Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-20 of 123 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Great Chair, Good Value
 from Long Beach, CA,  Oct 16, 2010

My wife and I were looking for a big chair (actually two) to sit in and sip coffee in the morning. She was a little afraid to buy a chair that she couldn't sit in first and see if it was comfortable. We read the reviews and decided to buy two of the Philly Framed Chairs in the Chocolate color. They shipped for free and arrived quickly. They are heavy and well constructed, and looked exactly like the picture. My wife likes how comfortable they are, and so do I. Firm and sturdy. They are not puffy and overstuffed...which we like. We had one issue: one of the metal screw anchors was missing, so one chair was not able to have all the bolts installed. I called Overstock and they shipped a replacement within a few days, along with a free UPS return label for the damaged one. The new one was fine, and all is well. We are happy with the chairs and would absolutely recommend the chair and also Overstock as a customer-friendly company. These guys know how to keep us happy and coming back to shop for more.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice solid chair
 Mar 11, 2010

I bought 2 of these chairs for my music room. They arrived packaged excellently and with no damage. They were a bit harder to bolt together than the other chairs I have bought, but with patience, can be done in 20 mins. Jury is still out on the fabric though. The quality is excellent, but when I bought, I knew I might have them re-upolstrerd with something else that matches my decor better. One note though - the angle of the photograph makes it appear that the back is higher than it actually is. It's fine, but in reality, the seat is much larger visually than it appears in the photo.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Buyer Beware
 from Tampa, FL,  Nov 12, 2011

They make you put the seat on before the legs and since the seat is so large it makes lining the legs up much harder. It is quite large which is good because I have a quite large friend who visits me. It isonly 17 inches off the floor which I consider too low for a modern chair. I will not be sitting in it myself. But if you have someone who can get it together for you, I think you will be fairly happy. I did notice that after an hour of her sitting on the new chair it was starting to creak when she shifted her weight. Still, it is attractive if you only use it occasionally it should be OK. I think we will try bracing it up some underneath just to be sure.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. My husband who is quite handy had a bit of trouble getting this chair together.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Adequate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Phenomenal Accent Chairs
 from Boca Raton, FL,  Jun 22, 2011

This was my first purchase with "O" so I was a little leery but I was not disappointed. The chairs arrived timely and conveniently to my house door. My husband and I put the chairs together during the 2nd half of the Heat & Mavericks playoff games. It was a little tricky getting in the screw to line up but once we did it was pretty smooth from their (having 2 people really helped). The finished product is great. The chairs (I brought 2) are full bodied and could almost seat two. The fabric is very nice quality, sturdy, and has a good back support. Thanks "O" I'm already looking for my next piece (a console table) to go with the chairs.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? excellent
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent Chair for the Money
 from Spokane, WA,  Oct 29, 2011

We just received the chairs and are impressed with the quality of the fabric, comfort of the chair and price. As per previous reviews, the seat is very large, but comfortable. We were definitely impressed with the color match of the wood to the photo and fabric quality. Assembly wasn't bad and took about 45 minutes for the first chair and 15 minutes for the second. The secret is to not attach the seat cushion until the frame is fully assembled and tightened (contrary to the included instructions). The assembly alignment of the arms to the seat back seemed off slightly along with the alignment of the arms to seat frame. Once everything was lined up (that was the most difficult part) and tightened the chair looks good. Follow the instructions and you will be fine. For the price this is an excellent buy. We searched a lot in our town and more recently online to find a chair that was affordable, comfortable and looked good. So far the chair seems sturdy and only time will tell if it will need significant maintenance to tighten the assembly bolts. At this time I do not expect a lot of maintenance.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Color match was near spot on.
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Quality was ok and to be expected in price range. Fabric was good, wood is soft, hardware alignment was poor.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great purchase
 from Pgh, Pa.,  Jul 29, 2011

Perfect chair to fill a bare spot . If you have a larger person visiting your home, it will seat them comfortably. Is very sturdy and will fit in with most decor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? yes
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Good quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice chair; had to redrill holes
 from Gainesville, VA,  Jun 19, 2011

