Product Reviews

Options:

This item is out of stock.

Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:
 
 
Rating
Very pretty but they chip very, very easily
 from Los Angeles, CA,  Nov 4, 2010

Rated a 1 because 0 was not an option. I purchased (4) 16 piece sets (service for 16) in May. Within weeks I began noticing small chips around the edges of the dinner plates primarily, but also the bowels and salad plates. I know I am very careful with my dishes (my old everyday set was used for 8 years and has one chipped plate and one chipped bowl) so I do not believe I am the problem. Five months later 10 dinner plates, 4 bowls and 5 salad plates have chipped. Unfortunately, while the chips may be small they can be seen easily because of the outer brown band. So my 5 month old dishes look 25 years old. Out of the 19 dishes with chips only one was "justified" as my sister did bang the plate somewhat hard against the sink. Sadly, since I am the only one who ever does dishes at my house I know firsthand that the dishes have not been mishandled. It takes only a light "touch" (normal everyday life stuff) between dishes for them to chip. I contacted Pfaltzgraff as I believe the dishes are the problem. At first they seemed interested in helping but in my final e-mail with them they recommended that I not let the dishes touch each other. Huh? How would I do that? In my 50 foot cabinet where I lay them next to each other? Carrying them individually when I set or clear the table? I do not believe I have ever heard of dishes that cannot touch each other. Their response was ridiculous. So I am online now looking for new dishes after spending more than $500 on this set (plus $250 more for all the serving pieces). It is too late to return them so I will mark this up as a big mistake and I will never purchase another Pfaltzgraff item in my life.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Poor quality
 from Canton, Ma,  Oct 2, 2011

I emailed customer service about the quality of these dishes in August. I received 2 responses within 5 days stating that my complaint was being researched, and they would get back to me. Since that time, no correspondence has reached me. I am very disappointed. My dishes and additional serving pieces are all chipped and/or have completely broken. My last set of dishes from this company lasted 12 years with no broken pieces. I was surprised to see these other reviews, but happy to know I am not alone.

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Don't waste your money
 from Florida,  Mar 31, 2011

I agree with the other review.....I have owned these dishes since January and out of 32 pieces, 14 of them are chipped....I had cheap plates for over 10 years and only one had a chip....only my husband and I eat off of them and we are very careful handling them. They are of the poorest quality and a huge disappoint.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? Yes
  • How is the quality of the product? POOR
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
CHIPPING IS RIDICULOUS
 from Minnesota,  May 30, 2011

Just like the others; I thought I was buying quality...it's Pfaltzgraff! Only my husband and I use these on a regular basis. Got the butter plate for Christmas and within 2 months there are 2 chips as well as two other plates! I had everyday dishes from **** for 8 years and had only 2 or 3 chips and they were cheap! Had china for 35 years and less chips than this...save your money - don't buy Pfaltzgraff!

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? YES
  • How is the quality of the product? POOR
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? YES
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Pretty but Chip Easily
 from Michigan,  Apr 11, 2011

As others have said: this set chips terribly. I love the colors and design but the quality is awful. I had hoped to chalk it up to a defective batch but with all the complaints (on this site and elsewhere), it seems that it's more than just a single batch and rather the entire line. A real disappointment and waste of money.

  • Did the color match the color displayed onsite? yes
  • How is the quality of the product? terrible
  • Did the description onsite accurately describe the product? yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Initially nice but!!!
 from Flushing,Mi,  Jan 24, 2013

I initially loved the dishes, very pretty Now after less than 1 year of use(only myself and occasional company) I wish I would have paid attention to reviews. They chip very easily in the dishwasher and I am already looking for different dishes. My other set I had for many years, actually grew tired of them, so excited to get new ones and very disappointed! I will probably not buy Pfaltzgraft again because of this.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Great
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Chips easily
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Accurate
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
These are Earthenware not stoneware
 from colo,  Nov 2, 2012

First, I do love these dishes because of the pattern but any consumer must know that they will not last long because they are EARTHENWARE not stoneware. Earthenware is less strong, less tough and more porous than stoneware. They chip very easily and continually. You can't let them sit in water because the bottoms are porous and in the microwave they are much hotter than other types of dishes. A lot of drawbacks and I would not recommend these dishes. If they ever have the pattern in stoneware I'd buy them in a second. I still use mine but will probably go to something else when they have to many chips to use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? perfect
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. The pattern in gorgeous but because they are earthenware they chip
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? ok but they never mention that these dishes are not stoneware
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Stay away from these dishes!
 from Rockledge, FL,  May 3, 2013

