. So when I saw this nifty little kitchen island on Overstock, I just had to get it. And what a difference it has made. Now I have everything I need right on this cart, and because it has wheels, I can move it around so that I can prepare dinner in several places, whether its by the dining room so I can watch my kids, or by the entrance to the backyard deck, so I can prepare food for the grill and pass it conveniently to my husband the grillmaster. Thanks to this convenient unit, I am a cook on the move and It feels great!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great cart, Instructions not fantastic!
 from Washington,  Jun 17, 2012

I have been searching for a kitchen cart that would work with my space, and loved the granite top of this one. I read all the reviews and this one from overstock was the best I could find for my purposes. Let me begin by saying that if you are trying to assemble or receive this package alone, GOOD LUCK! I am a tiny girl and thankfully the UPS guy brought the boxes into my home for me because LORD were they heavy! After opening everything up and looking at the instructions I felt very daunted by the task, but began my assembly. The instructions are helpful, but not very clear with how the setup should be, so BE CAREFUL as you put it together. Make sure the slates for the doors are all on the correct side (I did this wrong not once, but twice and after having it 90% assembled had to take it all apart to re do it because I had the door holes on the wrong side...let me mention, I am highly educated with a masters degree and have assembled other products very easily, but this one had me stumped). Once you figure out how it goes (so I suppose if you are very handy) it's very easy to assemble. The only issues I had with it, is one of the holes for the leg was not open enough and some of the wood on the leg (luckily not visible from outside) was cracked. The granite top is beautiful, but like other reviewers, mine had a defect. There is a small chip near the corner which was a bummer. Also, try lifting that heavy thing by yourself and YOU WILL BE SORRY! I had to have a friend come over to help me with it because it is awfully heavy and lifting it that high would have thrown out my back. The finished product is wonderful, and it was definitely well worth the money, but unless you are handy or you have a friend/spouse helping you out, be a bit wary of the assembly!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? As described, just like picture!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. High quality materials
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
It's been a struggle
 from California,  Nov 1, 2011

First off, if you aren't handy, this isn't the kit for you. It's complex and in our case we had a broken part that meant we had to keep everything in the middle of our living room floor, partially assembled for the 2 weeks it took to get the new part to us. As always, Overstock's customer service was excellent, but the mfg. sent the replacement part and it was broken in another place. Fortunately my hubby is handy and scavenged from the other piece and was able to make it work. Okay, that covers the assembly. For the price it is a very nice unit, but it isn't super top grade either. Once the unit was done and in my kitchen it's been a godsend. We have a small, poorly functioning kitchen. This takes up quite a bit of room in the center, but makes the whole space function so much more effectively it's worth giving up the feeling of spaciousness. The granite top is very functional (remember to seal the granite with a good sealer as stone is porous and easily stains). The two drawers are tiny and will be only somewhat effective. Since we're not using this for wine display the one shelf is a little awkward (built in half dowels to hold wine bottles in place. All in all we're satisfied.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good, some minor flaws in the finish and broken parts
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? very
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
This is a great piece but had 2 damaged pieces
 from Raleigh nc,  Apr 3, 2012

The cabinet is great. However when it arrived it had a top piece of the cabinet broken and the granite top as well. Both of the pieces were promptly replaced and I love the piece. It added just the right touch to my kitchen.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Actual
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Same
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Island
 from OC, MD,  Nov 15, 2011

This island is wonderful! We needed more counter room so I thought this island might be a good fix. It only took my boyfriend and I about an hour and a half to put together and it looks spectacular. This is a great buy; worth every penny.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Great quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Exact
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Kitchen island
 from Islip, NY,  Feb 15, 2014

I love this island. The granite counter top is strong and thick. It compliments the cabinet beautifully. Looks like furniture.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

Everything arrived intact and the finish on the wood is black but still faintly shows the grain of the wood, this is good, it does not look cheap or like plastic. The only issue I have is that some of the middle sections were just slightly malformed, causing a little difficulty in assembly, but once it was together it is not noticeable. Assembled it looks great, the only issue I have I will probably remedy on my own, but I wish the shelf supports could have multiple placements, particularly lowering the open shelf because there is not actually enough room to hang stemmed glasses and store wine.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
nice moving island
 from Michigan,  Jan 18, 2014

nice for the price ... gives me additional workspace when needed ... nice looking ... takes about 2-3 hrs. to build up + some common sense ...

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice unit and beautiful granite top
 from FL,  Nov 14, 2013

It is tough to put together and a few pieces were damaged. Overstock immediately rectified the situation!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
bad instructions but awesome item
 from Tubac, AZ,  Oct 30, 2013

I love my new bar, the instructions are not really good, they are a big struggle but the item is really cool and just like in the image. It is good quality, not the best like it would last 50 yrs but it will have a good 10-20 yrs life, which is awesome for the price. The design is really nice!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Useful and beautiful kitchen addition
 from Lancaster, PA,  Sep 25, 2013

I would recommend this with the following warning: the first one we recieved had about 5 damaged parts in the one box and the granite top was broken in half. Customer service handled the issue well, but it was still a hassle to have heavy boxes and debris cluttering our already small house as we waited for replacements. We have to dispose of the broken one ourselves, including the granite, which won't be easy to do. I handled the assembly myself in a few hours time but it required two men to lift the granite top. It was easier than I expected. I'm so glad we stuck it out and kept this. It is very attractive and I love the look and extra space. It is perfect for our small kitchen.