Overall, I am pleased with this chair. It looks great in our family room as additional seating. The seat bottom cushion is wide so guests will not feel cramped in this chair. The assembly was as other reviewers described. The pre-drilled holes do not line up and the holes had to be re-drilled. If you are not comfortable re-drilling the holes, I would not recommend purchasing this chair. If you don't mind using a drill, this chair is sturdy once assembled and good quality for the price.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Great Chair
 from Nashville, TN,  Aug 10, 2011

Love this chair and I have many compliments from friends. I purchased the partner chair for my bedroom.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Perfect match to photo
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent quality
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurately described
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
One glitch.
 from New Smyrna Beach, FL,  Aug 5, 2011

I had read the reviews so I thought I was ready for the assembly. Not so. One step that does not appear anywhere in the instructions is attaching the bottom cushion to the seat frame. Unfortunately, by the time we discovered the oversight, we had already assembled the frame and inserted the plugs that cover recessed screws. There is no way to place the cushion without completely disassembling the chair. Removal of the plugs caused scratches to the wood finish. We couldn't think of any other way. We also double checked to see if we missed something. No, it was not in the instructions. The chair looks great. We have it in the bedroom. It is comfortable for a moderate amount of time but it is not meant to be one's favorite chair.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Good match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Fine for the price.
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Odd size.
 from Iowa,  Jun 29, 2011

This is an unusual chair, specifically the seat size. The picture shows the chair at an angle so the largeness of the seat isn't as obvious as when you see it straight on. I was hoping I could reupholster this chair and pull it off in a more traditional setting but it just doesn't work. If you are looking for something more fun and contempory, this chair would be great.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? Good
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Looks nice but not functional
 from Dallas, TX,  Jun 24, 2011

If you're going to put the chair in a room for "show" this is perfect. If you have kids or dogs that might bump it or tap on it, the wood will dent very very easily. Assembly instructions are not intuitive and took my very handy husband by surprise.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes, the color is just as pictured
  • How is the quality of the product? The wood is SO soft. My 3 yr-old with her plastic toy was able to make dents just by tapping on it.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Very nice chair for the money
 from Los Angeles,  Jun 18, 2011

This is a very nice looking chair, good quality fabric and the seat is large as others have said. It comes in 4 pieces and was a little hard to get started but I put it together by myself and about 30 - 45 minutes and it looks great. I wish the seat was a little softer but for this price it's great. I have ordered a second one and they will be in my living room.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? nice looking chair
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, big, firm
 from Bartlett, TN,  May 7, 2011

My husband and I put this chair together this morning. The chair after assembly is beautiful and looks like the photo. The chair is very solid. The seat is large enough that my 6 ft, 175 husband can sit Indian style on the chair comfortably with some room to spare. The seat is supportive. Others have noted that they had trouble getting the first set of bolts in. First, we checked to be sure we had all the pieces per the instructions and we did. I was sure to pick up the long bolts for putting the back of the seat on. We wound up having to straighten the bolts holes via reaming them as the angle was too severe. After that, the chair went together like a charm. Be sure to leave everything loose just like the instructions say. Also, putting on the arms of the chair, we recommend putting the arm bolts in enough so that they are started and then gently slipping the front leg into place. Then place the final bolts. The instructions are spare, yet clear. Aside from the need to straighten the holes for where're the back of the seat is attached, it was a breeze to put together. It just took a little time. My husband used his Allen ratchet wrench to speed up the tightening up process. Once all the bolts were in, we put felt pads on the bottom of each leg and then finished the tightening process. Overall, it was a fairly easy process and the chair was well worth the time. I would purchase it again. We are putting this into what was the dining room which is becoming the formal living room. The fabric is modern but not too modn. The chair itself is nice, solid wood.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Just like the pic
 from Kennewick WA,  Jan 27, 2011

We got the chair in 3 days! Great customer service. My husband put it together by himself but it did take some effort. The holes were not exactly lined up but they were lined with metal so now that it is together it is very sturdy. The color and look is just like the picture. It is a wide chair which is good but not a cozy chair. The bottom cushion is ok but not cozy. It is a great accent chair. We have two large overstuffed couches in brown and we wanted something with more structure. It fits the bill. We looked at other chairs online and in local stores and this was at least 50% less and looks great!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
avoid
 from Texas,  Dec 5, 2010

While the upholstery on the chair looks great, it is a nightmare to assemble. I have assembled all different types of chairs, tables, barstools, entertainment centers with ease. THIS chair comes equipped with bolts that are much too long for the attachment of the seat to the back. It took my husband and I over 3 hours to assemble just one of the chairs. The 5 bolt-holes are difficult to line up if you have the pegs in their proper places. Plus the four 3" bolts are at least 1/4" too long for this application, as when we tightened them completely (if you don't, then they need at least another washer or two) it cracked the back legs. Plus to get them to tighten takes a lot more than the allen wrench which is included. We had to use a lot of leverage. The other bolts (center back and arm) screwed in like they should without problem. I am dreading putting together the second chair.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Excellent accent Chair
 from Homestead,Florida,  Apr 30, 2014

I bought two of these as accent chairs for my living room,these are not for everyday use chairs.I read many of the reviews and many people complaints was the putting together process was difficult,however i took my time and read the directives thoroughly and had no problems putting chairs together it took me about an hour building both chairs and that includes removing packaging, this lead me to conclude that many of the prior reviews were done by people that did not thoroughly read the instructions. Another thing these reviews indicating that they had to re drill holes sounds more like some screws might have been fully tighten prior to full assembly.The color matches as illustrated and chairs met my expectations the only complaint is the wood quality but considering the price and made in China and again these are accent chairs to be used on special occasions when having guest over therefore they definitely meet my expectations. In fact in my case they were perfect. If you decide to buy do not rush take your time have somebody to help you and just make sure that you follow step 1 and place the cushion seat prior to continue to assemble and do not tighten assembly screws till chair is fully assemble take you time and you will be a happy camper.Would buy again and recommend to friends.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Good
Poor
Excellent
Very Soft
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Really nice chair
 from West Hartford, CT,  Feb 21, 2014

This chair is exactly what I was looking for. It has a very large seat, infact, it is just a big chair. It fits in with almost any decor and has really nice lines. It was easy to put together especially after reading other reviews and taking the advice to put the cushion on last. The only slight negative is that the seat cushion could be more padded to be more comfortable. As it is, it feels hard.

Good
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
Average Comfort
Very Firm
Very Soft
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love it
 from New York,  Mar 31, 2013

I am so surprised at how wonderful this chair is. I bought one and had to purchase another so I could have them sitting by my fireplace. You cannot beat the price. The only suggestion I have is to follow the directions. My husband decided to put the seat on after it was all together and had to take it all apart again. It was relatively easy to put together, according to my husband and they look great. They are also rather large so anyone would feel comfortable in it and yet easy to move around.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? very accurate
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. quite good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Nice Chair
 from Southfield, MI,  Jul 12, 2012

Nice chairs would recommend to others. When delivered was missing parts, but the customer service department was "very" helpful when we called to request the missing parts be shipped.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The color was exactly as shown online
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Haven't had the chairs too long, but the quality seems pretty good
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Decription was very accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Philly occasional chair
 from Davison, MI,  Aug 31, 2011

This is a very nice chair and a very reasonable price. Quality fabric. The seat portion is large but also perfect for a side or occasional chair to enhance your decor.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Exact match
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Excellent
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Fairly accurate. Chair larger than expected.
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-20 of 123 reviews for this product
Previous 1 2 3 ... 7 Next
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
People who bought this also bought
Fleur de Lis Chocolate Chair
Today $149.99
Compare $199.99
Save 25%
(171)
Shea Arm Chair Chocolate
Sale $130.49
Was $144.99
(50)
Back to top