I paid a lot of money for these dishes and they chip very easily and are dangerously hot coming out of the microwave.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? good
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. poor
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? good
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Beautiful, but fragile finish
 from New York,  May 24, 2012

I agree with the other reviewers, these dishes chip very easily, which is a huge disappointment, as the chips are very visible. The design is so gorgeous, and the colors really beautiful. The mugs a perfect size and shape, great to hold in the hand with a nice big handle. The bowls - and personally I think bowls are the most important thing about a dinnerware set - are gorgeous in design, shape and style. But I have not a single bowl now that is not chipped, and I am very careful with my dishes. It's really a shame, as you expect better quality from Pfaltzgraff, and the Patio Garden design is so lovely. These were to be my everyday dishes, but have been relegated to a top shelf for special occasions only, as they are too fragile for everyday use.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? The colors are beautiful, and more vivid than the picture
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Okay
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Yes
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
They're right -- these are CHP CITY!!!!
 from Hoboken, NJ,  Aug 3, 2014

Thank goodness it's not just me. I have had all different types and brands of dinnerware in my life, including fine china, and nothing ever chipped and broke constantly like this with normal use. This is a completely defective model of dish...use them at your peril!! By the way, they are very pretty but also TOO LARGE. They don't fit well in my cabinet or dishwasher because the plates and mugs are supersized.

Poor
Poor
Excellent
Poor
Poor
Excellent
Excellent
Poor
Excellent
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
I Wholeheartedly Agree With The Other Reviewers...
 from College Point, NY,  Jul 22, 2013

I came across this Pfaltzgraff Patio Dinner Set and it caught my eye by all the negative reviews (although I am NOT surprised). First, let me say that while, like most of the others, I agree, the pattern is very, very pretty (even prettier in person). I loved my set when I first received it from (not Overstock, but Kohl's). However, a couple of the dishes arrived chipped! Well, OK, called Kohl's and they were very nice in replacing those "chipped" dishes. Then the the "fun" began. It seems as if ALL the dishes, cups and bowls just kept getting little chip after chip. Believe me, like the most recent reviewer, I am extremely careful with my dinnerware no matter what the cost - fine China or a cheap, say $40.00 set for 6! I treat it ALL the same. I agree with all the reviewers and the one who did mention that maybe because the set is NOT stoneware and it is earthenware, it makes it more vulnerable to chips and breakage. However, on the other hand, Pfaltzgraff, should have taken this into account as these ARE DISHES TO BE EATEN ON, and HANDLED AS SUCH! For goodness sake; it's not a mantle piece Item for one to just look at; you eat, handle and wash these pieces, perhaps on a daily basis; what was Pfaltzgraff thinking of when they manufactured this "pretty" dishes?! Sigh! Makes you wonder for a manufacturer who has been in the business for soooo many years. I still have my dishes, I have to admit; chips and all and actually do put them in the dishwasher - GASP lol. Actually, nothing else bad has happened since, to be quite honest. As I have mentioned, I am very careful, but just how careful can we be with poorly made dishes, one can't tell. I do have my other sets, and my "cheap" set, which I have for almost 9 years and still going strong, with just one teeny teeny chip which is so barely visible, only I know it's there. Go figure. I would love Pfaltzgraff to come up with a stronger version of these dishes - the entire set, actually. I enjoy them that much even though there are so many other beautiful choices out there. In you are thinking of buying these, Just BE AWARE. They DO CHIP VERY, VERY, VERY EASILY! The reviewers are real and I had to add mine to the list as well.

  • How did the color on site compare with the actual product? Colors/Pattern is comparable to product
  • Please tell us about the quality of the product. Very Poor, unfortunately
  • How accurate was the on site description of the product? Not great
  • Would you recommend this to a friend? No
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Patio Garden
 from California,  Nov 23, 2010

This dinnerware is prettier in person than in the picture, the colors are beautiful! I love it!!!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Rating
Love the design and color!
 from iowa,  Apr 5, 2011

was a little leary after reading other reviews regarding chips so I ordered the same design in melamine (pfaltzgraff site) for the kids to use and love them!

  • Would you recommend this to a friend? Yes
Was This Review Helpful?
 
 
Showing 1-13 of 13 reviews for this product
Sort Reviews By:

Sponsored Links


 
Back to top