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Granite Top Black Phoenix Kitchen Island
 from Southwest Florida,  Apr 4, 2013

This island is exactly what I was looking for! Love it and have had many compliments from others. I am a 60 yr. old women, who is mechanically inclined! I put this together myself! It arrived in 2 very heavy boxes. About 70lbs. each.NOTE: Be home when your delivery arrives, cause if you are alone, you won't be able to move boxes by yourself from your front door. The UPS guy kindly brought them inside my door for me! I dragged each piece into my kitchen one by one, read over the directions carefully and took my time. Directions say, 2 person job & 2 hours! It took about 2 1/2 to 3 hours to complete, except for the very heavy top! That's a two person job! My handyman friend was impressed! BTY, the granite top is nice quality. My kitchen is large and doesn't have the best layout. I enjoy cooking, so this island served to make my kitchen much more effecient to work in. I shopped around a lot before making this purchase. I am so pleased with the quality, for a great price!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colors in photo were right on!
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. I am very pleased with the quality.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nic ekitchen island
 from Stony Point NEW YORK,  Mar 21, 2013

Well just as others stated the the granite top came broken. The package was pretty beat up and as soon as i saw it knew top was trashed, so on the phone with cutomer service and were very helpful and tracked down a new top. Second top came and it took 20 minutes to unpack. (should have been done this way the first time) but anyway kitchen island looks great and not to bad overall, The wine glass rack as other reviewer stated is good but you can't put glasses and wine bottles as in the picture, but you can switch the wine rack shelf but any shelf you put under you wine glassesyour not going to put much on it. I would buy it again though nice overall piece.Hope this helps. Its hard to buy from a picture and a sales decription nice to have reviews from others (at least for me)

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? color matches website
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. ok quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? pretty accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Shipping Disaster - Manufacturing Defects
 from Philadelphia, PA,  Mar 12, 2013

The initial delivery showed up right on time, I was super excited to get it built so I could use it for the weekend, thats where the elation ended. As soon as I opened the box, I noticed that the top frame was completely broken and splintered in two different places. As well, without even opening the box containing the granite top, I could tell that it was also smashed to bits (pretty sure granite shouldnt bend in the middle). I called up Overstock immediately, spoke to a very nice lady who sympathized with my situation and immediately initiated the shipment of a replacement unit. Although I was upset about the original, I feel that she did a great job in rectifying the situation, thats the only reason I gave this 2 stars. Fast forward to a week later, the second unit arrived, the boxes looking to be in better shape so I crossed my fingers and went through all the pieces. To my surprise, they were all there in tact. I began to put the unit together, everything was going well until it was time to put on the side rack. The bottom 2 bolts went in fine, 2 more screws at the top and I'm done!!! Wait a minute, what is going on here? The holes were drilled in the wrong place!! Somewhere in the manufacturing process, the assemblers put a wrong end piece on the top frame. I decided to cut my losses and break out my own drill to finish the job. In short, BEWARE. For over $***, I expect the item to get here in one piece and be properly manufactured. I would suggest trying something else similar to this if you really like it. HUGE LETDOWN!!!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? NA
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Terrible
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful granite top kitchen cart
 from Dutchess County ,NY,  Feb 27, 2013

Excellent product for the price. Very good quality granite top was a nice choice Overstock does it again! Very happy customer as always!

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good comparison
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very good quality for the price
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate description
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love It!
 from Baton Rouge, LA,  Jan 12, 2013

Purchased for our kitchen and my husband and 10 year old daughter put it together. The marble was broke with the first shipment but O sent out another one right away. I love this piece and love how I can hide my cookbooks. Makes my kitchen look uncluttered. This is made of quality material and hold our huge microwave with on problems.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect black color
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Sturdy and has good support
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very happy
 from Denver, CO,  Oct 9, 2012

As others mentioned our order arrived with the granite broken. We called overstock and they were so nice, apologized and promptly sent us a new granite top that arrived intact. Its true the instructions are only pictures but we felt they were fairly simple and my husband and I put together the kitchen island in around 1.5 hours while watching a movie (and didn't end up fighting either!) Everyone that sees it give us lots of compliments on the island, it fits all our extra stuff in an elegant manner. The only thing I would mention is that our normal sized wine glasses hang down nearly to the shelf and there is not room for wine bottles in the place shown. But all in all we love out kitchen cart and believe is was a great purchase.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? True
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very elegant
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? True
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Wonderful Island
 from VA,  Sep 1, 2012

I love this island. So elegant and beautiful! Everyone loves it when they come visit! its a must buy!!!

Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating

I like the product. I think it is general designed well and definitely priced favorably. The only complain I have is that the while the product contained illustration on the assembly there was no text explaining or rather avoiding the simple confusion you run into when assembling it. With better test in instruction, this product actually is quite simple to put together.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Commensurate with the amount I paid for.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Value and quality
 from Maple Valley, WA,  Aug 1, 2012

I assembled this in 3 hours. Easy to read instructions, and the parts were numbered.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Good
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 27 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought